Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Crown & Mitre Hotel, Carlisle

English Street, Carlisle, CA38HZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Claire Boyce said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th December 2020

Lovely stay

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2020

We had a very pleasant stay and lovely meal at this atmospheric hotel in the centre of Carlisle. Very nice modern restaurant and the Edwardian splendour of the breakfast and reception areas. We hope to return,

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th February 2020

Lovely stay at the Crown and Mitre Carlisle. Staff very attentive and couldnt fault the delicious dinner and breakfast included in the offer. Cant wait for the next offer so can return. Location is brilliant, so close to all amenities.

Pauline Dennison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2019

Another lovely stay with friendly staff. Warm comfortable room on the front with great views of the Christmas tree. Delicious dinner plus wine. Fantastic value for money.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd December 2019

pleasant stay, friendly staff, Have stayed at this particular hotel on a number of occasions and have always found the staff welcoming. Breakfast choice good, evening meals in Lounge and Dinning room varied and of a high standard. Location great for shopping and walking and car park a bonus. Leisure facilities basic, but a nice bonus. Will always make this our first choice in the Carlisle area for a leisure break.

Claire Boyce said...

77%
40%
90%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

This is our fourth stay at the Crown & Mitre. For some reason, on this occasion we were placed in the annex across the car park. Firstly, the lift was not working. The room itself, although clean, was very mush smaller than previous stays and outdated with wallpaper peeling off the walls and burn marks on the bed footer. It was also extremely noisy, both internally (another guest decided to shower very early in the morning and the noise in our room was unbelievable, we could also hear the cleaners in the morning swearing and complaining that the lift wasn't working) and externally (we could hear delivery traffic, people, bins being moved and emptied) so I did not get much sleep at all. As a result, I did not feel able to drive, so this would have been a major concern had I been leaving first thing in the morning. The restaurant and reception staff were polite and helpful, and the food was excellent. The rest of the hotel (reception, restaurant, dining room etc) are all well maintained.

Brian McDonald said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 19th November 2019

Disappointed the lift was out of order for the four days we were there and on booking in at reception no one made us aware or offered assistance with our luggage to Assendon the four flights of sstairs. The menu for evening dinner was repetitive. The staff in general were okay.

John Ashurst said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 12th November 2019

Very enjoyable stay. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Food was of a very high standard although the evening service could have been a bit quicker, left waiting quite a while after ordering food. One or two teething problems in the room were quickly resolved.

Anthony Williams said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th November 2019

Staff friendly and helpful. Food very good. All round excellent value.

Linda Peacock said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 28th October 2019

Really enjoyed stay very convenient for shops town etc will book again

Linda Robertson said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2019

Brilliant food

Susan Green said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2019

What a fantastic stay!!! The staff are all friendly and helpful - we loved Jordan in the restaurant!!! Room was very comfortable, food was excellent and the breakfasts!! - well where do I start??? Great choice. The deal we got was amazing and we had a fabulous time!!

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2019

Comfortable clean rooms...could do with a freshen up...my room was cold at night but I was given a heater...room was right next to gate at the car park entry and it was very noisy early in morning when bins were being emptied...hotel staff were polite and friendly...my son struggled with the menu as he is vegetarian and it was a bit fancy for his tastes but I found everything to be lovely.

Andrew Penman said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2019

Have been at this hotel many times and have always found the food and staff excellent.this time was no different

Sharon Raglan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Very pleasant hotel, with polite friendly staff. The food was superb, both evening meals and breakfasts. The swimming pool was a comfortable temperature as was the jacuzzi. Our Room was a good sized double, very clean and comfortable.

STANLEY JEWELL said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2019

Good Hotel Home from Home Will return

AUDREY MURPHY said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th September 2019

Would highly recommend the Crown and Mitre the staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is excellent .I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Crown and Mitre

John Littler said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2019

We enjoyed our short break in Carlisle. The Crown & Mitre is located in the centre of Carlisle and is very convenient for the shops, Cathedral, Castle and Museums. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had Dinner B&B on two nights with B&B on the third night.The set dinner was excellent - lots of choice for each of three courses with no supplement, which included the cheese board. Although the room wasn't big, it was comfortable and contained the essentials required for a short break.

A guest said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 8th September 2019

Fortunately we upgraded but rooms were very shabby. Final bill included drinks we did not order & felt embarrassed having to sort in front of other guests. Evening meal on 2nd night was much better, breakfast was excellent. Breakfast Host was a lovely girl but some staff members could take a leaf out of her book. Overall not impressed with Hotel.

Giles Wynne said...

50%
40%
50%
60%

Stayed 2nd September 2019

Cold room in spite of addition of electric radiator. Food is carried without a cover from the kitchen to the bar and restaurant through the public corridor. Room with shower reserved was not allocated until we complained

john waddell said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th July 2019

Had a great stay, hotel was great staff very good. The only issue we had was we arrived at 3:15 for an expected 2pm check in. The room was still not ready at 4:15 we were given a complimentary glass of wine.the room was ideal for our needs.

Mr Haslam said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2019

Very enjoyable night good food,comfortable beds exceptionally clean,what more could you want??

norman stringer said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2019

Another loverly stay, staff are brilliant and very friendly and food excellent

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2019

We spent a very pleasant night in the crown and mitre hotel Carlisle.The staff were very helpful and friendly,the room was spotless and evening dinner and breakfast were lovely.We will definitely be back and would recommend this hotel.

William Anderson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th March 2019

Wonderful staff that will make me book again in the future. Food excellent. Room warm and tidy. Hotel in ideal located.