Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, Pitlochry

Knockard Road, Pitlochry, PH16 5JH, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

71%

john gardiner said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2021

Excellent Hotel with lovely staff & entertainment

kirsten manson said...

20%
30%
20%
10%

Stayed 20th October 2021

Very disappointing. Will not be returning to Pitlochry hydro. Lots of things need to be improved in order to make a stay there more enjoyable.

A guest said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 19th October 2021

Don't believe some Tripadvisor comments, nothing wrong with this hotel and only 8 minutes walk from town centre.

Anna Stewart said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th October 2021

Fantastic stay at the Hydro, staff were so attentive, the breakfast and dinner was great value for money and so delicious. Our room was so clean and fresh especially with covid concerns. Entertainment was fun and the pool and sauna was brilliant and so relaxing. Just what was needed.

A guest said...

37%
40%
70%
0%

Stayed 16th October 2021

Hotel was very dated, situated up steep hill… Food menu was restricted to 4 starters, 4 Mains, 4 sweets. Had dinner booked for 6pm and told certain things on the restricted menu was not available. Waiting staff were apologetic and kind and asked chef if we could have something off the bar menu which stopped at 600pm but the chef refused to allow that. We were unhappy with the decision. Meal that was brought to us was a tiny portion, veg consisted of 1 carrot and 1 sprig of raw broccoli. It was awful. Needless to say we did not eat there the next night. After speaking to staff reception, bar, and restaurant all very new to the hotel, they were so understanding and apologetic about how the chef dealt with the situation and left us dissatisfied. Reported this situation to a manager and the chef was seemingly on notice, which made since that he obviously just did not care. Shame as it really spoilt stay, we decided not eat in the hotel the next night. Even though the hotel has dated snd rooms were in need of attention it was clean and everyone other than the chef were attentive and went out of their way to assist.

diane manson said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2021

Had a good two night break. Food was lovely. Staff were very helpful and courteous. Room was basic but clean. Hotel could do with a freshen up in some areas but that’s to be expected with older buildings. Overall a nice hotel for a wee break.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th October 2021

Lovely stay at Pitlochry Hydro Hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable room & tasty breakfast each day. Fantastic value.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2021

Staff friendly and helpful. Plenty to choose from at breakfast and enjoyed a booked session in the pool. Rooms fine although larger TV In the room would have been better.

J Reid said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2021

Pitlochry Hydro was a pleasure to stay in room was clean and tidy reception bar and restaurant staff very good and attentive to all your needs lovely hotel would definitely stay here again

Andrew Jackson said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th September 2021

The staff were excellent.The room was okay and the hotel was very clean. All in all it was a great 2 night stay especially the Wednesday as there was entertainment on (a great singer) Would gladly book again .

A guest said...

10%
10%
10%
10%

Stayed 21st September 2021

Stayed at Pitlochry Hydro, September 12th/13th 2021. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. Evening meal was a choice of four, to include a vegetarian choice all of which is repeated.I don’t accept COVID and an inability to recruit staff as an excuse for poor service. Was advised at reception that if I didn’t spend my meal allowance I would be permitted to use remaining funds in the bar, suffice to say I didn’t know what I had spent as you aren’t advised, with no price annotated in the first instance, despite in fact me not taking a meal. My wife took a meal and made reference to it being like school dinners!! waiting staff despite being courteous lacked the ability to ask if we would like a drink with the meal… but did supply a plastic jug with luke warm water… not good and certainly won’t be back.

Janet Scott said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th September 2021

All the staff were courteous and tentative. Our room looked as though it had been recently refurbished and was spotlessly clean. The hotel was lovely and the buffet breakfast had a good selection of fruit juice, cereal, porridge, fruit and continental breakfast selection. There was also the the scooped Scottish buffet to choose from.

Janet Heal said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th September 2021

A very enjoyable stay, good procedures in place with very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely buffet breakfast with plenty of choice well cooked and presented. Gloves provided for use at the buffet but it is a pity some people thought they didn't apply to them, please people help the staff to keep everyone safe. Room was very clean and comfortable with good facilities. Having the swimming pool open was a bonus that we took full advantage of, great.

A guest said...

40%
40%
40%
40%

Stayed 18th September 2021

Very tired hotel, not sure if COVID precautions were adhered too!! At breakfast self service for all food, cheapest of gloves were supplied. Also been to other hotels recently with your company and there have not been any issues with house keeping daily. This never happened at the Hydro, sort staffed may have been issue and not COVID. No I would not go back not unless it is totally refurbished. Window stayed open with a wooden block having to be inserted.

LESLEY ANDERSON said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th September 2021

Booked a 2 night stay with breakfast and dinner on first night. Great value. The breakfasts were great. Dinner was ok. The hotel staff were helpful and very nice. The bedroom was ok. The room I was in had been modernised to some degree and was comfy. It wasn’t the plushest but I would definetly go back as it was really comfy. They followed Covid regulations and I felt quite safe. I really enjoyed the few days away.

Carol Ross said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th September 2021

Room & bathroom clean and view was good from one side. Fort was good and reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and helpful. Although the staff in dining area were very busy at peak meal & breakfast times, They did their best to meet the demands o guests.

Jacky Thompson said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 10th September 2021

Lovely stay at the Hydro. They are trying hard to get back to normality but a bit short staffed & evening meal was set menu due to this. It wasn't the greatest but staff very nice so can overlook this. Breakfast was lovely and rooms fresh & airy.

Mrs Davison said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th September 2021

had a wonderful time hotel a bit dated but staff v nice food excellent choice was limited owing to present cirstances would recommend to anyone we had a nice clean room comfortable bed will be back all round good and marvellous weayher to boot thank u all

Ian James Osborne said...

57%
30%
60%
80%

Stayed 6th September 2021

Hotel is dated and needs refurbished in many areas. Our room had a view of the kitchen roof with an extractor fan starting early in the morning, not ideal. The water pressure in the shower was weak at best. Bar prices for the area were competitive but not exactly cheap. Hotel sits at the top of a fairly steep hill and anyone with walking difficulties would find it virtually impossible to walk to it from the town. Taxis are not easy to get and it's nearly £5 for a two minute journey. Not exactly cheap. Food was ok, especially the breakfast choices. Would I return, no.

Helen Sharp said...

44%
60%
60%
10%

Stayed 5th September 2021

The hotel and staff were great but Evening meal on first night was like something from iceland. The fish was cheap and nasty frozen

Gillian Ritchie said...

37%
50%
50%
10%

Stayed 5th September 2021

Evening meal choice was not good

Douglas Martin said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Really enjoyed out stay. Would most definitely recommend it and will stay again.

david kirby said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel and staffed work hard , nice to have entertainment on, rooms are old but they were clean in good location

Eddie Hoey said...

27%
50%
30%
0%

Stayed 1st September 2021

The dinner menu with the £50 voucher was a shambles most of the guests complained or ate out like ourselves so the deal wasn’t that good.

J McDonald said...

80%
70%
70%
100%

Stayed 22nd August 2021

Hi had a lovely stay at Pitlochry Hydro the room’s were basic but clean the pool was great and the food was amazing.The price for drinks was very responsible and the staff were friendly