Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Killin Hotel, Killin

Main Street, Killin, FK218TP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

75%

Denise Miller said...

57%
40%
80%
50%

Stayed 18th July 2021

Average hotel.

Gail Manley said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Turned up to the hotel to be told we weren't booked into the room we had paid for, after reception speaking to the manager we were refunded the extra paid and given dinner on the 2nd night. Our bags were moved across to the room we had booked the next day. Staff were absolutely lovely and great at their job. We spoke briefly to Justin a 15 year old boy who had been serving us on the Thursday and Friday night. What a lovely young man and again great at his job. Thank you so much for a very enjoyable 2 nights away. We will return

Michael Doherty said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 11th July 2021

Lovely setting but room just acceptable size for a double. Hard to believe alterations haven't been made to imize number of rooms. Food was average apart from steak pie itself. Ample tasty steak.

Karen Gordon said...

74%
40%
80%
100%

Stayed 7th July 2021

On arrival we had to wait 20 minutes for room as it wasnt ready. On entering roomhad to go in 1 at a time as was really small. I went to make a cup of coffee and found cups and spoon not washed and dirty. Got clean ones from reception. Went to have a shower and found the bath a mess. Looks like was painted and was flaking was horrible. Turned on the lever for shower and came of in my hand. Not great impression. Got moved rooms after and this was better.

Karen Crane said...

37%
40%
40%
30%

Stayed 4th July 2021

All staff working so hard at a difficult time doing thier very best not always right 1st time but friendly smiling and helpful (poppy was exceptionally good) however first impressions upon arrival were very bad after visiting the public toilet in reception, toilets themselves clean but cubicals very unclean, sanitary bins had no way been uplifted cleaned or changed for ages as just as dirty dusty as rest of cubicle, doors etc. However pleased to say annex room was lovely, very clean but as a dog friendly hotel the room did have a faint smell of dog. Shower powerful and also bathroom clean. Annex has staff living above and can be noisy when they return late at night from work. one day had to complain as very very loud thudding music was played but this was sorted out asap. Breakfast very good, sandwiches excellent but some dinner menu food let them down. My chicken with haggis mash had day old dried up veg, my fault for not pointing this out on the day. I knew it was a day old as same fresh veg day before. Salad garnish each day was either old or crushed as leaves were very wilted some being mushy, are they cutting corners due to lockdown and revenue loss? Would we return? Yes if we could have a room in the hotel but where no dogs had been in.

A guest said...

54%
40%
40%
80%

Stayed 1st July 2021

We visited the hotel early 2019 and had a lovely stay and were looking forward to returning and showing my daughter and grandson a good visit however we were all very disappointed. The rooms looked fine when we entered but once in there was no toilet paper in the bathroom and it was obvious that when the bathroom floor had been cleaned with the door open so behind the door was not cleaned. In the other room a crisp packet from the previous guest was left in the drawer between the beds you would think with the current conditions extra care in cleaning rooms would be in place. If you wanted the room cleaned during the stay you had to request this from reception. We sat down to dinner at 7.30pm, one of us had a starter but our main was served at 8.45pm!!! And the drooling dog at the table opposite ours was a bit off putting! The meal itself was good eventually! We would not return to the hotel.

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 28th June 2021

Bed was uncomfortable

jack murray said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st July 2021

Very good hotel, food excellent,would definitely recommend.

Margaret Brown said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 30th June 2021

Really enjoyed my stay at the hotel food was really good .

A guest said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 19th June 2021

Arrived 10 mins early and told to come back to check in. Booked hotel room but were put in the annexe. Breakfast was good but dinner was disappointing. Instant mash and frozen chicken and veg. Didn’t have first and second choice of desert.

David Strafford said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st June 2021

Stay was excellent, location and scenery absolutely stunning, midges around, so you would need a good insect repellent. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Food was first class and the menu extensive. Beer prices good, wine per glass reasonable, cheaper to buy a bottle though. Four poster bedroom was lovely with a river view outlook though the shower was a tight squeeze. Would highly recommend The Killin Hotel

A guest said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 19th June 2021

Arrived 10 mins early and told to come back to check in. Booked hotel room but were put in the annexe. Breakfast was good but dinner was disappointing. Instant mash and frozen chicken and veg. Didn’t have first and second choice of desert.

David Strafford said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st June 2021

Stay was excellent, location and scenery absolutely stunning, midges around, so you would need a good insect repellent. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Food was first class and the menu extensive. Beer prices good, wine per glass reasonable, cheaper to buy a bottle though. Four poster bedroom was lovely with a river view outlook though the shower was a tight squeeze. Would highly recommend The Killin Hotel

stephanie finnigan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st June 2021

Lovely hotel. Service was outstanding, staff could not have been more helpful. Lovely food and good selection on the menu

Charmaine Mcdade said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 20th June 2021

Had a lovely stay, staff are great but the walls are thin and you hear everything.

Thomas Prentice said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th June 2021

Nice hotel clean tidy good food and service

Gill Ward said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th June 2021

We stayed for 2 nights in Annex 3 in mid-June. The staff were wonderful. All so very happy to see guests, nothing was too much trouble, and always with a smile. The food was outstanding! The only supplement in our "meal deal" stay was the Steak, which was to be expected. The starters were fresh, large and so, so yummy! And the Lamb Madras was one of the best we'd ever tasted. Breakfast was huge.... tasty and efficiently served! Again, all with a smile ? Can't recommend highly enough. Lovely, lovely break.

Bill Mason said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 15th June 2021

Lovely location, nice staff and dog friendly. Difficult times with the pandemic meaning unusual arrangements, especially to order and pay for meals via your mobile. Everything was reasonable for the price, season and pandemic - beds/ mattress were a bit tired (no pun intended) and this affected my wife's sleep. Tell the refuse collection people and hotel delivery people to come a little later, as they make a racket at 07.30... Ask for a room overlooking the loch (if you can) and give the chip van around the corner a try - lovely grub and kind on the pocket. We would go back and you get the lovely Scottish Highlands for free...

Jim Robb said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th June 2021

Poor WiFi service. Tv not tuned for BBC stations.

Cindy Armstrong said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th June 2021

We had a lovely two nights stay at the Killin Hotel. All staff were friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. We stayed in the main building and our room and bathroom were very clean. We had dinner both nights and the food was good as were the house wine and lager. Hotel a wee bit tired but very good value for money we thought. Beautiful setting by the river with wonderful views. Lots of dogs in the hotel too and good to see they were made very welcome too. We will be back. Thank you.

Michelle Nield said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th June 2021

Perfectly lovely stay for our Anniversary. We even had a card placed in our room! Evening meals were really good, great choice, good portions. Breakfast just needs a little tweaking yet but I’m sure they will get there! All hotels are struggling with recruiting staff so a little understanding is required. All the staff were very pleasant, the hotel was busy, which was great to see, the room was lovely and they are dog friendly- all good!

alan deans said...

64%
80%
50%
60%

Stayed 1st June 2021

Liked the form which we had to submit before 9pm for our breakfast requirements. They have a app for ordering the meals, which we did not use but told the waiter our order, we waited 45mins for fish& chips. I am ok with dogs but don't agree with them being in the dinning room as there was a few disagreements with other dogs. Staff were good and the place has a great view.

Grace Stevenson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th May 2021

hotel clean, staff attentive , lovely setting surrounded by hills , we had a room with two windows and lovely view over the country side

Kimberley Hunter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd May 2021

Great hotel, lovely staff beautiful scenery. Lovely, comfy rooms in tartan giving the great Scottish feeling room perfect size for 2.

Rose Sheridan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd May 2021

We have stayed at the Killin Hotel a few times now and always find it very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and the rooms clean and tidy. We felt very safe and everything was done to make it that way, with cleaning and socially distancing. The food as always was delicious.