Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Melville Castle Hotel, Edinburgh

Gilmerton Road, Edinburgh, EH181AP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

Ann Morgan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd February 2019

The hotel was beautiful very comfortable and clean. Food was amazing staff too very friendly. We went for my mother in-laws 80th surprise birthday unfortunately she took ill at night the staff was on the ball phoned for ambulance couldn’t thank them enough. Mother was ok and in the morning the staff left her a gift a picture off the castle and it was signed on the back x

fiona macpherson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th February 2019

Friendly reception and relaxed atmosphere. Main Hall with lovely paintings. Really found the Restauarant cosy and well laid out. Not sure about the map for the paths around the estate. Very enjoyable and peaceful.

Alexandra Scullion said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2017

Wonderful hotel.... the food was fantastic, the staff were all first class, so helpful and happy which you don't get in a lot of places and the rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished. This is a hidden gem and we will definitely return and recommend it to all.

E Paterson said...

30%
N/A
N/A
30%

Stayed 4th October 2017

The breakfast was disappointing for a 4* hotel.

J Tansey said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th September 2017

Fabulous time. All staff were excellent. Mandy was good fun and Alena was extremely helpful.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th May 2017

Beautiful setting, lovely hotel with great service and breakfast would stay again.

Diane McLellan said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st April 2017

Very nice, relaxing overnight stay. Staff are lovely and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as possible. Rooms are a bit dated, but clean and well stocked with refreshments. Food is excellent and nice choice on menu will lovely wines. Little hidden gem. Will definitely be returning so look out John, we are coming back ?????

Steve Yeaman said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd September 2016

We had a good stay. The hotel was excellent. The room was great, with a bit of character. The staff were helpful and friendly. Dinner was good. I know it is a habit which is dying out, but it would have been good if the cooked breakfast could have been delivered to our table instead of the buffet, which was fine but not quite the same.

T Carruthers said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th May 2015

Room was as expected from pictures on website & bed was very comfortable. Staff very friendly and welcoming. In addition staff very accommodating when made any requests. Food was beautiful & would highly recommend eating within the hotel. Hotel itself was beautiful setting, enjoyed our overnight stay & would use again.

E Milsom said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th May 2015

Our stay was lovely, the room was large and clean. The food was fantastic but the service was outstanding, Sarah was our waitress and she was lovely, pleasant, professional nothing was too much trouble.

Alison Clark-Dick said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2015

Had a fabulous time at Melville Castle hotel, we both thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was perfect, I have no complaints. The hotel is stunning, the inside hall way is beautifully decorated as are the bedrooms and the restaurant. The food is superb in both the restaurant and at breakfast. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Can't wait to go back.

Stuart Miller said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2015

The hotel was amazing, staff were very friendly and all round there was nothing I can complain about. After the two nights I thought I was going to be going home alone as my girlfriend didn't want to leave!

Barbara Sneddon said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2015

Lovely relaxing break at Melville Castle. The building is very striking and the public areas are beautiful. Our room was large, clean and warm with a really comfortable bed. The staff from the moment we arrived were friendly welcoming and helpful and dinner in the evening was excellent with a really good breakfast the following morning. We will definitely be back and hopefully soon.

Lynn Marie Sener said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th January 2015

Lovely hotel. Food was great. Service was fantastic.

Elvira Daly said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th December 2014

Melville Castle Hotel is beautiful. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food excellent. Will definately recommend and return.

Ronald Gibbs said...

50%
70%
80%
0%

Stayed 28th November 2014

We were booked to stay for two nights ddbb but the meal on the first night was awful. The French onion soup was a plate of hot water with an oxo cube with some boiled onion on top, no cruton ,cheese or taste. Also it was in an old flat plate rather than the proper bowl. My wife had the haggis starter which was as if not thawed from frozen and awful, neither of us ate any more than a first taste. The main course was edible, we would of choice left at that point but we were both hungry and had no choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful and offered alternatives but the damage had been done. I went to the desk and cancelled the second night, again the staff were helpful and offered, what could they do. I'm aware it was not a very expensive weekend, but the lovely setting and good staff were totally let down by the kitchen. The situation was saved by your staff who did their best to help. What a shame. I look forward to your response. Ronald gibbs

Colin Miller said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2014

The bedroom was adequate but could do with a refurbish. Service was only poor at the bar area as there was no one there to serve us at times. The food was delicious. The castle is a old beautiful building and an open fire in the reception area instead of a display of artificial flowers would have been most welcoming.

Lindsay Brogan said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th September 2014

Stayed in room 105 for our Anniversary , room was perfect . Had a great stay , very peaceful and staff were very nice. Food was nice no complaints. If your looking for somewhere peaceful and a castle that has an authentic feel of staying in an old castle with some modernisation then this is the place.

MARIA MELVILLE said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2014

We had a lovely stay at Melville Castle Hotel, it was our 30th wedding anniversary and they upgraded us at no extra cost to a suite, also my husband arranged for flowers etc to be in room for our arrival and they were very helpful arranging this for him.

Alison Patterson said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 19th August 2014

The Castle was beautiful but furnishings a little dated, and small repairs required to certain areas, the breakfast was average missing was the variety of choices. Staff and service was good

joanne Bell said...

60%
70%
70%
40%

Stayed 31st July 2014

Hotel and surrounding lovely . Staff at dinner not very welcoming and food certainly did not match the four stars of the hotel , Have been to plenty four star hotels with excellent food x So overall disappointing overnight stay for our Anniversary .