Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Ennerdale Country House Hotel, Cleator

Main Street, Cleator, CA233DT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

N Helsby said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th September 2019

Lovely stay as usual. I hope to return in April/March of 2020.

Andrew McDowall said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2019

2 night stay DBB for our 21st anniversary in the bridal suite room 2. Room was great with a very comfortable 4 poster bed, whirlpool bath and the added bonus of a coffee maker. The hotel staff were attentive and very friendly. The food was great, cooked to order breakfast and dinner. Starters were great, for main we had steak and lamb shank first night, pork chop and steak pie second night, the steak pie and mash was the best ever. Drinks were very reasonably priced, a pint of Carling and a large wine and soda £9.25. A lovely building with character and gardens with a great atmosphere, we will certainly visit again.

N Helsby said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 31st March 2019

Very good stay, as usual. Excellent greeting as I arrived by receptionist. I hope to be staying again later in the year.

richard neary said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Staff great n hotel sound great room on ground floor with french doors wich was ideal because we brought outlr dog(bracken).. staff fab spesh wi dog they allways are.. will b back later in year..and thank you again?

Carol Warren said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th February 2019

We stayed in the 4 poster room with balcony. Room was spotlessly clean. Fresh towels & room cleaned each day. Delicious evening meal & lots of choice for breakfast. All the staff we so lovely & friendly. Great hotel 10/10

William Sykes said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th October 2018

Lovely hotel with great views in the area. Food was good, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. However, the pillows were very soft. Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.

N Helsby said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2018

Another very good holiday based on the hotel. Room very good apart from no bedside lamp( in Room 5.) Food just to my taste. Very impressed that the staff remembered me and my passion for horse racing.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2018

Booked 2 night break with wine in your room. From the road hotel does not give a good impression but on entering the car park looks good with the gardens well kept. On entering yes a little bit dated but that's the charm of older hotels ultra modern is not always the best we were given an executive room looking over the garden which was clean and comfortable the bathroom had shower and separate bath which was good water was hot no running tap for ages. The staff were very obliging and pleasant and helpful, food was good with a reasonable choice chef obliging when choice didn't quite suit enjoyed the kippers at breakfast, altogether an enjoyable stay and would use again when in the area.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2018

Booked 2 night break with wine in your room. From the road hotel does not give a good impression but on entering the car park looks good with the gardens well kept. On entering yes a little bit dated but that's the charm of older hotels ultra modern is not always the best we were given an executive room looking over the garden which was clean and comfortable the bathroom had shower and separate bath which was good water was hot no running tap for ages. The staff were very obliging and pleasant and helpful, food was good with a reasonable choice chef obliging when choice didn't quite suit enjoyed the kippers at breakfast, altogether an enjoyable stay and would use again when in the area.

Michael Nolan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2018

No complaints here. Enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly + efficient. Food was good. Drinks weren't expensive Breakfast in bed at no extra charge was a bonus. All in all, value for money.

N Helsby said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 8th April 2018

Third visit to the Hotel. Same warm welcome again. Enjoyed my time and the food in the dining room. I look forward to visiting again later in the year.

Steve Smith said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st January 2018

Booked BB & Evening Meal for all 3 nights. For a 3 star rating I felt accommodation was much better than expected. A real pleasure to stay in what was a fine country house. The room was well presented tastefully decorated and warm. Extensive breakfast options, both continental and cooked. Lots of choice for cooked breakfast from full English to poached haddock all freshly cooked. Evening meal was similar with good choice and daily changes, again freshly cooked with fresh vegetables and full choice from a la carte without supplements for certain items. Lots of local walking options and only short drive from heart of The Lake District including Wasdale & Buttermere. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return. Thanks to all staff for making our stay comfortable, enjoyable & restful.

C Hamer said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2017

A lovely stay staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Tony Howarth said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th December 2017

Enjoyed our relaxing stay. We were upgraded on arrival and were made to feel welcome by all the wonderful staff throughout the weekend.

N Helsby said...

84%
90%
70%
90%

Stayed 28th October 2017

Second stay at the hotel. Just as pleased as I was with the first stay. Hope to stay there again in the New Year.

Janet Tansley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th September 2017

A bit out of the way, but absolutely loved it. The room was very spacious and spotless. Staff were lovely. And the food, AMAZING.

N Helsby said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th April 2017

Friendly and welcoming staff. Room a little noisy (adjoined main road), but good facil. Restaurant food very good.

Jill Glendinning said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th March 2016

Had a lovely family weekend with a great deal at the Ennerdale. Accommodation and food excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

Brian Caton said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th August 2015

This was our first visit but it won't be our last! The staff were exemplary and the food delicious! There were 3 of us but we did not have to make an additional payment for a single room supplement. We had an excellent deal with Classic Britain - who could ask for more!

elizabeth partidge said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th August 2015

Had a wonderful couple of days in this beautiful old hotel. Staff were all very friendly and attentive but not pushy. Food was lovely and the portions were huge, breakfast set us up for the rest of the day. I had waffles with bacon and maple syrup both days...yum!! We had room 28 which was in the converted barn but still connected to the main building. Very comfortable, huge room with a little balcony overlooking the gardens. Slept like a log both nights. The shower is a bit noisy and difficult to work but that's all that we found fault with. Yes, the hotel is in need of some TLC, some areas look a bit tired and shabby but that does not detract from the fact that this is a lovely , peaceful place to stay with amazing staff and in a most beautiful part of the country. No problems with wifi which we were suprised at considering the location. I would most definitely stay here again.

Catherine Groark said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd May 2015

Lovely hotel I was very impressed,we had a family room with French doors overlooking an impressive garden!the staff are really helpfull,reception staff so polite will defiantly return!!

Bryan Clegg said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th February 2015

The bed was very uncomfortable because the mattress was very thin. The pipes are very old fashioned so the bathroom was very noisy. Had problems setting the right temperature on the shower. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble

Mr Callander said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th June 2014

we enjoyed our short break and would recommend to friends

S Duffy said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th June 2014

a very comfortable unpretentious place to stay, set amidst lovely grounds and the room we had was clean, spacious and comfortable. Meals very good, and very helpful and frienldy, approachable staff.