Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Popinjay Hotel & Spa, Rosebank

15 Lanark Road, Rosebank, ML85QB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

David Armstrong said...

64%
10%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2019

Very deceiving.... I upgraded the room twice to superior deluxe as the pics said and looked amazing. You don't get told that the pics are from the refurbed side of the hotel and you get put in a very old scabby room with stains all over the carpet and not nice at all

faith friery said...

60%
0%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th February 2019

Tired hotel in need of an update! Room 32 was a good size room but very old fashioned, furniture is dated and desperately needing replaced! Had the worse night sleep as the room faces onto the main road, old wooden framed windows done nothing to exclude the noise of the night traffic continually passing up and down the road. Bathroom has been modernised however bath panel is broken at the end along with toilet seat! Simple things to be fixed but clearly not a priority!! Restaurant staff were the best part of the overnight, lovely attentive and really friendly, they interacted with the guests and gave their opinions on what’s the best food on the menu! Food was plentiful and delicious, chicken tempura was amazing!! Huge portion, steak pie delicious as was the stroganoff. Great selection of specialty gins but no gin glasses! Breakfast (no buffet) standard cooked breakfast nothing fancy or delightful. Plenty tea and coffee and again great waiting staff. Overall the food made this but definitely wouldn’t rush back.

FRANCES ELY said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th February 2019

Lovely stay; staff extremely welcoming and couldn’t do enough to make us (and our wee dog) feel welcome and at home. Nice view to garden, lovely meal in restaurant, great coffee and wine all reasonably priced. Many thanks, will return ?

susan monaghan said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th February 2019

Really enjoyed our stay, lovely room which was warm, all staff very friendly especially the guys in restaurant and bar. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Rosemary Boyd said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th January 2019

Stayed one night with friend. Very nice hotel. Reception room and bar had nice decor and had a cosy atmosphere. Good leisure facilities and refreshing to see that the local children had use of the hotel swimming pool. Conveniently situated in the countryside with a couple of Garden Centres within walking distance. Lanark was only about 8 miles away. Excellent food and good value for money. Only negative comment is that the shower in our room was not reliable, taking literally a good 10 minutes of running the water before it became warm enough to get washed in. Not ideal. However when reported to staff they dealt with the problem very quickly and efficiently. Would certainly stay in this hotel again.

frances burns said...

54%
0%
60%
100%

Stayed 27th January 2019

On arrival Total disgrace from front of house staff! Booked specific room and confirmed by calling ahead of booking to clarify it to be told our room had been given away to earlier guests even although we arrived at checkin time. Then after being showed 3 different rooms finally got something suitable, but no fruit basket in room as booked and paid for throughout our stay! This was refunded at checkout with an apology! The room was icy cold with no heating on in January in Scotland ?while at dinner staff put 2 oil filled heaters in room which although were unsightly did heat room! Daytime manager was unhelpful and said she’d investigate booking problems the following day, even although it was very apparent that we had been poorly treated! nighttime manager gave free dinner and drinks all night to compensate and I must say food and tails were great ?,

Alice Devine said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th January 2019

We had another lovely Sunday Night Saver in the Popinjay last weekend with lovely dinner and breakfast. Parts of the hotel is needing refurbished and we had one room already done and it was very comfortable, but the other room was cold as the windows were very old and draughty. There is a small pool which we enjoyed and some nice Garden Centres within walking distance.

Susan Angus said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th January 2019

Pool could’ve have done to be a wee bit warmer, and my husband didn’t get a hot shower at night, though he did in the morning, but overall we did enjoy our stay,

Lewis Chris said...

47%
60%
20%
60%

Stayed 16th January 2019

Stayed here on 16th January and was disappointed with hotel. It was a long walk to room and felt we were never getting there. Seen many carpet stains along the way. Room was too warm and temperature control was broke on floor. phoned reception but no answer. Room was at front and traffic kept us awake. Bed was a small double so didn't have much room. Pool was cold and there was no steam room. There was no handrail into jacuzzi. Breakfast was ok and waiter was friendly but seemed to be on his own. Receptionist didn't ask if we enjoyed our stay ...we had to tell her. Wouldn't hurry back as we had to go home for a sleep. Had a nice Chinese meal up in lanark

Lynsay Beggs said...

85%
N/A
90%
80%

Stayed 12th January 2019

The 'classic room ' was a mess how on earth this room was showable I will never no it was like walking into a room where someone had died the carpet had a huge stain the smell was unbearable everything was old not even a head board on the bed. The room was very very old. After speaking to reception they upgraded us.to be very honest this has put me of using your sit as this room wasn't advertised on your photo. Least when I book it myself I know what I'm booking. I booked this for my husband's 30th I was so embarrassed at the room and it wasted my afternoon tea because I thought i was going to need to go home I wasn't for staying in that room.

Carol Taylor said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Arrived at the hotel and received an extremely warm and friendly welcome from reception and quick check in. The room we had was spacious and nice decor and had all facilities we needed. Had pre-booked lunch which was from a set menu and had plenty to choose from. The food was lovely and service great. Had a great wee overnite stay which was down to the excellent service by friendly staff who couldn’t do enough for you. Will definitely be back next time will need to the spa treatments.

Leeanne Pearce said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

We had a lovely overnight for my husband's birthday. The food was delicious and the staff were so friendly too.

Dawn McCann said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th December 2018

This was our second stay at th Popinjay and once again we had an amazing night. Staf friendly, food delicious and love having the use of the immaculate swimming pool and sauna it really is a great hotel and even fabulous price when booked with the deal through this site

Lisa Johnstone said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th December 2018

The Popinjay Hotel & Spa was lovely! The receptionist Steven was lovely also! Great service and drinks weren't too dear either! Would highly recommend!

kenneth smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2018

Fantastic stay, lovely meal, staff very friendly will definitely go back

Charlene Mclaughlin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2018

Excellent hotel with friendly staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the room we had 02 was beautiful and spacious. Will definitely return.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th December 2018

Rooms were a little small but other than that a beautiful hotel. Servers were lovely and donner was brilliant. We had a great night

Stuart Poulton said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd December 2018

My wife and I stayed overnight for a wee break away on a £69 dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We were both quite happy with what we received for that amount of money. It's not 5 star but it's not claiming to be that. Decor is a little tired but room and beds were comfortable enough. Fair sized pool and nice warm jacuzzi. Quality of the food in the restaurant was very good and suited both of us. If you don't set yourself up with pre conceived notions of grandeaur then you get exactly what you are paying for. I would most heartdly stay here again on this basis.

J Malaly said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2018

Lovely hotel, room was good, we used the pool and sauna. Staf very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Food was nice as well. We would go back to the hotel in the future.

A guest said...

40%
10%
50%
60%

Stayed 26th November 2018

We got an very old and narrow Doubleroom.Also it was very noisy due to aircondions radiators just below our window. I had first booked the hotel via expedia, but then cancelled it there, because I found the much better offer on myhotelbreak.com. ( nearly same price as expedia, but including dinner worth 40.- pounds etc.) Until the rebooking the email contact was very friendly, afterwards cooled down. I think it was because of the profit of the hotel decreased. I think this is also the reason, why we got this very narrow not renovated room.But this is not my fault. myhotelbreak should keep an eye on it!

A guest said...

40%
20%
50%
50%

Stayed 24th November 2018

Room VERY small and dated Musty smell Shower very low partner had to take it off wall to shower himself Food was ok but some items were cold Waited ages after asking for toast at breakfast to receive cold toast Wouldn’t return unless room was updated

James Cook said...

57%
50%
60%
60%

Stayed 22nd November 2018

It was ok for the money , gym , pool and sauna ideal ...really creeky floorboards in room and dinner a bit expensive ....tattie scones and browns should not be deep fried !! ..omelette was delicious

Leanne Downie said...

87%
100%
60%
100%

Stayed 23rd November 2018

Hotel was beautiful, food was amazing and the room we stayed it was great. Staff were very friendly and attentive in the spa and restaurant facilities however the reception staff were very ignorant and seemed to look down their nose at us as we arrived also when we left. We didn't get a goodbye hope you enjoyed your stay or anything. Felt very uncomfortable when having to approach them. Overall apart from the obvious and very lovely stay.

Tom Kirkpatrick said...

64%
60%
60%
70%

Stayed 22nd November 2018

Had a nice night at the Popinjay but could have been a lot better, room was clean but a little disappointing for a deluxe. Hall and stair carpets badly stained. Dinner in the restaurant was a disaster, cannot fault the lovely young staff it was the kitchen that fell short. Had to chase our starter after 40 mins, it was only soup, manager said the kitchen thought we had had it and would we just take our main course as it was on cooking and they would give us a free dessert in lieu of a starter, as dessert was included I said no we wanted our soup, this arrived but was not hot enough but didn’t want to sent it back. Our burgers were over cooked but again did not send it back. Sticky toffee pudding arrived but was advised there had been complaints about it being too cold so could I try it, yep it was cold so it was sent back. We did get a complimentary drink to compensate but to be honest this was just not acceptable. We were not on the only table to have issues, the staff seemed to be apologising to a lot of tables. The meal was spoiled by this time, it’s a shame as it could have been lovely. Bar was nice and busy for a Thursday night. Breakfast was good and the service from the kitchen was spot on this time. Think they need to call in Gordon Ramsay to sort the kitchen out!

maureen chalmers said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st November 2018

This was my 5th stay at this hotel and it never disappoints. We always ask for room 18 . Room is spotless. Bed is huge and linen white and crisp. Plenty of white fluffy towels. Staff throughout are fantastic. Nothing is a bother to them. Only downside this visit was the menu which has been slimmed down way too much and prices have been raised too. Chef did however make my husband could eat on both nights . We werent the only people to complain about the menu . So thats something I hope is looked at and adjusted. Food was delicious though. Breakfast was great and huge portions. Leisure facilities are fantastic. We had the whole pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves . Ive got another 2 breaks here in February and March . Just love this hotel . And also love the great deals we get from yourselves