Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Airth Castle Hotel & Spa, Airth

, Airth, FK28JF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

A guest said...

37%
30%
40%
40%

Stayed 7th June 2019

Very disappointed. It’s not what I thought Airth Castle would be like at all. The section of the hotel where we had our room was frankly run down with door frames looking as if they’ve been kicked/scratched. The room was depressing with badly hanging curtains where a pelmet may have once been. The sofa bed, we wouldn’t dare sit on it never mind sleep on it. It appeared to be clean but I wasn’t fully confident. It was a cheap deal, but we didn’t expect to be shoved into a room or area of the hotel that was below par - just because of the deal we had. Not a good experience with the food at all either. We will never be back.

Alan Mackenzie said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd June 2019

First Class - friendly staff,great leisure facilities. Good food. Will be back

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2019

Had a lovely relaxing night away. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room was clean and spacious although furniture a little tired and bathroom a bit small. Shower was fab. Food was excellent and the staff in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient. We used the spa facilities which were excellent - very clean. Would definitely recommend.

william graham said...

70%
40%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st May 2019

We enjoyed our stay at airth castle. The room I thought I had booked was nothing like what we actually got but we were quickly moved to a double room. The double room then had numerous holes in the wall and again we weren't happy about this. The lady at reception then moved us to the castle to stay where we had a pleasant evening. Restaurant and the spa were both lovely and the staff were wonderful. Would book again but definitely in a castle room.

Ann McLean said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 31st May 2019

Had a lovely stay and food was gorgeous

Ashleigh Scott said...

67%
30%
100%
70%

Stayed 31st May 2019

Lovely stay at Airth castle. The room wasn't in the best condition for having been a refurbished room, lots of dents and scs. My chicken was slightly raw and a bit chewy but the prawn starter and my partner thoroughly enjoyed his.

A guest said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st May 2019

Overall stay was ok, room wasn’t the cleanest, bathroom had no shower and water not the hottest. No WiFi in the castle which was frustrating as I had a couple of work things to sort out. Staff were amazing and very accommodating, food was superb also.

Lynda Wright said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2019

Food good spa and pool excellent staff very helpful only rooms let this hotel down just need refurbished

Rod Miller-Kelly said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2019

Just back from a great stay at airth castle hotel and spa. Lovely big room, clean and comfy bed, good shower - I noticed some iffy comments so thought I’d balance it out. The food served to us was top quality and substantial size portions. The front of house staff were so helpful and friendly and total credit to the establishment. The grill room was amazing and again and indeed the whole experience was magic - I’ve enclosed some pics as I could t believe people slated this place for being tired.

JOHN SMITH said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th May 2019

we had a lovely break at Airth castle the receptionist kindly upgraded us to one of the castle rooms free as it was my birthday all of the staff are first class

louise miller said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2019

Great overnight stay. Couldn’t fault anything. Lovely rooms, food and drinks. Great service would definitely return.

A guest said...

37%
30%
10%
70%

Stayed 23rd May 2019

Disinterested checkin staff, Castle room with no toiletries in bathroom Very average breakfast

Stuart Poulton said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd May 2019

2nd stay on the myhotelbreak deal and it's fantastic value for money. Hotel was very busy with a wedding and some corporate events but there were no excessive queuing and the staff were friendly enough. Rooms are dated but comfy enough. Food in the restaurant is very nice although there could be a little more choice, especially if your staying a few days like myself. I would most definitely go back

Kim Walker said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 23rd May 2019

Great deal and well worth the money. Lovely hotel. Rooms a bit dated but spoitless. Food was delicious and my wee one loved the pool. Will definitely be back.

Jade Lothian said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th May 2019

One of the best hotel stays I have had for my birthday last week. The hotel staff were all lovely and Justin couldn’t have been any nicer while we enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. Would recommend the hotel 10/10 and will no doubt be back. The spa area was just what we wanted a nice chilled relaxing time. Received complimentary Prosecco and chocolates in the room then a desert as it was my birthday. Thanks again for a brilliant stay

Brian Conway said...

57%
40%
50%
80%

Stayed 12th May 2019

Hotel is adequate but rooms in need of redecorating. Reception staff do there best which was lacking for me. Fixing issue after they have happened doesn't cut it with me.. they shouldn't have happened in first place. Restaurant Staff work hard to please and food is excellent. however there is always room to improve like serving coffee without a spoon or bread without a side plates and soup with out a spoons. Small things at make a difference. over all stay was enjoyable but would thing twice about returning

Karen Brownlie said...

64%
40%
70%
80%

Stayed 8th May 2019

Had to wait a good 40min after or 2pm check in getting room ready no refreshments offered from staff at this time. Room very dated. Double room one chair to sit in Bathroom was nice but no bath. Spa not very big but clean. On our return from the spa we went back to our room to get ourself ready to go to Stirling on the bus which arrived every hour to which we could not get into our room. On alerting the staff, after a couple of staff members had tried and still no luck l went down to the lounge (as it was taking so long) by the time my husband came down we had missed our bus and had to sit about waiting until it was time to go get the next one, not very impressed. Breakfast was fine but was the same on both days Dinner was lovely A happy hour or even 1/2 price tails would have been nice

Anne Carruthers said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th May 2019

Regular visitors to this hotel and always ask for a refurbished room. Great location, good food, friendly staff and nice spa. Find the hotel very relaxing.

Bill Gilmour said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th May 2019

This was a pleasant stay staff were professional and very friendly food was tasty well cooked and presented. The only small complaint the room floorboards were very squeaky I would hate to have been in the room below

Lisa Cornford said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 2nd May 2019

The Castle rooms feel like being in an annex of the main hotel. You didn't get the feeling of being anywhere that bit special. The entry system was a pain having to wait for reception to buzz you in, leaving you stood in the cold when they were busy. Didn't find any nice sitting area in the Castle where you could enjoy the view or sit and have a drink had to walk over to main hotel. Please tell the chef that adding anything other than the main ingredients to a creme brulee just spoils the texture any addition should be served on the side. Other than that it was value for money.

Kerry Davies said...

54%
20%
70%
70%

Stayed 2nd May 2019

Rooms dated and tatty, spa small and not much to it, hardly any seats or loungers. The food was good. Wouldn’t go back.

kathleen kirkcaldy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th April 2019

From the moment you check in all the Staff are very professional, friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a beautiful Junior Suite which was excellent. This was our second visit but will not be our last. Would highly recommend for quality of food, rooms and all Staff

victoria murdoch said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th April 2019

Hotel is lovely, rooms are extremely old fashioned but for the price I can't grumble. I think they are going through room renovations so can't wait to see what they will be like. Resturant and bar was great. Also had a massage which I would recommend.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th April 2019

Fantastic stay at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa for a birthday celebration. Arrived having lunch first which was delicious, then spa treatment and use of leisure facilities. Dinner in the evening was also as good as lunch and the menu of tails were also amazing - at that amazing price - I would definitely be returning! Rooms were a little dated - comfortable but very warm. Shower was nice and powerful. Service was great - looked after by very attentive waiters. Food was delicious but my steak was over cooked but still great overall.

John Sinclair said...

64%
60%
80%
50%

Stayed 25th April 2019

All in, the one night break was great value for money, so it is not appropriate to be totally negative about how we found the overall experience. Room 133 window could not be opened to let some air in when it got stuffy. The food was below expectations with evening meal disappointing and some of the breakfast items in the buffet were either overcooked or left out too long. However the staff were fine and the Spa was a good facility that was a factor when booking.