Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Elmbank Hotel & Lodge, York

The Mount, York, YO24 1GE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Keri-Ann o’keeffe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2020

Was a lovely hotel, pleasant staff and excellently decorated room which was spotlessly clean. 10 min walk to the city walls. Lovely breakfast. Would recommend!

lisa powell said...

7%
20%
0%
0%

Stayed 18th September 2020

Terrible ! Found pills hair on the bathroom floor and the food was disgusting! Manager was informed and was gutted for us!

Keri-Ann o’keeffe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2020

Was a lovely hotel, pleasant staff and excellently decorated room which was spotlessly clean. 10 min walk to the city walls. Lovely breakfast. Would recommend!

Elaine Fazackerley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2020

We stayed at the Elmbank hotel for 2 nights last weekend we had a great stay the hotel was amazing the rooms were great lovely and clean, the staff where fantastic nothing was to much trouble for them. We had a meal in the restaurant the 2nd nite it was lovely the bar prices very reasonable and the actual hotel was just a 15 min walk to the centre. Car parking was available in the street next to racecourse free of charge so win win we will definitely be back next year.

Clive Silvester said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2020

Lovely, quirky hotel. Decor was fab, fixtures and fittings in our room were of the highest quality. The curtains were too good for a hotel, I want them in my house!! The colour scheme, wallpaper etc was so unusual for a hotel and I loved the marble top furniture. A short walk from the city centre makes this hotel a great place for a break in York. The deal we had was bed and breakfast, glass of prosecco and a picnic. The picnic was yummy, more like an afternoon tea, all that was missing was the 3 tier cake stand. We had dinner in the hotel, the lamb rump melted in the mouth and it was great to have plenty of well cooked green vegetables.I know this may sound a bit odd, but I do dislike tomato that is hard and barely cooked served with the breakfast (so often the case with a full english breakfast in hotels) Elmbank served a perfectly cooked tomato.

janet metcalfe said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 30th August 2020

No whie pinot grigio ran out of ice cream, no marmalade, as it was Bank Hol weekend, it should have been stocked up. Could do with some drawers in the bedroom

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Lovely hotel & the room was fantastic, bathroom especially nice & my partner would like to decorate the bathroom at home now! Breakfast fantastic & the staff were more than happy to accomodate any requests.

Julie Kadhim said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Lovely Hotel, really nice rooms and staff, will definitely return.

Isabel Stewart said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th August 2020

Had a fab time at Elmbank hotel and lodge rooms we’re immaculate bed was amazing shower amazing!!!! The staff couldn’t of been more friendly and helpful.Breakfast was tasty a little slow in serving had abit of a wait. All in all definitely worth a visit

John Morgan said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2020

We enjoyed our stay in a lovely building. Dinning room could be chaotic but could be easily remedied by better front of house. Car parking was an issue and we had to park off site. We would however stay again.

Dot Coils said...

44%
80%
30%
20%

Stayed 15th August 2020

Roomsand beds fab food breakfast a disaster cold no cutlery 20mins waited for a knife for toast had to request hot toast tea breakfast some food cold some lukewarm friends ate an hour before us and hour and half later table still wasnt cleared took about hour and half for breakfast to be served and ate and only got a sorry no explanation

Maxine Wilson said...

34%
80%
20%
0%

Stayed 15th August 2020

Jess on reception was lovely. Hotel and Lodge nice but breakfast was terrible. Cold tea with tea leaves in, cold toast and cooked breakfast itself was stone cold and the sausages looked raw as if not been in pan at all.

Peter Hall said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2020

What a gem of a hotel in York.It had just had a 5 million pound refurb and our deluxe room was fantastic especially the pea themed bathroom. This hotel should be at least a 4 star. Even a red carpet was being fitted st the entrance just for us! All staff very courteous and adhering to all covid 19 guidance. Highly recommended.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2020

Room smelt a bit foisty when we went in but once windows were open it was fine x rooms were very clean and staff very friendly and plenty of hand sanitisers and notices around hotel x would definitely use hotel again

Jennifer Bowyer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd August 2020

Our first stay at this Hotel - definitely won’t be the last! All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Lovely room - really comfortable bed. Generous nicely cooked breakfast. Hats off to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable in these difficult times.

Jack Longbottom said...

74%
90%
50%
80%

Stayed 17th July 2020

Hotel itself was very nice, we stayed in a lodge room that was really nice, well fitted out good size room comfy bed etc. We ate evening meal in the dining room which was quite nice nothing special with a limited menu. However breakfast was disappointing for its service we did not get the cereal and orange juice requested or the toast and and had to wait for the tea. The food was quite good, so I only hope this was an off day as there were quite a few people eating, and maybe the new Covid rules played a part in the delays but it did spoil things for my wife who did bring this to the receptionists attention.

Alison Dixon said...

60%
40%
90%
50%

Stayed 4th July 2020

Had a lovely stay but the hotel is very dark inside and the rooms are the same. Very dated and could do with all the wallpaper removed. Breakfast was poor, staff are lovely. York amazing as always.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2019

Beautiful main building, breakfast was delicious quality products. A man who worked in the breakfast room was spot on nothing was a bother. To be honest he is the main reason for going back gutted we didn't get his name.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd October 2019

Location was great, employees very welcoming, polite and informative. Hotel was very presentable rooms good comfort. would stay there again ideal for weekend break

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th September 2019

Great staff, lovely room

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th September 2019

What a lovely hotel this is, in a beautiful old building. It seems to have been fully refurbished to a high standard. From the moment we walked in I was impressed. The small bar area is stylish and has a nice atmosphere and ambience as is the lounge area with the wood panelling and high ceiling. We were very pleased with the room the hotel gave us and I m sure it was an upgrade, huge with a seating area with velvet sofas and chairs. Bathroom was fitted with a huge walk-in shower. Other little touches were the Nespresso coffee maker, biscuits and bottles of water. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

Just returned from a lovely weekend break for mums birthday. Couldn’t really fault the hotel, nice rooms, lovely large comfy beds and fluffy pillows, really powerful shower! Tasty breakfast with lots of choices. Friendly staff especially Mark who kept us entertained . He even helped us load all of our luggage into the car at the end of our stay! Cheers Mark

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th October 2019

Beautiful, quiet, out of the way (but walking distance to city walls) perfect distance from rail way. Really enjoyed our honeymoon break here. £92 for 2 nights was a bargain and definitely worth more.