Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, Chester

Parkgate Road, Chester, CH16NN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

A guest said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 21st April 2019

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Needs a bit updating

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th May 2019

Very good facilities pool and gym were impressive for a UK hotel. Breakfast was fine for buffet style. All food was hot and fresh. Although rooms dated they were comfortable and had adequate facilities. Location good for the zoo which was reason we went

A guest said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 10th May 2019

Enjoyed stay but pool area tardy and needs updating particularly changing rooms locker doors hanging off. The hotel was comfortable and staff helpful and friendly. Got breakfast order wrong but resolved quickly

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2019

Recently stayed at this hotel. It proved to be an ideal base for visiting the beautiful city of Chester and scenic North Wales. The staff were excellent and the atmosphere warm and welcoming. In addition the food and drink were first rate. Highly recommend

E Rigby said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th May 2017

This 4 star hotel is looking tired.The outside (windows and paintwork)looked shabby and the lawns and hedges and shrubs were unkempt,and last years leaves still littered the garden. The driveway needed resurfacing to fix the potholes...Breafast and afternoon tea were both enjoyable..The deep bath in the room would benefit from a grab rail.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2016

Breakfast was lovely. Lovely hotel

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd August 2016

large pleasant room and bathroom spa fine reasonably priced on comparable with travel lodge/premier inn but better value

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 30th May 2016

second visit here, good service, nice breakfast, great place to get a rest after days work. Very close to main transport links/roads etc. nice relaxing drink in the evening. Has other facil (pool/spa) which we did not use this time but which looked inviting.

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2016

From the moment we stepped into this hotel, we were made to feel very welcome. Staff very accommodating and helpful without "being in your face". The breakfast and evening meal were excellent. Special about Mark, who was particularly helpful. The swimming pool, spa, sauna and steam were very clean. Even had my nails done in the spa itself and hubby had a back massage. We shall certainly be returning as Chester itself was amazing and we barely covered half of the sites to see. Particularly enjoyed the old-fashioned bus and the Cathedrsl was beautiful.

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2016

We stayed in the family room there was 3 of us but the room had five beds, The room was clean but seriously need up dating ,the pool and jacuzzi was nice , Staff was freindly ,the breakfast was okay, We stayed here as we have a day out at chestet zoo!

norman lillie said...

74%
80%
100%
40%

Stayed 11th April 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff are friendly, including the manager; the pool and jacuzzi excellent and the grounds beautiful; the rooms are spacious with new bathrooms though the furniture is worn; the dining and sitting areas pleasant with the bonus of a pianist on Saturday evening. The only downside was the evening meal. This would be improved by serving smaller portions of better quality ingredients. Although they may be fine but were. Covered in a ubiquitous brown sauce. This is such a pity because we had such a good stay but cannot recommend to friends as a result. The breakfast was excellent so a review of the dinners should be undertaken. The hotel is well located for visiting Chester and other places of interest eg Port Sunlight and Gladstones Library. We will return but on a bed and break fast basis.

Josie Priestley said...

54%
50%
60%
50%

Stayed 31st January 2014

It was very unacceptable to leave the hotel with the receptionist unable to cancel the excessive prepayment charged on one of the rooms. The food was not edible on one of the main courses on one night and one of the members of the dining room staff was very tiresome and over friendly. Would not wish to return to this hotel.

George Hindhaugh said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2014

I've stayed at the Mollington before and it was up to the usual high standard. We made use of the pool and gym facilities.

patricia Barrie said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th January 2014

This will be the third time in the last two months that I have stayed at the mollington , First and foremost the staff (especially the receptionist) are the most helpful and friendliest I have come across , and I have stayed at many hotels . The hotel is great place to relax with everything you need , rooms are good with comfy beds , evening meal very nice , and breakfast is ample , close to Chester , only

Gordon Cole said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th January 2014

Hotel slightly dated creaky floors and doors but very clean and friendly staff. Food excellent service excellent,pool and gym first class. Lift was out of order during stay but no big deal for us. Excellent deal off Classic Britain made the stay even better. But would recommend to all.

patricia Barrie said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the mollington. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the executive rooms are spacious and nice enough everything you need for an enjoyable stay, The evening meal was delicious with lots of choice and the breakfast was enjoyable, great location for trip into Chester, you can get a taxi in for about

Josephine Brown said...

77%
90%
90%
50%

Stayed 2nd January 2014

The same menu for 3 nights was a bit much. They should have a couple of different specials on each night. Drinks were very over priced.

Jeff Pygott said...

57%
40%
60%
70%

Stayed 6th December 2013

Not really 4 Star! Our room still had single glazed windows, and the only form of heating was a portable electric heater! Apparently the warm air heating system wasn't working but no explanation was given during check in! The lift was also out of order for the duration of our stay. The spa & leisure facilities were nice, but a lot of the public were looking a little "tired". The service was good but hotel appeared to be somewhat under staffed!

Maurice Smith said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th November 2013

very good. no complaints at all

Jean Webster said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2013

We had a two night stay in this lovely hotel. Room very spacious and tastefully decorated, good size bathroom with a powerful shower. Dining room and lounge areas beautifully presented. Great choice for breakfast. Staff were always very friendly and helpfull. Less than 10 minutes drive to the city centre and hotel has plenty of car parking spaces. If I visit Chester again, this hotel will be my first choice to stay.

Robert Hickin said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 9th June 2013

Quite a pleasant hotel but understaffed . Twice had to ask reception to find someone to serve us at the bar. Servicing of rooms a bit chaotic with pile of used bedding etc int he corridors. Despite this the staff were very nice & helpful. Employ more staff!!

Graeme Ferguson said...

64%
60%
80%
50%

Stayed 28th May 2013

Definitely not 4 star. More like three. Spa was the only good thing about the hotel. Was rather underwhelmed with it.

Joanna Barlow said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th May 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, lovely pool and gym. Some area of hotel could do with updating but it was very good value for money, nice clean double room and food was very good!

Anthony Morgan said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th March 2013

Excellent

Ema Davies said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 3rd January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on jan 4th 2013, we were given one of the 'nicer double' rooms for myself, my partner, And 16month old daughter. Our room was clean and sufficient for the price we paid (a winter 2 night deal), the staff were lovely and kindly gave milk free of charge and warmed every time I needed. We ate in the Resteraunt on the first night and although not amazing, the food was cooked well and presented nicely. We used the pool several times. Lovely and warm for children, a great size, and there were toys/flora/and arm bands at the poolside to use. the jacuzzi was hot and the bubbles strong, The best I've been in. All the other spa/gym facilities were well maintained and clean. Breakfast was a hot buffet and a great continental choice including fresh fruits, melons, prunes, and 3 different fruit juices. I'd read some bad reviews of this place before arriving, but it really was value for money. A lovely break away, and I would stay again and reccomend to others.