Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Caledonian Hotel, Fort William

Achintore Road, Fort William, PH33 6RW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th June 2022

Hotel very good. Staff very friendly. No complaints whatsoever regarding meals and service although the Hotel was very busy with bus parties. Only problem we encountered was lift not working on a couple of occasions but apart from that we enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend Hotel.

Gerald Mackie said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 27th April 2022

Good clean hotel. Unfortunately, a small distance from town.

Mary Clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th April 2022

Was worried by some of the reviews on booking but had nothing to worry about has everything was ideal. From the reception in everyone was so helpful in clouding the Restaurant staff who gave us hints on which route to take when going out for the day.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st April 2022

Great, dog friendly hotel. Lovely staff too

Agnes Anderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2022

We had a lovely break, nice hotel, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast and evening meal, and staff very nice and helpful, we will certainly be back ?

A guest said...

10%
10%
10%
10%

Stayed 9th April 2022

Very disappointed as this hotel needs a major overhaul. Rooms are needing a refurbishment lacking even enough sockets. Only good aspect is view and location.

Hazel Leggatt said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 4th April 2022

Reception staff very friendly. Room clean and comfortable. Bathroom small but a big powerful shower. Some areas of the hotel very dated. Menu in restaurant changes on a weekly basis, not a great selection if you are a fussy eater like myself. Restaurant staff just do their job making no attempt to chat with guests and waitress was rather abrupt with myself and another guest.

Iain Kennedy said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd April 2022

The hotel is situated right on the loch side with stunning views , staff were very pleasant and helpful, food at the hotel was good and the breakfast choice was plentiful. Would recommend to family and friends.

susan tait said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th February 2022

Rooms where lovely and well decorated, the room we had was a bit small but fine for 2 of us for the weekend. The staff where all very friendly. The food was lovely but it was only a small menu which was the same both nights except a change in soup and the breakfast was lovely but the scrambled eggs and mushrooms had went cold sitting out. Might have been ok if we'd went in for breakfast a bit earlier. Overall it was worth the money and we would return again.

Rhonda Callaghan said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th February 2022

We had warm welcome at reception on arrival and enjoyed a good choice for dinner and a hearty breakfast. The room had a comfortable bed, good shower and the bonus of a sea view. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Patricia Mills said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th February 2022

Had a lovely stay. Views were fantastic. Hotel was modern & clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely would stay again.

Bryan Scott said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th February 2022

We had a fantastic 2 night stay at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The hotel was very quiet on our first night and Susan spent some time chatting with us and giving us the lowdown on things to do ...especially as the weather was so bad that a lot of the traditional 'walking days' were not advisable. The 3 course meal was lovely and the breakfasts were exactly what was required! We will definitely be back!

Joseph Christopher Ramsay said...

50%
0%
100%
50%

Stayed 5th October 2021

Friendly Staff; Food O.K. Room:- Noisy due to the floor boards. We were aware that the boards in our room were noisy and were wakened by someone in the next room on the second night of our stay due to their noisy floor boards.

Susan McEwan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2021

Had a great stay in this hotel it is a bit dated but they are working on it. The staff were fantastic so helpful they all worked so well as a team. Really enjoyed our breakfast on both mornings. Special thanks to Susan who helped us out to get us to train station for our trip on the Jacobite.

Bryan Matthews said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th September 2021

Enjoyed our stay. Everything ok apart from there being no WiFi in the rooms.

A guest said...

54%
50%
50%
60%

Stayed 2nd October 2021

Stayed at the Caledonian Hotel for a couple of days last week and wasn’t really impressed with it. We had booked 2 nights with dinner on first night. Dinner menu was very limited. Choices for main courses were 3 things including a veggie course so if you don’t like salmon or lamb you will go gry . (Had previously stayed at the Royal Highland in Inverness and choice was huge ) This was our first wee holiday since COVID and was really surprised how rules were being flaunted. Practically none of the waiting or reception staff wore their masks correctly they either didn’t wear them at all (no exemption lanyards on ) or they were keeping their chins warm with them. Well done to the staff that did wear them properly - you were definitely in the minority. Quite a lot of guests did not wear them either. It is still mandatory to wear masks in Scotland so we were surprised how much this rule was broken. It left us feeling quite uncomfortable. Breakfasts was a nice buffet so that was good. No WI FI which isn’t the end of the world but think most people expect that now. Had coldish showers on the last morning as no . Mentioned this at reception and got no real response or apology. We don’t normally comment on reviews but we have felt it might benefit other guests on their holiday choice.

Robert Martin said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

We had a fantastic time there.It might not be a 5? Hotel.But the staff treated us like 5? Guest's. Thank you.

michael kelly said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2021

We wanted to cancel our stay, reading the last reviews. We are so glad we didn’t. It’s not perfect but all what matters was ok. The food was tasty, the breakfast was fab. The room was clean and comfy. The staff were great, there were not many of them so everyone was over worked but all were friendly and helpful. The one thing to remember is that this is a 3 star not 5 star hotel and for that it was fab. The only thing we didn’t like is that a lot of people didn’t bother with masks, but all staff wore them. We will be back

A guest said...

57%
80%
70%
20%

Stayed 28th August 2021

Beautiful setting, upgraded room was lovely but food was terrible, dinner on first night was inedible & breakfast on both mornings wasn’t much better. This was one of the dearest breaks I’ve booked through my hotel breaks & expected more, very disappointed in this hotel. Covid guidelines not followed, lot of staff not wearing masks, public areas- lift etc not Very clean. Staff were lovely but won’t be revisiting or recommending this hotel?

Christine Duncan said...

60%
50%
50%
80%

Stayed 21st August 2021

Rooms very dated. No WiFi in rooms Not worth £135 per night.

Linda Murray said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2021

Hotel nice and clean, staff very friendly, food really good, would be nice if there was a biscuit in room as well as tea/coffee making facilities, need to update their hair dryers and have wi-fi in the rooms.

Derek Priest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2021

Enjoyed our stay

Bernard McLaughlin said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 28th July 2021

Overall the hotel is pretty decent with plenty of parking, clean rooms which are comfortable and luckily we had a view of the loch. Unfortunately, there is no wifi unless you go to public areas. Staff is friendly and reasonably efficient though miscommunication may be experienced on occasion. Breakfast is excellent but you may not receive all you ordered. Dinner was disastrous. If you remember and like school dinners this may be for you but not me at the prices charged and the menu on this occasion fell short of the delivery. Improved dinner would ensure a better experience. Also, be prepared to pay upfront?? Fort William accommodation is overpriced at this season(probably due to "Jacobite Express" demand and covid-19) and is reflected here. You do not always get what you pay for.

Anne-marie Starkey said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2021

Great food excellent and very friendly staff. Hotel clean but could do with a upgrade in some areas

Christina Penman said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2021

We had a fabulous time staff were amazing food was fantastic.