Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, Chester

Parkgate Road, Chester, CH16NN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

78%

Jane LAMB said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th March 2022

We spent 2 nights here. As we entered the car park didn't think the hotel looked much but I was pleasantly surprised when I actually went in. The decor in areas is old but charming. The bedroom was big, charming as I said and spotless. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Dinner was delicious. I'm not a big fan of breakfast but it was served fresh, quickly and more to the point hot which is more than I can say for other hotels that serve either a warmish buffet or reheated dried out food. We knew the sauna and steam room was out of commission but still enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi (and gym if we wanted to). The spa treatment was also amazing and reasonably priced too. Ii enjoyed my stay here and woyld return if it wasn't so far away.

A guest said...

50%
60%
20%
70%

Stayed 12th December 2021

Hotel was dated, the back of the hotel as the picture on the website looks the part but the front looks out of the 80s and not in a good way, hard to find staff, no one manning the reception and bar, wouldn’t go back.

A guest said...

37%
30%
50%
30%

Stayed 24th October 2021

The bed was a twin pushed together not a queen,dust and cob webs all over,only one bed side lamp the other was thick with dust.It seemed a dated hotel very much short of TlC, ds and curtains had definitely seen better days, just seemed shabby all round.

Cassandra Woodcock said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 22nd September 2021

Room was a large lovely room but hadnt seen a duster for quite some time. Booked this hotel for spa facilities but only thing working was the pool. Receptionist was rude on arrival. Menu was same on both nights but the food was nice.

gloria washbourn said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th September 2021

Lovely clean comfy room nice food pleasant staff

Laura Thornton said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th August 2021

The hotel could do with some modernising however this didn’t affect the cleanliness! The hotel was spotless. We had food in the restaurant, we had stuffed chicken breast which was amazing! Breakfast was good. Overall we had a lovely stay here and would certainly stay again in the future

JOHN JEPSON said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 10th October 2020

Clearly a quality hotel but now in need of a little more attention as it is beginning to show it's age. Nevertheless, very comfortable good-sized rooms, good food and friendly, accommodating staff. Has advantage of large gardens to stretch your legs and loads of parking. We wanted to be reasonably close to the zoo and for that it worked fine.

A guest said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2019

Hotel tired spa steam room and sauna out of order staff very helpful apart from receptionist in health centre she let the rest of team down and unfortunately people also remember the negatives

Karen Owen said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th September 2019

Lovely welcome from the staff, amazing food and lovely surroundings Rooms comfortable but a bit hot

Ian Jenkins said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th August 2019

Staff where very good food was good but hotel especially spa area and changing rooms etc was poor very dated otherwise enjoyed our stay

A guest said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 21st April 2019

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Needs a bit updating

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th May 2019

Very good facilities pool and gym were impressive for a UK hotel. Breakfast was fine for buffet style. All food was hot and fresh. Although rooms dated they were comfortable and had adequate facilities. Location good for the zoo which was reason we went

A guest said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 10th May 2019

Enjoyed stay but pool area tardy and needs updating particularly changing rooms locker doors hanging off. The hotel was comfortable and staff helpful and friendly. Got breakfast order wrong but resolved quickly

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2019

Recently stayed at this hotel. It proved to be an ideal base for visiting the beautiful city of Chester and scenic North Wales. The staff were excellent and the atmosphere warm and welcoming. In addition the food and drink were first rate. Highly recommend

E Rigby said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th May 2017

This 4 star hotel is looking tired.The outside (windows and paintwork)looked shabby and the lawns and hedges and shrubs were unkempt,and last years leaves still littered the garden. The driveway needed resurfacing to fix the potholes...Breafast and afternoon tea were both enjoyable..The deep bath in the room would benefit from a grab rail.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2016

Breakfast was lovely. Lovely hotel

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd August 2016

large pleasant room and bathroom spa fine reasonably priced on comparable with travel lodge/premier inn but better value

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 30th May 2016

second visit here, good service, nice breakfast, great place to get a rest after days work. Very close to main transport links/roads etc. nice relaxing drink in the evening. Has other facil (pool/spa) which we did not use this time but which looked inviting.

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2016

From the moment we stepped into this hotel, we were made to feel very welcome. Staff very accommodating and helpful without "being in your face". The breakfast and evening meal were excellent. Special about Mark, who was particularly helpful. The swimming pool, spa, sauna and steam were very clean. Even had my nails done in the spa itself and hubby had a back massage. We shall certainly be returning as Chester itself was amazing and we barely covered half of the sites to see. Particularly enjoyed the old-fashioned bus and the Cathedrsl was beautiful.

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2016

We stayed in the family room there was 3 of us but the room had five beds, The room was clean but seriously need up dating ,the pool and jacuzzi was nice , Staff was freindly ,the breakfast was okay, We stayed here as we have a day out at chestet zoo!

norman lillie said...

74%
80%
100%
40%

Stayed 11th April 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff are friendly, including the manager; the pool and jacuzzi excellent and the grounds beautiful; the rooms are spacious with new bathrooms though the furniture is worn; the dining and sitting areas pleasant with the bonus of a pianist on Saturday evening. The only downside was the evening meal. This would be improved by serving smaller portions of better quality ingredients. Although they may be fine but were. Covered in a ubiquitous brown sauce. This is such a pity because we had such a good stay but cannot recommend to friends as a result. The breakfast was excellent so a review of the dinners should be undertaken. The hotel is well located for visiting Chester and other places of interest eg Port Sunlight and Gladstones Library. We will return but on a bed and break fast basis.

Josie Priestley said...

54%
50%
60%
50%

Stayed 31st January 2014

It was very unacceptable to leave the hotel with the receptionist unable to cancel the excessive prepayment charged on one of the rooms. The food was not edible on one of the main courses on one night and one of the members of the dining room staff was very tiresome and over friendly. Would not wish to return to this hotel.

George Hindhaugh said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2014

I've stayed at the Mollington before and it was up to the usual high standard. We made use of the pool and gym facilities.

patricia Barrie said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th January 2014

This will be the third time in the last two months that I have stayed at the mollington , First and foremost the staff (especially the receptionist) are the most helpful and friendliest I have come across , and I have stayed at many hotels . The hotel is great place to relax with everything you need , rooms are good with comfy beds , evening meal very nice , and breakfast is ample , close to Chester , only

Gordon Cole said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th January 2014

Hotel slightly dated creaky floors and doors but very clean and friendly staff. Food excellent service excellent,pool and gym first class. Lift was out of order during stay but no big deal for us. Excellent deal off Classic Britain made the stay even better. But would recommend to all.