Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel, East Kilbride

Strathaven Road, East Kilbride, G750QZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

78%

fiona clark said...

50%
60%
60%
30%

Stayed 18th March 2022

disappointed with the food both at breakfast and lunch. the breakfast was barely warm. The sandwiches in the bar weren't fresh and seemed as if the bread had been left out

Patricia Aitken said...

64%
60%
50%
80%

Stayed 18th March 2022

We had a lovely stay but on discovering we were allocated a double room instead of a twin I went to reception where I was told no it was a twin I went to show her my booking but she seemed disinterested ,she went into office returned saying there were none available at this I informed her of information as to why a twin is important to me but again just repeated no rooms available, I then informed her I would contact booking company which I did , no one from hotel tried to contact me or even say how mix up occurred I honestly felt the girl on reception just dismissed me not good for such an establishment

Gayle Campbell said...

60%
90%
60%
30%

Stayed 25th February 2022

Our stay was just 'OK'. Not really the usual standard I'd expect from a MacDonald hotel. Outside and grounds are beautiful, as is the reception area and lounge. The rest of the hotel is just a bit tired. The pool area especially. Was too bothered as we got a great deal on the room, but would have been upset if I had paid more. The restaurant was awful - first our reservation was lost (along with a few other couples), so we were asked to wait in the lounge - OK, these things happen. £21 for 2x G&Ts while we waited. When we got dinner, the wine we ordered wasn't available, and the dinner had obviously been sitting under a hot plate for a while. Breakfast wasn't much better. The food again was just OK, but we waited 25minutes for a tea/coffee & toast order to be taken. The breakfast room was full of dirty tables and there just weren't enough staff (not the fault of the staff who were there and trying their best). Could heveral others complaining at breakfast so hope this is enough for the hotel to react and help those staff out. They were run off their feet. On the plus side, the bed was great - so comfy. Best night sleep I've had in ages.

Martha Brolly said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 4th February 2022

Had a lovely stay at this hotel leisure facilities were great and breakfast brilliant no complaints from me thank you ?

David Hamilton said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th January 2022

Had a lovely stay,good room maybe needing a curtain renewal. Room was comfortable and warm. Good breakfast and pleasant helpful staff. Special shout ou to Jordan the operations manger, after being let down with a local taxi firm, he gave my friend and I a lift in his own car to the shopping centre. Above and beyond his duties but also very kind. The crusher land hotel is lucky to have staff like him.

Linda Mckelvey Hewitson said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 9th January 2022

Lovely hotel..and leisure facilities well worth £30

Julia Falconer said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 5th January 2022

Wifi not the best but the rest of the stay was amazing would reccomend.

A guest said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 3rd January 2022

Arrived to find out we had been booked into a double room instead of a twin,had to wait a bit for that to be changed and receptionist brought us a tea and a coffee. Room was fine with 2 double beds qhen we did get into room ,all clean and tidy. When we asked if it was staggered times for restaurant we were informed that as we were on bed and breakfast deal we couldn't eat in restaurant as only those booked on dbb could do so! something to do with staffing yet all in hotel could eat breakfast? We were then told we could have a delivery sent in which we did.also wanted to check price of bottle of beer a d wine compared to where we were ordering food from only to be told bar was completely closed! so drinks ordered from where we got food from. Just found it strange re the restaurant situation and that pool was open but bar closed! ( we are not big drinkers but would have been nice to sit either in other areas or restaurant ) but were in room all the time. So although we had a sort of chilled night away it could have been better. Ihad tried to contact hotel directly a few times before our stay to check if there were further restrictions but got no answer either from calls or email.So knew nothing about staffing issues which compounded on ours and others stay. Staff were friendly and did do what they could it just put a bit of a dampner on things .Could have stayed at home and got a just eat delivery.

alan brodie said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th December 2021

Had a great stay. Room had everything we needed. Really enjoyed the large pool. Great service at breakfast.

Karen Farrell said...

70%
100%
40%
70%

Stayed 29th December 2021

Check in didnt go to smoothly as there was only 1 room booked on the system and it was a double not 2 twin rooms so that took a bit of time to sort

Louise Bailey said...

70%
40%
100%
70%

Stayed 26th September 2020

The staff are friendly and helpfully. We found the rooms dated and the mattresses uncomfortable however the overall experience was positive and we'd definitely return to use the facilities.

Karen Crawford said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th September 2020

The hotel was lovely , it was quiet but think that was due to COVID. Food was lovely. We had king size room which was beautiful. Don’t following the postcode on this site as it takes you to the zoo.!

Tracey Gray said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th September 2020

Lovely hotel and rooms lovely and clean but not a great view from our window. Food great and staff were very helpful and pleasant.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th September 2020

Staff excellent from front to restaurant. Room clean and comfortable. Food served (evening meal & breakfast) were of a very high standard. Very enjoyable. Bar comfortable.

Lynn Mcgrogan said...

77%
90%
60%
80%

Stayed 29th August 2020

Took ages to find given the the postcode from the booking was incorrect. Ended up sitting us mega traffic through the country park for over half an hour . No draught lager was a disappointment. And most drinks were overpriced

A guest said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 27th August 2020

Lovely hotel Pleasant staff Good food Tv kept auto switching off Toilet flush not working properly

Linda Morton said...

87%
100%
70%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2020

Service in dinning room in evening was slow, we sat for 15minutes before being given a menu. Then when we ordered they only had one steak and none of the wine we had ordered. Reakfast same had ran out of certain things. But food and wine we took as 2nd choice was excellent.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th November 2016

Beautiful building and comfortable lounge areas. Well thought out bedroom with all necess in room. Would loved to have stayed longer. Definitely look for opportunity to return.

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th November 2016

enjoyed our stay breakfast was good plenty to eat

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2016

Hotel and food very nice, but décor is a little dated and hotel needs to be refurbished. Classy hotel that does things very well, very clean and staff were exceptionally nice. Would recommend this hotel and would visit again

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2016

I've stayed at the Crutherland on a number of occasions and have always found it to be a pleasant stay when in East Kilbride on business. The rooms are comfortable, warm and well appointed and I have always found the staff friendly and unfazed - even when the booking agents we use have mucked up a reservation. My only real criticism is that the Hotel gets totally rammed full when a wedding has been booked and car parking can be a bit difficult. On the plus side, the bar food is excellent and reasonably priced. Definitely my Hotel of choice in EK!

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2016

Impressive driveway leading up to this hotel. Warm Scottish welcome on arrival. Good size room, clean and with expected amen. Didn't get chance to use the pool or leisure facil- but they looked good. All the staff were friendly and welcoming Dinner in the restaurant was excellent Scottish Mackerel to Starr 21day aged beef Rump Great breakfast to start the day Will definitely return