Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dunkeld House Hotel, Dunkeld

, Dunkeld, PH80HX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Lauren Donnelly said...

30%
20%
20%
50%

Stayed 13th October 2021

Terrible room and poor service. We were placed in a ground floor car park facing room which was dirty. Carpet stains and certainly no deep cleaning having taken place. The car park had a grate which meant every car and delivery coming or going was heard like we were situated next to a main road. Breakfast was a disaster with staff arguing over where to sit guests and Luke warm food. When I tried to air concerns with reception was handed a card and told to email duty manager with absolutely no interest. Avoid this hotel if you want a good nights sleep and good customer service.

Maggie Weir said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th September 2021

New rooms and bathrooms are a massive improvement. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant. Pianist is amazing - what a repertoire he has! Spa was also ecxellent - the loungers in the pool are awful - very hard and uncomfortable to lie on!!

Christine Holmes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th September 2021

We had a wonderful relaxing break at Dunkeld. The food was fabulous especially the afternoon tea. The staff were extremel efficient helpful and friendly. The service was very quick and of a high standard.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2021

Absolutely fabulous break, the hotel is spotlessly clean if a beautiful setting, the food in the restaurant wasn't to our taste so we were given an allowance to eat in the bar and the food was great. Enjoyed a swim every day again spotlessly clean and well organised. The breakfast was to a high standard with top quality food which was cooked to perfection. All the staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Would highly recommend

Walter Glen said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th July 2021

Great location for relaxing break. Friendly welcoming and helpful staff.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th June 2021

Just back from 2 night stay at this beautifully refurbished hotel. Staff exceptionally well trained and friendly, food delicious and surroundings beautiful.

A guest said...

24%
70%
0%
0%

Stayed 11th June 2021

Waited an hour and a quarter on drinks with evening meal I couldn’t get a salad or a selection of just veg as there wasn’t anything on menus for me to eat my partner got a steak no veg salad potatoes nothing the service was shocking also at breakfast there was no natural yogurt or any fruit so disappointing will never be back very poor standard you would think after being closed for so long they would go out there way for you but no terrible

John Laing said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 3rd June 2021

Hi lovely beautiful hotel and settings food was first class , more could be done with outside areas for taking refreshments. Not enough table chairs available. Dining room background music, if you did not like Nora Jones playing then tough, is this the only CD that the hotel has ? Charging £7 to hire a robe to be able to go to the pool was unbelievable , due to guest being asked to change and shower in their rooms. Most hotels would have a robe , sippers etc in the room for guest use. Hopefully the hotel can will take some thing out of these comments.

Christine Wilson said...

84%
90%
100%
60%

Stayed 21st May 2021

We three families thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dunkeld house hotel. The rooms were very comfortable, the food was varied and interesting although there was a distinct lack of vegetables in the main courses. The children were happy with their meals and the use of the swimming pool. The staff were exemplary and could not do enough for us despite being extremely short staffed. We look forward to returning soon.

Denys Hogg said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th May 2021

The evening meal was delicious and we really enjoyed it. The breakfast was precooked and the bacon was uneatable. To be charged £5 for delivery off a glass off Diet e was a bit excessive.

robert brown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2021

Fantastic

Heather MacLean said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd May 2021

Our dog friendly room was very comfortable All the numerous staff were very attentive and friendly The hotel and grounds were very well kept and managed Overall it is a very impressive establishment and a pleasure to stay here

Pamela Brawley said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th November 2020

Lovely hotel great staff. Enjoyed walk in the grounds and swim and jacuzzi. Breakfast was lovely too. Xxx

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd November 2020

We had a great two night Myhotel break here - enjoying fabulous weather (for November) and visiting many local tourist sites - the Hermitage, Birnam Oak. Loch of the Lowes (too late for Ospreys), Inn on the Tay @ Grandtully (watching white water canoeing : while enjoying a highly recommended lunch) - and of course Dunkeld House's own extensive picturesque grounds & riverside walks. The hotel and staff were great in coping with the ever-changing Covid restrictions. All were extremely friendly and professional - it was a united nations from Mexico, South African, Venezuela, Canada & of course local Brits. We felt completely safe within the hotel and enjoyed the excellent food at both breakfast & dinner. We highly recommend using the hotel as a hub to explore the beautiful surrounding Perthshire countryside. Alan & Ros.

Sally Fraser said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th November 2020

Had a wonderful stay at Dunkeld House Hotel. The hotel and grounds are absolutely beautiful. The set up and service during this pandemic was really well done. Food in the restaurant was delicious. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2020

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Dunkeld House Hotel (October 2020/covid rules apply). We booked to celebrate our 14 Yr anniversary and were delighted to be upgraded to a room with a balcony on arrival. The room itself was immaculate and blessed with a gorgeous view. We pre-booked use of the swimming pool before we arrived and enjoyed a relaxing swim just the two of us after we checked in. The bubbly which was supposed to be included in the spa lunch the next day was delivered to our room the evening we arrived due to covid rules. We made that our pre dinner drinks! Dinner was absolutely amazing, we both remarked on how incredible it tasted. Think it was the best meal we've eaten to date (and we eat out a lot!). The hotel had an outdoor marquee set up to accommodate the sale of alcohol until 10pm during covid. Despite the heaters, wrap up warm! Or order the Dunkeld whisky to warm you up ?. We had the best night's sleep and purposely booked the last breakfast slot for 10.30am so we could have a long lie. I hate having to get up early when on holiday so this was a big plus point for us. The restaurant staff were lovely and recognised us from dinner and had such great rapport with us. After breakfast we were fortunate enough with the weather to be able to walk around the grounds of the hotel and take in the stunning setting, river walk, and wildlife. I spotted 2 red squirrels which was amazing as last time I saw one was easily 1998! Our spa experience ended up not going ahead due to a mix up with our time slot not being booked in. However I must say, as a customer, I could tell from how the situation unfolded, this was a very rare thing to happen and we just got unlucky. So I would still recommend this deal to family and friends. The spa manager, Katherine, handled the situation absolutely amazingly. She is a credit to Dunkeld House Hotel! She went above and beyond and we are so thankful for everything she did to ensure we don't miss out. Thank you K! ? Lunch was great and we dined in the conservatory area which looks out to river. Lots and lots of rain but didn't put us off. Can't wait to go back! A great little 1 night deal with so many extras included, you should definitely book. You don't pay until you leave and if you need to cancel its £5 cancellation fee. Book, book, book!

Ron Keilloh said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2020

lovely hotel in lovely setting. it was above our expectations. food was very good. Only issues were an unfortunate view on to car park and complete lack of wi-fi in bedroom.

audra baxter said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th October 2020

We had a great 1 night stay. Staff were great . Room was modern. Grounds were amazing .

David Sinclair said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th September 2020

Excellent, obviously a bit wary with virus about but staff and social distancing amazing. Organisation in dining room and hotel in general couldn’t have been better. Food and service in dining room first class. Weather great as well.

Kenny Graham said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2020

Fantastic stay to celebrate our anniversary. Staff could not have been more helpful and food was excellent as always. Already discussing when our next visit will be.

Margaret Mckinnie said...

74%
100%
40%
80%

Stayed 26th July 2020

Very enjoyable stay in Dunkeld. After lockdown we were a bit ner but the hotel was very up on cleaning and social distancing. First visit and will return.

Fiona Gillan said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

We had a lovely stay at Dunkeld House Hotel,staff so welcoming, we used the Spa opting for massages, very good as always ? Only gripe was the “maitre’d” on Saturday night.I had pre-booked a table at dinner for 8pm, we arrived to be seated at 8pm, to be greeted by him saying “sorry we are really busy, you’ll need to get a drink at the bar and I will come and get you!” Stunned at his rude manner we got drinks and sat down in bar, by 8.30pm he still hadn’t come over to get us, but had let everyone else who had gone up to be seated in! We went up again and asked if we could now be seated for dinner? he didn’t comment about before and seated us for dinner. The restaurant was not over busy at any time and we couldn’t understand this. We watched a couple on Sunday night receive the same treatment. I have to say this has never happened to us before whilst staying with you or at any other of the many hotels we have stayed at, it definitely did not spoil our stay, but it could spoil someone else’s stay.Maybe worth looking into ?

Fiona Gillan said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

We had a lovely stay at Dunkeld House Hotel,staff so welcoming, we used the Spa opting for massages, very good as always ? Only gripe was the “maitre’d” on Saturday night.I had pre-booked a table at dinner for 8pm, we arrived to be seated at 8pm, to be greeted by him saying “sorry we are really busy, you’ll need to get a drink at the bar and I will come and get you!” Stunned at his rude manner we got drinks and sat down in bar, by 8.30pm he still hadn’t come over to get us, but had let everyone else who had gone up to be seated in! We went up again and asked if we could now be seated for dinner? he didn’t comment about before and seated us for dinner. The restaurant was not over busy at any time and we couldn’t understand this. We watched a couple on Sunday night receive the same treatment. I have to say this has never happened to us before whilst staying with you or at any other of the many hotels we have stayed at, it definitely did not spoil our stay, but it could spoil someone else’s stay.Maybe worth looking into ?

marlene monaghan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2020

This was a Xmas present for my daughter and son in law .They had a lovely time only downside was that the bed was too hard but that might just be individual preference.

Andrew Marks said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2020

Fabulous Hotel in an amazing setting. Next to the river in the middle of the woods in rural Perthshire. A superb experience from start to finish, from the excellent Reception staff, to the stylishly appointed room, the hugely relaxing Pool and Spa area, to the top quality Dinner and Breakfast. A bit more expensive than some Hotels on this site, but worth every penny in my humble opinion.... Magic !!!