Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Richmond Park Hotel, Bo'ness

26 Linlithgow Rd, Bo'ness, EH510DN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

M McGreachan said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th December 2019

4 couples attended a party night at the Richmond Hotel and we stayed overnight. Lovely hotel and really nice staff. Hotel has recently been refurbished and is gorgeous. Rooms were small but very cosy. We're made to feel welcome the minute we stepped through the doors. Had a really nice time.

SCOTT BROWN said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st August 2019

A wonderful first time stay here with my wife.we both had a great time from the moment you arrive all the staff are great from the front desk to the bar staff can’t do enough for you. Our twin was top quality one off the best we have had. Food in the restaurant was extremely good and amazing prices as well.have booked to return later on in the year

Susan Perkins said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th August 2019

Lovely staff throughout our stay. Room wasn't in the main hotel but was fine with everything you would need (doubt it was an upgrade). First 2 mornings the breakfast was cooked for you but the 3rd morning it was buffet style and even though we arrived downstairs by 8.15am the dining room was busy and there was very little hot buffet left so it was a cereal and toast start to the day. The evening meal menu was varied and was well made The 3rd night was rather delayed with it being busy and we had to ask to order as ody approached us for a good 20 minutes. Overall we would stay again as it's not too far from The Falkirk wheel and The Kelpies which are great (about 30mins drive). There's nothing much in Bo'ness but it's a good base!

Michael McCrossan said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Staff where very professional, friendly and accommodating one of the best dinner bed & breakfast experiences we have had . Thanks again.

A guest said...

40%
50%
20%
50%

Stayed 12th August 2019

I had to good stay, however a few observations. The staff need training. I was in a sizeable party and when one person had finished a dish this was whipped away whilst the others were still eating. Specials were not mentioned when menus were passed out, although they were on a board. Cutlery that had been set which was not being used was not cleared away. When meal was served was put down with such force that another dinner' s chips actually flew off the plate!! Soup was slopped over the bowl !! Breakfast was a buffet, however they must have thrown out more than was eaten ....potato scones rock hard... food overall was good but the actually breakfast and service of dinner has put me off returning .

Terence Rutter said...

37%
20%
30%
60%

Stayed 11th August 2019

The food at the hotel is quite good and the staff in the restaurant are friendly and helpful. In my view the restaurant/dining room and catering staff are the only good part of this hotel. There is nowhere to sit down comfortably in the hotel. No lounge, only a bar witcomfortable seats and nowhere to sit in the bedrooms . There was just one plastic chair in our superior twin room! There was nowhere to park on arrival due to the car park being full of non residents cars. I am in the process of putting together a serious complaint to the manager on a variety of matters.

Amanda Fraser said...

74%
80%
60%
80%

Stayed 27th July 2019

The hotel was very nice, rooms and public areas very clean and modern. Our room was very nice and a great size for us and our little boy to play in. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was lovely, staff were very friendly. Same at breakfast, the selection for breakfast was also really good. Our only issue was that there was a function on, which seemed to be directly below our room, so it was a late night before we managed to get some sleep. I would have preferred if we had been advised of this on check in and then I could have perhaps requested a quiet room as it was a struggle to get our little one to sleep and then to sleep ourselves. There is no air con in the rooms and it was a humid night but due to the function we had to keep the window shut so this added our sleep issues.

John Robinson said...

34%
40%
40%
20%

Stayed 24th July 2019

Just back from a two night Birthday break at the Richmond Park Hotel at Bo'ness. Unfortunately I have to say that this ranks as the worst hotel we have ever stayed at during all the years we have been using myhotelbreak.com For some inexplicable reason we were allocated a disabled room in the annex and whilst we could not fault the cleanliness of the room, it has to be one of the worst thought-out rooms we have ever had the misfortune to sleep in. There was no chair, no storage at all in the bathroom, save for one small shelf that was full of cheap toiletries and the bathroom light switch was bizarrely on the hinged side of the door. In addition, the toilet seat, toilet roll holder and bathroom door handle were all loose. The room was dark and narrow with only one (cracked) window at one end and was stiflingly hot. Unfortunately, if you opened the window you could hear the drunken antics of other guests and natives until 11.15pm. We could also hear every footstep made by the guests upstairs. On the plus side, the beds were very comfortable and if you were very lucky, you could park directly outside your room. We were however not so lucky and had vehicles outside that left very late at night and extremely early in the morning. We had a two night stay with dinner one night, so the first night we ate at the Brewers Fayre at Falkirk, a very good move as it turned out. Breakfast on the first morning was poor, with bacon like leather, vastly overcooked, hard poached eggs and rubbery sausages. That evening's meal (the day of my Birthday) was a nothing short of a disaster. I opted for the cod and chips, a very bad move as it turned out because the batter was not cooked on the inside and actually turned the fish yellow. I also had to ask two different waitresses for vinegar, a not unreasonable request when having fish and chips I thought, but apparently it appeared to be too outlandish to the staff on duty and only arrived when i was halfway through the meal. The salad was also far too oily although I must admit the chips were very good. If this was not bad enough the dessert descended into farce. A slip of paper appeared after the mains with a selection of uninspiring desserts, one of which was 'Sundae - choose your options'. we searched in vain for any clue as to the options but no, nothing. Upon inquiring we were told that it was 'ice cream and sauces' which we had basically figured out for ourselves but no information as to the flavours of said ice cream and sauces was forthcoming without further interrogation. I really should have known what was coming when the head waiter brought us two dessert spoons for use with sundae glasses but I was too bewildered to comment. Unfortunately, when the sundaes finally arrived, (complete with correct spoons) the glasses had been overfilled and the ice cream was rapidly melting down the outside of the glasses and all over the hands of the poor waitress, who took pity on us and gave us extra serviettes to hold the glasses with. This was to no avail because as soon as we put the spoons into the glasses a deluge of melted ice cream and sauce covered the serviettes, the table and us.The by this time embarrassed waitress offered to replace the desserts, which we gratefully agreed to. Much, much later, only one dessert arrived, looking even worse than the first two offerings. At this point, we did something we've both never done in our lives before and walked out of the restaurant in disgust, having been handsomely defeated in our vain attempt to just enjoy a nice celebration meal. This morning's breakfast effort was the best meal of the three we attempted to eat there, bizarrely as it was a hot buffet as opposed to the 'cook to order' of the previous morning. The only downside was the scrambled egg, as it was most definitely not scrambled, but one solid lump. It must be said, however, that on both mornings the breakfast waitresses were polite, efficient and friendly and really do need to give their counterparts on the evening shift (with one notable exception) a lesson in customer care. We were expecting a battle upon checking out and were not disappointed. The hotel tried to charge us for the evening meal that was included in the deal. Only to be expected I suppose. In conclusion, it is hard to tell what this place is supposed to be, and I'm not sure that the owners know either. Is it a hotel, or a pub with accommodation? I'm actually tending toward the latter, as the restaurant and evening menu is certainly more pub style than hotel, and the very unwelcome loud music and large bar at one end of the restaurant, complete with rowdy locals and workmen (on which they tend to rely rather too much) likens it more to the local pub than a three star hotel with holidaying guests. As someone who works in the hospitality industry, there appears to be a distinct lack of staff training and motivation and there are just too many bad points for us to ever consider a r

peter forbes said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th July 2019

Another fantastic stay, can not fault anything at all. Great place for wee overnighter.

Robert Gibson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th July 2019

A big thank you to Nick, Michael, Lynsey, Scott and staff for our fab stay. Was excellent and food was excellent we will back soon.

Linda Foster said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 6th July 2019

Nice hotel. But needs more than 1 chair in each bedroom. The manager rolled his eyes when I requested another chair for my room. The receptionist and restaurant staff were very pleasant. We stayed in the annex and the rooms are not very soundproof. We could hear banging and slamming from 7.30 in the morning. Dinner was nice as was the breakfast but waited a while for our choice of eggs. Im giving a lower score for service only because of the manager's attitude when we asked for an extra chair (which we did get)

lyn reid said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st June 2019

Excellent hotel, decor is very modern and clean. Restaurant is fantastic, great food and very reasonable prices. Staff are friendly and helpful, would definitely stay again.

Clare Nicholson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2019

We have used this hotel many times. The 2 night break was very good value and the food is very good. The staff are very friendly and approachable as well as professional. Would definitely recommend this hotel. It is only a short drive to Edinburgh and very central if touring the trossachs etc.

stevie easton said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

nice and comfy room good decor throughout friendly staff good evening meal lovely breakfast

Lenny Lowe said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Really enjoyed our stay,lovely modern hotel.Staff were friendly and polite. We stayed in room 1 which was a suite that overlooked the Firth of Forth. Food was lovely and reasonably priced,wouldn,t hesitate to go back.

Kenneth Whyte said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2019

The Hotel rooms look recently refurbished and the staff were all very nice. We enjoyed our two night stay very much.

Annette Crombie said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th February 2019

We had an enjoyable weekend at the Richmond Park Hotel. We had a lovely big warm room. The bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly. We thorougly enjoyed our evening meals.

Jo Norris said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

excellent. Clean, tidy and warm public areas. Spotlessly clean rooms, very comfortable.Fabulous food. Would highly recommend. Very friendly, helpful and efficient staff.

A guest said...

100%
N/A
100%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Fabulous stay I spent Christmas and New Year in hospital and Neill and the team gave me back precious time. We had a suite beautifully done to a very high standard, food was amazing, However the attention to detail and the care and consideration provided by the staff is what makes the hotel very special.

Lesley Stalker said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Our 4th stay at this hotel. Staff so very friendly, can't do enough for you. Rooms are lovely and the food excellent. Will be a regular visitor here.

Betty Dunn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th November 2018

Had a wonderful overnight stay lovely big room lge comfy bed beautiful bathroom. Food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again and recommend . Thank you. Betty..,,Glasgow

Lynne Conaghan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2018

Fourth time at this wee gem of a hotel and it only gets better and better. Staff are so friendly and food can only be described as amazing x definitely be back for a return visit x

Jane Pringle said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2018

Found staff to be very friendly, room was lovely and menu different from the norm. Food was good and although restaurant vey busy and hotel had two private function service was excellent.

June Shankland said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2018

Lovely hotel friendly staff

Jennifer Stewart said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2018

Myself and my husband have stayed at the Richmond Park Hotel twice now. We stayed in June and also last weekend. This is a fantastic hotel. The hotel has been upgraded and the rooms are lovely. The chef is very friendly and i think i had the best starter i have ever had. It was a haggis scotch egg and it was totally fantastic. The food in the restaurant is amazing and there is also a good breakfast in the morning. The bar has a great selection of gin. The staff in the hotel are so welcoming and cannot do enough for you especially Stacey and Adam.