Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Arrochar Hotel, Arrochar

Main Street, Arrochar, G837AU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Gill Ward said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th January 2022

Absolutely stunning location and the food is superb. Beware, there is not a lot of menu choice with this deal, but if you're not fussy, then oh, how delicious! Breakfast is buffet style but filling and hot! The room was a stretch at "delux double" and definitely small (I never complain about the room size so it must have been compact!). No room to swing a cat, but luckily, we didn't bring one! ? Very clean, though a little cold when we arrived, it soon warmed up. We managed to squeeze in a boat trip on Loch Lomond, in January. Again, well worth the £14.50 each for the 90 minutes. And with the snow covered mountains, just beautiful. All in all, a lovely wee break. The Hotel is a little tired in areas, but the staff and service were superb!

Jjean Sylvia McCallum Ccowie said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd January 2022

We had a lovely relaxing 2 days in Arrocher. The meals were lovely , staff great but only thing was the coolness of the lounge at front door it was freezing. Hoping the renovations will address this problem and the heating or lack of in bedroom it was cold. The staff made us welcome and our wee furbaby Iona who was as good as gold. We just loved our stay here and we will be back. Comfy bed and warm welcome just what we needed after clans the new year. Thank you to the hotel staff it has not been an easy time for them. Much love Jim, Jean & Iona Cowie.. see you soon xx

A guest said...

67%
30%
80%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2022

Lovely location with mostly very friendly helpful staff, we stayed DBB and the food was amazing better than expected! Negative was that the room was not very clean, lots of dust on bedside tables and bed headboard...in addition carpet and bathroom floor covered in a powder or dust.

richard anderson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th December 2021

We enjoyed our stay very much,staff were nice and the food was good.we had a lovely view across the loch,comfy chairs at the window. It was a twin bedded room,one of the beds had springs coming through the mattress so the first night wasn’t a great sleep,on reporting the problem to the maids in the morning a brand new mattress was delivered within twenty minutes. Very impressed and a great nights sleep.

richard anderson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th December 2021

We enjoyed our stay very much,staff were nice and the food was good.we had a lovely view across the loch,comfy chairs at the window. It was a twin bedded room,one of the beds had springs coming through the mattress so the first night wasn’t a great sleep,on reporting the problem to the maids in the morning a brand new mattress was delivered within twenty minutes. Very impressed and a great nights sleep.

Mary Douglas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2021

Fantastic 2night stay with my friend and my dog. Could not fault staff or service.

Tracy Murray said...

50%
40%
60%
50%

Stayed 5th December 2021

I like the hotel for the views and again loch view room didn't disappoint. The hotel is pretty tired looking, lots of damp on walls and ceilings and the public toilets next to the bar were flooded for the duration of my stay.

J Torbet said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th December 2021

It was just what we needed especially on Sunday when you could not have asked for a better day weather wise hotel was nice and the food was very good

Sharlee Muir said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 4th December 2021

Very nice hotel. Clean and tidy. Room was great too. And the breakfast nothing to fault.

lorraine wilkie said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 1st December 2021

Great couple of days in this hotel , lovely room on the first floor with Loch view , very clean and bed although bit small was very comfy , yes the hotel is old and a bit tired was staff were all lovely and food in the restaurant was excellent, we ate for dinner ? on both nights and also breakfast which was really nice , will definitely be returning

John Brown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th November 2021

Hi all, A wee message just to let all the staff at Arrochar Hotel know, once again I had an amazing time in the hotel for my birthday it's the 3rd year in a row, I book this from the 29th November for a 2night break through myhotelbreak.com. I love the Loch views they are fantastic. I'll be booking it again next year. Thank you all. Mr John Brown

cameron currie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th November 2021

Had a great 1 night stay at Arrochar Hotel. Staff were very helpful and food was amazing.

Sandra Hossack said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th November 2021

Went to this hotel for a weekend break with friends and we had a fantastic time the staff where very helpful and couldn’t do enough to accommodate us. we booked a meal on the Saturday night and it was lovely could not have asked for better we would definitely return to this hotel.

A guest said...

50%
30%
90%
30%

Stayed 26th November 2021

The staff were really friendly, meals weren’t that great. Hotel was cold and badly needing a refurbish. Rates were good.

Roger Barr said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2021

Just spent a two night mid week break here at the Arrochar Hotel. On arrival at reception we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who dealt with us in a professional manner. Our room which was suitable overlooked Loch Long with fabulous views over the loch to Ben Arthur, this view certainly helped with the whole experience. Thankfully the room had an electric wall heater and a heated towel rail as we were unable to get the radiators working underneath the window, everything else was fine apart from the shower in the bath which we were unable to use due to lack of any water pressure. Due to the pandemic we were informed the room would not be cleaned and made up after the first night unless requested, this was very acceptable . The dining area is large and very nice, and probably because it was a winter mid week break was also quiet. There was an excellent choice of meals at dinner, they were very well presented, extremely tasty and exceedingly filling, the service was also at the correct pace. Breakfast was served from an area at the back of the large dinning room. There is a comfortable lounge seating area between the bar, reception and front entrance. The whole place is exceptionally clean and tidy and appeared covid safe. The staff throughout were remarkable, very friendly, very helpful and adaptable, well done. Remembering we are still in a pandemic, we felt safe at all times. The Arrochar Hotel is an old style hotel with character, has a great location, plenty parking and lovely friendly staff, we would certainly return and hopefully have a similar enjoyable break.

Ian Baird said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th November 2021

Very well located hotel for seeing the glorious scenery and exploring what Scotland has to offer. Loch Long was instrumental in the submarine theatre of WW2 and it’s right in front of you. The staff were very friendly and the meals were lovely. Breakfast had a chef on hand if you wanted something that wasn’t on the buffet. Defo recommend this hotel. Enjoy.

charles barr said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2021

Went for an overnight, great Hotel, paid extra for loch view, meals and staff brilliant, room was good size but let down by lack of maintenance, we intend to return next year for 2 nights, we would recommend it....?

Elaine Mcleod said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th November 2021

Hotel very tired ,room clean ,staf very nice and breakfast was lovely

William Watt said...

57%
10%
70%
90%

Stayed 13th November 2021

Room was very sp, no soap in the dispenser at the bathroom sink, went out for the day and when returned, room was not made up. When I checked with reception, I was informed there was a letter in my room informing me that the room would not be made up unless I requested this to happen, there was no letter. The receptionist arranged for clean towels to be sent to my room and when I made my bed up there was blood on the bed sheet, not my blood. One of two things, the sheets were not changed prior to my arrival or someone made the bed up with a sheet with a bloodstain on it. On informing the receptionish, she was shocked and arrange for the bed to be changed. Neither my wife nor myself could take a shower as we could not get the mixer taps to work. The two saving points were, they staff were really nice and the food was excellent. Hotel very tired and in need of refurbishment.

Caroline McShane said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2021

We enjoyed our first visit we requested ground floor that was done (there is a lift) staff very friendly a BIG shout out to Adam so helpful lovely lad nothing was an issue, Sarah dining room and Offer bar man also James assistant manger, we would certainly return, the food was also lovely, we would certainly return.

Ann-Marie McDonald said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th November 2021

First impressions nice hotel and friendly greeting and room was lovely and view was well worth the little extra the only thing about this was we were on the bottom floor and looked onto the car park and had cars parked right outside our window so when we opened curtains to enjoy view we felt we did not have the privacy so next time would ask for room on another floor. My main issue was our beds we had a twin room and mattress on both beds awful you could feel the springs and pillows were flat not worth having would advise hotel when doing up rooms consider beds and pillows. Our meal on first night was lovely but they don’t put the menu out till 5 o’clock and due to this on 2nd night we went along the road to the village inn who post their menu online in the morning so hotel lost us for the 2nd nights dinner due to menu not being available for us to look at so again would advise think about putting your menu on your notice board by lunchtime to allow guests to see what food is available for that night. You might keep guests in the hotel that way.

Georgina Ramage said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 5th November 2021

Hotel and staff very good enjoyed our stay breakfast was lovely plenty of choice bar meals ok but would have liked a healthier choice rather than chips or roast potatoes not a complaint just an opinion

Sandra Dewar said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th November 2021

We liked the hotel very nice and staff very helpful deffo b back again room was very nice n clean

Brian Shearey said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 21st October 2021

Generally satisfactory. Restaurant offers a 2 course + coffee dinner menu at £19 or 3 course + coffee at £25. Not particularly exciting and thought overpriced. There are different restaurant and bar a la carte menus with main courses at around £14, starters and sweets around £7. Again thought a bit over priced but maybe balances a low room price. Nice steak pie in the bar. The bar menu isn't available in the restaurant - pity when dogs are allowed in the bar (there were quite a few when we were there). Merging the menus would give a better choice in the restaurant. Breakfast was a good traditional Scottish buffet. Rooms have been refurbished and were very clean. Attention needed to detail like missing curtain hooks and broken basin plug chain to improve the overall impression. We had a fire false alarm. Staff direction was lacking and other customers were passing on the message that it was a false alarm. No fire alarm instructions in room. Emergency exits signposted in corridors - signs are high up and we actually missed them in the panic and took a wrong route to evacuate.

Anne Docherty said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th October 2021

Had a lovely few days hotel staff were so nice and attentive, room was very good with a great view of the water and lovely scenery, food was delicious would recommend to anyone and I will definitely go back .