Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Ennerdale Country House Hotel, Cleator

Main Street, Cleator, CA233DT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

James Hill said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2021

Had a lovely stay the hotel and grounds were lovely but our room was abit noisey as it Wes next to the road

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2021

Clean and warm with plenty of . Dinner excellent, breakfast ok. Would stay again.

N Helsby said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th September 2021

Very friendly hotel. I enjoy my stay every time I stay there. Dinners were very good from a restricted menu.

E Rigby said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 17th October 2020

this lovely old house looks very tired .There was damp and mould issues round the window . The ds were gloomy and outdated. The bed was too soft due to ageing . The duvet was so old the exterior covering had worn away to reveal rather grey wadding, The bed was king size but the king size duvet was squashed into a double cover ,the duvet inside curled up down the inside and so it only covered the top of the bed with no overhang so it was cold and draughty with not much sleep. We told the staff ,and they said it had been sorted but it had not.

N Helsby said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th September 2020

Another enjoyable stay at the hotel. Covid-19 restrictions were not too restrictive. Dinner menu was very much to my taste.

richard neary said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th September 2020

Fantastic as useual al be back as useual in feb 2021.. staff great(big u jackie).. allways a pleasure there

J Chilvers said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th August 2020

lovely hotel .food very good .staff very good.

Michelle Nield said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th August 2020

We have stayed a few times at the Ennerdale Hotel and thoroughly enjoy our time there. We had a garden room so we could easily access the garden with our dog. Lovely food and friendly staff - also free teas and coffees as there are no tea making facilities in the rooms at the moment. Fan stay will be booking another break soon!

N Helsby said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 21st March 2020

Due to the coronavirus outbreak and government rules, the hotel cancelled my holiday on Friday 20th March 2020. I think the hotel closed for the immediate future.

richard neary said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th February 2020

Great hotel great staff very helpfull and very efficient will defo be back

N Helsby said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th September 2019

Lovely stay as usual. I hope to return in April/March of 2020.

Andrew McDowall said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2019

2 night stay DBB for our 21st anniversary in the bridal suite room 2. Room was great with a very comfortable 4 poster bed, whirlpool bath and the added bonus of a coffee maker. The hotel staff were attentive and very friendly. The food was great, cooked to order breakfast and dinner. Starters were great, for main we had steak and lamb shank first night, pork chop and steak pie second night, the steak pie and mash was the best ever. Drinks were very reasonably priced, a pint of Carling and a large wine and soda £9.25. A lovely building with character and gardens with a great atmosphere, we will certainly visit again.

N Helsby said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 31st March 2019

Very good stay, as usual. Excellent greeting as I arrived by receptionist. I hope to be staying again later in the year.

richard neary said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Staff great n hotel sound great room on ground floor with french doors wich was ideal because we brought outlr dog(bracken).. staff fab spesh wi dog they allways are.. will b back later in year..and thank you again?

Carol Warren said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th February 2019

We stayed in the 4 poster room with balcony. Room was spotlessly clean. Fresh towels & room cleaned each day. Delicious evening meal & lots of choice for breakfast. All the staff we so lovely & friendly. Great hotel 10/10

William Sykes said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2018

Lovely hotel with great views in the area. Food was good, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. However, the pillows were very soft. Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.

N Helsby said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2018

Another very good holiday based on the hotel. Room very good apart from no bedside lamp( in Room 5.) Food just to my taste. Very impressed that the staff remembered me and my passion for horse racing.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2018

Booked 2 night break with wine in your room. From the road hotel does not give a good impression but on entering the car park looks good with the gardens well kept. On entering yes a little bit dated but that's the charm of older hotels ultra modern is not always the best we were given an executive room looking over the garden which was clean and comfortable the bathroom had shower and separate bath which was good water was hot no running tap for ages. The staff were very obliging and pleasant and helpful, food was good with a reasonable choice chef obliging when choice didn't quite suit enjoyed the kippers at breakfast, altogether an enjoyable stay and would use again when in the area.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2018

Booked 2 night break with wine in your room. From the road hotel does not give a good impression but on entering the car park looks good with the gardens well kept. On entering yes a little bit dated but that's the charm of older hotels ultra modern is not always the best we were given an executive room looking over the garden which was clean and comfortable the bathroom had shower and separate bath which was good water was hot no running tap for ages. The staff were very obliging and pleasant and helpful, food was good with a reasonable choice chef obliging when choice didn't quite suit enjoyed the kippers at breakfast, altogether an enjoyable stay and would use again when in the area.

Michael Nolan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2018

No complaints here. Enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly + efficient. Food was good. Drinks weren't expensive Breakfast in bed at no extra charge was a bonus. All in all, value for money.

N Helsby said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 8th April 2018

Third visit to the Hotel. Same warm welcome again. Enjoyed my time and the food in the dining room. I look forward to visiting again later in the year.

Steve Smith said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st January 2018

Booked BB & Evening Meal for all 3 nights. For a 3 star rating I felt accommodation was much better than expected. A real pleasure to stay in what was a fine country house. The room was well presented tastefully decorated and warm. Extensive breakfast options, both continental and cooked. Lots of choice for cooked breakfast from full English to poached haddock all freshly cooked. Evening meal was similar with good choice and daily changes, again freshly cooked with fresh vegetables and full choice from a la carte without supplements for certain items. Lots of local walking options and only short drive from heart of The Lake District including Wasdale & Buttermere. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return. Thanks to all staff for making our stay comfortable, enjoyable & restful.

C Hamer said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2017

A lovely stay staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Tony Howarth said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th December 2017

Enjoyed our relaxing stay. We were upgraded on arrival and were made to feel welcome by all the wonderful staff throughout the weekend.

N Helsby said...

84%
90%
70%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2017

Second stay at the hotel. Just as pleased as I was with the first stay. Hope to stay there again in the New Year.