Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Elmbank Hotel & Lodge, York

The Mount, York, YO24 1GE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Natasha Baynham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th January 2022

We really enjoyed our stay at The Elmbank Hotel. It was ideally situated, just a short walk into the city. The rooms were lovely and spotlessly clean. All of the staff who we came into contact with were very professional and friendly and the food was amazing. I would definitely recommend this Hotel and look forward to visiting again ourselves in the near future.

Martin Bielby said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th December 2021

Absolutely loved the place, Comfortable refurbished rooms, Friendly Staff, Lovely freshly cooked Breakfast, So good we booked to stay again in February

carole Sutherland said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd November 2021

The decor of the room was a lovely surprise. Staff were very nice. Food was good. Would have preferred the continental breakfast to be buffet style. Overall a lovely stay and would definitely recommend.

Raymond Wootten said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st December 2021

Comfortable deluxe room with a dinner bed and breakfast package and bottle of Prosecco included. The hotel is set in the 1930’s with modern decor. Breakfast and dinner were of a high standard with attentive staff ensuring everything was alright. Comfortable room with large flat screen tv and king size bed. An excellent stay.

Jane Armstrong said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2021

Lovely hotel, stayed an extra night. 10/15min walk to city center. The bedrooms were clean but there were a few marks on the carpet in our room. Table service for breakfast and good choice, dinner was lovely and reasonably priced. Parking available at £10per night. I would recommend and return.

Martin Garrity said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th September 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, room was excellent, staff very friendly, food was lovely.

Derek Smith said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th August 2021

Lovely hotel with very comfortable and spacious rooms. Staff very friendly and the food excellent. Hotel about a 10 minute walk into the centre of York. The only complaint is the hotel charges £10 per night to park, but this can be overcome by parking 2 streets further up for free.

karen ridley said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th August 2021

Had a fabulous stay in this hotel. The food was amazing, just a 10 minute walk if that, into city centre. Will definitely return

annabella warrington said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2021

A hidden gem. Friendly staff, great location only 10 minute walk to York city centre. Beautiful building with a lovely wooden panelled galleried hall. The bedroom had been refurbished (main building) funky decor, super king bed and cotton linen. Niggly bits that the wardrobe door couldn’t open fully as it hit the curtain pelmet and the bathroom mirror was attached far too high to the wall. Food especially dinner was superb thanks to Steve the new chef. Fresh ingredients and original tasty combinations, we thoroughly enjoyed the fabulous dinners. Car park is first come first served as it’s small and is charged at £10pn.

Gemma Lawrence said...

47%
50%
70%
20%

Stayed 26th July 2021

Room was nice on 1st glance then we realised there was no tea sugar sweetners next to kettle only 3 sachets of coffee abd 2 pots of milk then my husband opened drawer to find boxers and socks inside we opted for 3 course meal whitch was fowl soup had no taste our chicken was in a brown fatty watery liquid whitch tasted awfull then desert was the cheapest tasting miniature coffee cake and mini in cut in half awfull

Gemma Lawrence said...

47%
50%
70%
20%

Stayed 26th July 2021

Room was nice on 1st glance then we realised there was no tea sugar sweetners next to kettle only 3 sachets of coffee abd 2 pots of milk then my husband opened drawer to find boxers and socks inside we opted for 3 course meal whitch was fowl soup had no taste our chicken was in a brown fatty watery liquid whitch tasted awfull then desert was the cheapest tasting miniature coffee cake and mini in cut in half awfull

Nicola Ford said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2021

We had a fabulous stay, at the Elmbank Hotel. The staff were very friendly, the room was lovely, the food excellent. We would definitely return, in the future.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2021

What can I say ? Just amazing !! The hotel is beautiful, we were upgraded to a ground floor superior suite as our standard room wasn't ready - such a treat, especially the chilled bottle of Prosecco on a hot day ! The staff were so obliging, giving us a duvet cover to use instead of the thick duvet during the heatwave ! Lovely big, comfortable bed, the fridge and the air-conditioning were both a necessity ! The food was just out of this world, so different from the usual choices, so well cooked and beautifully presented. Everything was perfect, would definitely stay again, even having to pay £10 to park which went against the grain initially seemed acceptable in the end ! Easy walk into York, coffee shops on the way and a few restaurants if you're not eating in the hotel, but would advise to definitely eat at the hotel. We'll certainly be back !

Emma Taylor said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 12th July 2021

Stayed here for my birthday which was a present from my parents. The member of staff was lovely and friendly on arrival. Our room was a very good size and the bathroom was very nice. Unfortunately the cleanliness of the room was lacking. There was a lot of dust everywhere and a dirty old cigarette was on the floor near the desk. This put a dampener on our stay. I did raise this with a member of staff and there initial reaction was oh that’s not good. They eventually waved our parking fee as a gesture of the dust and cigarette. The food was lovely especially the breakfast and the main meal. I had the chocolate mousse for dessert which was grainy and inedible. The waiter asked if everything was okay and when I mentioned this he just said okay. I feel that staff could of been better with handling of comments.

Freda Watson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2021

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Elmbank, would highly recommend. Bed was very comfortable and food was delicious.

Gina Thompson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2021

Had a lovely one night stay at the Elmbank Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was first class. Would highly recommend and would certainly stay again when next visiting York.

Julie Leitheiser said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th July 2021

We had a lovely stay. We arrived early to a warm welcome and we’re able to check in and go to our rooms. The decor of the hotel is stunning arts and crafts/art nouveau. Our room was delightful and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed two nights, ate in the hotel and enjoyed two evening meals and two breakfasts. The menu was quite limited for people like us who had the DB and B package. I think it would have been a problem had we stayed longer than two days. That said the food was imaginative and well cooked. Parking wasn’t the pain we thought it might be. We parked beside the racecourse. It was only a five minute walk. There is no lift; that combined with parking at a distance might not be ideal for guests with restricted mobility. That’s a shame because we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All staff were consistently warm and helpful.

Carole Jardine said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2021

Had a lovely overnight stay . Staff were really friendly and made us feel welcome. Room was a bit on the small side as we were in the Lodge and not the actual hotel. The window didn’t open or the glass door which I thought was a fire hazard. The room was very clean

Shirley Rodgers said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th June 2021

Our 1st time using hotelbreak, we wasnt disappointed. A lovely room, a bit dark tho with only a small window. A great double head shower and roomy, nice bathroom with Victorian style fittings, some lovely toiletries. Comfy bed and pillows, very clean, air conditioning, fridge with our free prosecco, iron and board, safe and hairdryer all included. A set menu but plenty of choice,my only criticism was the price of a bottle of wine, a red for £27 which you can buy for £10 ! Breakfast good and plentiful. Friendly staff. Would stay again and will recommend.

Clare Turner said...

74%
70%
60%
90%

Stayed 21st May 2021

Booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. Was well worth the money. Hotel was lovely, room nice and food was amazing. Room - no radiator or heated towel rail. Would probably not have noticed but was a very wet day and had nowhere to dry our clothes. Would usually like a dressing table but personal preference. Nice big bed which was very comfy. Large tv. Nice decor in room and hotel. Service - very poor at evening meal. Waited half an hour for drinks after we were seated for our meal. Because the meal was included in our deal we stayed for the meal, if the service had been that poor at another restaurant we wouldn't have stayed and would have left before getting a drink. Food was amazing though so did partly make up for the service. Service at breakfast was very good as more staff around. No parking at hotel when we arrived but we knew another carpark nearby which was 15 minutes walk away which was £11 for 24 hours. Despite some of the negatives mentioned we wouldn't rule out staying again as there was lots of positives.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th December 2020

Value for money..Excellent location.

John Toomer said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th September 2020

Had a lovely one night stay at this hotel. Staff on reception and throughout were all very nice and provided excellent customer service. All COVID-19 measures in place and well adhered to. Bar even shut at 22:00 under the new restrictions :( . Was in a superior room which was very big and well equipped. Fridge in room was very useful. Hotel was approx 20 mins walk into the city centre but a very pleasant walk. Only disappointment was that we did not get the glass of Prosecco on arrival that was part of the deal we were on. Otherwise everything was excellent.

Keri-Ann o’keeffe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2020

Was a lovely hotel, pleasant staff and excellently decorated room which was spotlessly clean. 10 min walk to the city walls. Lovely breakfast. Would recommend!

lisa powell said...

7%
20%
0%
0%

Stayed 18th September 2020

Terrible ! Found pills hair on the bathroom floor and the food was disgusting! Manager was informed and was gutted for us!

Keri-Ann o’keeffe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2020

Was a lovely hotel, pleasant staff and excellently decorated room which was spotlessly clean. 10 min walk to the city walls. Lovely breakfast. Would recommend!