Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Ro Hotel, Bowness on Windermere

Helm Rd, Bowness on Windermere, LA233BA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

vicki wright said...

74%
40%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th March 2022

The hotel itself is in a great location with lovely views from the front of the hotel. The staff are the best thing about the hotel and are really welcoming and friendly. The food and drinks are pricier than the local pubs but this hotel is worth a visit. I also think that they should consider allowing dogs into the lake view rooms as we were really disappointed that we couldn’t have a room with a view whilst taking the pooch (previously under different management we we were allowed a room with a balcony and really enjoyed the stay without any damage being caused by our dog) special thanks to Adam, Dexter, Andrea and the lovely young lad at the bar who is new - I’m very sorry I didn’t catch your name! You all deserve a pay rise! ?? Xxx

susan johnston said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th March 2022

Lovely 2 night stay lovely room with superking bed and balcony overlooking the lake great views evening meal was lovely as was breakfast

Steve Blane said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2022

Had a great weekend at the Ro Hotel Bowness . The place has been recently renovated and we stayed in a wonderous room which was spot on . We had a meal on first night a me d breakfast both mornings which were good, it is a Buffy style breakfast which was topped up when needed . The staff were helpful and courteous so look through the negative reviews and book a room here which we will be doing in the future and it is free parking as an added bonus for this area .

Michael Brown said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st March 2022

We had a fantastic time in the lakes and the weather couldn’t have been better. The Ro hotel was very nice but didn’t quite earn 10 out of 10. Our room was really nice and only spoilt by the cramped bathroom. Breakfast and dinner were very good (and they know how to properly cook a steak) and the service was spot-on. The disappointment was the overall finish of the hotel. They make a big deal of the multi-million pound refurbishment but it looked superficial. Woodwork had been painted over but not sanded down first. Mouldings were so heavily painted that they were barely visible. This was a pity because you could tell there were some lovely period features hidden away under the shoddy workmanship. I would still give it 8 out of 10 but It could have been 10 with a little more attention to detail.

susan kilpatrick said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th March 2022

Located in an ideal position. Beautifully decorated hotels, luxurious room with balcony. Lovely bar area & restaurant. Great selection for breakfast. Staff very friendly & welcoming.

Barbara Harrigan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th March 2022

WOW - From the friendly welcome with homemade cookies and the hotel cat this place didn't disappoint. We booked the lake room with balcony and it was definitely worth it, spacious, comfortable and great views. The dinner is excellent and you can easily have 3 courses on the DBB allowance. Town is a 10 minute walk with lots of places to eat,drink and enjoy the sights while Windermere a 20 minute walk away. Looking forward to a return visit.

ROBERT WELLCOAT WELLCOAT said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2022

Very nice hotel, great parking and easy walking distance to all Boness has to offer. First clas service, great food so well presented, room 201 has a great lake view. Very comfortable hotel.

julie underwood said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 19th February 2022

Hotel was lovely and clean excellent situation short walk from the main road. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. We ate in the main restaurant first evening felt very pricey for portion sizes also deserts small for price. Breakfast was a bit chaotic first morning due to hotel being busy - breakfast was standard nothing special or different had better Overall had a great 2 day break and would definitely return but would not eat evening meal in restaurant purely on cost over value. Bedroom and bathroom very nice however could do with some drawers to put clothes in

Michael langstaff said...

50%
10%
60%
80%

Stayed 12th February 2022

Hi When i booked this room for 2 nights at £189 a night which included a 3 course meal and a room with a lake view. You can imagine i was not very happy when i was charged £40 for the view and £40 food supplement. I contacted the hotel about this and got nowhere, And the breakfast on sunday morning was so unorganised and quite frankly not really acceptable that people were stud waithing for food to come out from kitchen for up to 10 minute's. There was no coffee i had hardy any breakfast as i had to wait to long and for £189 a night not good enough. Regards Michael

kevin grierson said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th February 2022

Very nice hotel close to restaurants

Garry Pearson said...

57%
30%
80%
60%

Stayed 29th January 2022

Lovely hotel after recent refurbishment, great location, nice staff. However, we had room 123 Lake View which it turns out is lovely & new but right above the hotel bar. The sound proofing is inadequate and the music from the bar comes through to the room quite loudly until 11pm. Politely complained to the night porter / reception to be told its a frequent complaint and the music would die down at 11pm. The hotel is not mentioning any of this in the room description and this is a premium priced room / hotel. Offered no solution or refund of any sort and we paid over £200 for a one night stay. Not acceptable for a hotel of this stature.

A guest said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 12th January 2022

Lovely stay at the Ro hotel, we had a fabulous room with a balcony and the view was great over the lake. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is up a steep hill and I wouldn’t recommend it for people with difficulty in walking, but it is very near to the centre, and Bowness is hilly. Just a couple of issues, restaurant was closed on second night because of chef being Ill and other chef’s day off, so no food available and we were charged for evening meal on first night which was included in our deal and didn’t realise until I got home so phoned them and they will refund not got that yet.

Sandra Ashworth said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2021

A beautiful hotel very tastefully decorated. The rooms are nice with everything you might need and everywhere is immaculately clean. All staff are very pleasant and service is professional and efficient. The dining room is so nice and the food quality is good. The town is easily accessed although it is a steep climb going back. I do have one negative- having opened an account with a debit card on arrival I found that 2 payments had been taken on settlement. It took a week for this to be re-credited to my account. I don’t understand why this was necessary? So maybe another system could be introduced. Altogether a very pleasant and enjoyable stay and I would go back.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th November 2021

Everything about the hotel was good. We had a room in an older part of the building but the view of Lake Windermere was good. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. Dinner and breakfast were served in the dining room and both were superb; the food was cooked to perfection and the ambience was wonderful. Although located up a steep hill from the town, the walk was rewarding with a choice of some good refreshment stops on the way

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th November 2021

Food was good standard for breakfast and dinner. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. Room was a good size. Bathroom new and modern with plenty of . Location very good.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2021

Hotel was lovely, great views. Food was very nice and all the staff were very friendly and helpful

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2021

Been with family over the weekend. The Ro is a beautiful hotel. The views were breathtaking. Staff was very friendly. Hotel was very clean. The food was great. Will definitely visit again. Beautiful hotel. Will definitely be visiting again

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2021

We would recommend this hotel for the high level of hospitality experienced during the whole of our stay their friendliness and attention to detail was exceptional in our experience . The food too was extremely good, quality and choice was of the highest level, worth a try for the food alone, but better to stay over for the best of this hotel

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2021

Travelled from Durham and stayed at the Ro for 3 nights near end of November,Hotel is in a great location for everything in Bowness. Reception staff were very welcoming and our room was great and serviced throughout our stay to a high standard. We had a rate that included an evening meal and the food was excellent. Breakfast buffet was to a high standard as well and very enjoyable. The Bar is very enjoyable and Jack and Ross looked after us very well ( introduced us to a ‘baby Guinness’ )and made the experience one of the highlights of our trip, thank you both. Would not hesitate to recommend the Ro if looking for a stay in Bowness