Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Ruthin Castle Hotel & Spa, Ruthin

Castle Street, Ruthin, LL15 2NU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Stephen Smith said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd October 2021

9/10 good,spacious room with a good view(208),comfortable.Staff very pleasant and helpful.Would have preferred greater choice of evening meals but what we had was delicious as was breakfast

Christine Couch said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd September 2021

We had a fantastic 2 night break at Ruthin Castle. All the staff were amazing & couldn't do enough for us. We were unexpectedly upgraded to a suite which was absolutely fabulous & helped make our stay even more special. Spent some time in the spa & again all the ladies were so friendly & helpful making it a really relaxing experience which is just what we wanted. We had dinner both nights which we really enjoyed especially the lamb. We had a superb customer experience & will have no hesitation in returning.

Deborah McManus said...

64%
80%
70%
40%

Stayed 3rd August 2021

When we arrived we were told it was buffet style evening meal the food was ok but very small choice and only just like warm same again at breakfast bacon had been in warmer that long it was inedible asked for fresh which they did but still lukewarm

Karene Price said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Whilst appreciating that this is a historic castle the furniture and fittings in the room do not need to be as tired and rickety. Room itself and bathroom are very spacious, fresh and clean. Reported a problem with ironing board attached to the electrical trouser press, but nothing was done about it. Stains on wall and ceiling and curtains hard to close. The food was decent quality but not served hot enough (especially the breakfasts) Staff were all helpful and friendly. Nothing bad enough to complain about but nothing good enough to want to rush to make a return visit.

Karene Price said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Whilst appreciating that this is a historic castle the furniture and fittings in the room do not need to be as tired and rickety. Room itself and bathroom are very spacious, fresh and clean. Reported a problem with ironing board attached to the electrical trouser press, but nothing was done about it. Stains on wall and ceiling and curtains hard to close. The food was decent quality but not served hot enough (especially the breakfasts) Staff were all helpful and friendly. Nothing bad enough to complain about but nothing good enough to want to rush to make a return visit.

David Poole said...

60%
60%
70%
50%

Stayed 26th May 2021

Thought castle was in need of decoration, shabby corridors, spotlessly clean, helpful staff, we asked for low floor without walk in shower, given room on second floor with shower over bath, this was difficult for my wife, however we were only having a one night stay so didn't cause a fuss. Breakfast my cooked breakfast was good, but my wife ordered scrambled egg and mushroom which was luke warm. Italian garden in need of care and attention.

Helen Jackson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2020

A lovely stay, beautiful views from rooms including the pea family roaming the gardens with 3 babies. Comfortable beds and a good Welsh breakfast. A good choice of tasty well presented dishes on the dinner menu.

A guest said...

44%
50%
40%
40%

Stayed 19th February 2020

Room allocated had paint peeling off the walls in the bathroom. Changed rooms to one that was empty! Why wasn't I allocated this room initially? Neither of the rooms could be termed luxury, which is what we booked. Food on the first night was poor, second night better. Receptionist quite abrupt although she was on her own dealing with a queue of people. Needed 2 receptionists to cope at busy periods. Overall, poor and we won't be going back.

Michael Rutter said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th December 2019

Very nice relaxing break. Lovely food in unique surroundings.

Julie Rowlands said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 7th January 2020

walked into a very warm welcome. Our room was very clean and everything we could of wanted. The evening meal was to die for. Absolutely beautiful. We did wonder about the peas as they can be noisy but we didn’t hear a peep out the them. Had a good nights sleep and got up to an excellent breakfast. Can’t wait to stop over again.

kathryn barnes said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd January 2020

Lovely hotel. Food was amazing. Will definitely be back.

Michelle Walker said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th December 2019

Had a lovely stay - comfortable rooms, food fantastic, looked after very well by all staff.

david GOATHAM said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

From check in to check out, this was an excellent experience. Friendly and efficient reception staff, very comfortable and well appointed room and bathroom. Other areas were well decorated and furnished, adding to the castle atmosphere. There are extensive gardens and woods...complete with rabbits, squirrels, and many peas. Dining was again friendly and efficiently staffed, with a very good choice of menu and promptly served. The food was very well presented with good quantities and perfectly cooked and on properly hot plates too. We look forward to the refurbished spa opening in the spring, which will add a new facet to a truly enjoyable and interesting venue. There is ample car parking and the small town is very attractive. A great choice to overnight or longer.

A guest said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2019

Staff were lovely as was the food, but the hotel is tired and in need of major refurbishments. The room and bathroom was nice but the corridors and other areas looked tired. It will be a super hotel once the refurb work they have planned is carried out.

Steven Marchbank said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2019

A super place to stay and will go back. Food as good as a Michelin Starred Restaurant.Kyle the chef is exceptional All staff brilliant helpful and courteous. Sadly for us the spa was under refurbishment and not in use something that my hotel break didn't tell us!!!! However the plans for the new spa look fantastic and will make the hotel even better. Bathroom fabulous. Fridge in room sadly no complementary water in it. Apart from the pillows the room was exceptionally comfortable and spotlessly clean and would have liked another chair in room as there was only 1.

Marty sharkey said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 31st October 2019

The hotel is great and the staff are very friendly. The only negative you hadn't said the spa is closed and getting updated. But hotel look after us by a commentary upgrade.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th October 2019

Stayed here for the opportunity to stay in a haunted castle, which it sadly wasn't! Lovely castle, grounds and peas!

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th October 2019

Beautiful building, grounds and location. Would love to return.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2019

Excellent staff. Superb food.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2019

What a beautiful place from start to finish Warm,welcoming.The receptionist,Ann, was helpful & pleasant along with all the other staff. Our meals in “ Bertie’s “ were exquisite and Kara, our waitress one evening was a diamond.Very attentive and always courteous. We then went onto the bar. The barman, Kenny, was a ray of sunshine. Polite, professional, knowledgeable and sociable. He went that extra mile to make our stay an even more pleasurable one. We retired to bed in a clean, comfortable bedroom with a beautiful, picturesque scenery. The following day I went to The Moat, spa and leisure suite. The treatment I had, it states additional charges, was money well spent and it was divine. Everything about The Castle is faultless for a building dreds of years old it is prestige and it has loads to offer. The grounds are well maintained, scenery beautiful and the wildlife is awesome. Can’t wait till my next holidays from work are due...I’ll be there

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2019

We stayed one night at Ruthin Castle and decided to upgrade to the Price of Wales Suite. I am so glad we did, what a treat. This is the same room the Prince stayed in the night before he became the Prince of Wales in 1969. The room was well appointed with a very comfy bed and great tub and an updated shower. i would highly recommend staying in this suite

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st October 2019

Lovely staff and a very relaxing stay, the room was great and I will definitely stay again as the surroundings are beautiful! Service was very good in all areas of the hotel and Ruthin is a lovely place to visit.