Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Highland Hotel, Stirling

Spittal Street, Stirling, FK81DU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

jim mckelvie said...

64%
50%
90%
50%

Stayed 23rd July 2021

Disappointed. Restaurant staff were lovely. Parking was a nightmare. We went out on the Saturday and returned to find it took half an hour driving round the car park, driving to the overflow and having to rev all the way out because someone had parked in the turning point. Had there not been outside drinking areas over parking spaces this might have helped. I told the receptionist who suggested I go away and try again in an hours time!!! The room was tired. Heavy curtains along the wall where there wasn’t a window made the room dark. Dressing table worn and marked. I haven’t seen a shower curtain in an hotel for years. Bath was marked. Towels were small. Restaurant food was more pub grubb as was the layout of the menu. The coffee machine broke down so no after dinner cappuccino was available. Can I ask if My Hotel Break are allocated tired rooms which are a good walk away from the reception? We often find this can be the case.

Natalie Hendrie said...

57%
80%
30%
60%

Stayed 19th July 2021

The room and hotel itself were lovely. I have stayed here a couple of times before and loved it, but left disappointed this time. At dinner we were sat behind an AC unit which was cooling to those in front, however was the equivalent of sitting next to a heater for us in an already extremely warm dining room. Service was very slow and the food was fine. However most disappointing was the breakfast experience. We waited 10 minutes to be seated and were asked to complete a breakfast order sheet which was a good idea in theory. We were offered tea or coffee, when the coffee arrived there was no milk. 20 minutes passed and no one appeared to take the order, finally we managed to ask someone to take it. Another 20 minutes passed and our breakfast arrived, when we asked for milk the waitress rudely replied “I’m busy ask him” and pointed to another server who then forgot our request. Check out was slow and we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay. This overnight was a gift and so was disappointing to say the least.

Joyce henderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th July 2021

Lovely stay, room spotless clean, staff couldn’t be more helpful, will definitely book again.

Paddy Elrick said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 17th July 2021

Nice rooms however tv didn’t work in room But good value package and would stay again

Paddy Elrick said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 17th July 2021

Nice rooms however tv didn’t work in room But good value package and would stay again

Lynn Evans said...

90%
90%
N/A
90%

Stayed 11th July 2021

What a great find We had a great stay The staff are fantastic and made you feel safe all the time, very COVID safe

A guest said...

50%
N/A
N/A
50%

Stayed 7th July 2021

Great accommodation ideal for visiting the castle staff were very helpful and food was good all and all great place great price

A guest said...

50%
N/A
N/A
50%

Stayed 7th July 2021

Great accommodation ideal for visiting the castle staff were very helpful and food was good all and all great place great price

Gordon Welsh said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th July 2021

Good value for money. £129 for two guests dinner, bed & breakfast, with glass of Prosecco. Room a little tired, in need of updating. There was a musty smell in the bedroom. Towels and bed linen could also do with a refresh. Pool is good and well organised with 45 min slots. Dinner was excellent and staff were very good in restaurant. Breakfast was good and organised, if a little slow. Go early if you have plans for the day. Would definitely stay again.

janette gillies said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th June 2021

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel however we left early on the Sunday without breakfast as the queue was Huge and down into the corridor. I’m afraid I couldn’t stand for that length of time. This was a personal decision as restrictions have to be met. The hotel, staff, & food was excellent plus it’s situated in the centre of town right next to the castle.

James Carlin said...

67%
60%
80%
60%

Stayed 25th June 2021

Stayed here before a few years ago and it seems to have a lost a few of it's charms. Staff are great and the covid rules in place - cleaned throughout. Felt it was not as deluxe as before and certainly felt the room was not delux - covid means no fancy touches but room is in need of decorating and feels dated, couldn't close bathroom door and furniture looking well worn. I think it has recently been taken over by The Cairn Group (?) and is now lacking the higher end feel. Restaurant menu more pub grub than posh food now. Was only there one night so we made the most of it and still enjoyed our stay. Not sure I would rush back unless and very good deal.

Wilf Moralee said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th June 2021

This is the third time we have stayed at the hotel and it is still charming. The food is of good quality and facilities are very nice. However we were surprised to see that the rooms are tired and in need of basic painting and decorating, especially the bathroom. We thought tasks like this would have been addressed during lockdown.

Tracey Sinclair said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th June 2021

Lovely hotel staff is lovey would be staying here again

mary hepburn said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th June 2021

I would recommend this hotel as the food was good also breakfast was lovely nice bacon n poached eggs. Also gluten free bread was nice rooms nice n clean.

mary hepburn said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th June 2021

I would recommend this hotel as the food was good also breakfast was lovely nice bacon n poached eggs. Also gluten free bread was nice rooms nice n clean.

Wilf Moralee said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th June 2021

This is the third time we have stayed at the hotel and it is still charming. The food is of good quality and facilities are very nice. However we were surprised to see that the rooms are tired and in need of basic painting and decorating, especially the bathroom. We thought tasks like this would have been addressed during lockdown.

jacqueline heaney said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 13th June 2021

Lovely staff wonderful stay would definitely come again

Michelle Cunningham said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 12th June 2021

Customer service was good. Rooms were clean however could do with update but were comfortable. Food was lovely. The last time we stayed the food was alot more al a carte this time was more like pub food which was bit disappointing as this was what made us book hotel again. However we had a lovely stay and really enjoyed sitting in the beer garden

Pauline White said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th May 2021

Fabulous stay. Service was excellent Food delicious

Pamela McNair said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd May 2021

Amazing stay, staff couldn't do enough for us, a fantastic day, and even got sun! Will be back.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Fantastic hotel and staff. Would recommend. Great location. Will be back again.

A guest said...

80%
50%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2020

Hotel was lovely but unfortunately our room was very dusty and the bathroom let us down a little as there was rust around the plug hole and dampness/mould around the bath seal. Only thing that let the hotel down.

A guest said...

80%
50%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2020

Hotel was lovely but unfortunately our room was very dusty and the bathroom let us down a little as there was rust around the plug hole and dampness/mould around the bath seal. Only thing that let the hotel down.

Melanie orr said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd October 2020

Lovely hotel, beautiful location and the staff were just amazing. Will defo be back.

colin Gow said...

60%
80%
N/A
40%

Stayed 12th September 2020

Hotel was lovely and clean could do with few touch ups. 1 way system in operation and plenty of sanitizers around the hotel. Receipts’s was very welcoming and friendly. The downside was being woken up at 8am on a Sunday morning with works being done in front car park. Breakfast was also a let down with variety stayed here before and breakfast was superb but this time massive let down. Cornflakes or weetabix fruit salad yoghurt then full breakfast bread that was it. I asked about fruit salad as I have an allergy to pineapple and it had pineapple but wasn’t offered an alternative used to be a buffet style breakfast I understand in these times that that isn’t possible but that’s no exscuse for lack of choice