Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Deeside Inn , Ballater

13 - 15 Victoria Road, Ballater, AB355RA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

William ROSS said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th May 2013

Comfortable stay.

joseph dodds said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2017

Great welcome, staff friendly, room nice, clean and view of village green brilliant, food was excellent, only fault bar and dining room very dark could do with more subtle lighting, especially to read the menu, also live music which was great

MARILYN HAY said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th July 2015

hotel was clean the food lovely the rooms were clean the staff changed the towels everyday

T Mcgregor said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th June 2017

Staff friendly and helpful throughout our visit; comfortable room; great breakfasts, good fish dishes in evening, imaginative menu but perhaps too much bread included with some dishes; priced competitively; get location in centre of Balloter on glorious Deeside.

Maggie MacArthur said...

44%
0%
50%
80%

Stayed 26th July 2015

Room very very basic. Not well-managed. I would book with Classic Britain again but not at that Inn.

Michael McCready said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th July 2015

We have stayed here on numerous occasions now going back to when the hotel was called the Loirston. Have done a few deals here at the Deeside Inn and each time it gets better and better. Noticed a big development from the kitchen, the meals were never actually bad but are much better than before. And Joanna seems genuinely interested in her guests views taking the time to ask guests at dinner how things are. Rooms are fine too although some are larger than others and I would recommend asking for an upgrade if possible. Lovely friendly and helpful staff too. Lovely location and look forward to returning in the not too distant future. A special mention to the youth ceilidh band on Saturday night , a credit to themselves who sang and played to perfection with a very mature attitude. We were blown away by their professionalism. Hope this is the first of many visits although i fear this was maybe a one off. Good Scottish all round weekend, cant wait to get back.

graeme sinclair said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th July 2015

we stayed a couple of nights with our 8 week old daughter. we were wary of the fact that this might be a bit of a struggle. we needn't have worried. the manager and her staff did everything they could to facilitate our specific needs. they went over and above what would be expected in normal circumstances. the food was exceptional. this is the 3rd time we had stayed there and it definitely wont be the last. we even managed to see the queen at balmoral on the way home. fantastic!!!

Alaistair Turriff said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2015

nice hotel comfortable bed friendly and helpful staff.five star food.chef deserves a special mention.hope to return soon

Charles Fraser said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th July 2015

Overall very good value and service. However the bedroom allocated for the first night was very small and disappointing. When raised at reception we were given a much nicer bedroom for the second night.

David Fraser said... Hotel has replied

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th April 2015

We stayed at the Deeside for the Easter weekend ( Bikers ) we had a really enjoyable stay, staff were great, room we were in was large and the food was second to none, would recommend this hotel to friends and family, would return to this hotel without a doubt, a BIG THANKS to ALL the staff.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We enjoyed having you to stay and are very pleased that you all had a nice time away. I will pass on your thanks to the team. Safe driving and best wishes, Joanna

David Morrison said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th February 2015

Excellent food and staff ensured a good atmosphere. Ensuite requires upgrading and better heating. Very good location.

E Ranyard said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th January 2015

We were very pleased to be given an upgrade to a junior suite for our stay. The suite was well laid out,comfortable, cosy and warm, however the ensuite, though adequate, needs a rethink and update. It was very small, plus the water pressure for the shower was less than desirable. The lounge with the log fire was a lovely to relax in with afternoon tea. All the food was beautifully cooked and presented, with dinner being served in the bar each evening to provide a less formal atmosphere, due to the low number of diners. The staff were very friendly and attentive and made you feel very welcome. We had a very enjoyable stay and will certainly be returning. This was another excellent value break from Classic Britain and have recommended them to family and friends.

Colin Cunningham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2015

Our 4th time at the Deeside Inn and we again thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff, great food and clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent value.

Anne GIBSON said...

50%
40%
50%
60%

Stayed 27th December 2014

I think this hotel needs some pictures in the bedrooms and some nice bedding. It is very basic and won't be staying there again.

David Tod said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th December 2014

Enjoyable 2 night break, staff warm and friendly. Food excellent. Manageress gave the personal touch to all her guests. We will definitely return.

Brenda Iley said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 29th October 2014

Bedrooms adequate Food very good and everyday staff very helpful but manager very offhand!!! Public areas in hotel extremely cold as there was a problem with heating. Was a struggle to get get one log fire lit and heater in bar. Dining room baltic!!!

A Macrae said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 25th October 2014

Hotel was okay but dining room could have been cleaner the floor was bare and had very old rugs which had a weird smell from them also no lit fires when we were there.

Patricia Cameron said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 24th October 2014

Staff pleasant and helpful; food was really good, both breakfast and dinner. The bathroom facilities in our room were dated and could do with an overhaul as the shower pressure was not the best and the shower height could not be adjusted; also the fan in the bathroom was really noisy. Despite this, the room was very clean and cosy as was the bathroom and we had a lovely view across to the church in the main square. Although drinks were a bit on the pricey side we would stay again as everything in Ballater was within easy walking distance.

lynn Armstrong said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2014

Bedroom was clean, albeit bed a bit hard - but otherwise a nice place to stay as staff really nice and friendly. Would stay here again

Diane Martin said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2014

Room and en suite very small - perhaps we were just unlucky on this occasion as other rooms we saw into appeared bigger. Otherwise no complaints. Food very, very good and beautifuly served and presented. Staff extremely pleasant.

James Black said...

44%
30%
60%
40%

Stayed 23rd August 2014

Hotel is in need of a facelift. Bedrooms less than basic. Public areas were unkempt. Dinner was a 6 course taster menu 4 of which were miniscule. Staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful.

James McKee said...

24%
0%
0%
70%

Stayed 19th August 2014

An extremely disapointing visit.

Shirley Linton said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd July 2014

Great hotel in the heart of the Highlands. The staff were lovely. Helpful and informative and always smiling. Food great with portions just right. Bedrooms comfortable and secure. Very good deal. Public rooms excellent and walks from the door. We'll be back in the winter.

Isabel Quinney said...

54%
20%
70%
70%

Stayed 9th July 2014

Noisy late at night/early morning, by staff renovating kitchen outside our window. Also younger staff noisy in corridors and doors banging up to 3am.No daily room clean at all during our stay

Linda Barrack said...

67%
60%
60%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2014

The room was comfy enough but the bathroom and shower is awful- We stayed in the same room 2 years ago and reported the hot water tap falling off into the bath then and guess what?? It STILL falls off!! Would have been nice to have been asked how we enjoyed our stay when we checked out.