Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, Kinloch Rannoch

, Kinloch Rannoch, PH165PS, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Magnus Wang said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th June 2018

We had a fantastic stay, all the staff were very friendly, and the food was wonderful. Have already recommended to a friends.

Brian Smail said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th June 2018

Our booking included an early check in from 14.00 but when we arrived just after 14.00 we were told the room was not ready. It was a lovely day so we decided to buy a drink and sit outside until the room was ready. Unfortunately the bar did not open until 15.00 - never before been in a hotel where the bar didn’t open until 15.00!! Checked back with reception about 15.00 and was told the room should be ready by 16.00! Oh - only 2 hours late - not a good start. If you can’t make the 14.00 check in time it would be better not to offer it! Our hotel deal included a cream tea - we had this in the bar area and it was very nice. Room was a decent size and clean with a great view out over the loch. Like the rest of the hotel (inside and out) it would benefit from a bit of TLC. WiFi was supposed to be available throughout hotel but we had difficulty getting a connection on the 1st floor. Ate dinner in the bar on first night - it’s pub grub but was really good and a large portion. Fish and chips did however come in at £17.95 (as far as I remember). Breakfast had a good selection of both continental and cooked food and it was all very good. Shame they only put 1 piece of butter (about 2.5 cm by 2.5 cm by 1 cm) on the table - for four! Poor serving staff were going back and forward to many tables to deliver additional pieces of butter. Ate in the bar on our second night and the food was again good. Thought the bar prices were a little on the high side but absolutely nothing compared Edina’s Kitchen in Kinloch Rannoch where a pint of beer was £7 - but the place is absolutely beautiful. We used the leisure facilities (pool and steam room) and they were ok although the showers were very poor. Get towel and token for the lockers from reception and then head outside down hill to the facilities. Staff were all very friendly. It’s a dog friendly hotel and there were quite a number in the hotel when we were there - not an issue for us.

Wendy Dungavel said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th June 2018

Lovely hotel. Nice pool and facilities. Excellent but remote location. Dinner and drinks prices reflect monopoly and are quite high. Breakfast is excellent although not enough staff when really busy. Staff cannot be faulted. Service was of a very high standard. Altogether a good break as the weather was perfect also!

Brian Murphy said...

57%
50%
40%
80%

Stayed 4th June 2018

Disappointing. Had early check in but rooms not ready and had to wait 45 mins. Which normally would not bother me but I had taken the early check in for a reason and the receptionist just shrugged his shoulders. After that things just went downhill. Service was poor. Room not great! On the plus side the location was fantastic as was the food.

Angela McKinnon said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th June 2018

We had a lovely stay, so peaceful & tranquil, hotel staff were amazing & hotel was lovely x

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th May 2018

Just home from a 2 night break it was fantastic excellent hotel & staff this was our 2nd visit & cant wait to return

Paula Thomson said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th April 2015

Hotel setting was spectacular. We had a lovely room at the front of the hotel looking on to Loch Rannoch. Swimming pool was an added bonus - we had the pool to ourselves - good size too. Service was excellent, all staff were very friendly and helpful. Would certainly go back to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family.

Frank Schauff said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2015

It was fantastic.

Tracey Cleland said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th March 2015

Lovely hotel to get away from it all and stunning views. Lovely staff and great food.

David Jefferson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2014

Loch tanning hotel, what can I say a place that has sidekick views and fantastic food. My partner and I stayed on a week of pouring rain but it made the place more stunning and the view that could not be beaten. All staff were attentive and polite we would advise anyone that likes solitude to give it ago.

Mhairi Semple said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th November 2014

A fantastic weekend stay for us. Amazing staff. Daytime food in the bar/lounge was very pricey for what you got it wasn't worth it. The restaurant charged a similar price for their main meals and they were outstanding in comparison. It was rather cold, but I guess it's an old building.

. Bell said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 21st October 2014

Disappointed that we were not allocated room 101 on arrival

Kenny Morrison said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2014

An excellent hotel and after a slight problem with the room allocated, which was fixed quickly and satisfactorily, the whole stay was first class. The only slight negative was after upgrading to a loch view room the room only had a very small single window. Special mention must go to the excellent food and the equally excellent staff.

Kevin McCann said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2014

Had a great time, great view from room, staff very helpful. Had a problem with shower screen and problem was resolved with great efficiency. We ate in bar one night and wished that both menus could be combined to give greater choice in both restaurant and bar as both come from same kitchen. Looking forward to coming back again next summer....

Mark Brown said...

44%
60%
50%
20%

Stayed 3rd October 2014

Nice view from rpom

Lilian Butler said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd October 2014

Lovely weekend break, hotel is lovely and is in the most beautiful setting. Rooms are comfortable and large, bathroom is modern. Food is good, service is second to none, staff are very attentive and friendly. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Alan Davidson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th September 2014

Excellent service. All staff professional amd courteous. Great views and location. Very peaceful. Hotel old but linen and rooms clean. Only megatives were poor water pressure from shower and wine list was very expensive so we did not have any wine with our dinner on 2nd night. We would definately stay here again though.

Mr McLellan said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2014

Very nice stay., all about the views

Lorna Adam said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 21st September 2014

Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Loch Rannoch but was disappointed that we were given the same menu on both nights we were staying.

Arthur Hegney said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st September 2014

A wonderful short break in a glorious setting. All of the staff were professional to a very high standard and very approachable and helpful. Will certainly return and highly recommend to others.

Michael McCrossan said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th September 2014

Lovely Hotel

David Tod said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th September 2014

No Beer or Guinness, as they did not expect the good weather, they did not order any. One small piece of butter at breakfast to cover 4 slices of toast. The "extras" i.e. coffee was not evident on the dinner menu and is only discovered when checking out.

Gillian Sawyers said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2014

Lovely large room overlooking loch as requested. Staff helpful and polite and even left birthday card for my husband as I asked.for.cold.drinks.tI be in.room.for.arrival and they did this.

C Spurway said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th September 2014

Great break all staff very friendly, food was exceptional and the service was first class

Robbie Pears said...

64%
60%
80%
50%

Stayed 31st August 2014

Whilst the food was tasty, there was not sufficient unless you took side orders and it was not very hot, particularly the first night dinner. However, amends were made by not changing for a dessert or coffees.