Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel, Edinburgh

Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh, EH125EF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

gary johnstone said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2019

Booked three rooms for family they were all great but one complaint one of the rooms under the bed was full of crumbs and bits of food apart from that staff and meals were very good really friendly staff couldn’t do enough for you

Ian Boyle said...

70%
60%
60%
90%

Stayed 27th July 2019

Hotel was fine and met our need, rooms are a little dated and could do with a refurbishment, food was outstanding, this hotel does not deserve the poor reviews I have seen

Carol MacInnes said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th July 2019

Ideal hotel for a night or two in Edinburgh. The location is superb, 3min walk from Haymarket’s train, tram & bus connections, but just off the main road on a far quieter street. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful, and our room was clean, spacious and smart (although it didn’t appear to have aircon which, to be fair, isn’t something you need often in Scotland). Excellent breakfast with all you could want and more and dinner was of a good standard. The front desk were also more than happy to keep our luggage for us after check out, which effectively meant we had an extra day to enjoy in Edinburgh. This was our 2nd stay here in the past year and would definitely recommend the Grosvenor. Excellent value for money!

J McDonald said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th July 2019

Had a great weekend in the Grosvenor Hotel the room was good and the food was amazing Andy was very helpful and we got a room upgrade so all in all we had a lovely time ??

Maxine Oconnell said...

70%
50%
70%
90%

Stayed 19th July 2019

Room was quite dirty especi the bathroom, did not recieve the free upgrade and it was a 15 minute walk from the nearest car park which on pouring rain was horrendous .

Mary Misset said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th July 2019

Had a great time at the Grosvenor hotel staff very good.We got a room up grade which was great for us but the only fault was the carpet had lots of stains on it and not a nice out look out on pipes with moss and overgrown garden.this was not a problem for us because we were not paying extra too have the room but if you were it would a problem.But the westend was nice.

Alison Dakers said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2019

The room was pleasant and there was a fan supplied due to the hot weather. The food was lovely and the staff friendly. I’m not sure though that it lives up to the four stars, more like three.

Cynthia Garvock said...

50%
20%
80%
50%

Stayed 5th July 2019

Not really happy with the room I paid for a Deluxe king and the only thing that fitted that discription was the size of the bed,I paid for the extras like bathrobes ect there was only 1 pair of slippers there was 2 bathrobes but they were like sandpaper ,the room wasn't cleaned properly,stains all over the carpet,there were 2 windows in the room but if I wanted to look out them then I had to stand on a chair ,the hotel itself was nice the staff are Friendly & helpful breakfast great evening meal not so good

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th July 2019

Recently stayed here for a 2 night dinner, bed and breakfast deal with free upgrade included depending on if there were free rooms. We didn't get upgraded so must have been full. We went to our room after we checked in, there was sweet wrappers on the floor, bed unmade and wet towels over the bath. Went back to reception to let them know and they gave us a different room and offered us a free drink at the bar. The new room was fine. The carpet was dirty, shower wasn't very good and the remote for the TV didn't work but the bed was comfy and pillows were nice with a pretty view from the window so there were plenty of good bits. The food at the hotel was lovely. We enjoyed our evening meal and both breakfasts. Plenty of choice. Location for perfect for us, no noise from outside but not far to pubs and restaurants. Short walk to haymarket train station, tram stop and bus stops for getting about. We would stay here again.

P Mcclelland said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th June 2019

Very pleasant stay would recommend this deal and would be happy to go again

A guest said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 15th June 2019

Quick check-in. No soap in room - had to use the shower gel for handwashing. Good selection of tea/coffee in room but not enough milk containers. Not many TV channels and no radio stations played. Evening meal was pleasant. Breakfast coffee was lukewarm and was replaced with slightly warmer coffee. Scrambled egg was also not hot. We had a late checkout of 12 noon but the maid entered our room to clean at 10am when we still had use of the room. Hotel is in a great location close by railway station and good bus service. Staff were all very pleasant.

jo bremner said...

60%
60%
50%
70%

Stayed 8th June 2019

Just stayed one night at the Edinburgh Grovesnor hotel after booking the dbb deal for £109. The hotel is in two parts across the road from each other - we never knew this & it would have been nice to have been told whilst booking that this was the case. Stood for 10 minutes at an isolated desk before luckily a member of staff walked by and told us check in is at the other hotel across the road. Check in was fine & quick enough after a long wait in the queue (it was busy due to e girls concert) we were given a room back over in the first building we had been in - it was obvious that people on deals were put over here which is a shame. The building is very tatty, chipped paint and woodwork everywhere, needs some TLC. Room was fine, very rough around the edges - curtains don’t close so struggled to get a good sleep as very bright, very noisy outside as well, carpet was bogging. Bed really comfy and bathroom was nicely done - we had no soap & no shower gel left which wasn’t ideal. We were able to get food early which was great as we were going to the concert & the restaurant didn’t open until 6pm. Went back across the road to the bar/lounge, service took forever! 10-15mins to get a table, 10mins to get the menu’s over, 15mins for the drinks & then half an hour for the food - which was brought out by the chef as they had no staff to do it ?! Food was nice enough, standard bar food quality. e girls tail that was on was delicious (although £9). 15min wait back at the bar just to pay. The bar manager was lovely & helpful. Breakfast this morning was nice, good selection and eggs fried by the chef in front of you. Staff a bit miserable again not even a good morning or a quick intro to what there was for breakfast etc. Overall it was a fine stay, wouldn’t say it was a 4* stay & not sure if I would return.

Ian Boyd said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st June 2019

Only downside to our stay was the bed was uncomfortable.

Iain Hurst said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st May 2019

Enjoyed our stay at this former Hilton hotel. Building is a little tired and dated in places but staff were all extremely helpful and nothing was a bother. No teaspoons in room, and only one chair, but this was quickly remedied once requested. Food decent (breakfast v good), good lift, great location. Will probably return.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Great hotel and very central to all amenities..Very friendly staff .Dinner was excellent and plenty to choose from.Breakfast also great..

Donald Wilson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st February 2019

We were staying overnight at the Grosvenor as we were going to the theatre, which is a nice 15 minute walk away. The room was upgraded and was lovely, however, although we have stayed a number of times at the Grosvenor, through My Hotelbreak.com, we have never been in the main hotel always across the road, not a problem, as long as it is not pelting down with rain. We booked an early sitting for dinner 6.00pm as the show was starting at 7.30pm. The first course was served promptly however,we had to wait 20 mins for the second course to arrive. Due to this,we had to rush our dessert and we needed to book a taxi, to get us to the theatre on time, which the hotel reception arranged very quickly. Perhaps a dinner starting at 5.30pm for people going to the theatre might be something that the hotel could look at. However, overall our stay was lovely and the quality of the food was excellent. We would certainly stay again at the Grosvenor.

Raymond Notarangelo said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2019

A good stay overall however on arrival just prior to check in time we enquired about the complimentary upgrade but were informed this was not available due to the hotel being very busy. Slight damper to the start of the weekend break for my wife's birthday.

A guest said...

77%
90%
50%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2019

the lady running reception at restaurant was excellent. Check in not so good

ian brownlee said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2019

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and found the hotel very nice until it came to the bedroom,it really needs a face lift and updated but apart from that we enjoyed our stay and the food was lovely too

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th January 2019

Nice hotel, great staff and service, food excellent.

Kathleen Shields said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th January 2019

Had a brilliant stay for my partners birthday , lovely friendly staff, food was excellent , lovely big room , free upgrade on arrival , lots of personal touches to make our stay memorable .

Margaret Copland said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th January 2019

Checked into the hotel to be told we had been upgraded, room was lovely, and food was amazing. Hotel is in a really good location, within walking distance to everything. Would definately stay here again.

J McDonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Had a great weekend break in the Hilton Hotel room was brilliant the food was absolutely brilliant and the staff were so friendly just a great weekend 10 out of 10 ?

MARIA MELVILLE said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Hotel was absolutely fine, food was lovely, I had seen a lot of bad reviews about this hotel, but we were happy with it.

GRAHAM WALKER said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th December 2018

Excellent value, great staff and fantastic food - highly recommended