Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Ro Hotel, Bowness on Windermere

Helm Rd, Bowness on Windermere, LA233BA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th June 2019

Good car park, very pleasant receptionist, good lift to second floor. Room was quite large but in need of decorating as wallpaper was adrift in places. Plenty of wardrobes and drawers for just a two night stay! Lighting very dim and light over mirror not working, so too the light over the mirror in the bathroom. Duvet was too warm but a fan provided did a good job. TV was hopeless, picture continually breaking up and failed at one stage. Only one chair in the bedroom so one had to sit on the comfortable bed! Breakfast was excellent in a very fine dining room too

A guest said...

67%
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th May 2019

Staff and food at hotel were fantastic, however, the bar stock was being run down so, not a lot of choice, part of hotel was upgraded and beautiful, our room not yet done, was dated, damp. Did enjoy our stay shame sauna was out of order.

Roslyn Hopton said...

44%
0%
80%
50%

Stayed 22nd May 2019

Would highly recommend NOT to book an Unrefurbished room. We did and it was pretty disgusting. Wallpaper peeling off. Shower too small. TV from the antique shop and no aerial. Dim lighting.

William Houston said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd May 2019

Great price, great location, great food and lovely staff.

Alan Barker said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th May 2019

Well worth the visit,Room clean food exellent staff great. If you go just to pick faults Im sure you will find one however at the price it is not worth the bother.

Susan McCallig said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Stayed at Hydro Hotel for the second time now as we find it in a great location to all amenities and within reasonable walking distance. It is a lovely hotel and the staff are all very good and nothing is too much bother to them. Food on offer is freshly cooked and if a high standard . We also enjoy using the swimming pool and jacuzzi . We will return.

Gordon Russell said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 25th October 2018

Room was awful number 154 nothing like the pictures No stank of mould food awful beware don’t go

William Bird said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 8th October 2018

Can only comment on our particular room, it was a twin, it appeared a bit tired, the bathroom was very small, to sit on the loo you needed to enter the bathroom, turn and close the door before you could sit on the loo. the shower did take a while to get warm, (not hot), (there was a note saying it could take up to 5 minutes to get through). once we had showered could not get the shower to turn off completely. Staff in the restaurant were very attentive and pleasant, the food was excellent both for dinner and for the buffet breakfast

Ian Hender said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2018

A very enjoyable 2 night vacation, Hotel excellent, room had everything you needed and staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food really good and again service very good.

Deborah Walker said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2018

Great hotel. Food fantastic. Staff very friendly. Only downside was the bathroom was tiny.

A guest said...

64%
60%
80%
50%

Stayed 19th September 2018

Dinner service a bit slow, food good.

Donna tasker said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th September 2018

Bought for honeymoon break for my daughter and son in law .they thoughly enjoyed every second of their stay and loved the extras provided by the hotel for their arrival. Food out of this world and the whole hotel was fabulous.

Hannah Picknett said...

64%
20%
80%
90%

Stayed 12th September 2018

Hotel was rebfurbished but rooms had not been yet so they let the stay down alot. The rooms were very basic and in bad conditon. The food was very good and bar and resturant were very modern and nice to sit in just a shame rooms were so bad.

George DONALD said...

47%
30%
40%
70%

Stayed 10th September 2018

I have been in this hotel about 16 times up to about 5 years ago before it became a Squire hotel. It used to be old fashioned but to be honest it had character then. They have tried to update it but have lost the plot. Toilets and bathrooms awful when toilet flushed in any room heard all over. Bedrooms terrible, no bedside lampsm TV tiny and old fashioned. The only good thing was the food. Won't be back.

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th August 2018

Before visiting the hotel I read several reviews on different websites. The majority were negative However, I did not agree with many of the comments and had a very enjoyable trip and found the hotel good value for money. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.

KEN MACAULAY said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 21st August 2018

Great location, although there is a steep hill to get to it. The refurbishment which the hotel has carried out (although I believe not all the bedrooms have been done yet) is fantastic and done to a very high standard. There were 3 couples and all us were given a room upgrade. All 3 rooms were exceptional and had a lovely view of the lake and surrounding country side. The staff, in particular reception and dining room, were extremely helpful and efficient. Breakfast was excellent, dinner was acceptable but quality and pricing could be improved - in comparison with some of the town's restaurants. Overall, this was superb value for money and we will continue to use Myhotelbreak as our 1st choice.

Helen Cochrane said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th August 2018

Booked this last minute and it was amazing from start to finish. The hotel was centrally located. The room was amazing, we had a double room with balcony and a view of the lake. Food was amazing both evening meal and breakfast. All staff were friendly and polite and really good value for money.

Stephenie Shaw said...

60%
30%
80%
70%

Stayed 16th August 2018

We booked a DBB deal and walking into the hotel it was beautiful. However when we got to our room we were disappointed. I know we had a deal through a offer website and we were told we would have one of the old rooms but still I would have hoped it was still comfy.....the window didnt have a lock and there was horrendous condensation on the window on the inside. The whole room felt threadbare and in need of a good deep clean. The bathroom was very dated and damaged in places. The only good thing about the room was the bed as it was nice and firm. However the food and drink were good, the dining room and bar were warm and cosy and the staff were really helpful and polite. If we were ever to stay again I would want to stay in one of the newer rooms as the old rooms are not comfortable at all.

denise lowther said...

47%
40%
30%
70%

Stayed 2nd July 2018

Check in was fine. Couldn't find room. Guy on reception took us there. Room was awful. Window wouldn't stay open. It was 25 degrees outside. Got another room. It was far better and windows worked. Both rooms were still old decor and bathroom was awful. Some parts of the hotel looked good. Breakfast was OK. Dinner was good but service was awful. My husband wanted to walk out we waited so long to be served.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 19th June 2018

Lots of new staff trying hard to please but with IT not working they had a difficult first day. Excellent food and willing staff. Bus parties from India and Korea made the breakfast experience a little more interesting than anticipated..

A guest said...

90%
100%
70%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2018

A very enjoyable stay. Staff are friendly and helpful, Food is fantastic and value for the money. The hotel is in a fantastic spot to visit the lakes.The room we was very clean with a great look over The lake.The only let down is the hotel needs more staff on during meal times the same staff serve and do the bar other then that I can not complain. we are looking forward to our second visit to the lakes and will definitely book the hydro

Margaret Howitt said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2018

Lovely stay,beautiful room overlooking the lake, food received on the dinner bed and breakfast plan was very good. Would recommend a visit.

Gillian munro said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 12th April 2018

The Windermere Hydro has an excellent location almost in the heart of Bowness , it has had a recent refurbishment think £1 million , this shows in all the public areas, lounge, dinner room etc. The rooms however have not all had this makeover , we have stayed in the same family room a few times now ,and it is still the same as it was , very tired , bed quite hard, and pillows also. The children's part of the room as this is separated with bunk beds still has the same ripped wallpaper at the window and has the only TV , no TV in the main part of the bedroom. The bathroom is very small with the same old fashioned flooring and wall covering. Its a shame the rooms have not been decorated the same as the other areas as this lets the hotel down. Breakfast was okay nothing great , buffet style , help yourself , had to ask for plates , ins and pastries ran out quickly and coffee machine did not work one morning , did not eat in the hotel in the evening , as there are so many nice restaurants in Bowness.

Robert Brown said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th March 2018

Although it was evident that refurbishment had taken place recently there were several areas still in need of some additional spending. Overall our stay was pleasant and we did not encounter any problems.

Roz Robertson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2018

Just back from a fabulous stay at the hydro hotel. Could not fault it in anyway. We were upgraded to lake view room and it was just stunning and we had our two dogs with us and they put dog bed, bowls and treats in for them. The four of us were trully spoilt. Couldn’t recommend enough, we were there a couple of years ago and it has improved 1000% percent. Will definitely return x