Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, York

Shipton Road, York, YO30 1XW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th March 2020

In these strange days the hotel looked after us very well. Clean all round and the food was lovely. Observed the restrictions. A good 3 mile walk to the city but with alot if it closed we made a good day of it. THANKYOU to the staff.

Hannah Fisher said...

70%
70%
40%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2020

Food was outstanding. Facilities and rooms a bit tired but bed was huge! Drinks were very expensive. Frustrating that when we paid for drinks at the bar they were still charged to our room. Luckily we kept the receipts to evidence they had already been paid for. However, this is poor and you check out feeling that the hotel is trying to cheat you! The pub down the road was decent for food and drinks and far cheaper!

kathryn barnes said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2020

Hotel was lovely. Food amazing. Location great.

Anthony Gardner said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd February 2020

Very friendly and helpful staff, great nights sleep and food was wonderful.

ian Charlton said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2020

All staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, all the food was excellent

Alan Scott said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th February 2020

Hotel very good, staff excellent, prices at bar very high ie £3-80 for a coffee £4-80 plus for a beer.

Tony Bihari said...

44%
30%
10%
90%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Totally disgusted with this hotel as the mattress had been turned over but this was not a mattress that can be turned. So we never slept at all the first night. On closer inspection I checked the mattress in the morning and realised that there was a huge stain on the bottom of the mattress hence why it was turned over. This bed should not of been used. I felt sick. I complained to reception immediately and all they said is you can change room if you want. It was ironic that there was a mattress sale on at the hotel that weekend. The furniture in the rooms is dated and needs updating. The cleaning is not up to scratch as there was hair in the bath which was not from your head. The toilet did not flush all the time in the first room. The towel drying radiators do not work. Labelled not in use. Waited for service at the bar twice for more than 10 minutes and it was cold in the bar and where we had the evening meal so went down to Riverside Farm pub and Carvery. Supposed to have £25 per person for evening meal but told it’s only £22 This is more like a two star not a four star

Jamila Parkins said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Great value for money. Fantastic food. Rooms spotlessly clean. Comfy bed. Friendly staff

Jamila Parkins said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Great value for money. Fantastic food. Rooms spotlessly clean. Comfy bed. Friendly staff

A guest said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 28th January 2020

We enjoyed our stay very much .Staff were very helpful and pleasant .We will definitely come again.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd January 2020

Could not fault any aspect of our stay. Great hotel, lovely room, both dinner and breakfast were exceptional. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful and efficient.

Paula Boon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. Hotel lovely. Bedrooms looking a little tired and could really do with a re-fit. However, the room was spotlessly clean with a massive , extra comfy bed. Food amazing, both quality and presentation. Dining room staff, polite, attentive, **

Kenneth Kooi said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2019

Very enjoyable break, although our offer included £25 each off our evening meals which the Hotel did not have it in their system, they honoured the offer after they checked up on it

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd September 2019

Handy for York. Spacious bedroom. Lovely food.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2019

I liked that the bed was comfortable . I liked that the room service was quick

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
N/A

Stayed 6th September 2019

The hotel is in a good location, a 15 minute walk to the park and ride. Although you are walking along a busy road, there is a wide path so it feels safe. We didn't eat at the hotel - being so close to York we chose to eat there (for the choice). The bedroom was comfortable.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th September 2019

Booked for my husband's birthday and we wasn't disappointed. The hotel is very clean and well looked after. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our stay included breakfast and there was plenty of choice. Would definitely stay again.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2019

Spent 3 nights here This is a gem of a hotel the welcome was warm and polite the privelige room was very spacious with a lovely bathroom and great shower The dining room and food was 1st class as was the the staff who were attentive and accommodating Large car park with very easy access to the park and ride into york about 5 mins drive from hotel We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay And are yet to have a negative experience in a mercure hotel

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2019

We stayed in a family room in the old section of the hotel. It was near the restaurant and bar. We ate in the bar as he restaurant was busy and the lamb is absolutely delicious! The pool is not on site which was disappointing but it is apparently close by. The hotel is not in the middle of York but about a 20 minute drive away. There is little of interest nearby but the extra space of the site means that parking is readily available without extra charge which was very helpful.