Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Caledonian Hotel, Newcastle

Osbourne Road, Newcastle, NE22AT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

E Dempster said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th March 2020

Really enjoyed the stay at the Caledonia Hotel rooms very clean staff friendly and helpful Only thing we found that the bed was a small double fat to small

patricia finnigan said...

65%
80%
50%
N/A

Stayed 21st February 2020

I would definitely use this hotel again couple of things I would change grossly understaffed the 2 girls who was on were absolutely brilliant the hotel was under renovation so you had to go outside to use there bar why couldn't they have brought drinks to hotel foyer instead of guests going out in gale force winds and the drinks they did have was double the price of normal drinks but will be going back in the summer was a great location and lovely and clean

Dawn Dunn said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th January 2020

Ye had a lovely stay at the hotel, food and room we had was nice only thing let it down was the noise going on till 4 in morning.

Seona Kelly said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 15th November 2019

Lovely hotel and lovely staff. Rooms are huge. Menu was the same both nights but enjoyed main and dessert.

Gillian McNeil said...

64%
10%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2019

This was our 3rd yearly visit to the caledonian hotel. On arrival we noticed scaffolding and skips with various items such as carpets, wood etc in them , we thought a refurb was in progress. When checking in the receptionist informed us that all meals would be served in the conference rooms as there had been a serious fire 4 weeks ago . Fortunately no one was injured, She told us the dining room, kitchens and 40 rooms had been water damaged whilst putting the fire out. We were told if we wanted to use to the bar then we would need to go outside to the front of the hotel and walk along to enter the bar ( it was heavy rain all weekend) but it made it more acceptable when we were told drinks were all £2 all day , every day. Check in was smooth we were given room 104 ( in 2018 we were allocated this room but on entering it the curtains were hanging off the curtain pole , the carpet had come away from the grip at the bathroom door which meant it was a trip hazard and there was no handle on the wall at the bath to help you in / out the bath , we were given another room immediately). After explaining this to the girl she replied that room 104 was one of the nicest rooms in the hotel and to check it out, any issues to let her know. I couldn't believe my eyes when I opened the door, it was exactly the same as it was in 2018. I called reception and asked for another room as nothing had been fixed since the previous year . 5 mins later a girl came with keys to another room for us , which was fine for us ,we went into town for a few hrs then returned to our room. My husband tried to switch the TV on but it wssnt working , we contacted reception, the girl came up straight away , she too could not get it to work , infact when she lifted the TV to take it away to replace it the bottom of the TV fell apart, she came back explaining that due to the fire no spare TVs were available and she would move us. So we went to yet another room where the TV switched on but no channels could be found, possibly no reception or aerial damage due to the fire , at this point the duty manager was called for , she arrived and also tried to resolve the problem but was unable to do so. She said she was very sorry she knew we had been move 3 times but we would need to move again . We weren't very happy about this and at this point would gave liked to have been upgraded but this wasnt offered , we were given another room which thankfully had a TV that worked. On the plus side , the room was spotlessly clean , our evening meals on both nights were delicious as was breakfast. The staff were very polite and helpful. The issues we had with the rooms hasn't put us off returning but an upgrade would have been nice.

Kerry Allan said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 15th November 2019

Room very dated can be doing with some upgrading. Doing renovations which we were not to ls about so some of the hotel closed off, tvs not working

BarryJohn McAuley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2019

Great overnight stay hear l food was great

John Baird said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2019

our 4 night break to hotel was very good ,upgraded to a suite which was very clean ,it is only a short walk to the very efficient metro service,Food was excellent and staff very polite will use again.

S Porter said...

55%
N/A
70%
40%

Stayed 24th July 2019

The staff were very helpful and the room was clean. The down side was the lift was not working for the whole time we were there, when we asked when it would be fixed we were told at lot of different stories. The last info we got was the require a new lift, not very good when they had a coach inn an they had to walk up the stairs. The hotel should have informed us the lift was out of service and perhaps for the next few months. The breakfast each morning was only look warm and the carpet in the room was worn down to the canvas and parts missing from the centre of some of the squares. I would ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as the front could be a bit noisy. The hotel was in the process of having two wooden gazebos built in the front garden, I thing they could have spent the money on new carpets in the rooms . Until they sort out the problems I would not recommend going to this hotel ,

Maxine Wilson said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 27th July 2019

What a fabulous hotel. Got upgraded to a suite and it had the wow factor lucky us! Staff bar area and restaurant lovely cant believe what Brill value for money. If was on later in year would book again but got lots on from now to beginning October. Definitely will be booking stays with myhotelbresk.com again fantastic!

Myra Mack said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2019

Arrived on 16/7/19 approx. 2.40pm. I asked if it was possible to book in early. The lovely lady at reception checked and it was not a problem. What a great start. We were told we were in room 204 and she pointed to the main stairs. I asked where the lift was. It is out of order was her reply but she then kindly offered to carry the case up for us. The issue was not the case it was my arthritic knees. When I booked I asked for a ground floor room or a room near the lift. Neither available and hotel did not notify me of this. So for the 4 days I struggled up and down main stair along a very long corridor then down some more stairs then up and finally to our room. Room was fine and kept very clean and had recently been refreshed. Nice toiletries and fluffy towels. Unfortunately we chose a week when a coach trip were in so we were advised to eat later to avoid the crowd. This we did and I must say that the starters on offer were amazing. So instead of a 2 course meal as in the offer we chose 3 starters ( salt and chilli chicken wings ( 6 big wings), smoked salmon with creamed horseradish and sour dough bread plus salad and farmhouse pate with crustini) EXCELLENT. Breakfast again was plentiful but plates were cold no issues with 2nd night meal either. We were leaving on Friday morning so decided to go to breakfast @9.00am then out room by 10.00am. At 6.30am we were awakened by every smoke alarm in hotel going off. All in all great hotel, marvellous staff, wonderful food.

Helen Apple said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Loved the hotel. Decor great and lovely atmosphere .

Joanne Sullivan said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2019

Really enjoyed my short stay here. First impressions on arrival was good, only has a small car park at the rear of the hotel. The reception staff are really friendly and helpful, we got into our room earlier than expected so that was a bonus. Hotel was busy with it being a Saturday and there was quite a bit of noise till the early hours but not as bad as others I've stayed in. Bar area was nice, drinks reasonable for a hotel. Breakfast was nice but had to wait for 3 different items on the buffet to be refilled and in the end I left without full english. All in all I would definately stay here again.

Peter Nicol said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

Hotel rooms need a little bit of attention but spotlessly clean. Dining Room was being re-floored which caused us a little problem but the manageress resolved this very swiftly and could not fault the response. Food was exceptional.

susan bilton said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 23rd February 2019

The stay was amazing clean comfortable rooms food delicious and all stop pleasant and very helpful a credit to the team 20 out of ten

Carole Walker said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2018

Stayed at the Caledonian Hotel for one night, after going to a concert at the Metro Arena. The hotel was really nice, room was a good size with everything you need. It was very clean, the only negative for the room was the bathroom, very tired and dated. The breakfast was good and staf very pleasant and friendly. The only complaint was that I got very little sleep! Due to a number of guests returning throughout the early hours, very noisy, shouting along the corridors and opening and banging doors. There was far more noise from within the hotel, than there was from the road outside.

Gillian McNeil said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th November 2018

We have just returned from another great weekend at the Caledonian hotel.this is our 4th visit to the hotel. We arrived early and were able to check in as our room was ready. We were given room 104 . On entering the room I noticed the curtains were ganging off the curtain rail ,in the bathroom the handle on the wall that helps you get out the bath was broken and the carpet between the toilet and bedroom had come away from the secure strip. The carpet was a hazard for tripping up. We didn't bother taking out jackets off, I went to reception and voiced my concerns with our room. I was immediately given keys to a have a look at a room on the ground floor. This was perfect . No quibble at all about changing our room. The lady did say a refurb was going on with bedrooms. Our room previously has always been very good, so I was very disappointed with room 104. We were on a DBB deal for 2 nights. The evening meal on both nights was absolutely delicious and plenty of it ,as was our breakfast both mornings. Compliments to the chef . We will be back again next year .

Rona Hunter said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd July 2018

Lovely hotel lovely rooms got an upgrade on arrival food great bar prices good great location round 2streets and you can access the Metro to all parts of Newcastle and surrounding areas lots of bars round about if staying bed and breakfast also had great weather

Wendy Bland said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 23rd June 2018

Fabulous stay. Double executive Room was clean, comfortable and had everything to suit our needs. Staff very attentive and friendly and couldn’t do enough to help.

Anne Marie Findlay said...

50%
50%
60%
40%

Stayed 2nd June 2018

Staff were lovely with the exception of manager on Saturday evening who was very rude to my son and his fiancee. When I spoke to him regarding this issue he was very rude to me also. Will not be returning here anytime soon. As regular visitors to Newcastle to visit my son who lives there and having taken my elderly parents on this occasion we were really not happy with number of issues. Bar closing before 11pm, told there was no pinot grigio wine anywhere in hotel during dinner and buying more expensive wine to then go through to bar area and being served pinot grigio when I enquired as to what white wine they had available, no cointreau in bar which is drink one of our party always has. Food menu was very limited and not at all as it was on our last visit.

Albert Kilgour said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th April 2018

Friendly, helpful staff, good food from a limited menu, and good sized , clean rooms.

Lindsey Millward said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

my son and daughter got me and my husband this weekend away. I had one of the best weekends ever.the rooms are a bit dated in the decor but our room was really big.the staff are lovely and meals were amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel as it was that good we are looking to go back soon. .

leanne mosey said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2018

Room was lovely and clean, staff were helpful and friendly, the bar had a good atmosphere and the food was quality :)

Anne Lord said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th February 2018

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very clean & well presented but the bathroom in our room could do with updating. Has is own car parking which is a must in Jesmond. It’s central for bars & restaurants though we had the wine dinner & breakfast deal which was great value. The meals were good quality & tasty. The wine was good quality as well would definitely recommend staying here

John Ryan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Very enjoyable stay. Very helpful and friendly staff, room excellent (just lacking a bathmat), food superb (the beef pie was enormous) and very reasonably priced. 10 mins on the bus into city centre. Hard to fault.