Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, Southampton

34-35 High Street, Southampton, SO14 2BN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

A guest said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2021

I don’t think this hotel is of the same standard of previous hotels I’ve used from myhotel break. I was sadly disappointed. The room was ok but felt very dark and there was no duvet on the bed. We found a duvet in a cupboard. The restaurant lacked any ambiance at all. The food was good but limited menu. The overall feel of the hotel was a bit run down which is a shame as it’s a lovely old building. The staff however were very welcoming and polite - no complaints about their service. I don’t think I would use this particular hotel in the future. I think a four star rating it too high and should be reviewed by myhotelbreak.

Diane prosser said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th August 2021

Great break, Food was good and service was also good. Room was a good size, nice bathroom. Hotel its self is a little tired but it is an old building this adds to the character of the hotel. Good parking and location. We would stay again.

A guest said...

37%
50%
30%
30%

Stayed 6th August 2021

A hotel in need of some TLC, broken glass in the windows, wood falling out leaving a gap in the window which allowed all the cigarette smoke from the smoking area outside to come in to the room, window wouldn’t open, dirty marks on walls and carpet, friends travelling with us had to move room three times due to various issues including a flooding toilet, a very unprofessional attitude from the night Porter who was incredibly rude and aggressive. Breakfast was pretty poor for the price with very limited choice, a very evident shortage of staff in all areas seemed to be causing major issues, no one on reception, just a note with a mobile number to call. The Included evening meal was of a very poor standard, we were challenged when we sent one meal back rather than the issue being immediately resolved, it was in the end sorted but could of been so much more professionally handled. One member of staff at breakfast did however stand out, an older gent who was awesome but clearly under pressure, still managed to be pleasant and cheerful, a solid 10/10 for him. Not at all what we expected from a Mercure hotel and probably wouldn’t return.

A guest said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 6th August 2021

We stayed at Mecure Dolphin Hotel Southampton 2/8/21 and it was the worse hotel we have stayed in.The hotels we have used with you are usually fine but don't know how this 1 has been rated 4star it hardly qualifies for 1 star.It is so old and tired carpets are filthy.On approaching our room empty pint glasses outside our door from previous people also cups and plates next door room.It was cold so turned on heating d thermostat came away Bathroom was OK.Went for dinner told all we could have was pizza had to pay for anything else.Spoke to reception after our pizza and she looked puzzled said should have had 2 course.The worse part of visit was the buffet breakfast we would have had a better breakfast in a small B&b.1st apart from limited choice at entrance to dining room hand sanitizer was empty,at coffee machine sign asking to sanitizer hand but no machine and every one using the toaster is a no no.Hand sanitizer on stair landing we're full but blocked up so couldn't use.They definitely weren't abiding to covid rules. So disappointed and didn't feel safe.I suggest you stop using this hotel does not meet the standard of hotels we have visited with your company

A guest said...

60%
50%
70%
60%

Stayed 24th July 2021

Room and hotel was very hot. Room bit dated could do with a revamp

Gillian Evans said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th June 2021

Stayed for one night,very clean bedroom,staff very friendly and helpful,evening meal and breakfast good,would stay at this hotel again.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd December 2018

Good English breakfast.Helpful staff.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th January 2019

Great location friendly staff clean rooms lovely comfortable bed

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th January 2019

It was a great situation for an overnight stay before joining the cruise ship.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st January 2019

Excellent value for parking with overnight stay. Close to restaurants and shops. Handy for the port terminal. Good service for leaving car whilst away with good staff sorting taxis etc. for transport to the cruise terminal.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th December 2018

Excellent service form the time we booked in till we booked out. I chose this hotel as I had stayed there before. It is clean and the breakfast was enough for anybody even if you have a big appetite.Very pleased

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th January 2019

Not for the first time, we enjoyed a short break at this hotel in November although we live only a few miles away. The staff are friendly and, in the case of reception, humorous. The rooms are comfortable with just about all the extras a normal couple need. The food and service meets the standard expected and being so central in the city, everything is in walking distance. A sizeable car park is also handy. What is not to like?

Alan Ingram said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th September 2014

Enjoyable stay,staff very helpful.Bedroom clean and tidy.Breakfast very good,plenty of choices.

david bryant said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2013

we enjoyed our stay very much.

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager

Paul Vickers said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd October 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on a 3 night DBB break. It is a very nice comfortable hotel, in a great location close to the town centre and attractions such as the QE2 Mile, Titanic Trail, the Tudor House, Isle of Wight ferry, town-centre shops etc. All of the staff were extremely friendly and attentive. The cooked breakfast buffet was hot and plentiful. The evening meals in the Signature Restaurant were imaginative, well presented and good value. Overall, the hotel has a nice friendly atmosphere.

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind words to the team and in partiuclar the kitchen brigade who will be delighted you enjoyed the food. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager

Mike Austin said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2012

Very happy

Hotel reply...

Mr Austin Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager