Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Windermere Hotel, Windermere

Kendal Road, Windermere, LA23 1AL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Joanne Armour said...

57%
50%
60%
60%

Stayed 29th April 2022

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel! Bedrooms need an update and some basic things like hooks to hang towels in the bathroom would be useful! Rooms were clean though. Only real complaint was the bar ! 9.35pm on a Saturday night and we had to virtually beg for a drink ! Hotel is in a good location though and would recommend.

Robert Forrest said...

57%
70%
70%
30%

Stayed 30th March 2022

Room very nice but food very disappointing

Dan Hill said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st April 2022

Had a lovely time at the hotel Staff very friendly will definitely stay agsin

A guest said...

67%
60%
80%
60%

Stayed 24th March 2022

Lovely hotel however, bedrooms could do with a bit of modernisation. Everything was clean and the staff were pleasant. Breakfast was ok but some items were cold as kept in warmers and not served fresh to each guest.

A guest said...

64%
20%
80%
90%

Stayed 11th March 2022

Lovely friendly staff. Public areas clean and tidy. Breakfast very good hot and plenty of choice. Orris restaurant where dinner was served clean nice staff food ok but lacked any atmosphere reminded me of a club house on a holiday park.

Alan Evans said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 22nd February 2022

Room small but was ok. Hotel could do with a lick of paint. Location good for Windermere but 25 minute walk to Bowness and the lake. Buffet breakfast very good. Evening meal disappointing, no a la carte, set meal was £20 each so couldn't spend the £25 each we were allocated. Were told we could spend the balance on drink. When we checked out found out this was a lie.

Ann Morgan said...

95%
90%
N/A
100%

Stayed 19th February 2022

Didn’t no about the 11 o’clock check out was 10 but I sorted it myself with the receptionist very helpful. But we did leave early stop confusion

Joanne Eleanor Muncaster said...

47%
60%
40%
40%

Stayed 12th February 2022

Rooms average. Reception poorly manned. Tried to pre book our table the week before for our party of 8 but we're told this wasn't necessary. When we tried to book our table on arrival we were told the restaurant was fully booked. We were then booked into the attached pub and on arrival 3 of the meals advertised on the menu were unavailable. My husband meal was cold and had to be sent back. My peppercorn sauce was more like mustard. Would definitely not recommend eating there

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th January 2022

We had lovely stay, staff were amazing. So quick and cleaned away plates and sprayed and cleaned tables down. Which is brilliant as most places not doing it. Two things to note although food was lovely it was pre made not freshly made. Also our bathroom it was a good job we are not big people. Otherwise we would not have been able to fit between shower n wall to get to sink. They are the only two minor negatives.

Mary Pickering said...

27%
30%
40%
10%

Stayed 24th January 2022

Arrived at room smelling of cigarette smoke room window was open wide new windows in room was told window open because of covid .Got moved to another room not as nice not new windows and cold and draughty no need for window open in that room for covid . Mostly bus tours staying no face masks worn by staff or guests . This is the third time staying at this hotel sorry to say won’t be back

Angela Kelly said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd January 2022

Lovely hotel room basic but clean nice and warm food in restaurant lovely for both evening Meal and breakfast Would stay again

Victor Sessions said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2022

A very pleasant stay. We had lovely views of Windermere with a small premium. The food was pub quality, not restaurant quality, but still very nice. Breakfast was excellent and service couldn't be faulted.

Shaun Musgrove said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 24th September 2021

The hotel was clean and pleasant, parking was available at extra cost. The room was clean and comfortable. We dined in the hotel on the first night, the food was fine but we had to dine in the bar which meant going outside to walk to the bar. Breakfast was in the main building and was fine but very busy which led to food running out. Although we had booked our time we had to return 20 mins later when a table was ready. Not a massive issue but could’ve been if we had something booked at a certain time.

Robin Macpherson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th November 2021

Great location handy for everything rooms clean and warm

Peter Pickup said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd November 2021

Marvellous super service

A guest said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 2nd November 2021

Great value for money.

lisa ng said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 29th October 2021

Great location, very friendly hard working reception and restaurant staff. We stayed in a superior double facing the car park and lake, it was very nice.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2021

A well maintained solid granite hotel. Rooms are a good size, high ceilings, good heating for cool winter nights. Staff excellent and very friendly and helpful. Food is very good, allergies no problem, breakfast a full buffet selection.

Jade Gora said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2021

Great deal, £95 for a lovely buffet breakfast and £40 drinks voucher. Upgraded to a lake view room, room was fine and staff were lovely. Good location for Windermere Town bars and cafes.

Paul Richardson said...

80%
80%
80%
N/A

Stayed 1st October 2021

Ok stay good hotel and location,but on second day maintenance guy wanted to come into our room to measure windows for future work. We were not happy as with COVID-19 rules still in place if you want them, did not understand why a stranger would need to come into our safe space to carry out works which could be done after we leave. Not sure if he gained access when we were out for the day? Again this should not happen in current climate. But that said friendly staff apart from one good clean and pleasant hotel.

may mckillop said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2021

After reading very negative reviews on this hotel was really sceptical about going but was pleasantly surprised. Yes parts of the hotel need upgrading but our roof was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good both days and plentiful fruit juice fresh fruit etc you can upgrade to steak and eggs smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or eggs Benedict for a supplement if £4 . I had eggs Benedict on second day which was lovely. Part of our deal was an allowance of £25 for dinner on the 1st night which we had in the adjoining restaurant 3 of us had sirloin steak and 1 sea bass all of which was very enjoyable and presented well. Darren our waiter for the evening was great and very attentive. Overall I would definitely return and definitely would use myhotelbreak.com very professional.

Brian Michie said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Hotel dining room and lounge areas are lovely but bedrooms are very dated and could do with a refurb but they were clean. Hotel is in a great location. Food was lovely as well.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2021

Excellent value Hotel rooms and public areas clean and tidy Restaurant was very good Staff very helpful efficient and polite. I would recommend it

Brenda O’Hanlon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Had a lovely break at Windermere Hotel. Staff friendly and food great. Very dog friendly.

carole mulroy said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th June 2021

Needs refurbished