Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Tarbet Hotel, Arrochar

Tarbet, Arrochar, G83 7DD, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Rachel McIntosh said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2022

Great value hotel, friendly staff, food good, no issues having the dog with us and great location for exploring loch Lomond. Would stay again

Rachel McIntosh said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2022

Great value hotel, friendly staff, food good, no issues having the dog with us and great location for exploring loch Lomond. Would stay again

A guest said...

57%
70%
20%
80%

Stayed 10th September 2022

We had booked and part paid with a myhotelbreak gift voucher we had been given. On entering reception there was a very strong pungent smell of some type of cleaning agent. Room was adequate with a beautiful view over loch lomond. public spaces all had a strange aroma. The staff in dining room were most disorganised. We had been given two menus for four people at the table, then ordered food, only to be told we had been given wrong menus. One of our party went to speak to the manageress, the en conversation resulted in us being given our food for free, and the manageress resolved to have the dining room team spoken to about their attitude. Breakfast was a bit better as it was a buffet, however staff did still seem to have some issues. on checking out, the manageress offered us an apology and refunded the balance of the stay we had paid for over and above the gift voucher we had used. We had said we didn't want the refund, but that she should address the issues with her team. However, she advised that the team had been spoken to and that she had already refunded our payments to our credit cards. Location was fantastic, food was really good, just a pity the staff let the side down.

Caroline McShane said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 28th July 2022

First time a this hotel it was a pleasant stay, staf lovely Marc the barman is ok 1st impressions were not great but we got there shall we say! Grace Kirsty and Ronnie on reception were fab room it was roasting requested a fan got a brand new one apologised for the delay as they had to build it. Food disappointed 1st day @ breakfast not a lot there we were quite early the server got us some fresh cold ham to apologise which was fine 2nd breakfast much better the dinner was ok It is VERY dog friendly which we luvd took ours with us she had great fun. The wee frenchie Bean( Ronnie on receptions pooch) so for the staff & the pooches we would defo return

Billy McGrouther said...

44%
40%
70%
20%

Stayed 24th May 2022

Pleasant enough reception area then got progressively worse heading to room. Strange smell in lobby area which they tried to mask then didn't bother to heading up stairs. Old carpet with taped up repairs on steps then older totally unmatching and filthy carpets in corridors. Room was very basic but appeared clean apart from few marks on carpet, then noticed tv on wall was on a movable bracket which was caked in dust. Beds were old but OK and clean. Went down to dinner and weren't expecting much being on a dinner, b&b offer so wasn't overly disappointed with menu. Food was edible just but very little choice, thankfully we only had dinner on 1 of our 2 nights included. Breakfast on both mornings was OK but again very little choice. Staff were friendly and location was great and hotel has potential to be great with a lot of refurbishment and better quality of food. Overall fairly happy with stay as it was a cheap break but I think at standard rates, a lot of people would be hugely dissatisfied.

david shearer said...

74%
90%
80%
50%

Stayed 23rd May 2022

Nice location nicely refurbished public areas.room not ready for check in on arrival,abruptly told so by receptionist,no offer to take a seat in the bar whilst waiting for 3.00.Only to then be informed that at 3.00pm room was still not ready. Were duly checked in at 3.20 by a different receptionist called Bex who was friendly and helpful.!!

Derek Davie said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th April 2022

Staff lovley and very helpful. Did say on leaflet we were given that rooms were cleaned and all surfaces were cleaned the window sill had black dust and the window where the catch is had dead moths, the mirror hadn't been cleaned also kettle has tea stains there was a live moth on the bed in the morning,the mattress was not comfy could do with a topper.

Karen Keith said...

60%
50%
50%
80%

Stayed 15th April 2022

The hotel was clean, food was good , the rooms were a bit old and tired ,I booked the executive double with a lake view, the view was a side view and not the full on front view as portrayed on the website. The hotel was very understaffed and not quite prepared for an fully booked Easter weekend. I understand the hotel has recently changed hands and the new owners are making improvements, so I have not been over critical.

Christine Gibson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2022

From the time we arrived until we left everything was superb. All the staff were fantastic and couldn't have done any more for us. We couldn't fault them. Our room was very comfortable, clean and cosy. The food was outstanding and the portions were big. Will definitely be back.

Margaret Gemmell said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 9th March 2022

We spent a couple of comfortable nights at the Tarbet Hotel even though the lift was not in use. The building itself is beautiful and the lounge and small restaurant are lovely, we had the a la carte menu and my goodness the portions were huge but very good, breakfast was also good, I had eggs benedict and they were yummy. Staff were very pleasant although they were a bit short staffed at meal time but coped well. We will go back again as long as the lift is working, we did know before we went that the lift was out of order and the staff carried our baggage upstairs for us.

Louise Campbell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th February 2022

Hotel is slightly "tired" in places but this is more than made up for in terms of location, excellent staff and delicious food. All round very good value for money.

George Thompson said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 10th December 2021

I would just like to say that the staff were friendly and welcoming. Or room was very clean and spacious, with a beautiful view of loch Lomond and ben Lomond from our window. When speaking to Mark after dinner he found out that it was my wife's birthday, so the next morning at breakfast he had put happy birthday decorations and also gave her a slice of cake with a candle. It was such a thoughtful thing to do. Also young Kyle came back from some Christmas shopping and gave Rachel a box of chocolates. I would just like to say thank you for your good hospitality. George

Patrick gallagher said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th November 2021

Had a nice relaxing time at the Tarbet Hotel,staff were very nice and food was nice too!! Bit of entertainment on also,Gary Alexander on the Accordion but playing up to date tunes and any requests,he also came round each table to talk to guests,nice touch there!! I will be back for another deal break!!

Elizabeth Brown said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th September 2021

Nice hotel, comfortable room. Bar had good selection of gins! Food very nice, staff pleasant. Restaurant was a bit chilly.

John Mackenzie said...

77%
100%
70%
60%

Stayed 27th August 2021

Recently returned from Tarbet Hotel, beautiful large room which was perfect as we had our two wee dogs with us. Staff worked tirelessly, my only gripe was at breakfast. As we had our dogs with us we were at another part of the hotel which was day friendly but had to walk to the other side to get our breakfast as no table service. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return in the future.

val melrose said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st July 2021

Had a fantastic 2 days in the Tarbet hotel. The room was clean and well presented, staff where all friendly and helpful and dinner was good on our first night and breakfast both mornings. Cannot find any faults with hotel or staff thankyou all for a pleasant stay.

Liz Steedman said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th June 2021

Great hotel staff very pleasant n definitely hard working Loved the fact they cater well for dogs very pleasant stay

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 27th August 2020

Clean hotel , with friendly helpful staff. The staff in the dining room were very nice ,but we found that the meals in the bar were far nicer than the meals in the dining room , A couple of the nights we ended up eating the bar meals

A guest said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 2nd August 2020

Very friendly staff, Clean, Well decorated, for a building of this age. I have no complaints about my room, which had clearly been recently decorated and found the general ambience of the hotel to be good. The breakfast was really good with a good selection. The evening meal was good, plain, simple food which was all eaten by all of us.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2020

Delicious food...With fantastical views...Professional attentive staff Will definitely return next time we are any where near this charming hotel.

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 1st July 2020

A beautiful building. Our room looked out to Loch Lomond. Clean, comfortable and easy walking distance to local bar.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2020

The location has excellent views, staff friendly a good nights sleep and breakfast was very good.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th June 2020

Very good for public transport - bus/coach/train and for late arrivals/early starts. The hotel should highlight these green credentials and develop marketing opportunities for this.