Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Ben Wyvis Hotel, Strathpeffer

, Strathpeffer, IV149DN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

72%

A guest said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Wet seat in bedroom bathroom wasn't cleaned the 2nd day towels not changed food not great hotel had no atmosphere staff not very friendly won't be back

jane thomson said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2018

Really enjoyed our 2 night break . Room was no 2 great front facing view. It was clean nice carpet luxury bed throw from Johnstone of Elgin was a very nice touch . It is a period property many beautiful features . Dining room very grand indeed. 5 star food very relaxing hotel. We also won the Scottish quiz in evening entertainment. Also a quirky original cinema if you wanted to watch the evening movie .

David Booth said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th October 2018

Good food nice staff (most of them) hotel is a bit dated, the bed was terrible and the tv in the room was smaller than my lap top and the shower had hardly any pressure, but we had a laugh.

Susan Clelland said...

20%
20%
20%
20%

Stayed 3rd September 2018

I would not go back to this hotel. The room was very cold and although we had requested a heater, the one that we received had only one setting on it that worked, it was bashed and had a switch missing which made it a high risk of electrocution, to be honest the heater had seen its day. The bedding on the bed did not fit the mattress and we had to get it changed, the duvet was too thin and did not fit the bed. The room was very basic and not to a high standard, there was dust along the skirting board in the tiny bathroom, and hairs where still in the bath totally disgusting.The dinning room was freezing and my husband and I had to eat our dinner with our jackets on and although the young waitress did ask for the heating to be put on they did not comply. It was that cold my husband and I took our pudding up to our room to eat. I am all for allowing pets into the hotel but I found it a disgrace that dogs were allowed into the dinning room totally unhygienic and not even asked if we had any allergies to animals. I would never stay in this hotel again and I will not be recommending it to family or friends. Some of the staff where pleasant enough but the gentleman that I spoke with in the morning of leaving really needs to have some training on customer service as he was very rude and abrupt. Overall a very disappointing experience and ruined our few days away.

Lisa Conway said...

30%
80%
10%
0%

Stayed 22nd March 2018

Service poor, bar/restaurant staff attitude abysmal. Food burnt. Reception staff were lovely. Rooms perfectly fine.

karen napier said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th March 2018

As a family - brother, 4 sisters and elderly [82] aunt we go to different hotels all over Scotland, twice a year. This is year 7. Every aspect was fantastic and the Kenny Rogers tribute evening was such fun. The reception staff were so helpful and great to chat to. All in all top marks.

Elaine Tainsh said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th February 2018

Room was clean and tidy. Staff very friendly. Food was excellent apart from tea and coffee at breakfast. Spent an enjoyable two days.

cristian lazaroaie said...

80%
70%
70%
100%

Stayed 10th February 2018

nice location,gardens on the front,not big landscape,premium rooms are big but cold in winter,needed an udgrade in the rooms,room-service not so great,nice staff and communal areas,cheap drinks and great food.

Irene Selfridge said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 27th January 2018

Lovely older styled hotel with large and spacious public areas. Well located for touring around and plenty of parking. We enjoyed our stay and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Mr Hornall said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th November 2017

THIS WAS A REALLY GOOD HOTEL STAFF WERE VERY ATTENTIVE ,FOOD WAS VERY GOOD ALL IN ALL I HAD GREAT STAY

A guest said...

57%
40%
90%
40%

Stayed 9th September 2017

The hotel is beautiful, the staff are very helpful and the room was clean, however the beds were very hard and squeaky. The breakfast was good but the was dinner was very 'ordinary' and a bit disappointing.

Sheila Bennett said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 28th May 2014

Very comfortable hotel in a lovely part of Scotland

Brian Johnston said...

60%
40%
80%
60%

Stayed 4th March 2017

Typical "Bus tour" hotel. Very tired decor. I'm sure the hotel is busy in the summer but whilst we were there we felt it was running on minimum. No heating on in very chilly dining room. (Staff were wearing body warmers and scarfs to keep warm!) No heating on in bedroom on arrival but it did quickly warm up, just spoiled first impression. Evening meal was tasty, well presented and quickly served but breakfast was luke warm self service ( poor) or selection of menu cooked fresh ( nice poached eggs) again produced quickly. A full table service breakfast at this time of year would save waste and increase guest satisfaction. The live band on Sunday night was an enjoyable unexpected extra. .

Frank Smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th February 2017

We had a superb time at this lovely hotel. Our 2 night stay was for our Anniversary, and we enjoyed it so much we booked an extra night direct. All the staff are very friendly and Richard looked after us very well. Next time we shall take some family.

A guest said...

64%
70%
80%
40%

Stayed 13th October 2016

Bedroom clean although furniture rather dated, bathroom had mould in one corner. Food poor - was served very undercooked inedible trout and the buffet breakfast was cold. Service was good, however. Would not return

david shearer said...

60%
50%
50%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2016

Lovely location, nice victorian village, lovely 50,s style wee diner in the village, real nice ice-cream. Food in hotel tasty,waiting staff could have been a touch more sociable, smiled a bit more,not just looking like they could,nt wait for you to leave the dining table.Reception staff really pleasant and welcoming,,,perhaps waiting staff could learn something here.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th September 2016

Good value for money. Very good food and friendly staff.

anne lyall said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th September 2016

Check in was efficient and friendly by Anna. Food and drink were very good. Service was efficient and professional. Bedroom was clean and comfortable. Plenty of hoer and tea coffee making available. Brilliant value for money. Hotel in a lovely location with amazing views.

Stephen Murphy said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 26th July 2016

Great hotel in a beautiful location. Staff very friendly and willing. Food good and having stayed before had positive expectaion. However on this ocassion and infact on any ocassion lumpy mash is inexcusable! Hopefully a blip as would definately stay again, buy a potato ricer please! : ) great hotel tho.

Ronald Douglas said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th May 2016

An excellent and comfortable hotel with friendly staff and good & varied table d'hote menu. The special offer of three nights dinner bed & breakfast at £97.50 p.p. was very good value. We intend to return for four nights in October to explore the area further.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th May 2016

Enjoyed the break despite the rain. Pity there wasn't entertainment of some kind.

Sandra Porter said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th May 2016

Thank you to the whole staff for making a lovely stay. Friendly and welcoming all round. We really lucked put on the weather and sitting out in the early evening on the front lawn having a 'prink' gin and tonic was lovely. Room on first floor with spectacular ben view was large and appointed well enough. Lighting for make up a bit challenging but I find this in most hotels. Adding my hand mirror at window sufficed. Bed a bit hard for personal taste too but we are used to sprung base at home so hey-ho. Food was always hot and tasty and well presented - most important. Wines and upgrade to a la carte reasonably priced too. Breakfast could not be faulted - everything we needed was provided. Hotel is just off road in a lovely Victorian village setting but was very quiet and peaceful - just what we wanted and needed. We did enjoy the company o the guests - everyone chatty and friendly making a good atmosphere in the hotel.

STEVE PREECE said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 7th May 2016

Lovely hotel and room was excellent only a couple of minor complaints, tv is ridiculously small (12")! And a shame wifi is restricted to bar area. We were on a dub rate with the option to order off the main menu if we wanted to, this was not offered on first night along with only being offered the buffet breakfast on both days when website clearly states that various option are available boiled eggs, eggs benedict etc. Still an enjoyable weekend though.

Caroline Mackie said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 5th May 2016

Lovely relaxing break with excellent food

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 17th April 2016

Lovely hotel and staff. Food was super. Will visit again.