Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Airth Castle Hotel & Spa, Airth

, Airth, FK28JF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

72%

A guest said...

60%
80%
30%
70%

Stayed 20th March 2019

Disappointed in our stay at Airth Castle, the setting and the room was lovely however the customer service really lets the hotel down, the best service we received was from the young boy serving dinner everyone else really lets the hotel down. We called ahead direct to the spa to book treatments during our stay to then be told when we arrived these were not booked in, disappointing start. Staff at reception did not appear friendly and upbeat. We had to ask for directions to our room after receiving key, this was not volunteered. We received a bottle of wine with the package we had to stay and we were not given the option of which type we would like ie red or white, a bottle of white was delivered to the room and we asked at reception if we could have this with our dinner to be told no it must be had in the room, we Ofcourse would have preferred to sit downstairs. Overall the staff were generally stern and downbeat, wouldn’t go back based on this. The purpose of the getaway is to relax and unwind for a night or couple of days and not to come up against negativity or oections to simple requests.

David Sinclair said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th March 2019

Very good size room, pity air vent was buzzing away all night and a bit annoying. No real complaints though. Good well laid out dining room, dinner average and good breakfast. Good value for offer we had.

A guest said...

40%
50%
30%
40%

Stayed 17th March 2019

The bedrooms and other areas are looking very tired. Also we arrived at midday not expecting to check in, just to get some lunch. No seats available except in the restaurant and when we sat there we were told we would need to move! The lady in charge of the restaurant saw my disappointment and came over and made a table available to us, for which we were very grateful.

Geraldine Kyle said...

64%
50%
60%
80%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Originally given room 222. Bed was supported on one side by wooden blocks. Radiator wasn't working. Toilet roll sat on the bath - no holder. Seating was uncomfortable and furnishing tired. Moved to another room after complaining. Food was good.

A guest said...

64%
20%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Walking in the first thing I seen was a big square patched on the carpet, the seats when you sat on them you nearly hit the floor the state of the furniture including doorless wardrobes, uncomfortable bed. Quite a few cracks in the sink Avoid room 320 - they should never give that room out to anyone! It ruined my day !! IOther than that everything else was fine.

A guest said...

60%
70%
30%
80%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Room and setting was nice, service let the hotel down massively. Staff were downbeat, not as friendly and welcoming as you would expect when looking to get away for a relaxing break. We called ahead to book treatments direct to the spa to then arrive and be told these were not booked. We asked to have the wine we received as part of our stay package with our dinner to be told no this had to be drunk in the room, we Ofcourse would have preferred to enjoy this downstairs. Would not go back purely based on the customer service, the negatively and oections to simple requests take away from what should be an opportunity to unwind.

wanda bald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2019

The room was lovely , food was brilliant and have never met staff that are so friendly and will do anything for you. Cant wait to come back for another break

cheryl clifford said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Staff were all fantastic. Especially at reception when we found up someone had used our room account to pay for some late night drinks. Room was very tired & needs refurbished. Food was excellent. It’s was ok for an overnight but not the standard I would expect for a longer stay at full price.

Alison Geggan said...

57%
0%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal looked to be good value however the hotel is nothing like as advertised. Pool and Spa too busy for the size of pool and spa facilities, not a relaxing spa experience at all. Food and staff very good, all staff were pleasant and informative. This was the hotels only good points. The main bar area lacked seating and was freezing cold. The bar area was not comfortable to relax in at all. The bedroom was also a massive let down. Very old and very tired. Our room was very dark with not enough lighting. Carpet was that old that it was baggy with lumps and bumps all over. This needs replaced. Beds very uncomfortable too. I feel this hotel, and the room we stayed in was not even a 2 star standard. I would not return.

Elaine Rankin said...

40%
20%
50%
50%

Stayed 7th March 2019

Extremely disappointed! Our room (108) was not clean and had dust everywhere. The furniture was scd and battered looking. When I pulled the bedside cabinet out to look for a plug to charge my phone it was dirty on the carpets and skirting boards. There were stains on the chairs and the leather bed surround. Hairdryer did not work. The room looked nothing like the advertised ones promoting the offer. The food was overpriced and mediocre. Need I go on? We won’t be back!

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th March 2019

Both my wife and I had a wonderful relaxing stay. The food was excellent as was the facilities. The staff could not be more helpful.

Margaret Smith said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th February 2019

Lovely hotel, spacious room, friendly staff, very good food at dinner and breakfast. But cobwebs on window in room need removing!! All in all though, a great place and I would stay here again.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd March 2019

Lovely evening away. Rooms a bit tired but clean and a good size. The food was a good quality and the deal itself was great value for money.

corinna miller said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2019

Absolutely lovely stay and the staff were so nice and food was amazing Have already booked to go back with family at the end of the month Thank you Airth castle

amanda mcginn said...

67%
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2019

Hotel reception, spa, bar and restaurant all to a high standard. A little let down by the condition of the rooms but as the price was so good we decided not to say anything. I think the bedrooms are in need of a refurbishment. If this were to happen the hotel would be perfect.

Alison Nicoll said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th February 2019

Fabulous stay. All staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely. Food was fantastic. Will be booking again soon

A guest said...

74%
80%
90%
50%

Stayed 24th February 2019

Dinner was excellent, was ashame because breakfast was very disappointing! Staff where excellent. swimming changing facilities where poor and are not child friendly and floors slippy

Gillian Rose said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 23rd February 2019

Lovely stay at the hotel. Very welcoming staff on arrival, rooms tired but clean. Very good facilities. Evening meal very nice although the bar was very stretched and we had received our mains before our drinks arrived. However Allan our waiter was an absolute gem and was so attentive the whole night, he made the night. Lovely breakfast. Would stay again.

Reneé Harrower said...

34%
0%
30%
70%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

Very disappointing stay for our 25th Anniversary. Rooms tired and in need of a desperate refurb. Spa facilities overrun with noisy screaming children. Only saving grace was the food in the restaurant, lovely and could not fault. Have passed on feedback to general manager.

Mrs L Nicoll said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st February 2019

All the staff were so helpful

James Johnston said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2019

A brilliant night away. Food and service was great.

A guest said...

17%
20%
20%
10%

Stayed 14th February 2019

This was my second visit and was not very impressed, hotels bedrooms are very tired. Food was not great and very limited choice. Dining area is not monitored with regards to dress, people wearing pyjamas to breakfast!! Swimming pool was over crowded and children were not supervised by adults and ther was no monitoring of how long people stayed in the facility, needless to say we did not have a swim session during our stay. Certainly will not be back.

Robert Cowan said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th February 2019

Rooms could do with modernising, food was excellent and service was good, well worth a visit

Claire Morgan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th February 2019

Massages were lovely, very professional made to feel at ease. Lovely leisure facilities, clean and relaxing areas before and after evening meal. Will definitely return

shirley spence said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th February 2019

Very efficient pleasant staff, really enjoyed our 2 nights, The breakfast ,as always, was good, and the meal on valentine's night excellent. We have stayed here a couple of times before, but this time found the menu on the first night [ which i understand is the normal menu] disappointing, no Salads, or Pasta , or insption..The Restaurant Management and staff were excellent. The hotel, did not take orders for newspapers and had to go out myself to get one, there were several places, but non,that near on foot!!