Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, St Andrews

Pilmour Links, St Andrews, KY169JQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

A guest said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2019

I emailed a few weeks before arrival to enquire if I could have golf course facing room as we were celebrating my husband’s birthday. I did not get a reply. We were given a road facing room and did not sleep well due to the traffic noise. They need to fit secondary glazing

Brenda Donnelly said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2019

Fantastic overnight break with dinner and breakfast at an excellent price, would definitely recommend and will be back.

Shirley Perrie said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

My friend and I were upgraded to a beautiful corner room which overlooked the golf course and West Sands, stunning. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely.

Diane Mochan said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2019

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Loved the position, so central. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable with a huge bathroom with both a bath and huge walk in shower. Only downside was we were at the back so no view. However we had a lovely view eating breakfast each morning! We would definitely recommend this hotel.

peter edment said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd January 2019

Superb staff, marvelous setting, wonderful room.

gordon robertson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

Excellent.

Marie Spaven said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

Fablis hotel. Amenities and staff are all first class. Food could be improved in one under. Burger was gray and exceptionally over cooked as were scones in cream tea and chef would not come out and speak to other diners who complained leaving floor staff to handle which was unfair

M Maxwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd December 2018

Excellent hotel in perfect location for St Andrews town centre with parking.

Gordon Brand said...

34%
60%
40%
0%

Stayed 25th November 2018

Over priced and food choice and portion size awful.

Roy Yates said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2018

Lovely hotel in great location. Food excellent with very pleasant and attentive staff. Room very comfortable with tea and coffee available. We loved our stay here and would definitely return.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2018

Enjoyed a really nice two night stay at the Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews. Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was really comfortable and the dinner and breakfast were very good quality as was the service. Will definitely return. The deal which included dinner on the first night and a cream tea was excellent value.

A guest said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th November 2018

The staff are exceptional - friendly and welcoming and they really go out of their way to help. We had a very nice room facing the famous 18th green on the R&A. Service was a little slow for dinner in the evening but the breakfast service was slick and well coordinated and choices and quality at breakfast were excellent. The hotel is in a great position close to the beach and only a few minutes from the town centre - will definitely return there.

Angela Thomson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2018

Fabulous stay at a very classy hotel Great location and staff are great . Had breakfast which was excellent quality.

graham turnill said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th October 2018

Amazing hotel with views!! Pity about lift not working but everything else great

Anne Craig said...

44%
10%
70%
50%

Stayed 8th October 2018

As usual,friendly staff, very comfortable and beautiful views. However last two visits have been below expected standards.Allocated a room,in what appeared to be the basement, down a very worn carpet.not acceptable. Food included, for one evening, was of a very poor standard.we would not have liked to pay the £64 bill, which was added to our bill, then removed. We did ask for a change of room and this was lovely.May think about trying something different next time. My hotel break, however is an excellent web site, with some great deals, we will definately be using them again.

margaret rooney said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th March 2018

Lovely staff great room and fantastic view. Will definitely return if another great deal comes up !

Bruce Wilton said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th January 2018

Overall a very good stay. Couple of small things wrong with room, cold tap wobbled and couldn’t be used easily, bedside light temperamental, flickered and kept going on and off. Breakfast and dinner were great. Staf very good and attentive apart from one woman at check in. We asked a couple of times if we could check in and were told not before 3pm. However, we then sat at reception and watched her check in three other guests. We then went to a different receptionist and got checked in right away (prior to 3pm).

Paul McGowan said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st January 2018

Fantastic staff, excellent service

Margaret Bicker said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th January 2018

A lovely , relaxing break. Comfortable room. Helpful, friendly staff. Lovely food-great breakfast, nice dinner,although the dinner menu was a bit fussy. On the whole a very nice break!

B Harvie said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2018

Staff were excellent room was very warm and cosy during our two day stay Food was excellent and even prepared a special dish for my wife’s dinner (she had a notion for smoked haddock ) All good excellent price from my hotel as well

Robert Coltart said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th December 2017

From the moment we checked in to checking out it was a very pleasant experience staying at this hotel. Room was the Seve Ballesteros which overlooked the 18th green. Also I would like to thank Andy for showing us other rooms for a future visit.

A Kirk said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Had a great weekend in The Rusacks.the staff were very kind and friendly. Couldn’t do enough for you.

brian Stewart said...

64%
80%
30%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Excellent position for all St.Andrews amen. Our room was spacious and clean and the maids cleaned and replaced the towels. We were a party of 8 and booked a table in the One Under Gastro Bar which I was apprehensive about after reading some reviews, however the food there and the breakfast was well cooked and presented. My only real downer was the service at Breakfast which I can only describe as chaotic and the cream tea where they served the coffee and tea then 10 minutes arrived with the scones by which time we had to re-order the drinks which had gone cold. The management have to look at their staffing levels particularly in the restaurant even at this time of year. Comments are based on the hotels Star rating which on service was only worth a 2*

A guest said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 5th November 2017

Hotel in a lovely situation with good views to the golf course and the sea.Rooms were adequate and clean.Beds were on the soft side for our group of 8- we had Four double rooms. We think there was an"issue" with staff,especially in the kitchen.We dined both nights in the pub area downstairs as our allowance of £25 per head for dinner would not have been sufficient for a two course meal,or even a main meal.Staff in the pub area were pleasant and not their fault that a lot of items were "not available".The second night was worse than the first and we actually asked just to tell us what was available as there were so many things not there.?we asked for 3 fish dishes but there was only one.We heard that there was only one chef on duty which probably explains the very long wait for anything we got. We were offered drinks to recompense us which was fine but an apology for a long wait for food and for hardly any choice would have been appreciated -even the next day when it was mentioned to reception on paying the bill, there was no apology - just a comment that there had been a meeting with the head chef that morning and everything was now "sorted"- not much good to us the night before. It is a nice hotel in s good situation but our group felt that it wasn't quite up to MacDonald hotel standard

Tracey Burns said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2017

We have been visiting St Andrews for over 20 years, we booked our stay at Rusacks as part of my husbands birthday celebrations as we have stayed here previously. We were not disappointed in our DB&B deal. Our room was to the front of the hotel with fabulous views of the golf course (much to my husbands delight), as well as sea and beach views. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious offering us a little luxury during our stay. We visited both restaurants Rocco, & The One Under during our stay, Rocco was also the location for breakfast. The food and service at Rocio was excellent, definitely worth a visit,. The food at one under was good offering more main stream to suit all pockets, however the service knowledge and experience of staff were of a lower standard compared to Rocco. We found staff at the hotel to be friendly and helpful. We would recommend a stay at The Rusacks for any visitors as the setting, location, and hotel are well appointed for all St Andrews has to offer.