Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Royal Hotel, Whitby

West Cliff, Whitby, YO21 3HA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

Gary Craven said...

64%
10%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2022

The room had a great view. However that was through the window. The view inside wasnt so great ? Thick dust everywhere. Dirty carpets . Everything looked like it hadnt been cleaned in months. No soap in the bathroom. No shower gel etc. Very disapointing all in all.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd August 2022

thank you to the staff helpful and friendly they made it the Savoy of the North !! excellent sea view room quirky lift to be tried but not worn outplease See you again soon Mike H

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th March 2022

We had a brilliant stay at hotel. First class service. Everywhere spotlessly clean Staff very friendly and helpful. Food brilliant. Would def stay there again. All the people who moan about the hotel should remember that yes this is an older hotel and buildings like people have problems as they get older but with the very helpful staff they have any problem would quickly be resolved. Trish

David Pridding said...

54%
50%
80%
30%

Stayed 11th March 2022

There were positives about the hotel. The location was excellent, the staff were obliging and the breakfast was good. However, we did not think that this hotel was of the standard we have come to expect from your organisation. The building is old and tired looking inside. The water was lukewarm and we had to boil kettles to wash. When we reported this to the Assistant Manager, he apologised and explained that one boiler was out of action. The situation remained the same throughout our stay. The biggest disappointment was the evening meal. We were told we had £25 each towards. We were expecting, as in other hotels we have booked with you, to have an ala carte menu. However, that was not the case. The hotel caters for coach tours and we had no choice but the set menu for the coach tours. This was very much a three course menu on the cheap. The starter, for example, was either a very watery soup or four small chicken nuggets. We did complain and they offered us a complimentary meal the next evening. Having seen the quality, we politely turned down the offer.

Vincent Stonebank said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 22nd February 2022

Really enjoyed our stay at The Royal. Staff were absolutely excellent. There was an issue with the lounge bar menu which didn't seem to be available but again the staff pulled out all the stops as best they could. Would I stay here again -Most definitely.

lynn mackenzie said...

80%
100%
80%
60%

Stayed 21st February 2022

We had an amazing time our room in the royal hotel was lovely and clean the hotel needed some work done to it but it’s what you expect from a old hotel breakfast was okay self service I prefer the staff waiting on you but overall it was alright we will definitely be back

Ian William Roberts said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th December 2021

The Hotel in a prime spot over looking the Harbour and Sea, yes the Hotel is looking a bit tired from the outside which can be expected with an old building. Once inside it was lovely and had a lot of character which we like, the staff couldn't have been more helpful from start to finish, there was a mix up with our room so as an apology we were put into a sea view room that was great, the windows do need a bit of work as said in previous comments but the room was clean and tidy. The toilet shower room great especially shower, no complaints. The breakfast and evening meals were great, once again the staff couldn't do enough for you , would stay again especially for the price we paid, well done all staff , Merry Christmas!

Mark Gott said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th November 2021

Ok the Royal is a little tired in regards of decor and some maintenance ie windows . But what a grand old place with a location to die for high on the cliff overlooking the harbour . The rooms were comfy and very warm had to switch the radiator off . The shower was great and the bed was good slept like a log . Had a wonderful sea view and would stay again .

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2021

Another fabulous deal from My Hotel Break, we stayed three nights. Whitby is breathtaking, the most delightful and interesting place and a must see but not for everyone if you have trouble with steps and steep inclines. Royal Hotel is perfectly situated and the staff are brilliant. Hotel rooms are tired they really need a facelift but the beds were clean and comfortable and it was an excellent deal. Bar and restaurant are great and there was entertainment on Saturday night which was fabulous. Thank you Paul Tilley, great entertainer and the perfect end to our lovely break. Shame it wasn’t advertised at reception we think that was a bit remiss of the management. Would stay again….

Christine Hinder said...

50%
50%
80%
20%

Stayed 18th August 2021

Hotel was very tired but bedrooms were clean. Breakfast was limited but good. However, evening meal was inedible! The ham had obviously come out of a tin, mustard sauce was literally very weak gravy with mustard seeds, red cabbage had been boiled for a very long time in fact it was pink, mangetout were slime and rubbery and potatoes were hard. Staff very helpful

Julie Bullock said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2021

We enjoyed our stay. Room large,clean and tidy. Staff friendly and helpful., especially receptionists. Food and menu choices good. Some places need redecorating when budget allows.,looking a bit tired Yes we would visit again

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 30th July 2021

Perfect location in whitby , staff lovely and very helpful , corridors a bit tired , room had been updated and was clean tho , and details like a little heater in the room was lovely touch

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 20th July 2021

Enjoyed our stay, hotel a bit dated and no snooker table even thought it advertised there was one, food was lovely only bad this was the pervious occupant in our room left his clothes so obviously room wasn't cleaned properly which was a shock under the cirstances but didn't spoil out holiday

Alan Chapman said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th June 2021

We were made very welcome from booking in and the staff were very friendly at all times. We had the best view in Whitby from our room, We are going to book again hopefully the same room. Alan Chapman.*****

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th June 2021

Me and my husband just have a lovely 2days brack at the royal hotel whitby Staff were very friendly and helpful room very clean Food we had a choice for breakfast the same for our evenings meal we had slot time for our meal breakfast 7/30- 10ish evening meal 6ish- 8/30 you had to pick what time was best for you If this offer comes up again I would very much be pleased to book it a again Thank you

Julie Tyers said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th June 2021

We had a lovely time for our Friends 60th Birthday,staff great from start to finish, rooms good, food good cant see why people leave negative reviews almost put us off staying, we will be back, a few silly niggles but hey is anyone perfect x

Diane Reading said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd June 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Adhered to COVID rulings. Also the weather was amazing

GRAHAM HAME said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 2nd June 2021

Hotel generally a bit tired. But couldn't fault staff attitude. Lovely meals. Very nice value for money break.

A guest said...

74%
80%
90%
50%

Stayed 23rd May 2021

It was only a week after suspension of lock so I will take that into consideration on my comments, reception was good and freindly although had asked for a low floor(as wife can't use lift) even after a request when booking and phone call earlier in the week and they gave us a third floor room which they changed immediately to first floor with a free drink while we waited for a 1st floor room. The room was large and clean bath room looked refurbished but the floor needed a repair as there was a danger of tripping and when looking in the shower the tile grouting was very discoloured and needed good scrub could have been missed because of room not being used during lock down. We found staff good, freindly and helpful some were new and still learning, and there was a shortage of staff for room cleaning, meal on our first night was terrible and although we had warned them my wife was dairy free there was very little on the food side for her although they did have soya milk and margarine, the second night was much better so we put it down to possibly the main chef had a night off. Breakfasts were good. The building exterior and decor inside are dated but I think there are plans for refurbishment when done this will be a excellent hotel its seafront position with lovely views across to Whitby Abbey, if you go by car I would advise an early booking of parking space in their car park at the back which has an easy access to the reception if you book your space is reserved with your reg number at £6 per night worth it especially if hotel is full. It's worth a visit at the moment if it's a good deal and not expecting too much. I think Coast & Country Bay Royal hotel will improve as it is run by Bespoke hotels and will try it again at a future date when everything is back to normal.

Robert Taylorson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st May 2021

Good hotel for the money

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th September 2020

I enjoy staying at The Royal in Whitby. The staff are amazing and work very hard.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th March 2020

Another great weekend at the Royal. Close to the Whitby Pavilion and town centre so ideal location for us. Great rooms overlooking the Abbey. Restaurant service second to none. Will be back for the summer festivals and the October Goth weekend

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd September 2020

Lovely room with fantastic view didnt need tv on fab people watching. Bed pillows and bedding very comfy. We stayed 2 nights. B&B breakfast was good. The staff extremely help full and smiley. Reception staff very helpful to. Dately will be back. Had a lovely walk to sandsend and visited the magpie for a meal. That didnt disappoint. I felt very safe at the hotel. Plenty of social distance between the tables. Had a drink in the bar. Wow the views are stunning.other guests friendly. Would happily return as a solo guest and feel comfortable

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th August 2020

the breakfast was very good , plenty of food, help your self ,food was hot

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th August 2020

Jenny the receptionist was amazing as I turned up late, booked late and then I wanted dinner. She sorted it all out for me. In fact, all the staff were brilliant. The view was amazing from the hotel.