Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, North Berwick

Cromwell Road, North Berwick, EH394LZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Mrs Wright said...

70%
40%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

We had a lovely stay apart from my room was like a box room, I have stayed at this hotel many times years ago and have really happy memories of large rooms and on request sea views, so i was really disappointed. My friend also had a classic room but hers was much more spacious. There was not enough staff on duty at check in times, The food in the restaurant was superb and the head waiter was very helpful and made us feel very welcome.

laura marshall said...

60%
80%
40%
60%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Nice hotel, however hotel tried to charge me £17 extra for having a cream tea when we checked in despite me saying it was included with our stay, room was nice, leisure facilities the best part of our stay

J birkenfield said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2018

On arrival we were given a room overlooking a green container and a shed, I wasnt happy with this, we went to reception and asked to be moved, I had paid extra for an upgraded executive room. we were offered another 2 rooms which I declined. I was then advised that if I wanted to be moved to a suite I would ahve to pay another 50.00 I was not prepared to do this. We went had had the cream tea which was lovely, then were were shown to two different room, we accpeted the second one as it was sea view and had two comfy chairs in the bay window. I should not have had to view 5 rooms before I got one that was acceptable. Reception were very good about this but I said to Simeon (on reception not sure of his name, he had an accent) would he have liked to have stayed in the first room if that was offered to him and he said no so I think you should reconsider giving this to anyone else, the room was fine just the view from it. We had arranged dinner on the second night. Someone from reservations had rang me beforehand and asked if i would like to pre order a bottle of wine for 20.95.. i said i would let them know, I did ring back the next day to order this. When we sat down for dinner i mentioned that we had already ordered wine, Omar said to us that he did not have any wine for 20.95 and he did not know of this offer, he said reservations ring customers but they do not let him know.. he said we could have the wine at this price... Then we ordered from the menu and one of the main dishes that i wanted they didt have so I had to choose something else.. all in all the meal was lovely, wine very acceptable. A mention to vivan on reception too and dylan in the restuarant, very helpful and chatty. We had remembered Omar from our previous visit... Would I book again definelty as this is a lovely hotel...

Peter Harrower said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2018

Good value for money as the offer was a lot cheaper than their normal rate however the room(118) was a little small and the general décor and furnishing, throughout the hotel, were a little worn and dated. Especially squeaky floors. The food was of a good standard and staff were polite and attentive. Probably more 3.5 stars than 4

Mary Cartwright said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2018

We had a wonderful stay! Room and food lovely and staff couldn't have been more helpful!

veronica byiers said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2018

Me and my husband had a recent two night break at this very impressive Hotel, we were made very welcome by the lady on the front desk. We had a king room which was on the second floor it was a very large room it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The last time we stayed at this hotel was about 18 mounths ago and at that time the service in the restaurant was appalling however it was nice to see that this had been looked at and the service has definitely been improved. The meal we had in the restaurant was very nice and the staff were very pleasant we will definitely return.

Linda Duncan said...

57%
70%
50%
50%

Stayed 6th November 2018

We have stayed in the Marine Hotel and Spa many times over the past 15 years as we enjoy North Berwick and surrounding area. Sadly, we were disappointed again to find that the Hotel has been let down by poor service in both the Restaurant and the Bar and this visit, poor quality of food from the evening meal in the Restaurant.

Alan Kelly said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay again, although our two bedrooms were the smalllest yet!! Having a six foot four husband it was a bit of a tight space. The food was very delicious. However, on our last visit we received and an Amuse Bouche to start and a beautiful sorbet in between courses. When we queried it we were told it was a new chef and it becomes too expensive! A little disappointing because we had been telling our friends (who accompanied us) how special we felt the meal was on our previous stay. Hotel is now beginning to look a little tired and in need of a bit of a refurb. The staff were absolutely delightful and extremely helpful and friendly. Hopefully we will manage a further stay in the future....maybe in a larger bedroom.

Alan Kelly said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay again, although our two bedrooms were the smalllest yet!! Having a six foot four husband it was a bit of a tight space. The food was very delicious. However, on our last visit we received and an Amuse Bouche to start and a beautiful sorbet in between courses. When we queried it we were told it was a new chef and it becomes too expensive! A little disappointing because we had been telling our friends (who accompanied us) how special we felt the meal was on our previous stay. Hotel is now beginning to look a little tired and in need of a bit of a refurb. The staff were absolutely delightful and extremely helpful and friendly. Hopefully we will manage a further stay in the future....maybe in a larger bedroom.

Alan Kelly said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay again, although our two bedrooms were the smalllest yet!! Having a six foot four husband it was a bit of a tight space. The food was very delicious. However, on our last visit we received and an Amuse Bouche to start and a beautiful sorbet in between courses. When we queried it we were told it was a new chef and it becomes too expensive! A little disappointing because we had been telling our friends (who accompanied us) how special we felt the meal was on our previous stay. Hotel is now beginning to look a little tired and in need of a bit of a refurb. The staff were absolutely delightful and extremely helpful and friendly. Hopefully we will manage a further stay in the future....maybe in a larger bedroom.

A guest said...

80%
100%
100%
40%

Stayed 9th October 2018

The Hotel and room were very comfortable and staff very helpful.

Robert Knight said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2018

Excellent overnight stay in laege double room. My only complaint would be the bar area which requires a bit more life to it. The constant classical background music makes it quite depressing.

Dave Durnall-Smith said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 10th October 2018

Excellent hotel, polite staff and amazing views.

Linda Bisset said...

77%
90%
70%
70%

Stayed 19th March 2018

Monday night the whole hotel was freezing to the extent it was most uncomfortable. I went to room to have a hot bath and go to bed to get a heat.........Alas could not do this as the hot tap I bath was not working!!!!!!! Bath report at breakfast and speedy repair, being done as we went back up after breakfast.

Brian Smail said...

74%
80%
60%
80%

Stayed 16th February 2018

Nice hotel in a great spot. 10 minute or so walk into North Berwick either along the beach or road (you can spend a nice afternoon walking around town and if you fancy something to eat or drink I can recommend The Herringbone on the main street). Car parking is on the opposite side of street to hotel - plenty spaces. At reception booking in was quick with helpful staff but discovered that my e mailed dinner booking request had not been followed through with the restaurant. However, we did get a time slot close to that which we had asked for. Room was recently refurbished so very nice. Comfortable bed, couple of chairs and a small round table. Unfortunately we could not use the shower - to get any more than a dribble of water coming from the shower head the temperature had to be between 45 and 50 - ooooooch way too hot. Reception were aware but it couldn't be fixed during our visit. An alternative room could be used for a shower -- mmmmm. As I visited the pool area each day I used the facil there. To be fair reception knocked something off our bill for the inconvenience - thank you! Dinner - decent sized restaurant which was busy - best to book your dinner slot. No starter ordered, main course food was hot and very tasty but felt there could have been a bit more on the plate. Ordered cheese for dessert - it arrived after about a 20 minute wait with no side plate, knife or butter - had to ask. Breakfast - good selection of both cold and cooked. Shown to table and order for tea/coffee and toast taken right away. Coffee and toast arrived but no butter so had to ask. A tiny "brick hard" portion was delivered to the table - enough for maybe one slice of toast. Had to ask for more. No cereal spoons on the table. Cereal, fruits, nuts selection etc. was good as was the cooked breakfast. Funnily my wife ordered one hard boiled egg after her cereal each morning and on both occasions two eggs arrived. Bar area - nice area with great views out over the golf course and comfy seating. Table service in the evenings. Nibbles placed on tables. Prices are as you would expect in a 4* hotel - beer about £4.30 upwards and wine about £8/9 a glass. Overall - it's nice hotel, very friendly staff and good food. Pool area is good. Wi-Fi had good reception throughout the hotel - even in the bedroom. I feel they need to sharpen up the service in the restaurant. I don't want to be looking around for someone because there is no spoon or butter on my table. Would I go back - yes I would give it another go.

Laura Lamb said...

60%
80%
60%
40%

Stayed 14th February 2018

Breakfast not great and dinner overpriced for what we received

carol mathers said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th December 2017

Fantastic value 2 night break. Went with my friend. Twin room (210) was a bit small and dated but clean with very comfortable beds. Excellent leisure facil. Food in the restaurant was fine dining and although it was very tasty the portions were tiny. We had our dinner in the bar on our second night and it was very good. Hotel is in a beautiful location looking out over the sea and a short walk from the town. All public areas were very comfortable and clean. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Lesley Taylor said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2017

We had a wonderful time as always . We will be back . Thank you again

Jacqueline Valentine said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th October 2017

My husband and I had very enjoyable 2 day break. While parts of the hotel are dated they are in the process of doing it up. We had a large room with a sea view which was comfortable and clean and had everything we required. The food was lovely the staff were extremely helpful and polite. The leisure facil are fantastic. We certainly would recommend this hotel and will definitely return

Moira Blyth said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our couple of days. Staff so friendly and efficient. Room was spotless and comfortable with lovely views over the links. Excellent dinner.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th October 2017

Lovely one night stay. Was pleasantly surprised by the thermal suite. Will recommend to friends and family

A guest said...

60%
80%
40%
60%

Stayed 5th October 2017

Very disappointed with this stay. We have stayed at this hotel previously and apart from almost being overcharged were generally impressed. This time was very different. The hotel seems to be trading on faded grandeur and is generally needing freshened up. It is apparently scheduled for a facelift. Previously this might have added to the character but in fact added to a feeling of neglect. Even in the Spa there was evidence of poor maintenance, switches, showers and doors not working. The main problem was with the food. Staff, apart from the pleasant maître d'hôtel, seemed pretty disinterested and service was slow and unresponsive. It was as if they were in need of some proper training. The dinner menu was disappointingly limited compared with previous experience and the food and plates not hot enough, although reasonable if not exceptional in quality. The breakfast menu was also disappointing. The full breakfast was acceptable but any attractive variations (e.g. kippers) came at a premium cost and the almost thankfully limited toast was like cardboard. Also the baking was poor. This applied the grossly over fired breakfast ins and dry afternoon scones served long after the single unreplenished pot of tea. In addition the blection was abysmal. There was no draft ale available and the bottled beer selection was a disgrace, all fizzy pop with no local or craft beers available. For our second evening we were glad to walk into town to an excellent public house and first class meal at a local restaurant In short we will not be returning to the Marine.

J Scott said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th August 2017

Lovely hotel very friendly helpful staff great room with a view of the golf course and Firth of Forth, dinner was excellent

A Donnelly said...

80%
90%
50%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2017

This hotel was lovely and we were very happy with our choice the food was excellent and I would go as far to say that our evening meal was one of the best meals we have had in a hotel my only criticism is the staff in the restaurant were very slow and the milk had ran out at breakfast by the time they brought more milk for our cereal our cooked breakfast was on the table but overall it was great .

A guest said...

77%
100%
30%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2017

We had a fabulous room overlooking the golf course and the Forth. The room was clean and very comfortable. Food was of a high standard. Loved the Cheese Menu! The one thing that let down our stay was the service - we are still waiting for ice for the room ordered at Reception. Restaurant service was very slow - not enough staff for the hotel being fully booked.