Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel, Edinburgh

Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh, EH125EF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

Not in main hotel so had to cross (quiet road) for meals. Probably one of the smaller rooms I have stayed in and had to request out free glass of wine! Nonetheless an enjoyable stay and would stay again! Very handy for Haymarket Station.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Great hotel and very central to all amenities..Very friendly staff .Dinner was excellent and plenty to choose from.Breakfast also great..

Donald Wilson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st February 2019

We were staying overnight at the Grosvenor as we were going to the theatre, which is a nice 15 minute walk away. The room was upgraded and was lovely, however, although we have stayed a number of times at the Grosvenor, through My Hotelbreak.com, we have never been in the main hotel always across the road, not a problem, as long as it is not pelting down with rain. We booked an early sitting for dinner 6.00pm as the show was starting at 7.30pm. The first course was served promptly however,we had to wait 20 mins for the second course to arrive. Due to this,we had to rush our dessert and we needed to book a taxi, to get us to the theatre on time, which the hotel reception arranged very quickly. Perhaps a dinner starting at 5.30pm for people going to the theatre might be something that the hotel could look at. However, overall our stay was lovely and the quality of the food was excellent. We would certainly stay again at the Grosvenor.

Mary Bunyan said...

57%
60%
60%
50%

Stayed 1st March 2019

Rooms very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, meals fine

Raymond Notarangelo said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2019

A good stay overall however on arrival just prior to check in time we enquired about the complimentary upgrade but were informed this was not available due to the hotel being very busy. Slight damper to the start of the weekend break for my wife's birthday.

A guest said...

77%
90%
50%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2019

the lady running reception at restaurant was excellent. Check in not so good

ian brownlee said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2019

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and found the hotel very nice until it came to the bedroom,it really needs a face lift and updated but apart from that we enjoyed our stay and the food was lovely too

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th January 2019

Nice hotel, great staff and service, food excellent.

Kathleen Shields said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th January 2019

Had a brilliant stay for my partners birthday , lovely friendly staff, food was excellent , lovely big room , free upgrade on arrival , lots of personal touches to make our stay memorable .

Margaret Copland said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th January 2019

Checked into the hotel to be told we had been upgraded, room was lovely, and food was amazing. Hotel is in a really good location, within walking distance to everything. Would definately stay here again.

J McDonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Had a great weekend break in the Hilton Hotel room was brilliant the food was absolutely brilliant and the staff were so friendly just a great weekend 10 out of 10 ?

MARIA MELVILLE said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Hotel was absolutely fine, food was lovely, I had seen a lot of bad reviews about this hotel, but we were happy with it.

GRAHAM WALKER said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th December 2018

Excellent value, great staff and fantastic food - highly recommended

michelle campbell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st December 2018

We arrived early but they let us check in gave us an upgraded room which had plenty of room and closet space the staff were fantastic from reception staff to bar staff and restaurant staff the food was delicious freshly made

M Gove said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th December 2018

Very friendly and rewarding. Staff were fantastic, and approachable. Loved every minute, and would recommend, and use again.

A guest said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 7th December 2018

Enjoyed our trip would consider to go back to Hilton, gave hotel a call on the tues ,to book our meal for half past six, But they didn't pass it on to the resturant, was told would have to wait between courses, as they had 400 guest, Got there in the end ,

William Stewart said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 7th December 2018

First class, especially the food.room was very nice and very clean.Had a really enjoyable weekend.

G Wood said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th December 2018

Hotel is well located only 15 minutes walk from Princes Street and3 minutes from Haymarket Station and tram stop. We received a nice welcome and were very pleased with our large spacious room. The bed was comfortable. We dined in on our first night and found the menu to be fine and a free glass of wine was appreciated. The buffet breakfast was lovely with a good choice of cooked foods and the usual cold breakfast options. Our request for our feather pillows to be replaced with foam pillows was actioned without problem. Only negative was that we felt the public areas - bar and dining room - to be a bit on the cool side in the evenings but I reported this to reception.

Allyson Tunstall said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2018

Had a nice stay at this hotel. the dinner included in the price on the first night was especially good. Only down side to the hotel is no parking. had to park up near the castle which was a bit of a pain, especially with lots of shopping. The rooms were nice but could do with a bit of TLC.

Colin McAllister said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2018

Very enjoyable 2 night stay, BB with dinner on 1st night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Dinner and breakfast very good also. Would without doubt recommend this hotel.

A guest said...

67%
40%
70%
90%

Stayed 23rd November 2018

Fantastic deal. Evening meal was beautiful as was the breakfast. Bar had very limited drinks available. Popular brands like Bacardi,Morgan's ed Rum,Smirnoff Ice to name but a few was unavailable. Spacious room with great heating system. Beds were comfy but decor in need of upgrading. Clean but looked very dated.

caroline McMath said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st November 2018

Fantastic location. Warm and friendly atmosphere

James Craig said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st November 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We had an excellent meal, although the temperature in the large dining room was cool/uncomfortable and not helped by people coming in from the street via the door in the corner of the dining room. The bedroom was comfortable but could do with an upgrade. One of my yardsticks for a good hotel is that the bedrooms should be up to the same standard as the reception area!

kim wilson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2018

Great hotel, location and facilities, helpful staff and very clean, would highly recommend to visitors to edinburgh

Allan Beattie said...

70%
30%
80%
100%

Stayed 3rd November 2018

Overall the DBB deal was probably not worth the money. The staff were friendly and offered to text me when our room was ready although obviously no room became available before our check in time as I never got a text. The food was surprisingly very tasty and the portion sizes decent without being overwhelming. The prices of drinks were reasonable given the location too so no complaints there either. The room, however, wasn’t what you would expect as ‘Hilton Standard’. Broken floor tiles in the bathroom as well as a broken towel radiator, extractor fan and plug chain were the bad points to note from the bathroom. The bedroom part wasn’t up to much either. The most disappointing aspect probably being the incredibly uncomfortable double bed which creaked with every minute move as well as a floor that was obviously very old as it creaked with every step just as much as the bed did which resulted in a broken sleep. The wallpaper was coming away at the joints, there were cobwebs on the ceiling and the carpet wasn’t the cleanest either. The view was unspectacular to say the least so if that is what you are after then you’d be better looking elsewhere. Located right next to a chuch, the sound of the bells ringing continuously for over 30 minutes wasn’t the greatest way to wake up either. The room was very small with the corner of the desk butted right up against the corner of the bed with no way to get to the other side other than to jump over the bed. I actually believe that we were given a compact room rather than a guestroom as described in the booking due to these reasons. Overall, I probably wouldn’t return for an overnight stay again.