Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Kenmore Hotel & 5-star Lodges, Kenmore

The Square, Kenmore, PH152NU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 26th November 2019

There is no doubt that the hotel is in a stunning setting. The hotel itself has had a makeover but there are a number of flaws. Lovely bathroom but they had left on the old door which didn’t close properly. Our evening meal was delicious- I wasn’t so impressed with the breakfast. It was lukewarm, poached eggs were solid and we had to use milk on table instead of having cold milk. A few things that would really pull standard up a bit.

Michelle knight said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

The score of 3 for the bedrooms is because the first room we had was disgraceful. I would give the second room an easy 8. Food score is for dinner in the restaurant, couldn't fault it. Best I have had in a while but breakfast would be a 4 at best. Staff deserve more than a 10 as nothing was too much bother for them. They do their company proud.

Anne Bunn said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2019

I booked this break before checking reviews on trip adviser. After looking at trip adviser, I contacted hotel with major concerns about comments made by previous guests. I received a reply from the hotel immediately with some reassuring comments. Our stay was just about perfect, service, warmth, character of an old hotel and food quality. The staf seemed very happy in their work, and they are a credit to the hotel industry.

Yvonne Yule said...

70%
40%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th November 2019

Such friendly staff, let down by the standard of the Hotel. In dire need of a facelift in public areas, and detail to general cleaning. No face flannels or tumblers in bathroom (or plastic cups). Minimal toiletries, tea tray accessories. Room had no wall art, headboards or valances on beds, therefore felt stark and unwelcoming.

Natasha Boyd said...

40%
50%
30%
40%

Stayed 19th October 2019

Kenmore is such a beautiful village to visit, it has lovely scenery & provides a relaxing stay. We book through hotel breaks after receiving a gift voucher for a night away. The hotel itself is dated, however, it is dreds of years old & quirky. Lovely little bar & places to relax with the fires going. The room myself & husband were in, was comfy & cosy. Again the rooms are dated & could be doing with a paint, the bathroom also had a mould issue. As our stay included DBB, we booked into the restaurant. Checked in & booked about 4pm, we were told that the only available time to have our meal was 8.30pm. Being 30wks pregnant this was a bit of an inconvenience due to the lateness of eating, we had no choice but to book for this time. There were items scored off the menu that weren't available & followed by the waiter providing further meals that weren't being served. A bit frustrating considering I'm limited in what I could eat at present. On ordering my meal, hallumi burger I was advised it was now a mushroom burger, I can't mushrooms. Received the wrong starter & when it finally arrived, the started of breaded brie was tiny. One piece & salad. My husband ordered steak, this had to be checked that the kitchen were stocked. Meals were OK but steak was tough & full of fat. As we had waited ages my husband was to gry to complain. Salmon & mashed tattie was overcooked. No steak knife offered, waited ages to get someone attention to continue with meals. Dessert was a shambles, nothing left on menu. Husband asked 3x times for his order of whisky, which is still yet to arrive. Waiting staff were too busy setting up for breakfast the next morning at 10.00pm & felt like we were getting rushed out of the restaurant. Breakfast was ok, good choice. dirty plates & cutlery though & no one around to speak too. All in all a frustrating experience & feel like it was a waste of a voucher experience but as Kenmore is such a lovely place & the only downside is the customer service which looking through previous reviews is not just a once off occurence. Which is a shame as it could be perfect.

Michael Paul said...

27%
30%
30%
20%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Nice hotel nice spot at they end of loch Tay, plenty of walking from there. Down side was the price of dinner and the wait for it, a burger is £15, or fish and chips £15, I had the steak and ale pie £15, came in a 3 inc can with a puff topping added later dinner was a let down at them prices. Breakfast was even worse as they ran out of food, and so you had to wait. Very poor service and a real let down

Dianne Barrett said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th October 2019

Had a wonderful stay at the kenmore hotel such a beautiful quaint place with stunning surroundings. Food was outstanding will definitely be back staff were very courteous and professional.

Frances Ross said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th September 2019

Very nice and welcoming hotel. Steeped in history. Lovely room and great food. Fantastic location. Nothing negative to say.

Carol Hynes said...

37%
30%
50%
30%

Stayed 28th September 2019

On arrival, checked in no problems went to room, room was a bit on the small side and nothing like shown on website, the room we were given was in the attic of the hotel with a very bad sloping roof above the bed and if you sat up you would bang your head (seems in our opinion that if you book on internet and get a deal you get the worst rooms in the Hotel this is not just on your website but through previous bookings we have came to this conclusion). Between 7-9pm there was a constant buzzing noise which we did not know where it was coming from it stopped around 9pm but came back on again at 10pm reported to reception who told us it was the fans from the Kitchen and would get them switched off, came on again just before 11pm and reported it again but this time the Chef came up and told us it was not his Fans (please remember our room was 2 floors up) it went off again but once again came back on at 4am and then again at 4.45am we were awake then and did not get back to sleep so therefore the next day we were very tired as from the lack of sleep (we went away to have a restfull and peacful weekend. In the morning when leaving Breakfast was luke warm and when put onto very cold plates it was cold by the time you got to your table. When checking out we mentioned above but also mentioned that there was no heat from radiator in bedroom was advised by reception that we need to turn Valves on (there were none on the radiator) when we mention this the girl on reception told us we had to contact them and they would get Maintenance to come and turn Valves on and off when required. We will not be returning to this hotel any time soon. We were lucky as we were going to book for 2 nights and changed our mind just at the last minute and only booked the one night. We have given reviews before and not had any response so would appreciate feedback please.

Ann Bentham said...

44%
40%
40%
50%

Stayed 2nd June 2019

We have been to this hotel before, for my mother in laws 90th birthday, it was very nice, this time we went for my husbands 70th birthday, very disappointed, our room, the carpet had not been hoovered, hair clips from previous guests, bangs at night from taps, all the guest areas were not clean, such a lovely view from the dining room, but the windows were that dirty, grubby hand Mark's, the decking, a broken glass was on the floor from our first night still there when we left, meal times were a bit of a shambles, breakfast time was supposed to start at 8am, but most of the food did not arrive until later, then not enough was put out, no menus, you could only have scrambled eggs no other choice of eggs, then dinner, what was supposed to be a pepper sauce was very nice on my first night, but then completely different on my last night, spoilt my meal because it was not very nice, I asked if it was the same chef and they said yes, so, inconsistent, I must add the restaurant staff were very good. We went to the holiday complex in the evening and they said that they get a lot of people complaining about the Kenmore hotel, it's a shame really it wants a lot of money spending on it, I feel its house keeping that is letting it down.

Rose Sheridan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th April 2019

I have stayed many times at the Kenmore Hotel and class it as one of my favourites. The staff are all very friendly and the rooms are very clean and have everything you need. Plus it is set in stunning surroundings. I would recommend it to anyone.

John Currie said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th March 2019

We had a pleasant overnight stay here as our daughters had given us a present of a voucher for a “Scottish Safari” in nearby Aberfeldy. We were in room 10 at the front of the hotel and although the room was a wee bit tired in terms of furnishings etc we have no real complaints given the price we paid. The only complaint we had was the room was a bit stuffy due to the heat from the radiators, the radiator control s were missing so the heat couldn't be turned down or off. I mentioned this to the receptionist when we checked out and she apologised and said she'd mention it to the maintenance man. We dined in the restaurant with a £25 allowance each for food from the menu which we found was more than ample. The food is of a high standard with plenty of choice and the service was quick and friendly. Ditto the breakfast. The restaurant and Bar has an outdoor decking area with lovely views over the river Tay. All in all we enjoyed our stay at this quaint hotel which had some renovations being carried out and we will stay again if we’re ever back in this area.

laura faulds said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

Everything about the stay was amazing! Staff are lovely and very helpful in all areas of the hotel.the room was lovely and bigger than expected! Bed was so comfy.the breakfast was very delicious and fresh! Would highly recommend!

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd April 2013

Stayed here a few years ago and absolutely loved it . Staff were great and the food was suberb.

A guest said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 1st February 2019

Kenmore is always a fantastic location and a characterful hotel. Have stayed many times and will return, but what has happened to the service at breakfast? Don't mind buffet style, even if overall choice is noticeably reduced from previous stays; also appreciate that guest numbers can peak suddenly leading to a run on items; but sadly on two mornings the service seemed chaotic, ner and without direction, leading to breakdown in continuity - e.g. tea/coffee and toast orders missing, breakfast buffet items running out, guests kept waiting to be seated. These are not the comments of a picky nightmare guest expecting perfection ('stuff happens' even to the best of service) but the sincere feedback of a fairly regular and relaxed guest who likes to see hotels and their staff thriving, competent and in-charge. There was a lot of shouting coming from the kitchen on both mornings: not a good sign in terms of staff motivation and leadership. Indeed, I hesitated to give this feedback since it is not the staff's fault and they should not be blamed. Management, please do pay attention: you have a gem of a hotel there with decent friendly staff who might shine under proper direction - don't let them down.

Julie McPherson said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th November 2018

Was aprehensive after reading some negative reviews. My experience was more positive. Friendly welcome at Reception. We had Room 20, a ground floor room in the West Wing. The room had two windows, one facing the Square and the other facing the church. The room was huge and tastefully furnished. Bed was very comfortable with nice clean linens. The bathroom was also huge, with large corner bath and bidet. Very large fluffy towels. was a bit hit and miss. Dinner was excellent although we had a hitch with dessert. Apparently the chef is new and did not communicate with his waiting staff about items not available on the menu. Breakfast was fine although it was not too busy, also issues with missing items on the menu. Waiting staff were very good. This was a deal and was great value for money. I would certainly stay here again. Check your bill though, I was overcharged by £10 which was rectified immediately.

A guest said...

84%
100%
50%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2018

Lovely all round product. Our room was of a better standard than previous stay. Warm welcome at reception and on arrival in restaurant. Spotlessly clean and friendly housekeeping staff. Food excellent as always. Long wait for main courses to arrive, an hour and 15 mins to be precise which is not acceptable. Let customers know that there is going to be a wait and give an estimate of time when ordering. The restaurant was very busy and all staff working very hard. Again at breakfast slow service as it took over 15 mins for tea and toast to arrive. The length of time it takes to serve food is a let down to an otherwise excellent product.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th October 2018

Every thing was beyond expectation especially the location right by the Tay. The rating would be higher except the food was not great on the first night and on the second it was revd good food unacceptably slow service. The staff throughout were friendly and available, the hotel warm and comfortable. We will go back

Lesley Sharp said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2018

Another fabulous break, we absolutely adore this hotel and little pocket of Scotland. We have been visiting for over 10 years and now bring our kids along too. Food as always was exceptional, especially the haggis. Service was amazing. Staff are always very friendly.

wendy johnstone said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2011

Lovely hotel in a lovely restful atmosphere..

L Wallace said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2018

Stayed at the kenmore for the Easter weekend and couldn’t believe how lovely and relaxing it was. Best time up there in a long time.(we’ve stayed a lot in the past.) food was excellent and although there didn't appear to be a lot of staff on we couldn’t fault the ones that were on. They are all very courteous and eager to help. If we were to say anything negative it’s the little things like no plastic tumblers in the bathroom and they used to have shower caps and shoeshine things and there is none of that anymore. Don’t understand why they have done away with it. But still had a good time.

Gavin Pennie said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th March 2018

Another thoroughly enjoyable stay at this excellent hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable and the food was great.

Maura Daly said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th November 2017

Cosy hotel with log fires in the tranquil village Kenmore. Lovely dinner in riverside restaurant, a beautiful extension to the original hotel.

Iain GG Campbell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th November 2017

We had a lovely one night stay at Kenmore Hotel. We ate in Poet’s Bar and the service and the food was exceptional. Breakfast was in the conservatory overlooking the start of the River Tay and Kenmore Bridge - stunning! A big comfy room slightly let down by the colored lights outside the window, perhaps blackout curtains needed? We went to see the 3000+ year old Yew Tree at nearby Fontingall on our way north. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and will definitely be back to have a better look around the area.

A guest said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 23rd October 2017

Overall hotel very good. buffet breakfast was lukewarm on two mornings, third morning cooked breakfast served by waiter was piping hot ,and excellent. Room was clean and tidy. staff efficient and friendly. we have stayed in the hotel several times and will return again.. Excellent value for money..