Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Airth Castle Hotel & Spa, Airth

, Airth, FK28JF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Margaret Kay said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th December 2019

We had an absolutely fantastic stay and were upgraded to a junior suite. Dinner was excellent as always at Airth Castle.

A guest said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Beautiful stay however, we booked during a busy time where the hotel was hosting Christmas party nights. Our food arrived cold at restaurant so we sent it back. Our replacement meal was absolutely delicious! No telephone in room to contact reception/spa/room service etc despite being given extension numbers on arrival. Rooms very big but need upgrading as very dated. Party night unfortunately meant we didnt have the relaxing spa we had hoped for as steam room/jacuzzi/sauna & swimming pool were extremely busy. Barely any sleep as guests were so noisy and partying into the small hours knocking on our room door etc. We ended up coming home more exhausted than when we went. I'm sure if we had booked at a different time of year then perhaps we wouldn't have experienced such a rowdy hotel. Staff were friendly especially the ladies on reception - they were very professional and polite.

M Pullar said...

54%
10%
70%
80%

Stayed 24th November 2019

Hotel common areas very well decorated but bedroom very dated and in need of some TLC. Spa facilities were good apart from no working lockers

Iain Campbell said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th November 2019

Been a few times and booked to go again. Will hopefully get the same room (101) which was really nice. Staff always nice and breakfasts wonderful - especially the haggis!

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

Fabulous hotel, service and dinner. Reception staff managed to get our rooms together and nothing was too much trouble in the restaurant. Thank you so much for the birthday dessert. We'll definitely be back.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

Fabulous hotel, service and dinner. Reception staff managed to get our rooms together and nothing was too much trouble in the restaurant. Thank you so much for the birthday dessert. We'll definitely be back.

carmen heffernan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

The staff were wonderful . So helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much bother. Food was lovely.

dayna glencross said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

Lovely stay we had upgraded to castle room was lovely stayed on dinner bed and breakfast deal dinner was great as was breakfast we used the pool facilities also during stay and can’t fault any of it only downside if anything was no WiFi in castle

A guest said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 22nd November 2019

On arrival the hotel looks lovely, reception area nice and modern. When we got to our room it was a different story. We had a twin room and as soon as we got to corridor before our room the intense heat hit us! We got to our room, which was like being back in the 70’s!! It wasn’t the nicest let’s just say, the ceiling in the bathroom was peeling off and looked very unkempt. We turned the radiator off in the room as was too warm and had a window that only opened slightly. Dinner was nice but on return to our room it was still too hot. The beds were so uncomfortable and along with the heat we both had thee worse sleep in a long time! The cooked breakfast the next day wasn’t great either it tasted like had been lying too long. We did complain to hotel with no avail other than the receptionist saying we should have said and they would have changed rooms. Well the last thing you want to do overnight is move rooms when overtired. We have sent an email to hotel to complain and I await their response. I stay in hotels regularly and I certainly won’t be staying there again or will I recommend.

Tracey Ohara said...

64%
40%
100%
50%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

Beautiful setting, lovely staff who couldn’t do enough fir you. Rooms warm and clean but could do with an update ie window wouldn’t shut but was that warm in room so wasn’t really an issue. Included dinner was good but food was Luke warm a few people complained whilst in restaurant. They did offer to have it replaced but didn’t want to wait and really don’t like sending food back to a kitchen (heard horror stories in past although not suggesting they would do anything) Pool was lovely and enjoyed my dip in the morning before breakfast and had lovely dressing gown/slippers to use for going there. Will return soon as the price was brilliant and well worth a visit

Debbie Hughes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

Excellent hotel- great staff, fantastic food and clean rooms. Highly recommend

A guest said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 14th November 2019

I was at airth castle on the 14th November with my friend we had a lovely time,meals were superb along with the staff who were very helpful and pleasant in every way, the only thing was it was very cold in dinning area for our dinner and in the seating area was very cold indeed and the outside light I smoking area wasnt working either,but we still had a great time,will be returning another time thanks

janet devlin said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 17th November 2019

We have been several time to Airth castle. We are a lovely time and we ask for a room with a walk-in shower and it was arranged . All the staff are professional and helpful.

liz russell said...

74%
80%
50%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2019

We were a group of 6 friends staying for an overnight. Lovely surroundings and very pleasant and helpful staff. However we found the restaurant very draughty both at lunchtime and in the evening. We were not happy with the service in the restaurant but did enjoy the food. Several times we had to remind staff that we were waiting an excessive time for either food or drinks from the bar. Restaurant staff were very helpful but seemed to lack direction. Both reception and spa staff were excellent.

Jean Christensen said...

67%
30%
100%
70%

Stayed 10th November 2019

Enjoyable stay

Clair Johnstone said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th November 2019

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The dinner was lovely great value for money.

Brian McLaren said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th November 2019

Parking very very difficult. Room not as requested, but reception did best to accommodate. Dining room far too cold, fan heaters not appropriate.

Debby Bell said...

30%
10%
30%
50%

Stayed 14th November 2019

Rooms very dated. Tv in room would not turn on, advised reception of this and they said they would fix it, they never came near the room at all. Spent three hours in The Grill Room for evening meal, service was extremely slow. Not how I expected Airth Castle to be.

Audrey Mackinnon said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 14th November 2019

This was our 3rd time here. However l think it’s gone downhill. Started with our wine /glasses being brought to our room, one of the glasses had a piece of chewing gum stuck to the bottom. Our dinner was a catalogue of disasters after being shown to our table then left for 20 minutes until we called someone over. Had to ask for tap water twice then the wrong main course arrived. Should have been sirloin steak well done, however roast beef arrived looking rather pink in the middle. They did send over bread to pass the time whilst our steak was prepared and free drinks. It did king ruin our night. We’re not complainers perhaps we were just unlucky!

isabel kennedy said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th November 2019

Excellent value, staff very attentive and food great. Some rooms a bit tired but spacious and well kept.

morag brown said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 4th November 2019

We enjoyed our stay at Airth Castle and spa however this hotel could do with a little TLC , I gave the scores for service a 9 ,rooms a 7 and food a 5 for the food , this was mostly for the dinner menu , we did have a few issues with the food at night which was addressed at the time but not relay resolved, the breakfast was however very nice.

A guest said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 7th November 2019

Spa lockers not functional,

William Ross said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th November 2019

Excellent value for money. Evening meal was very enjoyable although some breakfast items were over cooked.

Emma Pullar said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2019

Fantastic deal and really enjoyable stay. The only downside was that there was a lot of work being done at the hotel with no warning. Work started at 8am in the room next to ours. Would have been nice to have prior warning or work to be carried out later in the day.

Dixon Pacitti said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2019

Overall a good experience. Lovely setting. However we paid extra for a castle room but feel it wasn't worth the extra payment. It may depend on the room you're allocated. We were in room 3 which was very small, had a damp patch on one wall and there were no bulbs in any of the lamps. The staff did immediately replace bulbs upon informing them. Good points, extremely friendly staff, good food, nice restaraunt setting with a nice bar area and comfortable seating. Full breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Overall a good experience, just the points about the room but it didn't change the overall feeling of a good experience.