Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Windermere Hotel, Windermere

Kendal Road, Windermere, LA23 1AL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

Victor Sessions said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2022

A very pleasant stay. We had lovely views of Windermere with a small premium. The food was pub quality, not restaurant quality, but still very nice. Breakfast was excellent and service couldn't be faulted.

Carol Todd said...

17%
10%
30%
10%

Stayed 3rd December 2021

The room we were allocated was very small , tired , dark and boiling hot . Good in the bar was expensive in that it was restaurant prices in pub surroundings, however it was very tasty . The breakfast on the first morning was nice , on the second Morning the bacon could have been revived and the beans were stone cold, eggs were slimy and cold . Communal areas are pleasant enough and the staff were nice but not one asked if we had enjoyed our stay . Would not visit again .

Shaun Musgrove said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 24th September 2021

The hotel was clean and pleasant, parking was available at extra cost. The room was clean and comfortable. We dined in the hotel on the first night, the food was fine but we had to dine in the bar which meant going outside to walk to the bar. Breakfast was in the main building and was fine but very busy which led to food running out. Although we had booked our time we had to return 20 mins later when a table was ready. Not a massive issue but could’ve been if we had something booked at a certain time.

kenneth owen said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 17th November 2021

Everything ok

Robin Macpherson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th November 2021

Great location handy for everything rooms clean and warm

Robert Rae said...

14%
20%
20%
0%

Stayed 5th November 2021

No choice of menu. Also it is all frozen food and badly cooked. Ordered Calamari was to tough to eat , then Steak and Ale Pie. It came with Frozen vegetables which were not cooked properly.

Peter Pickup said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd November 2021

Marvellous super service

A guest said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 2nd November 2021

Great value for money.

lisa ng said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 29th October 2021

Great location, very friendly hard working reception and restaurant staff. We stayed in a superior double facing the car park and lake, it was very nice.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2021

A well maintained solid granite hotel. Rooms are a good size, high ceilings, good heating for cool winter nights. Staff excellent and very friendly and helpful. Food is very good, allergies no problem, breakfast a full buffet selection.

Jade Gora said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2021

Great deal, £95 for a lovely buffet breakfast and £40 drinks voucher. Upgraded to a lake view room, room was fine and staff were lovely. Good location for Windermere Town bars and cafes.

A guest said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2021

The hotel is dated however was clean. The staff are pleasant especially the dining room staff. Please beware you have to pay £6 per night parking.

Paul Richardson said...

80%
80%
80%
N/A

Stayed 1st October 2021

Ok stay good hotel and location,but on second day maintenance guy wanted to come into our room to measure windows for future work. We were not happy as with COVID-19 rules still in place if you want them, did not understand why a stranger would need to come into our safe space to carry out works which could be done after we leave. Not sure if he gained access when we were out for the day? Again this should not happen in current climate. But that said friendly staff apart from one good clean and pleasant hotel.

may mckillop said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2021

After reading very negative reviews on this hotel was really sceptical about going but was pleasantly surprised. Yes parts of the hotel need upgrading but our roof was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good both days and plentiful fruit juice fresh fruit etc you can upgrade to steak and eggs smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or eggs Benedict for a supplement if £4 . I had eggs Benedict on second day which was lovely. Part of our deal was an allowance of £25 for dinner on the 1st night which we had in the adjoining restaurant 3 of us had sirloin steak and 1 sea bass all of which was very enjoyable and presented well. Darren our waiter for the evening was great and very attentive. Overall I would definitely return and definitely would use myhotelbreak.com very professional.

Brian Michie said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Hotel dining room and lounge areas are lovely but bedrooms are very dated and could do with a refurb but they were clean. Hotel is in a great location. Food was lovely as well.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2021

Excellent value Hotel rooms and public areas clean and tidy Restaurant was very good Staff very helpful efficient and polite. I would recommend it

Brenda O’Hanlon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Had a lovely break at Windermere Hotel. Staff friendly and food great. Very dog friendly.

carole mulroy said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th June 2021

Needs refurbished

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2021

Hotel was clean and covid secure. Staff excellent, friendly and professional. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Catherine Ainsworth said...

74%
80%
60%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2020

So glad we didn't listen to the reviews. Yes the Hotel is dated - it's a very old building - but the room was great, the staff were great and the food was great. We would definitely return. We also had no issues with parking but did begrudge paying for this additionally as it should be part of your stay.

John Moore said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2020

Fabulous hotel Staff went way and above their duties to make are stay a great one looking forward to my next break

Mary Pickering said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th October 2020

Fantastic time hotel lovely room fantastic will go back breakfast was very nice

Hugh Murphy said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2020

Had a great stay at windowmere hotel staff where brilliant food was good defo return

A guest said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 2nd October 2020

Rooms could do with a spruce up, lick of paint and a deep clean, had to pay extra to park car at the hotel I was already paying for Which I thought was a bit cheeky, other than that all ok, would use the hotel again.

A guest said...

67%
60%
60%
80%

Stayed 29th September 2020

Typical 3* hotel, clean, freindly, but dated and well worn. Strange feeling with no open bar. We chose the bnb with evening meal on first night. Again strange sitting in a covid designated restaurant. That said, the 3 course meal was very good, service great. Breakfasts were really nice. For a 2 day stay including bnb and evening meal? probably equal the money.