Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Arrochar Hotel, Arrochar

Main Street, Arrochar, G837AU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

roy thomson said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd August 2022

Although this hotel can do with TLC it didn't take away from the service we received. Staff are a credit to the hotel, nothing was too much bother. Rooms were clean, food was good, brvice excellent.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st August 2022

Nice hotel in a stunning location, the room we had (215) was a bit on the small side, and the mattress was in need of an upgrade, however this is a minor gripe as the view from the room onto the loch was beautiful. The food was excellent and all members of staff were very friendly and cheerful.

Roslyn Connell said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 30th July 2022

This is not the first time we've stayed here. Very easy check-in with a friendly receptionist. The room, whilst quite small, was perfectly adequate for the one night we were staying. The bar staff were very knowledgeable about their drinks on display. We were staying dinner, bed and breakfast. The table d'ote menu was very good and plenty of choices - only problem was trying to pick what to have. James was wonderful and a good laugh. There was entertainment and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The breakfast was buffet style but someone stood behind the buffet and decided how much you were to have - didn't like that. The food had obviously been standing out under the heat lamp for a while and, especially the eggs, were a bit rubbery. The pillows could have been thicker and I needed 3. All in all, it won't stop me coming back.

Edward Megan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th July 2022

Room basic but clean. Looked out onto the loch ?Bathroom needs bit of work re mixing tap for shower as missing pull part but still got it to work . Overall sufficient for our needs. Staff very pleasant and efficient and great food. ??

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th July 2022

I would like to post a review about the Arrochar Hotel where we just spent a few days. The hotel location is really good, the staff very friendly and the food very good. However I would like to point out a few problems with the hotel from a disability problem. AT the front entrance there are five or six steps to negotiate to the front door and then another two or three steps inside before getting to the reception. Once in then there is a lift but as we were on the second floor there was another two steps to negotiate to get to our room. Luckily we had help with our case from other guests or it would have been difficult to negotiate these steps and as there seemed to be no other access we had to use the main entrance. Also I would like to point out that from a disability point of view the bathroom was not really suitable as the height of the bath was too high to step in and out of and the shower head itself being over the bath was fixed, but it was not really fixed in position, so in fact we did not use the shower/bath at all. Also the taps were very difficult to turn off. We also had a problem with the light into the room at the door itself which did not seem to work even though the bulb was replaced. Also the toilet seat was loose and we had to report both these items, which reception handled but the light at the door did work. However the staff as I say were very accommodating when I asked for a poached egg for my husband for his breakfast that was not a problem. The room was a good size and we did know that the shower was over the bath as we did not want a view over the car park which did have a walk in shower, but we just could not use the shower for our stay. The room had problems also with the windows causing draughts due to the fact that being turn and tilt windows obviously some guests or staff did not know how to open and shut them properly with a result the windows leaked a lot of wind. I know that the hotel is 19th Century but disability issues should be addressed, however despite all that we did enjoy our break. Hope this review helps the hotel to resolve some of its shortcomings as it really is set in a beautiful area and the scenery is spectacular.

Bill Thomas said...

95%
90%
100%
N/A

Stayed 30th May 2022

Easy check in with welcoming staff, comfortable bed and good food.

Kenneth Cross said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 14th May 2022

Hotel looking tired. Shower sprayed the bathroom. Included meal was uninspiring, broccoli and cauliflower soup just tasted of celery. Sugar cubes on tables is unhygienic. Fried eggs at breakfast were like rubber. Friendly staff, nice location, great views and live entertainment was a bonus.

David Graham said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th April 2022

We had a great couple of days at the Arrochar Hotel. The hotel is an old hotel, however very clean. The staff are amazingly friendly and attentive. The food is exceptionally good. The views are amazing. We've been here twice now over the last few years and will visit again. If you happen to be a hill walker, love the great outdoors and need a new base, try the Arrochar Hotel. I salute all the staff, first class!

Maureen McCallum said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd April 2022

We had a fantastic time here .Staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful .We had our little dog with us so couldn't use restaurant but they very kindly set up a table in the bar .Food was lovely and room great overlooking the loch .Will definitely go back there

Elizabeth Thomson said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th March 2022

Nice room over looking loch, with table and two comfy chairs at window, but let down by the beds and bed linen, one bed had sunk in the middle and quilts were old and not very clean. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and dining room waiter and waitresses very nice. Food was fine for a budget hotel. You only get what you pay for. Enjoyed our stay, except for the beds. Great location, overlooking Loch long and amazing scenery. Would stay again, but would mention the beds next time, iocated the same.

marlene monaghan said...

50%
70%
50%
30%

Stayed 29th March 2022

We hadn’t been here since covid and things have went downhill since then.Breakfast the bacon was hard and the eggs u could have bounced off the ground.We had meal 2 nd night and a friend had chicken balmoral and it wasn’t cooked properly.Barman still has a cheery face(not). Waitress was sour faced also.They still insist on having all the lights on in the lounge and it was very hot.All in All we won’t b back

William Mccloy said...

67%
50%
100%
50%

Stayed 28th March 2022

Hotel is tired and worn in need of a refurb.

gordon thomson said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th March 2022

Freindly staff

Margaret Johnston said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2022

Visited this hotel many times.. brilliant staff and service.. can't wait to go back..

A guest said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 22nd March 2022

Room was adequate Bathroom left a lot to be desired Outside areas could do with a good tidy up

ann shields said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th March 2022

Excellent location- beautiful views - lovely staff - very dog friendly - we will be back

cameron currie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th March 2022

Another fabulous break at this hotel. Food and staff were superb.

Caroline McShane said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2022

we had another lovely couple o days at the Arrochar Hotel a genuine dog friendly hotel which we LOVE !! Staff friendly and so helpful. BIG shout out to Adam, Sarah, Linda & Jim all FAB.

Roselyn Smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2022

Loved the place ,,straight i to our room opened windows full ,,view was beautiful, friendly staff lovely area

Anne Hughes said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 4th March 2022

Very fry and helpful. Central to the other hotels, pubs, walks, our dog loved it. The voucher deal was great for the price and what was on offer

mandy berry said...

67%
80%
90%
30%

Stayed 2nd March 2022

2 night stay with my friend. Rooms are dated ( but evidence of men working in bar area ) but spotless clean . Breakfast was nice and plenty hot choices, however evening meal consisted of tinned potatoes and frozen veg along with a freshly cooked chicken breast ( which was nice ) therefore only had 1 evening meal there . Bar didn’t open until 5 pm but we put that down to refurb and time of year . We would stay there again as for the price we couldn’t complain and the breakfast really was lovely I’d just avoid evening meal if that’s the norm . Staff we came across were pleasant apart from girl in dinning room who looked at her watch when I turned up at 9.20 , felt a bit uncomfortable as breakfast is available until 09.30 .

Jessica Prescott said...

45%
30%
60%
N/A

Stayed 28th February 2022

It’s a cheap hotel with a good location. The room was in serious need of an upgrade, especially the bathroom. My room was above the kitchen/dining area so was woken up early by noises such as door closing shut etc.

A guest said...

44%
40%
80%
10%

Stayed 25th February 2022

Hotel was quite tired looking But mostly quite clean The food not good There was also a smell of marijanna coming from the ladies toilets The saving grace was the comfy bed and the entertainment that was on at night I'm afraid we wouldn't rush back

Karen Mcnicol said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th February 2022

We had a lovely 2 nights at the hotel Arrochar, food was delicious, a think the should extend the bar menu into the restaurant. Think the rooms need a bit of TLC. They are outdated, will go back again good value for the money

Gwen Westley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th February 2022

Really good stay at this hotel