Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Windermere Hotel, Windermere

Kendal Road, Windermere, LA23 1AL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

A guest said...

50%
60%
80%
10%

Stayed 7th September 2021

Room was clean Breakfast was edible but dinner was very disappointing. Only edible part was the ice cream

Brian Michie said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Hotel dining room and lounge areas are lovely but bedrooms are very dated and could do with a refurb but they were clean. Hotel is in a great location. Food was lovely as well.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2021

Excellent value Hotel rooms and public areas clean and tidy Restaurant was very good Staff very helpful efficient and polite. I would recommend it

Brenda O’Hanlon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Had a lovely break at Windermere Hotel. Staff friendly and food great. Very dog friendly.

carole mulroy said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th June 2021

Needs refurbished

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2021

Hotel was clean and covid secure. Staff excellent, friendly and professional. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Richard Hirst said...

30%
20%
40%
30%

Stayed 22nd May 2021

Never stayed here before, so was surprised to find out that parking is £6 per night, although a lay-by just up the main road can be used for free between the specified times. The hotel is a little tired with thread bare carpets, wall paper hanging off and paintwork flaking. The room was a disappointment, supposed to have a lake view, which it did if you looked hard enough, the bathroom was tiny with a struggle to brush my teeth due to the shower screen being too close to the sink. Dinner was included on the first night, it was disappointing with warm baked camanbare coming out freezing cold plates, theain we chose was steak pie which wasn't too bad, but came out that quickly that it was obviously a warm up, the desert cheesecake was OK. We slept OK in a comfy bed, being watched by a dead insect hanging from the lampshade. Breakfast was OK with my request for Porridge and a banana being fulfilled, my partner had a full English but with Lincolnshire sausages in berland!! At no point did any waiter ask if our food was OK, either breakfast or dinner. Overall I was very disappointed with this hotel, it wasn't what I expected a will think long and hard and do my research better before booking another hotel with my hotel break.com.

Catherine Ainsworth said...

74%
80%
60%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2020

So glad we didn't listen to the reviews. Yes the Hotel is dated - it's a very old building - but the room was great, the staff were great and the food was great. We would definitely return. We also had no issues with parking but did begrudge paying for this additionally as it should be part of your stay.

John Moore said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2020

Fabulous hotel Staff went way and above their duties to make are stay a great one looking forward to my next break

Mary Pickering said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th October 2020

Fantastic time hotel lovely room fantastic will go back breakfast was very nice

Hugh Murphy said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2020

Had a great stay at windowmere hotel staff where brilliant food was good defo return

A guest said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 2nd October 2020

Rooms could do with a spruce up, lick of paint and a deep clean, had to pay extra to park car at the hotel I was already paying for Which I thought was a bit cheeky, other than that all ok, would use the hotel again.

A guest said...

67%
60%
60%
80%

Stayed 29th September 2020

Typical 3* hotel, clean, freindly, but dated and well worn. Strange feeling with no open bar. We chose the bnb with evening meal on first night. Again strange sitting in a covid designated restaurant. That said, the 3 course meal was very good, service great. Breakfasts were really nice. For a 2 day stay including bnb and evening meal? probably equal the money.

A guest said...

57%
40%
60%
70%

Stayed 19th September 2020

Stayed 3 nights room small and basic shower and toilet so small husband could not use the toilet as not enough room too close too shower door couldn’t open window unless u put a shampoo bottle in it to keep it open massive industrial fan right outside our window started every morning at 6 30 as it was the kitchen roof that was our view kitchen and cleaning staff congregated in the small area under our window every day talking laughing and smoking bathroom had pieces falling off the bottom of shower door water was intermitant went in and off bed springs made a terrible noise in the night all floors creak dirty mouldy window frames on staircase the whole hotel is falling to bits and is in a bad state of repair and we had to leave the hotel and walk to an annex if we wanted food or a drink on the whole horrible

David Newman said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 13th September 2020

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the Windermere Hotel. Having read some unfavourable reviews, we were almost put off from staying there but we are very glad that we decided to go ahead, and feel that some of the recent criticisms are unfair. It's a great location, and we were given a room with a lake view, as promised. The room was comfortable and clean, the breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed a delicious evening meal on the first night included in our deal. The staff were very helpful, too. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for visitors who are looking for a comfortable hotel at a reasonable price. A minor gripe is the parking, which is outsourced to a company called Horizon, and is not satisfactory. We parked at the hotel on the first day, but there were no spaces on the second day, so we had to park on the road; when the time came for paying for one day's parking, it was a case of 'computer says no', which was frustrating and necessitated a phonecall to the provider. The parking needs sorting out.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd March 2020

Our disabled friendly room was very big and perfect for my needs. We had a beautiful view of the lake and snow peaked mountains from a large bay window. Our room was warm and clean and nicely decorated. The food was lovely except for the vegetables. We did pay an extra £15 to make sure we got that room.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2020

Had great stay. Staff friendly, food good with lots of variety. View from room was amazing, you could see Windermere Lake, absolutely stunning. Just went at right time, just before we were forced to Lockdown for Coronavirus. Hope this hotel survives, if so we’ll definitely be back