Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Caledonian Hotel, Newcastle

Osbourne Road, Newcastle, NE22AT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Helen Apple said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Loved the hotel. Decor great and lovely atmosphere .

Joanne Sullivan said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2019

Really enjoyed my short stay here. First impressions on arrival was good, only has a small car park at the rear of the hotel. The reception staff are really friendly and helpful, we got into our room earlier than expected so that was a bonus. Hotel was busy with it being a Saturday and there was quite a bit of noise till the early hours but not as bad as others I've stayed in. Bar area was nice, drinks reasonable for a hotel. Breakfast was nice but had to wait for 3 different items on the buffet to be refilled and in the end I left without full english. All in all I would definately stay here again.

Peter Nicol said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

Hotel rooms need a little bit of attention but spotlessly clean. Dining Room was being re-floored which caused us a little problem but the manageress resolved this very swiftly and could not fault the response. Food was exceptional.

susan bilton said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 23rd February 2019

The stay was amazing clean comfortable rooms food delicious and all stop pleasant and very helpful a credit to the team 20 out of ten

Carole Walker said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2018

Stayed at the Caledonian Hotel for one night, after going to a concert at the Metro Arena. The hotel was really nice, room was a good size with everything you need. It was very clean, the only negative for the room was the bathroom, very tired and dated. The breakfast was good and staf very pleasant and friendly. The only complaint was that I got very little sleep! Due to a number of guests returning throughout the early hours, very noisy, shouting along the corridors and opening and banging doors. There was far more noise from within the hotel, than there was from the road outside.

Gillian McNeil said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th November 2018

We have just returned from another great weekend at the Caledonian hotel.this is our 4th visit to the hotel. We arrived early and were able to check in as our room was ready. We were given room 104 . On entering the room I noticed the curtains were ganging off the curtain rail ,in the bathroom the handle on the wall that helps you get out the bath was broken and the carpet between the toilet and bedroom had come away from the secure strip. The carpet was a hazard for tripping up. We didn't bother taking out jackets off, I went to reception and voiced my concerns with our room. I was immediately given keys to a have a look at a room on the ground floor. This was perfect . No quibble at all about changing our room. The lady did say a refurb was going on with bedrooms. Our room previously has always been very good, so I was very disappointed with room 104. We were on a DBB deal for 2 nights. The evening meal on both nights was absolutely delicious and plenty of it ,as was our breakfast both mornings. Compliments to the chef . We will be back again next year .

Rona Hunter said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd July 2018

Lovely hotel lovely rooms got an upgrade on arrival food great bar prices good great location round 2streets and you can access the Metro to all parts of Newcastle and surrounding areas lots of bars round about if staying bed and breakfast also had great weather

Wendy Bland said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 23rd June 2018

Fabulous stay. Double executive Room was clean, comfortable and had everything to suit our needs. Staff very attentive and friendly and couldn’t do enough to help.

Anne Marie Findlay said...

50%
50%
60%
40%

Stayed 2nd June 2018

Staff were lovely with the exception of manager on Saturday evening who was very rude to my son and his fiancee. When I spoke to him regarding this issue he was very rude to me also. Will not be returning here anytime soon. As regular visitors to Newcastle to visit my son who lives there and having taken my elderly parents on this occasion we were really not happy with number of issues. Bar closing before 11pm, told there was no pinot grigio wine anywhere in hotel during dinner and buying more expensive wine to then go through to bar area and being served pinot grigio when I enquired as to what white wine they had available, no cointreau in bar which is drink one of our party always has. Food menu was very limited and not at all as it was on our last visit.

Albert Kilgour said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th April 2018

Friendly, helpful staff, good food from a limited menu, and good sized , clean rooms.

Lindsey Millward said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

my son and daughter got me and my husband this weekend away. I had one of the best weekends ever.the rooms are a bit dated in the decor but our room was really big.the staff are lovely and meals were amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel as it was that good we are looking to go back soon. .

leanne mosey said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2018

Room was lovely and clean, staff were helpful and friendly, the bar had a good atmosphere and the food was quality :)

Anne Lord said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th February 2018

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very clean & well presented but the bathroom in our room could do with updating. Has is own car parking which is a must in Jesmond. It’s central for bars & restaurants though we had the wine dinner & breakfast deal which was great value. The meals were good quality & tasty. The wine was good quality as well would definitely recommend staying here

John Ryan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Very enjoyable stay. Very helpful and friendly staff, room excellent (just lacking a bathmat), food superb (the beef pie was enormous) and very reasonably priced. 10 mins on the bus into city centre. Hard to fault.

Raymond Tennent said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 10th November 2017

Fine hotel Slightly out of town in Jesmond area that closes down at 11pm .Yes closes down.Power of the property owners.All the hotel staff very good.Food very good but service from kitchen could be a lot quicker.Slow on both nights stay I would certainly recommend buch the taxi you get to go into city centre.Black cabs are the most expensive but LA driver charged me £7.50 and the return journey,same route £5.50.Be on your guard or get the price before hand . The two night deal was value for money and will watch out for it again.

A guest said...

54%
20%
80%
60%

Stayed 15th October 2017

we arrived at lunchtime on sunday for our stay.. informed the girl at reception that id left my car in their car park and were going for a walk round town and would be back at 2pm for check in.. all was fine when we got back and she said ive put u in a nice room !! well if thats a nice room i dont know wot a horrible one is.. tiny room.144 at back of hotel. grubby walls , bathroom rusty etc.. complained at reception and in fairness they moved us to a lovely refurbished room along the corridor 116. it was like walking into a different hotel. staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome so all in all had a good time.

Linda Melvin said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st March 2014

Great stay. Menu for evening meal was amazing food exceptional.

Carol Rushton said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th January 2017

A very comfortable stay, clean room and excellent food. It was the same menu each night but plenty of choice of food and well presented. The hotel was only a 20 minute walk from the city centre so very convenient for sightseeing. We highly recommend this hotel for a city break.

Gillian McNeil said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2016

What a lovely clean, friendly hotel in an upmarket area. We booked this hotel for a weekend away for our wedding anniversary & my husband's birthday. from check in to check out we received first class service, nothing was any trouble to any of the hotel staff. we will definitely be booking again to stay at the Caledonian hotel, definitely value for money.

carole templeton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th November 2016

I recently stayed at this hotel and had a great couple of nights. The room was large and airy, food was excellent both breakfast and dinner. Staff are very friendly and polite, I am hoping to return in the new year would highly recommend this hotel .

Hazel Beardow said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights to meet up with our friends, we had previously stayed here on a Peel hotel Gold Card Offer. Had a great weekend could not fault the hotel, good location, friendly staff and excellent food. We arrived early but were checked in straight away. The only slig6ht problem was the happy hour not all drinks available , choice very restricted so be careful what you order, but otherwise everything very good. Thank you for a great weekend.

Hazel Beardow said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights to meet up with our friends, we had previously stayed here on a Peel hotel Gold Card Offer. Had a great weekend could not fault the hotel, good location, friendly staff and excellent food. We arrived early but were checked in straight away. The only slig6ht problem was the happy hour not all drinks available , choice very restricted so be careful what you order, but otherwise everything very good. Thank you for a great weekend.

joanne donoghue said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st October 2016

Had a lovely weekend. Staff were very helpful and nothing waa too much trouble.

Stewart Warburton said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2016

Great hotel but not Saay night. We had a disabled room and it was perfect for our needs. The food in the restaurant was really good with good size portions. The service was first class. Saay night was wedding nights and hen nights and the noise went on till 2:30am. On the other nights of our stay the hotel was quiet.

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 19th September 2016

The hotel was ideal for our short break requirements with easy access to the city centre. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and hotel facil good. The only disappointment was the food with the buffet breakfast on the cold side and an unchanging and slightly limited dinner menu.