Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Marine Hotel, Troon

8 Crosbie Road, Troon, KA106HE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th September 2020

Hotel lovely and staff friendly but the room we had was on the ground floor overlooking a car park so from 6:30am it became noisy. Bathroom to small and the shower screen wasn’t big enough to prevener going all over the floor which was a hazard

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th September 2020

Your description of the Hotel state's that its all been refurbished This is not the case as work is still going on Both outside as scaffolding is still up and the outside view was of that and not of the coastline as described in my hotel's brief Also workmen were in and out of the hotel numerous times. Touching on the view again could not see anything due to the windows covered in dust This was a break for my mother aged 86 and myself but we felt due to all of this the money we paid to stay 2 nights was not worth it It's a pity as this was our 3rd visit to the Marine Hotel

James Chisholm said...

60%
70%
90%
20%

Stayed 15th September 2020

Looks as if the refurbishment is going to be nice. They should seriously ha e a look at the food as it is very poor. Bland tasteless and low standard.

Audrey Smith said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th September 2020

The hotel was having a referb as we stayed. Welcome check in staff very friendly. Newly refurb room not so good, several faults that we brought to the reception attention. Food was excellent we used the pool area which we really enjoyed.

Christine brown said...

64%
10%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2020

We were very disappointed to be put into rooms directly facing an outbuilding roof! That was all we could see from our windows! We didn’t know the building was being refurbished with scaffolding up and refurbished rooms not given to us when we complained about view as I know some of the new rooms were being used. This was a birthday celebration and we chose this hotel as we had been before and it was lovely! It was my friends holidays too and I felt embarrassed as it was my own recommendations that made our choice to go there. The food was outstanding and the hotel very clean. Unfortunately due to the former comments we won’t be back.

Christine brown said...

64%
10%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2020

We were very disappointed to be put into rooms directly facing an outbuilding roof! That was all we could see from our windows! We didn’t know the building was being refurbished with scaffolding up and refurbished rooms not given to us when we complained about view as I know some of the new rooms were being used. This was a birthday celebration and we chose this hotel as we had been before and it was lovely! It was my friends holidays too and I felt embarrassed as it was my own recommendations that made our choice to go there. The food was outstanding and the hotel very clean. Unfortunately due to the former comments we won’t be back.

Karen Cassidy said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2020

Had a lovely stay, Clean room although a little small

Elaine Sirrell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th September 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was excellent. Compliments to the chef., and all the staff were friendly and professional. We will definitely be booking again. Thank you.

Emma Kennedy said...

47%
40%
80%
20%

Stayed 11th March 2020

Room very small, helpful staff and good leisure facilities, but very disappointed with breakfast. I have a nut allergy and there are some things I can't have but they couldn't even provide me basic toast. Out of the whole buffet and things I listed to have that I normally eat and have at other hotels, I was only allowed "berries" and "eggs".

nicola thomson said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th February 2020

Beautiful hotel friendly staff pool was fab will definitely be back

Marilyn Shields said...

70%
60%
100%
50%

Stayed 2nd February 2020

Great overnight - staff were wonderful, loved the bottle of chilled bubbly in our room on arrival and thoroughly enjoyed being able to use the pool.

Donna Beattie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st February 2020

Night away with my daughter to this beautiful hotel it was so peaceful and the views are amazing,Staff were all amazing very helpful will definitely be returning Thank you

A guest said...

60%
10%
80%
90%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Stayed in Room 217 and this is not large enough to be a double bedroom. The built in wardrobe door would not open fully as the bed was so close. On the same side as the built in wardrobe there was not bedside stand as there was not enough room. This was particularly annoying when having a drink or looking to put your phone by your side. The bathroom was the same. You had to squeeze in round the door then turn round and close it behind it. I could go on but you get the idea. I am claustrophobic and I even thought about sleeping in the car as I had this wall right in my face. It really shouldn't be like that when you spend a night away from home as a treat. We had also booked a treatment in the Spa and this was not really what was expected. The over all quality was again disappointing. Having been to other Spa's this just not impress us in the slightest. Due to it being very busy we didn't even make use of the pool and sauna. Again something we were looking forward to. Overall disappointed with our visit but the lovely breakfast in the morning, along with the friendly breakfast staff went some way to make up for this.

Douglas Lauffer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th January 2020

We had one night bed and breakfast, no complaints what so ever. Great service and lovely staff. The breakfast was a buffet and was terrific.

Janette Glancy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th January 2020

Beautiful hotel and food was fantastic.

T Knox said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd January 2020

Room small but fine,nice staff,good food.

catherine bianchi said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th January 2020

My daughter and fiancé had a lovely stay at the marine . Loved their meal and said staff were friendly

angela sarrison said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th January 2020

Staff very friendly and cheerful , eager to help in any way . Hotel under refurbishment, so workman outside building on scaffolding, which meant we kept curtain closed at all times Breakfast has hot buffet , heated plates and good selection . Leisure staff also very good and clean facilities, busy with aqua aerobics and baby swim class

james black said...

95%
100%
N/A
90%

Stayed 30th December 2019

very friendly staff from arriving to leaving,room was excellent,clean,tidy and large, food was lovely as well cant fault it at al, pool and spa area was clean and tidy with 2 staff on duty, cant wait to go back

john crossan said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th November 2019

The room allocated was small other than that it was well worth a visit

John Ian Stewart said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th August 2019

Marine hotel is currently undergoing major renovations with scaffolding up around most of building. Renovation work will not be completed until June 2020. Despite this we had a lovely stay. Staff are all helpful and friendly. Service in the dining room on the first night was superb and the food of a very high standard. I mention this as food and service is normally very good but it was exceptionally good that night. Chef specially made some whisky flavoured sauce for my wife's starter of Haggis neeps and tatties. Very good timing between courses. The hotel is dated and does need the renovation but the room was spotless and comfortable. There was a note saying when the men would be outside and suggested that curtains be kept closed in the morning. Workmen there from 8.00 am till 4.00 pm. Not a huge selection for beer drinkers but plenty choice for spirits and wine. Views over the golf course and Firth of Clyde to Arran and Ailsa Craig are lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel even before full renovation

helen smith said...

34%
60%
20%
20%

Stayed 15th June 2019

Was at the marine a few times before and found the dinner bed and breakfast package fabulous this time however facilities were tired and old. We were told the hotel was getting a refurbishment soon. I would go when that has been done. The staff were not the best. Long wait for our meal and inedible when it arrived. Made comments to us my husband did not appreciate and although they apologised the weekend was spoiled due to it. Location is good and views are great. I would not go till they have done some work with the staff attitude. A smile goes a long way to help. They need to be quicker to serve customers and interact with them to make them feel welcome. That was missing. Did not feel welcome. Furnishing are old and worn. Pool and leisure facilities were good. Only place where staff talked to us.

Samuel MCGHEE said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th June 2019

Came here for the first time wasn't disappointed. Booked a suite looking over the golf course and sea. Staff friendly and helpful. Room big and spacious only fault was no heating on at night room was cold. Food was excellent good menu to pick from at affordable prices caters for all. Definitely recommend to others to try won't be disappointined. Great Location great hotel and great amenities swimming pool spa and beauty treatments.

T Knox said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2019

Nice room nice staff lovely meal at night

Kirsty Grant said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2019

Lovely break with friends at this lovely hotel. Good food and great service, every member of staff was friendly, helpful and welcoming!