Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Airth Castle Hotel & Spa, Airth

, Airth, FK28JF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

78%

Scott McPhedran said...

47%
40%
30%
70%

Stayed 14th February 2020

I wasn't best pleased with our stay. We have stayed before at least four times and we have both enjoyed ourselves. This time we can made us re think about coming back. It started of at entering the room, there was beer bottles under the bed and behind the couch and sweet papers (easy enough for us to bin, but shouldn't need to) then we put our stuff away and get ready to head to the pool to discover there was no robes on the bed nor any slippers for us. We gave a phone down twice as it took an hour for someone to come. The boy arrived with one robe and said that it was a busy night and there was no more slippers he then said he will come back with another robe which was about half an hour later we picked up the robes and left. We got to the pool and there wasn't a single locker for use (far to busy) so we had to put our belongings by the pool. We hadn't realised but once leaving and putting our robes on there was lipstick stains on the neck and shoulders and dirt stains on the back. We went for dinner, the food was tasty! Don't fault the cooking or food at all but service was terrible. We got sat down at the table it took just over half an hour for someone to come ask if we want a drink and what we would like to order but other people around us who got seated after us were already on there starters. Our starter came out fast and then again it was another half an hour until our main course after twice alerting a member of staff about the time we were waiting but the staff just kept stopping for a chat and a laugh at the back of the room. We came down ten minutes before my sister in law and her partner who got seated across the room they had their full three course and drinks by the time we got on to our mains.. I wasn't impressed. Lastly in the morning around 7am there was hammering and power tools getting used near our room and woke us up I told reception and they said there is no work getting done but they will look in to it and email me a response - still no response.. I really loved going to Airth Castle for a weekend get away and was going to make it a yearly event for my partners birthday and around valentine's day but I doubt we will be back if this is what the service is going to be like.

pamela smith said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 19th March 2020

Excellent stay. Food delicious. Bed comfortable although room a bit tired. Leisure facilities good and staff very friendly and efficient. Will definitely return

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th March 2020

Just back from a relaxing 3 day break which we really enjoyed the place is so peaceful and quiet. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite that was very cosy and warm with plenty of space which was a nice touch from the friendly and helpful staff member.We got a really good deal from my hotel break we will certainly be using your company again thanks for a great offer.

Neil Bell said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th March 2020

Excellent stay, wonderful food, great service, will definitely be returning

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2020

Lovely hotel, bedrooms would benefit from updating but clean and welcoming.

Andy Watt said...

44%
20%
80%
30%

Stayed 15th March 2020

Furniture in room well past it’s best , chairs absolutely filthy , radiator in room did not come on at night a bit on the cold side , spa quite noisy not really a relax , evening meal okay , breakfast self service, Luke warm coffee , and food that had been in hot plates too long , the whole place could do with a refurb , would not stay here again !

Marianne Griffiths said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th March 2020

Had a lovely overnight stay here last weekend. Rooms were nice, clean and beds comfortable. Very friendly staff, particularly the reception staff. Food in the restaurant was fabulous, the spa facilities were good and the massage very much needed! Would recommend and will definitely be booking again.

A guest said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th March 2020

Great value for money. Had a good stay and meal and breakfast was excellent. Reception staff brilliant. The rooms can now do with a refurb and there isn't sufficient seating for the guests for relaxing with a drink. Often the booths which can hold 4 frequently only have 2 people using them whilst others can't get a seat. Spa is lovely only issue is that there doesn't seem to be any ventilation as the changing rooms are steamed up and very difficult to get your clothes on.

Graham Anderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th March 2020

Just returned from a short break and couldn't fault anything about this hotel the facilities,room and staff were brilliant and the evening meal was delicious. My wife and I booked a full body massage and thoroughly enjoyed it. Can't praise the staff enough as nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back.

Robert Logan said...

37%
60%
30%
20%

Stayed 12th March 2020

It is now living on the name as the stay was extremely disappointing with dirty water in the pool, bar with no bottle opener and did not know how to make a G & T properly. My wife’s dinner had to be returned and had to ask twice before we received our wine and several other diners had complaints as well. Sadly we will not be back and would not recommend to any friends or fellow users of My Hotel Break.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2020

Had an amazing night , stayed in the castle room was lovely. The food was to die for 10/10 lovely young waitress named emma with red hair served us, she is an asset to the team . We will be back soon ?

james oliver said...

54%
50%
80%
30%

Stayed 10th March 2020

I booked the break as a surprise for my wife but was very disappointed with the room.the lack of overhead lights made it very difficult to read unless you sat or lay on the bed. The carpets and settee were badly stained from pets and the hostess trolley was not kept well stocked twice had to go and request tea coffee and milk.the bedside units were in need of repair.on the first day one of the hand towels had quite a big hole in it.the food at dinner was not of a very high standard . Overall a very disappointing break for my wife. J Oliver ( over eighty) Ps. There was even a big chip in the bath. Room 215

Nicola Murphy said...

67%
30%
100%
70%

Stayed 12th March 2020

Staff were great, friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean a bit dated the couch in our room looked old and washed out. Food was lovely both evening meal and breakfast only thing was the way breakfast was set out it was a bit all over the place. These were only small negatives that wouldnt stop us returning.

Karen Macdonald said...

57%
30%
60%
80%

Stayed 12th March 2020

Meh it was ok. We were really disappointed that we didn’t go anywhere near the castle but were in the main building up the hill. (Felt a bit of false advertising). Main areas were lovely, staff really nice, food really nice. Rooms and corridors were quite dated in need of a spruce up. Service was slow in the restaurant both at the beginning when we had to call for someone to come and take our drinks order and food order, then also when our main courses came out and our starter plates were still on the table. Price of the deal made it just about acceptable overall.

Suz McMullen Sosa said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th March 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the food was amazing in the evening! The breakfast was not to the same standard but certainly filled us up. The room was supposed to have robes in it and we had to phone to remind them but they were delivered, wine was changed from white to rose too which was fab! Overall an enjoyable experience.

Julie Watson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2020

Just had my 3rd visit to airth castle hotel on the £39.50 deal, overnight stay, wine in room, £25 towards dinner and breakfast , and are returning on 9th july and cant wait. The rooms are lovely food excellent and staff cant do enough for you.

karen lindsay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2020

staff where very helpful , spa facilities where good , good choices on menu , room was spacious , really enjoyed our stay .

Paul Munro said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th March 2020

We had our 3rd trip to Airth castle at the weekend. The staff were great and the food was lovely. the hotel is very dated and run down in parts. we had to be moved rooms (229) as the first one's window would not open and the room was like a sauna at the time. the staff were very helpful and moved us right away after they tried to fix it. i noticed they now only issue robes in the rooms to people who have treatments booked now (so we were told), this was a little disappointing. We booked the meal for a set time and there was a little delay in the table being ready but when we were seated it was lie we were just crammed in. we had to keep asking for water and other things as they seemed to have placed us in a area that no one wanted to work in. once we got served it was great and the food was great as always. I think we may have stayed and reached our imum with this hotel now.

Doris Boyd said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2020

Excellent facilities. Large rooms, spotlessly clean. Food was amazing, staff very helpful. Hotel spa facilities were wonderfull. Totally relaxing break. Would highly recommend.

Joyce Price said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th March 2020

Overall we had a lovely stay, meal very good and you can take the bottle of wine to dinner, all the female staff were lovely, unfortunately the room let it down as definitely needs an upgrade , would go back when all the rooms have been decorated

Rosemary Boyd said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 5th March 2020

Staff helpful and friendly. Location good. Good value for money. Would highly recommend staying here.

linda redpath said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2020

Had a fabulous overnight break, food and service was excellent. Used the leisure facilities, very relaxing. Rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Looking to return very soon on the same deal. Fantastic value as usual from myhotelbreak.com

Gillian Edgell said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th March 2020

Having read mixed reviews prior to our visit I was a little apprehensive but I needent have worried. From booking in to leaving we had a fabulous time, rooms were great, the food at both dinner and breakfast was top class and the service was brilliant, we will certainly be returning for another visit but for 2 nights next time.

Ann Trainer said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2020

We had a fantastic time, rooms clean, beds comfy, food lovely. Staff were soo nice. Great deal. We will be back.

Carly Paton said...

70%
30%
80%
100%

Stayed 29th February 2020

The food in the restaurant for evening meals and breakfast was brilliant, could not fault it! The main let down was our room. We paid. To upgrade to a castle room, don't do it it's not worth the money! The room was really tired and In need of a serious revamp. The shower was a hose on the bath. Our duvet cover was ripped. Very disappointed in the room.