Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Caledonian Hotel, Newcastle

Osbourne Road, Newcastle, NE22AT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

A guest said...

40%
40%
40%
40%

Stayed 25th November 2022

When we arrived we were unable to find the carpark, so tried to call to find out where it was but noone one answered. We parked up and when I got into reception the receptionist was on the phone for about 15 mins taking a booking and noone else was around. I did notice then it looked extremely busy and noisey even in reception. When she came off the phone she said the carpark was full and we would have to park in the British Legion car park about 10 mins walk away. Our table for dinner, that we had reserved was in the main bar area where at the time was full of noisey football fans because of the England game being on. There was no quiet area and we were surrounded by noise and Tvs with the game on. I asked if there was another dining area but I was told no and were offered to dine in the bedroom!! Given there was no table in the bedroom I declined. We were then given a bottle of wine, unopened, with no glasses and had to then go to the bar and wait and ask for wine glasses. The tikka massala I ordered was more like a vindaloo and therefore could not eat it. We were not offered the dessert menu and felt the staff were so busy with the football fans they forgot about the customers who were actually staying in their hotel. We obviously picked a bad weekend to stay with the football but feel the dining area could have been in a quieter pary of the hotel with the crowd kept separate. It was so noisey we could not even have a conversation.

Anna Willox said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2022

Lovely hotel food was also very good staf nice and friendly my one complaint is room was freezing luckily there was a radiator in the cupboard which we used

Craig Thomson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2022

Outstanding customer service from the reception staff, to the bar and restaurant staff. Room was very nice and the food in the Phoenix bar was exceptional. We were very pleased with our visit and would highly recommend the Caledonian. Also, Osborne Road in Jesmond is a great part of town with a good vibe.

kenneth simpson said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2022

on arrival the hotel looked good so was quite pleased. Inside there was still some painting being done but it didn't bother us. Went for dinner at night but there wasn't too much choice for us, the food we had was good. next problem was the shower, it flooded the floor as the shower screen wasn't sealing onto the bath (had to mop up with towels) this hotel is on a main road so beware if you get a room at the front if you don't mind getting woken up at 5.30 in the morning, that was after listening to the pub revellers outside in the beer garden below the bedroom, day and night. Beware if you leave valuables in your room at breakfast time, as when we returned to our room the door was jammed open with a chair by the cleaners, but we hadn't checked out. (Not too safe) p.s. the breakfast was excellent

Emma Coleman said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th September 2022

Lovely hotel! Upgraded us as was our anniversary, really friendly staf throughout the hotel. Room was lovely clean and modern. Food was lovely in the hotel to. Definitely would recommend and stay again

Jacqueline Nicol said...

67%
100%
100%
0%

Stayed 20th August 2022

Room was large and clean staff very nice and friendly hotel location was lovely there is the metro station only 5min walk from the hotel which takes you in to city centre which is 3 stops away the only let down was the evening meal which was terrible

Jacqueline Nicol said...

67%
100%
100%
0%

Stayed 19th August 2022

Room was large clean and perfect location was really nice metro 5min walk to get in to city centre hotel staff really friendly nothing was a problem for them the dinner in the hotel was terrible

Marie Crabb said...

60%
70%
N/A
50%

Stayed 1st May 2022

The hotel kindly let us park in the car park before check in so we could walk to quayside. Unfortunately being a bank holiday all the hotels seating areas along the road were full of young drinkers. It was extremely noisy until around 1a.m. We were on DBB and were the only ones in the dining room which was alongside a very noisy bar. The courses I ordered were no longer available - all in all a very disappointing stay. Loved the surrounding area and Jesmond Dene.

Karen Powell said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th March 2022

A nice hotel that's well run and managed. In the process of refurbishment and benefiting from new decor it is a pleasant place to stay.

Claire Blessing said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th February 2022

Pleasant stay. Room was fine and staff were great

Glenn Rogers said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th February 2022

We encountered friendly and helpful staff, we really enjoyed our evening meal in the restaurant section and enjoyed our time at the hotel.

michael emmerson said...

40%
50%
0%
70%

Stayed 10th December 2021

We visited the hotel for 1 night only and as part of the package a three course meal was included. We booked our table for 6.30 and arrived at 6.20 and placed our order for our starter and mains immediately. It took over an hour for the starter to arrive which was soup and mushrooms on toast ( nothing needing great time preparation) and it was 8.10 by the time our mains arrived. In order to speed things up, we placed our order for desert immediately but this simply didn’t arrive so we decided that we couldn’t wait any longer so advised the server that we were leaving as we had an early start the following morning. She very kindly advised us that she would arrange to have our cheese platters delivered but it took until 9.30 for them to arrive at our bedroom door, some 3 hours after we first sat down! Totally unacceptable and beyond words and spoilt our whole evenings stay.

Amanda Redpath said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd December 2021

We absolutely LOVED this hotel and it’s staff and could not fault our amazing night away!

sue wood said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2021

Absolutely fantastic the staff the food the rooms everything was spot on .. how this is only a three star hotel I don’t know .. we had a fabulous time. We would defiantly recommend this hotel in fact we are looking to book again very soon

Elizabeth Faulkner said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th September 2021

Staff were friendly, room was immaculate, and food was lovely

E Dempster said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th June 2021

Had a fantastic stay at the hotel Only negative was there was no blind on room window and curtains would not close

E Dempster said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th March 2020

Really enjoyed the stay at the Caledonia Hotel rooms very clean staff friendly and helpful Only thing we found that the bed was a small double fat to small

patricia finnigan said...

65%
80%
50%
N/A

Stayed 21st February 2020

I would definitely use this hotel again couple of things I would change grossly understaffed the 2 girls who was on were absolutely brilliant the hotel was under renovation so you had to go outside to use there bar why couldn't they have brought drinks to hotel foyer instead of guests going out in gale force winds and the drinks they did have was double the price of normal drinks but will be going back in the summer was a great location and lovely and clean

Dawn Dunn said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th January 2020

Ye had a lovely stay at the hotel, food and room we had was nice only thing let it down was the noise going on till 4 in morning.

Seona Kelly said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 15th November 2019

Lovely hotel and lovely staff. Rooms are huge. Menu was the same both nights but enjoyed main and dessert.

Gillian McNeil said...

64%
10%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2019

This was our 3rd yearly visit to the caledonian hotel. On arrival we noticed scaffolding and skips with various items such as carpets, wood etc in them , we thought a refurb was in progress. When checking in the receptionist informed us that all meals would be served in the conference rooms as there had been a serious fire 4 weeks ago . Fortunately no one was injured, She told us the dining room, kitchens and 40 rooms had been water damaged whilst putting the fire out. We were told if we wanted to use to the bar then we would need to go outside to the front of the hotel and walk along to enter the bar ( it was heavy rain all weekend) but it made it more acceptable when we were told drinks were all £2 all day , every day. Check in was smooth we were given room 104 ( in 2018 we were allocated this room but on entering it the curtains were hanging off the curtain pole , the carpet had come away from the grip at the bathroom door which meant it was a trip hazard and there was no handle on the wall at the bath to help you in / out the bath , we were given another room immediately). After explaining this to the girl she replied that room 104 was one of the nicest rooms in the hotel and to check it out, any issues to let her know. I couldn't believe my eyes when I opened the door, it was exactly the same as it was in 2018. I called reception and asked for another room as nothing had been fixed since the previous year . 5 mins later a girl came with keys to another room for us , which was fine for us ,we went into town for a few hrs then returned to our room. My husband tried to switch the TV on but it wssnt working , we contacted reception, the girl came up straight away , she too could not get it to work , infact when she lifted the TV to take it away to replace it the bottom of the TV fell apart, she came back explaining that due to the fire no spare TVs were available and she would move us. So we went to yet another room where the TV switched on but no channels could be found, possibly no reception or aerial damage due to the fire , at this point the duty manager was called for , she arrived and also tried to resolve the problem but was unable to do so. She said she was very sorry she knew we had been move 3 times but we would need to move again . We weren't very happy about this and at this point would gave liked to have been upgraded but this wasnt offered , we were given another room which thankfully had a TV that worked. On the plus side , the room was spotlessly clean , our evening meals on both nights were delicious as was breakfast. The staff were very polite and helpful. The issues we had with the rooms hasn't put us off returning but an upgrade would have been nice.

Kerry Allan said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 15th November 2019

Room very dated can be doing with some upgrading. Doing renovations which we were not to ls about so some of the hotel closed off, tvs not working

BarryJohn McAuley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2019

Great overnight stay hear l food was great

John Baird said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2019

our 4 night break to hotel was very good ,upgraded to a suite which was very clean ,it is only a short walk to the very efficient metro service,Food was excellent and staff very polite will use again.

S Porter said...

55%
N/A
70%
40%

Stayed 24th July 2019

The staff were very helpful and the room was clean. The down side was the lift was not working for the whole time we were there, when we asked when it would be fixed we were told at lot of different stories. The last info we got was the require a new lift, not very good when they had a coach inn an they had to walk up the stairs. The hotel should have informed us the lift was out of service and perhaps for the next few months. The breakfast each morning was only look warm and the carpet in the room was worn down to the canvas and parts missing from the centre of some of the squares. I would ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as the front could be a bit noisy. The hotel was in the process of having two wooden gazebos built in the front garden, I thing they could have spent the money on new carpets in the rooms . Until they sort out the problems I would not recommend going to this hotel ,