Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, St Andrews

Pilmour Links, St Andrews, KY169JQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

louise boyce said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2019

Lovely hotel, upon arrival we received a complimentary room upgrade overlooking the beach and old golf course, we had a fantastic view and reception informed us we would be able to watch the fireworks for St. Andrews day from our room, staff very helpful with our requests, only small complaint would be in the dining area as to portion of potatoes though it was quickly resolved, food was delicious, I would recommend this hotel to future guests, thank you to the staff who aided us to have a very enjoyable stay at the hotel

louise boyce said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2019

Lovely hotel, upon arrival we received a complimentary room upgrade overlooking the beach and old golf course, we had a fantastic view and reception informed us we would be able to watch the fireworks for St. Andrews day from our room, staff very helpful with our requests, only small complaint would be in the dining area as to portion of potatoes though it was quickly resolved, food was delicious, I would recommend this hotel to future guests, thank you to the staff who aided us to have a very enjoyable stay at the hotel

A guest said...

54%
80%
50%
30%

Stayed 26th November 2019

The hotel is in an excellent position and we had a very nice room overlooking the 1st tee and 18th green. Hotel staff were very helpful, and on arrival reception acknowledged my booking comment regarding my wife’s allergen issue as Coeliac. Unfortunately the Restaurant was not as obliging, from a fairly extensive menu she was offered anything ‘vegan’ as also Gluten Free. Unfortunately every meal had an issue with GF over 3 days. This rather spoiled what was a very nice hotel and excellent stay.

heather johnstone said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2019

arrived a bit early our room was ready so got to check in , room was lovely and clean bed comfy ( where did you get the pillows they were sooooooo comfy , we had a lovely meal at the surf & turf for my husbands 60th , will defo be back again

A guest said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Public areas are overdue an upgrade. Corridor carpets were dusty and not vacuumed. Room was very small and it was not serviced and so had to request at Reception.

Gordon Dillon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Our two night stay was flawless. Parking was no problem, the room was excellent, the bed was ultra comfy and the breakfasts/evening meals were top quality. The location of the hotel is ideal for walking the beaches and walking into town. If you're a golfer, this hotel must be heaven.

A guest said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2019

I emailed a few weeks before arrival to enquire if I could have golf course facing room as we were celebrating my husband’s birthday. I did not get a reply. We were given a road facing room and did not sleep well due to the traffic noise. They need to fit secondary glazing

Brenda Donnelly said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2019

Fantastic overnight break with dinner and breakfast at an excellent price, would definitely recommend and will be back.

Shirley Perrie said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

My friend and I were upgraded to a beautiful corner room which overlooked the golf course and West Sands, stunning. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely.

Diane Mochan said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2019

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Loved the position, so central. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable with a huge bathroom with both a bath and huge walk in shower. Only downside was we were at the back so no view. However we had a lovely view eating breakfast each morning! We would definitely recommend this hotel.

peter edment said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd January 2019

Superb staff, marvelous setting, wonderful room.

gordon robertson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

Excellent.

Marie Spaven said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

Fablis hotel. Amenities and staff are all first class. Food could be improved in one under. Burger was gray and exceptionally over cooked as were scones in cream tea and chef would not come out and speak to other diners who complained leaving floor staff to handle which was unfair

M Maxwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd December 2018

Excellent hotel in perfect location for St Andrews town centre with parking.

Gordon Brand said...

34%
60%
40%
0%

Stayed 25th November 2018

Over priced and food choice and portion size awful.

Roy Yates said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2018

Lovely hotel in great location. Food excellent with very pleasant and attentive staff. Room very comfortable with tea and coffee available. We loved our stay here and would definitely return.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2018

Enjoyed a really nice two night stay at the Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews. Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was really comfortable and the dinner and breakfast were very good quality as was the service. Will definitely return. The deal which included dinner on the first night and a cream tea was excellent value.

A guest said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th November 2018

The staff are exceptional - friendly and welcoming and they really go out of their way to help. We had a very nice room facing the famous 18th green on the R&A. Service was a little slow for dinner in the evening but the breakfast service was slick and well coordinated and choices and quality at breakfast were excellent. The hotel is in a great position close to the beach and only a few minutes from the town centre - will definitely return there.

Angela Thomson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2018

Fabulous stay at a very classy hotel Great location and staff are great . Had breakfast which was excellent quality.

graham turnill said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th October 2018

Amazing hotel with views!! Pity about lift not working but everything else great

Anne Craig said...

44%
10%
70%
50%

Stayed 8th October 2018

As usual,friendly staff, very comfortable and beautiful views. However last two visits have been below expected standards.Allocated a room,in what appeared to be the basement, down a very worn carpet.not acceptable. Food included, for one evening, was of a very poor standard.we would not have liked to pay the £64 bill, which was added to our bill, then removed. We did ask for a change of room and this was lovely.May think about trying something different next time. My hotel break, however is an excellent web site, with some great deals, we will definately be using them again.

margaret rooney said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th March 2018

Lovely staff great room and fantastic view. Will definitely return if another great deal comes up !

Bruce Wilton said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th January 2018

Overall a very good stay. Couple of small things wrong with room, cold tap wobbled and couldn’t be used easily, bedside light temperamental, flickered and kept going on and off. Breakfast and dinner were great. Staf very good and attentive apart from one woman at check in. We asked a couple of times if we could check in and were told not before 3pm. However, we then sat at reception and watched her check in three other guests. We then went to a different receptionist and got checked in right away (prior to 3pm).

Paul McGowan said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st January 2018

Fantastic staff, excellent service

Margaret Bicker said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th January 2018

A lovely , relaxing break. Comfortable room. Helpful, friendly staff. Lovely food-great breakfast, nice dinner,although the dinner menu was a bit fussy. On the whole a very nice break!