Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Popinjay Hotel & Spa, Rosebank

15 Lanark Road, Rosebank, ML85QB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Margaret Farrell said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2019

Great 2 night break and although the hotel itself is in need of refurbishment the staff were superb the food especially breakfast was very good The on site swimming pool was also a great size !!

maureen Sandford said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd April 2019

Excellent

peter turner said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th April 2019

Enjoyable stay Thank you for easy access room

Gail Stewart said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

I went to the Popinjay for an overnight spa. Staff very welcoming & cosy atmosphere in the bar. All facilities very clean & tidy. Room was lovely & very spacious. Dinner was included, there was a really good choice & portions were reasonable, the meal was perfect & to top it all a glass of wine was included!!! The only slightly down side was breakfast which is a pity because that is the last memory you have of the hotel. The plates for the hot buffet were cold & the hot buffet was itself dried out & there wasn't much of a selection for cold buffet.

Mrs Allan said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th March 2019

Excellent stay at the Popinjay. Great value. Fantastic leisure facilities. Lovely breakfast and lunch menu. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Room could perhaps benefit from an update but spotlessly clean. Noisy in main road side bedrooms.

maureen chalmers said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th March 2019

We had another brilliant stay . Staff are great . Room (18) is spotless . We ask for that room all the time. Food is delicious. Love the new set dinner menu . Stayed here loads of times . Looking forward to our next visit

liz russell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd March 2019

Lovely overnight with friends. Excellent value. The food was amazing and we commended the chef on this. Staff were very helpful and pleasant especially the cheery waiter we had for dinner. Enjoyed the pool and sauna but the poolside relaxers need to be updated as do the carpets in most parts of the hotel. Overall though we would definitely return.

R Barron said...

60%
40%
60%
80%

Stayed 25th February 2019

Room 2 looks a bit tired and needs extra attention from house keeping . Road noise was very intrusive.

A guest said...

54%
40%
80%
40%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Little dissappointed with the lack of small detail in room - Guest Information has a few torn plastic inserts and no information whatsoever. Carpet was filthy and badly stained and this was the case for carpets throughout the hallway. Staff very pleasant, leisure facilities were good but my meal was another let down by being served a terrible cut of sirloin. Explained to waitress it was cooked lovely but unfortunately the cut I was given was not edible, waitress I must say handled it very well and did offer another steak which I declined.

maureen Sandford said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th February 2019

Excellent service, checked in really quickly, our Grandaughter Madison loved the pool, really nice and clean, sauna and jaccuzi also great. Room was normal as rooms go, very squeaky floor boards, everything normal for what we paid for. Food excellent . Only negative was traffic noice early morning.

David Armstrong said...

64%
10%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2019

Very deceiving.... I upgraded the room twice to superior deluxe as the pics said and looked amazing. You don't get told that the pics are from the refurbed side of the hotel and you get put in a very old scabby room with stains all over the carpet and not nice at all

faith friery said...

60%
0%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th February 2019

Tired hotel in need of an update! Room 32 was a good size room but very old fashioned, furniture is dated and desperately needing replaced! Had the worse night sleep as the room faces onto the main road, old wooden framed windows done nothing to exclude the noise of the night traffic continually passing up and down the road. Bathroom has been modernised however bath panel is broken at the end along with toilet seat! Simple things to be fixed but clearly not a priority!! Restaurant staff were the best part of the overnight, lovely attentive and really friendly, they interacted with the guests and gave their opinions on what’s the best food on the menu! Food was plentiful and delicious, chicken tempura was amazing!! Huge portion, steak pie delicious as was the stroganoff. Great selection of specialty gins but no gin glasses! Breakfast (no buffet) standard cooked breakfast nothing fancy or delightful. Plenty tea and coffee and again great waiting staff. Overall the food made this but definitely wouldn’t rush back.

FRANCES ELY said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th February 2019

Lovely stay; staff extremely welcoming and couldn’t do enough to make us (and our wee dog) feel welcome and at home. Nice view to garden, lovely meal in restaurant, great coffee and wine all reasonably priced. Many thanks, will return ?

susan monaghan said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th February 2019

Really enjoyed our stay, lovely room which was warm, all staff very friendly especially the guys in restaurant and bar. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Rosemary Boyd said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th January 2019

Stayed one night with friend. Very nice hotel. Reception room and bar had nice decor and had a cosy atmosphere. Good leisure facilities and refreshing to see that the local children had use of the hotel swimming pool. Conveniently situated in the countryside with a couple of Garden Centres within walking distance. Lanark was only about 8 miles away. Excellent food and good value for money. Only negative comment is that the shower in our room was not reliable, taking literally a good 10 minutes of running the water before it became warm enough to get washed in. Not ideal. However when reported to staff they dealt with the problem very quickly and efficiently. Would certainly stay in this hotel again.

frances burns said...

54%
0%
60%
100%

Stayed 27th January 2019

On arrival Total disgrace from front of house staff! Booked specific room and confirmed by calling ahead of booking to clarify it to be told our room had been given away to earlier guests even although we arrived at checkin time. Then after being showed 3 different rooms finally got something suitable, but no fruit basket in room as booked and paid for throughout our stay! This was refunded at checkout with an apology! The room was icy cold with no heating on in January in Scotland ?while at dinner staff put 2 oil filled heaters in room which although were unsightly did heat room! Daytime manager was unhelpful and said she’d investigate booking problems the following day, even although it was very apparent that we had been poorly treated! nighttime manager gave free dinner and drinks all night to compensate and I must say food and tails were great ?,

Alice Devine said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th January 2019

We had another lovely Sunday Night Saver in the Popinjay last weekend with lovely dinner and breakfast. Parts of the hotel is needing refurbished and we had one room already done and it was very comfortable, but the other room was cold as the windows were very old and draughty. There is a small pool which we enjoyed and some nice Garden Centres within walking distance.

Susan Angus said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th January 2019

Pool could’ve have done to be a wee bit warmer, and my husband didn’t get a hot shower at night, though he did in the morning, but overall we did enjoy our stay,

Lewis Chris said...

47%
60%
20%
60%

Stayed 16th January 2019

Stayed here on 16th January and was disappointed with hotel. It was a long walk to room and felt we were never getting there. Seen many carpet stains along the way. Room was too warm and temperature control was broke on floor. phoned reception but no answer. Room was at front and traffic kept us awake. Bed was a small double so didn't have much room. Pool was cold and there was no steam room. There was no handrail into jacuzzi. Breakfast was ok and waiter was friendly but seemed to be on his own. Receptionist didn't ask if we enjoyed our stay ...we had to tell her. Wouldn't hurry back as we had to go home for a sleep. Had a nice Chinese meal up in lanark

Lynsay Beggs said...

85%
N/A
90%
80%

Stayed 12th January 2019

The 'classic room ' was a mess how on earth this room was showable I will never no it was like walking into a room where someone had died the carpet had a huge stain the smell was unbearable everything was old not even a head board on the bed. The room was very very old. After speaking to reception they upgraded us.to be very honest this has put me of using your sit as this room wasn't advertised on your photo. Least when I book it myself I know what I'm booking. I booked this for my husband's 30th I was so embarrassed at the room and it wasted my afternoon tea because I thought i was going to need to go home I wasn't for staying in that room.

Carol Taylor said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Arrived at the hotel and received an extremely warm and friendly welcome from reception and quick check in. The room we had was spacious and nice decor and had all facilities we needed. Had pre-booked lunch which was from a set menu and had plenty to choose from. The food was lovely and service great. Had a great wee overnite stay which was down to the excellent service by friendly staff who couldn’t do enough for you. Will definitely be back next time will need to the spa treatments.

Leeanne Pearce said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

We had a lovely overnight for my husband's birthday. The food was delicious and the staff were so friendly too.

Dawn McCann said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th December 2018

This was our second stay at th Popinjay and once again we had an amazing night. Staf friendly, food delicious and love having the use of the immaculate swimming pool and sauna it really is a great hotel and even fabulous price when booked with the deal through this site

Lisa Johnstone said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th December 2018

The Popinjay Hotel & Spa was lovely! The receptionist Steven was lovely also! Great service and drinks weren't too dear either! Would highly recommend!

kenneth smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2018

Fantastic stay, lovely meal, staff very friendly will definitely go back