Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, North Queensferry

St. Margarets Head, North Queensferry, KY111HP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Linda Hutchison said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th September 2020

Lovely hotel, nice clean room, good views, staff polite, all were wearing face masks and social distancing was In force. My only grievance would be getting into the bar, we went for a drink late afternoon, waited at door to be seated as requested but no space, however we were given a seat in restaurant, fair enough. We booked a table for dinner later, had a lovely meal then we went to bar for a coffee this time we got a seat. After coffee we went for a walk, when we came back we tried to get into the bar, this time we were asked for our room number, the couple in front gave there’s (6??) & were shown to a table, we gave ours (3??) & was told sorry no space, I thought this was a bit odd, if there’s no space why ask for a room no. first, they hadn’t done it before, which made me wonder if there was some sort of pecking order. I hope I’m wrong as it should be first come first serve plus there’s no where else to go on the north side. I’m afraid it would put me of going back.

Hotel reply...

Hello Linda, Thank you for the feedback, I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry top hear that you were disappointed with the restaurant / bar service, I have passed this onto the team to look into. I can assure you there is no pecking order in place although I understand how this may have looked. We ask for room numbers to ensure we have the correct information to charge to rooms, maybe this needs to be explained better to avoid customers feeling like that. In regards to space, with the new guidelines in place we have to be careful with capacity, this is all new to us and we are all learning along the way, however this could have been explained to you. We appreciate your feedback and will take forward to the restaurant team. Hopefully you can give us another chance Reservations Team.

Darren Cope said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th September 2020

Myself and girlfriend had a great time here. The Hotel was brilliant with awesome views, especially from the restaurant. The location was brilliant and was a great base to explore the area. I was really pleased with all the staff, they couldn't do enough for you which is very much appreciated. Brilliant service. All in all an amazing stay.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th September 2020

Had a fantastic stay & the views from our room were just spectacular. The staff were so welcoming and couldn’t do enough for you. Looking forward to booking again and going back soon.

Caroline Given said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 9th August 2020

All in all a gorgeous hotel lovely King size room with a view of the Queensferry crossing. Loved the dining room food delicious and staff were very attentive and friendly. Excellent measures for social distancing.

Caroline Given said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 9th August 2020

All in all a gorgeous hotel lovely King size room with a view of the Queensferry crossing. Loved the dining room food delicious and staff were very attentive and friendly. Excellent measures for social distancing.

Caroline Given said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 9th August 2020

All in all a gorgeous hotel lovely King size room with a view of the Queensferry crossing. Loved the dining room food delicious and staff were very attentive and friendly. Excellent measures for social distancing.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2020

Lovely hotel great location. Staff excellent. Enjoyable stay.

Paul Brack said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2019

All round excellent and the views where amazing

William Stewart said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st March 2019

What can I say everything about our stay was amazing, staff couldn’t do enough for you, rooms were clean and comfortable, food and tails were great, can’t wait to return, loved that we could enjoy our complimentary bottle of wine with dinner rather than in our room

Michael Mann said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

Hotel and staff were excellent we all had a really good weekend

Esther Mcphillips said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

Lovely stay,rooms,big and spacious,food great,staff very attentive.would deffenetly go back.

Anne scott said...

70%
70%
100%
40%

Stayed 10th March 2019

We enjoyed dinner at hotel everything was perfectly cooked. Unfortunately breakfast wasn’t very good. Two bus loads had been in before us & the food had been lying for at least an hour or two. Fried eggs were cold & hard. Scrambled were the only thing edible. I didn’t want to cause any trouble & ask for fresh sausage bacon etc. We also had a soaking wet floor in bedroom & they brought towels which were soaking in morning. Obviously shower leaking.

FIONA STURROCK said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

Fantastic Hotel, Staff were so nice and helpful, Room was large and spacious. Meals on both nights were lovely , Breakfast selections in the morning were excellent, they never had my favorite tipple in the bar but apart from that we couldn't fault the hotel . Would recommend this hotel and would return

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Great hotel, great food and excellent service throughout our stay.

Bob Dunbar said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2019

This really is a special Hotel! This was our third visit and it will not be our last. The rooms are spacious clean and bright. The food is fantastic!...and the Staff are really exceptional.....nothing is too much trouble. A great place to stay!

ann cormack said...

77%
80%
100%
50%

Stayed 10th February 2019

Lovely hotel, nice modern rooms apart from the bright green light that lit up the room. Amazing views from the restaurant. Lunch was nice but dinner was over cooked. The bridge could be accessed at the end of the garden so enjoyed a walk.

Tracy Groves said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th February 2019

Fantastic hotel, beautiful large modern rooms with a huge bed which was extremely comfortable! Plenty of electrical sockets and facilities. The restaurant had fantastic views of the bridge and the breakfast had an amazing selection to choose from. Evening meal was average and not in keeping with the standard of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Steven Grant said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

Hotel was very clean and staff were very helpful. Unfortunately we didn't get the relaxing night we were expecting. A few floors suffered a power cut on the night of our stay and we were awoken in the early hours with all the commotion and loud talking in the hall way. It seemed to go on for a while right outside our room door which was disappointing so our relaxing overnight away from the kids didn't happen.

Ian Robertson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th January 2019

Absolutely fabulous. Hotel immaculate with stunning views. Room superb with great bathroom walk-in shower and light up mirror. Bed king size and linen great. Good tv and air con. Restaurant great with super views. Breakfast buffet style great selection excellent. Evening meal superb quality and choice. Great value for money and all staff brilliant. Will return definitely and I can’t recommend it highly enough.

RHONA MITCHELL said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th January 2019

Lovely warm welcome,complimentary warm cookies which were delicious, we had a king room with view which was lovely,everything was very good quality with high standards of housekeeping.Dinner was nice and although staff were mannerable it did feel a bit like they were going through the motions,no real natural interaction.Breakfast was amazing with so many extra items not expected,fresh pancake maker,fruit smoothie,a great selection of anything you could want and so fresh, staff were very welcoming and attentive ,beautiful restaurant with an exceptional view,would highly reccomend and would definately return,this hotel is a credit to the Hilton brand.

Lynn wilkie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th January 2019

Had a great night here x room brilliant except view which was on to a mound of dirt but wasn’t an issue really x had no water in the morning so unable to shower or flush toilet x but I’ve been assured I will be refunded half my bill which I didn’t ask for x

Elaine Hunter said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th January 2019

Lovely overnight stay lunch and dinner good

William Jackson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th January 2019

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The furnishings were in top notch condition. Very good value for money.

Christina Bolland said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th January 2019

Excellent Hotel. Great location and handy for Edinburgh. Rooms very modern and spacious. Staff were very friendly. Food very good. Would highly recommend this Hotel.

Ann McCabe said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th January 2019

Booked the stay to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday and it was perfect from start to finish. The room we were allocated overlooked the Queensferry crossing so had wonderful views but was also lovely and peaceful. Was a really cold day when we arrived but our room was lovely and warm. We both had a great night's sleep as the bed was so comfy. Lovely toiletries and nice to have a fridge. All the staff we met were friendly and efficient. We were told we could have £25 to spend from the dinner menu and managed a starter, main and desert for that amount. Deserts were amazing. Lovely sunset over the bridge as we ate dinner. We also had a complimentary bottle of wine with our dinner as we were staying on a Sunday. Breakfast was buffet style and there was a really fantastic range of items to choose from. Better half would have preferred his cooked breakfast cooked from scratch rather than getting items that might have been sitting under a heater for some time. Coffee also had to be returned as it was cold but it was soon replaced with a much hotter one. Had a lovely walk from the hotel over the old bridge to South Queensferry. Fantastic value for money. Won’t hesitate to come back.