Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Great Western Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA34 5PP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

66%

James Burgoyne said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd April 2022

We arrived at the hotel and went to our room and found out the bed was broken on arrival of entering so we went down to the reception and they were quickly to resolve the problem and upgraded our room to a sea view

Elaine Arthur said...

37%
10%
60%
40%

Stayed 22nd April 2022

Great deal with MyHotelbreaks however very disappointed with the actual hotel! We stayed there in January and room was fabulous then this time we were given a room in the basement which sadly lacked cleanliness! basic cleaning had not been carried out and even the sockets had tea stains on them! the pull cord in the bathroom had snapped and it was tied up so as long as your were over 5 ft you could reach it! bathroom had rotten skirting board at shower which should have been replaced! not really enamoured with the staff response to this! first person I spoke to said she was only covering and usually did the meals! she did offer us a room change but this was later at night & we just wanted to sleep! the room lets the hotel down as the rest of the hotel looks great!

A guest said...

64%
50%
70%
70%

Stayed 25th April 2022

The first room we were allocated was filthy with a window facing out onto a wall. When we asked to change into a more hospitable room we were told , without a surcharge that would not be possible.When we showed the woman at reception the photos of the condition of the room ,they changed our room.Other than that we spent a very pleasant weekend at Great Western Oban.

James Perrie said...

50%
70%
70%
10%

Stayed 3rd April 2022

On arrival we were given one room which had a broken window with it being unable to remain fully closed, after notifying reception, we were re-assigned to a different room with the same view, the room itself was decorated nicely and had everything you need for a night or 2. However, the floor was incredibly creaky and would have been a nicer stay being able to walk without the constant creaking. Part of the deal included dinner on the first evening, which due to lack of plain choices or the willingness of the waitress/reception to discuss the options with the kitchen as they said they probably didn’t have options, we did not use during our stay. The hotel has a bar lounge which offers sandwiches and light bites etc to paying customers so I find this lack of trying to help, lazy. The breakfast wasn’t anything particularly special and lack lustre in comparison to some other breakfast options we have experienced in the past. Hotel seems to have a mix up with the times that this takes place as well, we were handed a card with 07:30-09:30 and upon arrival for breakfast were told that it’s actually 9am but they managed to squeeze us in with the leftovers. Hotel views and location seemed to be this hotels biggest selling point.

Michelle Oneill said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 31st March 2022

Lovely break away ,payed slightly more for a sea veiw and we had a great veiw, room was clean and spacious, dinner and breakfast was great ,staff were very pleasant. Would definitely stay again.

A guest said...

34%
40%
30%
30%

Stayed 30th March 2022

Room had a lovely view & was adequate! A double bed for such an enormous room,seemed strange& a 14 inch television,was a bit of a joke,especially for the size of the room! Dinner was very poor,food well below standard,served by robotic,charmless staff! Asked by barman,who appeared when we were at pudding,if we would like a wine! Amazing! Breakfast was equally poor,served on the smallest plates & juice glasses possible,will never stay here again !

A guest said...

60%
50%
80%
50%

Stayed 28th March 2022

Had a pleasant few days here. Hotel is a bit dated and in need of refurbishment although it appears to be work in progress. Breakfast fine but dinner just ok. Probably would not stay here again as there are better hotels in Oban cheaper.

A guest said...

30%
50%
20%
20%

Stayed 25th March 2022

Not happy with this hotel. Food was poor. School dinners springs to mind. Service was terrible. We were in and out of the dining room in 45minutes having been presented with 3 courses , with no pause between courses. We had asked for the drinks menu, which did not appear.By the time we got served our drinks we were halfway through the main course. Breakfast also poor. No fruit or bread rolls. Shortage of plates and cups. Hot food buffet not replenished quick enough. The grab rail in the bath had been mended with sticky tape.... surely a health hazard.

Anne Murphy said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th March 2022

Had a great friday overnight stay. No entertainment. Staff were really nice and helpful. Very old building but loved the features. Would definitely stay again. Great deal with myhotelbreak.com

andrew hendren said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th March 2022

Lovely hotel and rooms, staff very helpful and polite, thoughtfully enjoyed our break

Nicola Gallacher said...

27%
20%
50%
10%

Stayed 5th March 2022

Hotel rooms and en-suites were tired and old. Although we didn’t come away to watch tv it is nice to have it on when in the room and when going to bed, this was the smallest tv, freeview channels were poor with only maybe 3 or so working. The bathroom was in desperate need of updating. The bed was uncomfortable. The service at the main desk, bar and at dinner was good, all staff were pleasant. The poor woman on the bar and dining area was rushed off her feet having to man the bar in one room while taking our dinner and drinks orders then clearing all tables at dinner. I would score service a 10 on the staff but i feel I need to highlight to the owners of the hotel one staff member to do both these jobs is not enough and very unfair on your staff, especially on a Saturday night which I’m guessing is one of your busier nights. The 3 courses we received over dinner were not enjoyable at all, no seasoning on anything. A personal pet hate of mine is when places don’t have GF alternatives and instead just don’t include the item on your plate, even when booking you included intolerances in notes for hotel. If we did not have a voucher for some of the food to be included in our original price I would seriously have been complaining. I would like to say the hotel dealt with our complaint of the room above us causing excessive noise from the hours of 10:30 till beyond 3pm well, the gentleman on nightshift did attend the room and spoke with the guests firmly, a shame they were either to intoxicated to care or just selfish but that couldnt have been helped by the hotel or staff. I definitely will not be returning. We stayed in Room 122.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2022

Pleasant stay and staff were friendly. Would stay here again

Peter Moffat said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2022

Warm welcome on arrival. Comfortable room. Food was excellent. All staff were very friendly and efficient. Overall excellent value for money.

Catherine Quinn said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 28th January 2022

Nice enough Hotel but looking a bit old and tired, sea view was nice but window old and draughty. Meal was nice although served in a draughty lounge rather than the restaurant. Breakfast was poor, Cereal, no fruit or yoghurt which is usually standard. Had to wait on cooked breakfast as ran out of eggs, bacon was raw and beans were stone cold. I fully understand that it has been tough on the hospitality industry, however Hotel was very quiet so no need for poor service. Will go back to Oban but not to this Hotel.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th December 2021

Clean, comfortable room; friendly, helpful staff; perfectly decent buffet breakfast and a good evening meal (three courses) included in package. Front-facing first floor room, above the lounge area, can be noisy in evening if musical entertainment in full swing, but does not last unreasonably long (and it was a weekend). Menu choice is currently limited, but understandable under current challenging cirstances. The hotel decor is a wee bit tired, with ongoing re-decor in evidence. Hotel parking is currently £6.00 per day, but there is free parking close by at Corran Hall. All-in-all, a decent value-for-money stay in a well-located hotel with good staff.

Gwendolene Flann said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 2nd December 2021

Hotel adhering to covid guidelines. No staff enter rooms during your stay. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

A guest said...

74%
50%
100%
70%

Stayed 16th November 2021

Had a nice break in Oban.The hotel is a bit tired creaky floors and windows needing replaced but the view from our room made up for these failings.

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 5th November 2021

The hotel was warm, clean and friendly . Good central location and food was tasty. Bar prices were expensive . Very relaxing and enjoyable weekend break and good value .

Margaret Gemmell said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 3rd November 2021

This hotel is in a great location, our room was clean and looked to have been decorated recently but the bed was a small double so not very comfortable for two adults. Food was ok but breakfast staff need some training, I had to ask them to replenish the breakfast trays as it was a buffet breakfast, all in all you get what you pay for.

james whittaker said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th October 2021

We spent two night at this hotel , We had a superior room with a sea view,it was very clean and comfortable,the windows could do with a coat of paint to tidy it up . The rest of the hotel was fine ,the staff were very courteous and helpful would return

james whittaker said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th October 2021

We spent two night at this hotel , We had a superior room with a sea view,it was very clean and comfortable,the windows could do with a coat of paint to tidy it up . The rest of the hotel was fine ,the staff were very courteous and helpful would return

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd October 2021

Staff were very friendly and helpful on the telephone before our arrival and throughout our stay at the hotel. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable and the buffet breakfast was fresh and empty dishes refilled quickly. We enjoyed our one night stay at the hotel.

Stuart Macdonald said...

44%
80%
50%
0%

Stayed 22nd October 2021

My wife and I did not enjoy this break, on arrival the hotel smells of dampness and you can see this evidence on water marks throughout, the meal was not nice at all my wife asked for a drink but no one appeared, we were not consulted on the other menu options, the lift was dirty you only have to look at the lift roof, I think this hotel group is running on a very tight margin and the staff cannot cope, so its not their fault. breakfast, however, was good and the floor manager was very nice and worked very hard no complaints there, however, I would not return to this hotel and would not use the company chain again.

I Mccafferty said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2021

Great hotel. Staff were very helpful especially Amy on reception. Covid measures were evident. Good value for money. Had a sea view room. Only minus was parking were there was a bit of confusion with guests parking in bays assigned to other people. Would recommend .

Gerald Coyle said...

64%
50%
80%
60%

Stayed 25th September 2021

Hotel is in a very good location and has very good views. Room and bathroom needed a bit of upgrading but clean and tidy. Bar was decent with great views.