Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Windermere Hotel, Windermere

Kendal Road, Windermere, LA23 1AL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

75%

Mrs Adams said...

57%
20%
100%
50%

Stayed 14th November 2022

Very disappointed this was our third visit to The Windermere it has sadly been neglected, wallpaper hanging off the walls in the hallway, paint work needs attention, mould in the bathroom, paint work on the windows filthy, torn carpet in the restaurant. On the positive the restaurant staff were welcoming and attentive.

Mike Nolan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th October 2022

We had an excellent stay, excellent food and drinks available, staff couldn't do anymore to help us xxx They event put a little birthday card in our room and a surprise for my fiancée xxx Many Thanks Again Mike & Cara

Susan chiumento said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd September 2022

We’ve stayed here before & knew it was a good hotel to stay at on a visit to Windermere. Windermere’s attractions are all within walking distance, tho uphill on the way back so not suitable for people with disabilities. We stayed in a lake view room which was definitely an improvement on the standard room we stayed in last time & was good value in comparison. The bed was comfortable & the room was pleasant & had all we needed...except a real glass which is a pet hate of mine. Luckily I had brought 1 with me as so many hotels now have the flimsy plastic cups. The bathroom was nice & had a good walk in shower. We ate in the restaurant on the first night on a set meal menu & found the food good value tho fairly basic & the staff were friendly & efficient. The 2nd night we ate in the bar which was good & a better choice. Again the staff were friendly & efficient. The breakfast in the restaurant was good. Good hot food & good service. Like everyone else I don’t like having to pay £6 per night to park the car but in all fairness we would’ve had to pay that to park it in Windermere anyway. We will dately return & would recommend it but would upgrade to a lake view room & maybe eat in the bar in the evenings.

VAL HALL said...

24%
30%
40%
0%

Stayed 22nd August 2022

Stayed 4days. Bed towels never changed.infact no room maids in at all during stay. Room basic. Broken window. Patched up with MDF. No telephone in room. Food very very poor. And on leaving had to pay £6 per night for parking our car. DISGRACEFULL. Paid over £500 for 3nights. Wished I'd never bothered booking. Will not return

Stuart Marley said...

57%
50%
100%
20%

Stayed 4th August 2022

We have really enjoyed all of our previous breaks via "Myhotelbreak.com" including some experiences where the accommodation was excellent and way above the excellent price we paid thru "Myhotelbrak.com". We knew this deal was a good price but we didn't think the hotel would be so old and dated, every floorboard creaked which was unbearable at times. The meal on the first night was awful, but the staff were very nice. This hotel could be so amazing, from the outside it is unique, the stone walls are so grand and beautiful. But on closer inspection it is really dated including rotten window frames. If someone bought the hotel and had a huge budget to literally strip it back to the bare bones, right down to removing all floorboards, joists etc then this hotel could once again be the amazing

Joanne Armour said...

57%
50%
60%
60%

Stayed 29th April 2022

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel! Bedrooms need an update and some basic things like hooks to hang towels in the bathroom would be useful! Rooms were clean though. Only real complaint was the bar ! 9.35pm on a Saturday night and we had to virtually beg for a drink ! Hotel is in a good location though and would recommend.

Dan Hill said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st April 2022

Had a lovely time at the hotel Staff very friendly will definitely stay agsin

Alan Evans said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 22nd February 2022

Room small but was ok. Hotel could do with a lick of paint. Location good for Windermere but 25 minute walk to Bowness and the lake. Buffet breakfast very good. Evening meal disappointing, no a la carte, set meal was £20 each so couldn't spend the £25 each we were allocated. Were told we could spend the balance on drink. When we checked out found out this was a lie.

Ann Morgan said...

95%
90%
N/A
100%

Stayed 19th February 2022

Didn’t no about the 11 o’clock check out was 10 but I sorted it myself with the receptionist very helpful. But we did leave early stop confusion

Joanne Eleanor Muncaster said...

47%
60%
40%
40%

Stayed 12th February 2022

Rooms average. Reception poorly manned. Tried to pre book our table the week before for our party of 8 but we're told this wasn't necessary. When we tried to book our table on arrival we were told the restaurant was fully booked. We were then booked into the attached pub and on arrival 3 of the meals advertised on the menu were unavailable. My husband meal was cold and had to be sent back. My peppercorn sauce was more like mustard. Would definitely not recommend eating there

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th January 2022

We had lovely stay, staff were amazing. So quick and cleaned away plates and sprayed and cleaned tables down. Which is brilliant as most places not doing it. Two things to note although food was lovely it was pre made not freshly made. Also our bathroom it was a good job we are not big people. Otherwise we would not have been able to fit between shower n wall to get to sink. They are the only two minor negatives.

Angela Kelly said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd January 2022

Lovely hotel room basic but clean nice and warm food in restaurant lovely for both evening Meal and breakfast Would stay again

Victor Sessions said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2022

A very pleasant stay. We had lovely views of Windermere with a small premium. The food was pub quality, not restaurant quality, but still very nice. Breakfast was excellent and service couldn't be faulted.

Shaun Musgrove said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 24th September 2021

The hotel was clean and pleasant, parking was available at extra cost. The room was clean and comfortable. We dined in the hotel on the first night, the food was fine but we had to dine in the bar which meant going outside to walk to the bar. Breakfast was in the main building and was fine but very busy which led to food running out. Although we had booked our time we had to return 20 mins later when a table was ready. Not a massive issue but could’ve been if we had something booked at a certain time.

Robin Macpherson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th November 2021

Great location handy for everything rooms clean and warm

Peter Pickup said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd November 2021

Marvellous super service

A guest said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 2nd November 2021

Great value for money.

lisa ng said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 29th October 2021

Great location, very friendly hard working reception and restaurant staff. We stayed in a superior double facing the car park and lake, it was very nice.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2021

A well maintained solid granite hotel. Rooms are a good size, high ceilings, good heating for cool winter nights. Staff excellent and very friendly and helpful. Food is very good, allergies no problem, breakfast a full buffet selection.

Jade Gora said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2021

Great deal, £95 for a lovely buffet breakfast and £40 drinks voucher. Upgraded to a lake view room, room was fine and staff were lovely. Good location for Windermere Town bars and cafes.

Paul Richardson said...

80%
80%
80%
N/A

Stayed 1st October 2021

Ok stay good hotel and location,but on second day maintenance guy wanted to come into our room to measure windows for future work. We were not happy as with COVID-19 rules still in place if you want them, did not understand why a stranger would need to come into our safe space to carry out works which could be done after we leave. Not sure if he gained access when we were out for the day? Again this should not happen in current climate. But that said friendly staff apart from one good clean and pleasant hotel.

may mckillop said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2021

After reading very negative reviews on this hotel was really sceptical about going but was pleasantly surprised. Yes parts of the hotel need upgrading but our roof was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good both days and plentiful fruit juice fresh fruit etc you can upgrade to steak and eggs smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or eggs Benedict for a supplement if £4 . I had eggs Benedict on second day which was lovely. Part of our deal was an allowance of £25 for dinner on the 1st night which we had in the adjoining restaurant 3 of us had sirloin steak and 1 sea bass all of which was very enjoyable and presented well. Darren our waiter for the evening was great and very attentive. Overall I would definitely return and definitely would use myhotelbreak.com very professional.

Brian Michie said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Hotel dining room and lounge areas are lovely but bedrooms are very dated and could do with a refurb but they were clean. Hotel is in a great location. Food was lovely as well.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2021

Excellent value Hotel rooms and public areas clean and tidy Restaurant was very good Staff very helpful efficient and polite. I would recommend it

Brenda O’Hanlon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Had a lovely break at Windermere Hotel. Staff friendly and food great. Very dog friendly.