Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Caledonian Hotel, Fort William

Achintore Road, Fort William, PH33 6RW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

Joseph Christopher Ramsay said...

50%
0%
100%
50%

Stayed 5th October 2021

Friendly Staff; Food O.K. Room:- Noisy due to the floor boards. We were aware that the boards in our room were noisy and were wakened by someone in the next room on the second night of our stay due to their noisy floor boards.

Susan McEwan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2021

Had a great stay in this hotel it is a bit dated but they are working on it. The staff were fantastic so helpful they all worked so well as a team. Really enjoyed our breakfast on both mornings. Special thanks to Susan who helped us out to get us to train station for our trip on the Jacobite.

Bryan Matthews said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th September 2021

Enjoyed our stay. Everything ok apart from there being no WiFi in the rooms.

A guest said...

54%
50%
50%
60%

Stayed 2nd October 2021

Stayed at the Caledonian Hotel for a couple of days last week and wasn’t really impressed with it. We had booked 2 nights with dinner on first night. Dinner menu was very limited. Choices for main courses were 3 things including a veggie course so if you don’t like salmon or lamb you will go gry . (Had previously stayed at the Royal Highland in Inverness and choice was huge ) This was our first wee holiday since COVID and was really surprised how rules were being flaunted. Practically none of the waiting or reception staff wore their masks correctly they either didn’t wear them at all (no exemption lanyards on ) or they were keeping their chins warm with them. Well done to the staff that did wear them properly - you were definitely in the minority. Quite a lot of guests did not wear them either. It is still mandatory to wear masks in Scotland so we were surprised how much this rule was broken. It left us feeling quite uncomfortable. Breakfasts was a nice buffet so that was good. No WI FI which isn’t the end of the world but think most people expect that now. Had coldish showers on the last morning as no . Mentioned this at reception and got no real response or apology. We don’t normally comment on reviews but we have felt it might benefit other guests on their holiday choice.

Robert Martin said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

We had a fantastic time there.It might not be a 5? Hotel.But the staff treated us like 5? Guest's. Thank you.

michael kelly said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2021

We wanted to cancel our stay, reading the last reviews. We are so glad we didn’t. It’s not perfect but all what matters was ok. The food was tasty, the breakfast was fab. The room was clean and comfy. The staff were great, there were not many of them so everyone was over worked but all were friendly and helpful. The one thing to remember is that this is a 3 star not 5 star hotel and for that it was fab. The only thing we didn’t like is that a lot of people didn’t bother with masks, but all staff wore them. We will be back

A guest said...

57%
80%
70%
20%

Stayed 28th August 2021

Beautiful setting, upgraded room was lovely but food was terrible, dinner on first night was inedible & breakfast on both mornings wasn’t much better. This was one of the dearest breaks I’ve booked through my hotel breaks & expected more, very disappointed in this hotel. Covid guidelines not followed, lot of staff not wearing masks, public areas- lift etc not Very clean. Staff were lovely but won’t be revisiting or recommending this hotel?

Christine Duncan said...

60%
50%
50%
80%

Stayed 21st August 2021

Rooms very dated. No WiFi in rooms Not worth £135 per night.

Linda Murray said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2021

Hotel nice and clean, staff very friendly, food really good, would be nice if there was a biscuit in room as well as tea/coffee making facilities, need to update their hair dryers and have wi-fi in the rooms.

Derek Priest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2021

Enjoyed our stay

Bernard McLaughlin said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 28th July 2021

Overall the hotel is pretty decent with plenty of parking, clean rooms which are comfortable and luckily we had a view of the loch. Unfortunately, there is no wifi unless you go to public areas. Staff is friendly and reasonably efficient though miscommunication may be experienced on occasion. Breakfast is excellent but you may not receive all you ordered. Dinner was disastrous. If you remember and like school dinners this may be for you but not me at the prices charged and the menu on this occasion fell short of the delivery. Improved dinner would ensure a better experience. Also, be prepared to pay upfront?? Fort William accommodation is overpriced at this season(probably due to "Jacobite Express" demand and covid-19) and is reflected here. You do not always get what you pay for.

Anne-marie Starkey said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2021

Great food excellent and very friendly staff. Hotel clean but could do with a upgrade in some areas

Christina Penman said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2021

We had a fabulous time staff were amazing food was fantastic.

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th July 2021

The staff were excellent and the full Scottish breakfast was really good. Nice seating area at the front to enjoy when the sun is out and views over the loch. It's about a 45 minute walk into Fort William but was easy to get a taxi if need be. Would stay at this hotel again!

val melrose said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th July 2021

Fantastic 2 nights at the Caledonian Hotel room was perfect with amazing view over the Loch. Staff were all friendly and helpful dinner on the first night was very nice and breakfasts both mornings also good. Cant fault the Hotel or staff and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Only One thing it is a bit of a walk into fort william if you have problems walking, did not effect us as we are both walkers.

Susan McCairney said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th July 2021

Hotel Caledonian could do with a bit of an up grade room wise however the friendliness of staff especially Daniel the waiter in the restaurant and the quality of food and service was outstanding had a very enjoyable stay. Fantastic value for money

Raymond Clark ray said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th June 2021

Hotel was nice and clean, staff were very helpful, food was excellent too.

Gordon McLellan said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd June 2021

Enjoyed our stay. Room comfortable and overlooked the loch. The breakfast and evening meal were tasty. Their staff were very good and had good interaction with the guests.

Stuart Smyth said...

54%
50%
70%
40%

Stayed 19th June 2021

Bit disappointed with hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy. Unfortunately food could be better. We’ve stayed in Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa many times and this hotel is excellent and better value for money

A guest said...

44%
0%
60%
70%

Stayed 17th June 2021

The Hotel pictures on the wed site does not give the True picture of the Hotel. The pictures are very out of date as the whole hotel is in a very poor state of needing a full revamp all over.The windows in the whole of the hotel are in a very poor state of repair .The hotel bedrooms are needing a complete full revamp .All areas are needing decorated .When driving into the hotel carpark i thought twice about booking in .My son got his car passenger door hit at the door handle by the black car parked next to him in the car park, but the car driver did not inform this to the hotel reception staff.They just left the car park with out informing the staff what they had done early saturday morning.I was not amussed about dogs being allowed in the hotel and also about them being allowed in the bar area.If i new dogs was allowed in the hotel i would not have booked this hotel .Would not return to this hotel .For the money you pay very poor value for money

Stephen Watson said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 11th June 2021

We had a great stay at the Caledonian Hotel. The staff were wonderful, courteous and attentive. Only disappointment was the lack of WIFI in the rooms. WIFI is now a basic requirement now given everything is digital nowadays. I appreciate this is an older hotel but will restrict bookings. I wouldn't book there again just because of this which is probably unfair as everything else was great.

Ruth Woods said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 10th June 2021

Our stay was enjoyable room clean just a little tired looking. Food was average & breakfast service was slightly disorganised probably due to current restrictions.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2020

Room was fine, bathroom had a shower and was quite new. T The staff were all very nice. Breakfast was adequate. It's a couple of miles outside town. I would stay again

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th October 2020

Lovley hotel, staff very attentive, clean throughout. The highlands are stunning even on cold wet days.

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 27th August 2020

Like many of the other reviewers I found this a really nice hotel with lovely staff. Clean room on 3rd floor and the heat hit me when I walked in - had to turn down the radiator. Comfortable beds and rooms tidied daily. Food was pretty good although possibly the variety of vegetables could have been better and I did sort of expect black pudding at breakfast, being in Scotland.