Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, Elgin

Morriston Rd, Elgin, IV303UL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

A guest said...

64%
70%
60%
60%

Stayed 16th July 2019

Dinner service a bit shambolic as apparently staf sick. Took over 2 hours to serve our dinner and we were one of the first in. Second night had venison burger which was over cooked and was told by waitress that she would let the chef know! Other people on the same night were getting food that was under cooked.

Kathryn Higgins said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st July 2019

Had a lovely 2 nights break at this hotel. Perfect location for touring and hotel food was excellent and our waitress Gemma was so friendly and helpful which added to our enjoyment

J Pratt said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th June 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Eight Acres Hotel. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Evening meal was excellent as was the breakfast. Would certainly stay again and would recommend to friends.

Robert Scott said...

80%
60%
100%
N/A

Stayed 26th May 2019

Nice enough hotel, loveley location but seems to be lost in the 80's. Clean rooms and excellent staff. The rooms are dated & basic though quite functional, bed was ok. Bathroom is clean and tidy but again is as dated as the room, with a shower that had a mind of it's own. Could do with some TLC and sorting out (e.g. sound proofing) and with a well directed overall refurb to get it up a rating point, I believe it could be excellent.

Bernadette Mouffok said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 18th April 2019

Enjoyed our stay, dinner and afternoon tea was good too. Very good location. Leisure was small with individual saunas in the changing rooms so you can't enjoy it on your own without your partner! The jacuzzi was even smaller couldn't wait to use it on our own?No toiletries there!! so mind take your own down with you, unlike me. I would only go back for the location not the leisure. Staff were all very pleasant and nothing a bother, rooms good size and clean.

Bernadette Mouffok said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 18th April 2019

Enjoyed our stay, dinner and afternoon tea was good too. Very good location. Leisure was small with individual saunas in the changing rooms so you can't enjoy it on your own without your partner! The jacuzzi was even smaller couldn't wait to use it on our own?No toiletries there!! so mind take your own down with you, unlike me. I would only go back for the location not the leisure. Staff were all very pleasant and nothing a bother, rooms good size and clean.

Sheila Newlands said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st March 2019

The room allocated had a small shower room with tiles that had a lot of dirty grout. In addition the shower curtain had bad mildew marks. This certainly was not the best room available. I would add however that I was dealt with courtesy when I complained and was happy to accept an upgraded room. The staff and food were excellent and accommodating with an early dinner we had requested.

Evelyn Bennett said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th May 2018

Love this hotel. The staff are all very friendly, food delicious and rooms lovely. Whats not to like? This was our 5th visit - sure it won't be the last!

Andrea Keenan said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th April 2018

Staff very pleasant and helpful.

Evelyn Bennett said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2018

We are regular visitors to this hotel. The staff are exceptional and the food excellent. Our room was lovely. No complaints at all. And we will be back.

Evelyn Bennett said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2018

We are regular visitors to this hotel. The staff are exceptional and the food excellent. Our room was lovely. No complaints at all. And we will be back.

B Slorach said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd February 2018

Really enjoyed the hotel,excellent food as well. Could not fault anything,will be going again.

Andy Carcary said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2017

Another enjoyable twixmas break at the Eight Acres hotel. Nothing to complain about in that the room was clean and cosy and the beds comfy. The maid service came in each day while we were at breakfast which fitted in nicely. Food was very good quality with plenty of choices. Leisure facil very nice too. Staff were always attentive and efficient and very pleasant to speak to and deal with. Only slight down side was that last year we got welcome tea/coffee and mini mince pies in the lounge, which was not the case this year, and the price went up slightly. That said, this did not dampen our enjoyment of the hotel, which we would happily return to and would recommend to others.

David Lock said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st August 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would definitely return and highly recommend this hotel, particularly the Ben Romach Suite. The staff and food were wonderful?

A guest said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2017

Hotel a bit weary round the edges. Staff friendly, but stretched at times. Good value for money

Gwen Scott said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 6th August 2017

Lovely stay ,nice room food good.

ALASDAIR INGRAM said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th May 2017

This hotel was selected as we had not visited the Elgin area before. We were not only impressed by the area but the hotel as well. If there are Spocial deals on this hotel grab it - you will not be disappointed.

gordon mackenzie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th February 2017

Stayed for two nights with dinner both nights. Very attentive and helpful staff. Room was too warm on our arrival but we received a fan on asking. All food was well presented and enjoyable and service was first class. Leisure club was good and all areas clean and tidy. Can recommend and will be back again.

ANN PATIENCE said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2016

We enjoy coming to this hotel very much just for the relaxing break, however as much as we are frequent visitors (at least 6 times in 2016) we are very disappointed that we are never remembered by staff - only 1 staff member (Natalie) said hello and welcome back. This is not the first time I have voiced my opinion on this and after doing so the manager made a big show of "pretending" to know that we visited before - only because it was pointed out to her - last weeks visit she looked right through us whilst serving us at the dining room - without a hint of recognition. This simply is not good enough - she should be the eyes and ears of the hotel - the person who SHOULD recognise and welcome frequent visitors. Other than this - the hotel is perfectly adequate,clean, lovely food - with a few new staff serving in dining room who were outstanding. Job well done.

ROBERT white said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2016

Lovely warm helpful staff. Great food excellent spa and gym. Perfect base to explore the North East. Will be back in the summer!

Julie Chorne said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2016

It's rare to find such a friendly bunch of people all in one place - wherever you were in the hotel there was a smile and a greeting. I had a spotlessly clean, warm & comfortable room overlooking the garden with a good sized bathroom. Having booked a dinner inclusive deal I wasn't sure what to expect but believe me the food was fabulous on both the table d'hote and the bar menu and it was a bonus to be able to choose from either. Mussels & Lamb were my favourites.

Patricia Stenhouse said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 16th December 2016

Nice stay, room perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean, Used the Pool and Sauna, again to a great standard. However, hotel was so quiet - only myself and husband for dinner on the Friday (8p.m.) and us and two single diners on the Saay (7p.m.). But overall a pleasant stay and would have no hesitation in going back.

william mcaleer said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 27th November 2016

Nice hotel kept very clean although the waiting staff looked a bit pushed when serving breakfast and dinner they were running around like mad, could do with a few more waiting staff. cold porridge wrong toast, no milk on the table dinner with pork in a mustard sauce turned out to be entire dinner swamped in mustard sauce but not really a problem !! A pity the tribute act cancelled but the replacement was OK so we had a good night anyway. The pool and gym were really good with plenty of exercise equipment . I would go back to this hotel despite my moans, the staff were all really nice. One more moan the Hotels car park/forecourt is very dark with little in the way of lighting which looks a bit unwelcoming if not dangerous.we stayed Friday to Monday on the Michael BUBLE entertainment package with an extra night on the Sunday. Good value all round.

Margaret Roberts said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th November 2016

Very good

Maureen Diane said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd September 2016

Fantastic stay. Lovley room and food was amazing. Service was excellent too. Would recommend this hotel nd would definitely return.