Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, North Berwick

Cromwell Road, North Berwick, EH394LZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

Robert Rae said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 25th July 2019

Great location, rooms are getting a little tired now. Let’s hope new owners do some decoration .

Jill Robb said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th March 2019

Stayed for my friends 30th birthday, fantastic time had by all. Hotel was lovely, rooms maybe a wee bit tired looking. Soak facilities great.

Sharon Murray said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th March 2019

I took my sisters and mum here as an early birthday celebration and we had a fantastic time.

F Bentley said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 18th February 2019

Had a great time

A guest said...

54%
10%
50%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2019

Hotel location is beautiful, North Berwick is definitely somewhere people need to visit at some point. Lovely lovely place. Ample parking, nice building, and very friendly reception staff. There seems to be a slight issue with getting the rooms ready in time for check in however. Ours was not ready fifteen minutes after check in time and we were given another room, the couple next to us were the same but had to be given a free drink while they waited, and then the following day, three couples were the same. Room was nice, spacious, lovely deep bath, and the Elemis products were a nice touch. Bed was comfy. However on the first night we had a problem as we were on the third floor at the back and there seemed to be an issue with the heating. The radiator needed bled I think but the noise was quite something, we actually recorded it. We phoned down and were told ody that could see to it, did we want to move to a double room, this wasn't really suitable as my partner is 6"5 and I have a spinal issue that causes me to toss and turn. She managed to switch the heating off but at 5:45am we were awaken to it coming back on. We had to say about it again after breakfast, to be told they'd get someone to look at it. It was quite vague though so I asked to speak to manager and was told he was unavailable. I later found this out to be untrue. We got back around four and sadly they'd not been able to sort it, no maintenance staff at the weekend unless deemed an emergency by the manager so we had to pack up and move our things two floors to another room. We asked if there would be some means of compensation for the loss of sleep and having to move etc and were told the man would have to speak to the manager and let us know on check out the following day. This seemed to be a theme, it was like the staff has no permissions and had their hands tied very much so, but at the same time ody with authority seemed to be about until the final day. The meal was stunning, and waiting staff perfect. Breakfast was to die for and again amazing service, could not fault it. The swimming pool and spa area is simply gorgeous, one of the best I have visited and I stay in hotels at least once a month if not more. We also had a cream tea which was gorgeous. The hotel interior is lovely really nice and homely feeling. Check out however was not a pleasant experience due to the front office manager. On arriving at reception to check out, we caught him being disrespectful in his manner to a member of stuff in front of customers. Now my partner is the sales manager of scotland for a multibillion corporation, he organises functions, business meetings and makes sure his whole team has residence and had been talking about setting up some of the events in the hotel. He saw this and his mind was made up to never have this happen and to make sure this hotel was not on the booking list for engineers or partners from visiting countries. I understand he didn't know this nor what I do, but there is no excuse to speak to someone like that for asking what to do with our bill knowing there would be an issue ( yes we heard). The poor man looked mortified. Unprofessional. We got to the desk to be told £13 had been subtracted, now I don't know about anyone else reading this but I felt that was a bit pitiful when paying almost £150 a night for rest and relaxation, baring in mind we had to make contact three times to get the situation resolved, and were offered no assistance to move room. I questioned it and the gentleman serving us was interrupted by the manager telling us he'd speak to us in a minute, and directing us away from reception to wait. I was told I must not stay in as many hotels as he has to think not having rooms ready in time in those quantities were unusual, now baring in mind this man does not know my occupation so it was a bit silly to judge, that he abolished compensation as it was getting silly people getting wine etc and all sorts for issues and they weren't being dealt with. Now to me there is nothing wrong with a gesture of good will AND resolving the issue, not one or the other, and it made us feel as though we'd been doubted when had the manager went to the room on the first day and heard the issues it could have been resolved far quicker. Actually if we'd been greeted with an apology and your extras (£26) have been removed we'd of not even complained further, it's never about money with us and being told if I had been easier on him and used general manager I would of probably got a free night stay is escaping the issue. We should have had the problem resolved without chasing and an apology and offer of good will even just a drink or something to acknowledge that our stay was not being a smooth one. Small things. It was also annoying that had our room been ready in time we wouldn't have had to move.

marlene monaghan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2019

We had a lovely overnight stay at marine hotel which was a xmas present from my parents.scones were warm at our cream tea / had a lovely dinner and breakfast.girls on reception were lovely.also had a great room overlooking the water.looking forward to our next stay.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2019

hotel stay was amazing, staff were really pleseant, would recommened as it was cery well prices also.

Stephen Mullen said...

77%
100%
90%
40%

Stayed 11th February 2019

The reason I gave only 4 for food was that the breakfast hot stuff was cold especially the scrambled egg and there was no fried egg available or fruit pudding

Julie Smeaton said...

67%
90%
40%
70%

Stayed 20th January 2019

This was a Xmas treat for my mum who is Celiac which had a cream tea included . on three seperate occasions I reminded them to have a gluten free scone , and they said that wasn't a problem ; and guess what .. this 4 star hotel didnt have any ! And she was offered to wait 20 mins for shortbread , when I complained i was told there was a lack of communication between reception and kitchen . On arrival at hotel i was disturbed by the 'school dinner ' smell greeting us which put us off . Our room however was lovely but feel these points need adressing, not what you expect from a 4star.

Mrs Wright said...

70%
40%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

We had a lovely stay apart from my room was like a box room, I have stayed at this hotel many times years ago and have really happy memories of large rooms and on request sea views, so i was really disappointed. My friend also had a classic room but hers was much more spacious. There was not enough staff on duty at check in times, The food in the restaurant was superb and the head waiter was very helpful and made us feel very welcome.

laura marshall said...

60%
80%
40%
60%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Nice hotel, however hotel tried to charge me £17 extra for having a cream tea when we checked in despite me saying it was included with our stay, room was nice, leisure facilities the best part of our stay

J birkenfield said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2018

On arrival we were given a room overlooking a green container and a shed, I wasnt happy with this, we went to reception and asked to be moved, I had paid extra for an upgraded executive room. we were offered another 2 rooms which I declined. I was then advised that if I wanted to be moved to a suite I would ahve to pay another 50.00 I was not prepared to do this. We went had had the cream tea which was lovely, then were were shown to two different room, we accpeted the second one as it was sea view and had two comfy chairs in the bay window. I should not have had to view 5 rooms before I got one that was acceptable. Reception were very good about this but I said to Simeon (on reception not sure of his name, he had an accent) would he have liked to have stayed in the first room if that was offered to him and he said no so I think you should reconsider giving this to anyone else, the room was fine just the view from it. We had arranged dinner on the second night. Someone from reservations had rang me beforehand and asked if i would like to pre order a bottle of wine for 20.95.. i said i would let them know, I did ring back the next day to order this. When we sat down for dinner i mentioned that we had already ordered wine, Omar said to us that he did not have any wine for 20.95 and he did not know of this offer, he said reservations ring customers but they do not let him know.. he said we could have the wine at this price... Then we ordered from the menu and one of the main dishes that i wanted they didt have so I had to choose something else.. all in all the meal was lovely, wine very acceptable. A mention to vivan on reception too and dylan in the restuarant, very helpful and chatty. We had remembered Omar from our previous visit... Would I book again definelty as this is a lovely hotel...

Peter Harrower said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2018

Good value for money as the offer was a lot cheaper than their normal rate however the room(118) was a little small and the general décor and furnishing, throughout the hotel, were a little worn and dated. Especially squeaky floors. The food was of a good standard and staff were polite and attentive. Probably more 3.5 stars than 4

Mary Cartwright said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2018

We had a wonderful stay! Room and food lovely and staff couldn't have been more helpful!

veronica byiers said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2018

Me and my husband had a recent two night break at this very impressive Hotel, we were made very welcome by the lady on the front desk. We had a king room which was on the second floor it was a very large room it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The last time we stayed at this hotel was about 18 mounths ago and at that time the service in the restaurant was appalling however it was nice to see that this had been looked at and the service has definitely been improved. The meal we had in the restaurant was very nice and the staff were very pleasant we will definitely return.

Linda Duncan said...

57%
70%
50%
50%

Stayed 6th November 2018

We have stayed in the Marine Hotel and Spa many times over the past 15 years as we enjoy North Berwick and surrounding area. Sadly, we were disappointed again to find that the Hotel has been let down by poor service in both the Restaurant and the Bar and this visit, poor quality of food from the evening meal in the Restaurant.

Alan Kelly said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay again, although our two bedrooms were the smalllest yet!! Having a six foot four husband it was a bit of a tight space. The food was very delicious. However, on our last visit we received and an Amuse Bouche to start and a beautiful sorbet in between courses. When we queried it we were told it was a new chef and it becomes too expensive! A little disappointing because we had been telling our friends (who accompanied us) how special we felt the meal was on our previous stay. Hotel is now beginning to look a little tired and in need of a bit of a refurb. The staff were absolutely delightful and extremely helpful and friendly. Hopefully we will manage a further stay in the future....maybe in a larger bedroom.

Alan Kelly said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay again, although our two bedrooms were the smalllest yet!! Having a six foot four husband it was a bit of a tight space. The food was very delicious. However, on our last visit we received and an Amuse Bouche to start and a beautiful sorbet in between courses. When we queried it we were told it was a new chef and it becomes too expensive! A little disappointing because we had been telling our friends (who accompanied us) how special we felt the meal was on our previous stay. Hotel is now beginning to look a little tired and in need of a bit of a refurb. The staff were absolutely delightful and extremely helpful and friendly. Hopefully we will manage a further stay in the future....maybe in a larger bedroom.

Alan Kelly said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay again, although our two bedrooms were the smalllest yet!! Having a six foot four husband it was a bit of a tight space. The food was very delicious. However, on our last visit we received and an Amuse Bouche to start and a beautiful sorbet in between courses. When we queried it we were told it was a new chef and it becomes too expensive! A little disappointing because we had been telling our friends (who accompanied us) how special we felt the meal was on our previous stay. Hotel is now beginning to look a little tired and in need of a bit of a refurb. The staff were absolutely delightful and extremely helpful and friendly. Hopefully we will manage a further stay in the future....maybe in a larger bedroom.

A guest said...

80%
100%
100%
40%

Stayed 9th October 2018

The Hotel and room were very comfortable and staff very helpful.

Robert Knight said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2018

Excellent overnight stay in laege double room. My only complaint would be the bar area which requires a bit more life to it. The constant classical background music makes it quite depressing.

Dave Durnall-Smith said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 10th October 2018

Excellent hotel, polite staff and amazing views.

Linda Bisset said...

77%
90%
70%
70%

Stayed 19th March 2018

Monday night the whole hotel was freezing to the extent it was most uncomfortable. I went to room to have a hot bath and go to bed to get a heat.........Alas could not do this as the hot tap I bath was not working!!!!!!! Bath report at breakfast and speedy repair, being done as we went back up after breakfast.

Brian Smail said...

74%
80%
60%
80%

Stayed 16th February 2018

Nice hotel in a great spot. 10 minute or so walk into North Berwick either along the beach or road (you can spend a nice afternoon walking around town and if you fancy something to eat or drink I can recommend The Herringbone on the main street). Car parking is on the opposite side of street to hotel - plenty spaces. At reception booking in was quick with helpful staff but discovered that my e mailed dinner booking request had not been followed through with the restaurant. However, we did get a time slot close to that which we had asked for. Room was recently refurbished so very nice. Comfortable bed, couple of chairs and a small round table. Unfortunately we could not use the shower - to get any more than a dribble of water coming from the shower head the temperature had to be between 45 and 50 - ooooooch way too hot. Reception were aware but it couldn't be fixed during our visit. An alternative room could be used for a shower -- mmmmm. As I visited the pool area each day I used the facil there. To be fair reception knocked something off our bill for the inconvenience - thank you! Dinner - decent sized restaurant which was busy - best to book your dinner slot. No starter ordered, main course food was hot and very tasty but felt there could have been a bit more on the plate. Ordered cheese for dessert - it arrived after about a 20 minute wait with no side plate, knife or butter - had to ask. Breakfast - good selection of both cold and cooked. Shown to table and order for tea/coffee and toast taken right away. Coffee and toast arrived but no butter so had to ask. A tiny "brick hard" portion was delivered to the table - enough for maybe one slice of toast. Had to ask for more. No cereal spoons on the table. Cereal, fruits, nuts selection etc. was good as was the cooked breakfast. Funnily my wife ordered one hard boiled egg after her cereal each morning and on both occasions two eggs arrived. Bar area - nice area with great views out over the golf course and comfy seating. Table service in the evenings. Nibbles placed on tables. Prices are as you would expect in a 4* hotel - beer about £4.30 upwards and wine about £8/9 a glass. Overall - it's nice hotel, very friendly staff and good food. Pool area is good. Wi-Fi had good reception throughout the hotel - even in the bedroom. I feel they need to sharpen up the service in the restaurant. I don't want to be looking around for someone because there is no spoon or butter on my table. Would I go back - yes I would give it another go.

Laura Lamb said...

60%
80%
60%
40%

Stayed 14th February 2018

Breakfast not great and dinner overpriced for what we received