Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carlton Park Hotel, Rotherham

102-104 Moorgate Road, Rotherham, S602BG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

72%

Gillian Stewart said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th October 2019

We had a great night here. Very friendly staff, the room was clean and well presented. The spa was very quiet and relaxing.

Diane Platford said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2019

Lovely hotel immaculately clean, lovely food, staff friendly Really enjoyed our stay

Christine Turner said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2019

As always, a very pleasant stay with clean comfortable room and excellent food. Delicious breakfast. The £6 meal offer between 3.00pm and 5.00pm too good to miss! Friendly staff.

Diane Simon said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 3rd October 2019

Customer service was good, very friendly staff. Room was a good size and clean, however a little basic... Reasonable for the price. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice. Evening meal was reasonable.

A guest said...

50%
10%
70%
70%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Booked a stay at Carlton park as a cheap break at first they couldn’t find our booking but once sorted we went to our room which was a surprise as it had a lovely 4 poster bed which we didn’t expect .the Carlton is like most Uk hotels generally good but let down by small general maintenance jobs things like blown light bulbs etc.that a side we would have enjoyed our stay but the one thing that really spoilt our trip was no before we went out and when we got back in the evening around 8.30pm it was the same. I tried it in the middle of the night and it was hot and cold again in the morning so I suspect the system can’t cope with the demand when there full .which is a shame because this spoilt what would have been a nice break .

michelle simpson said...

37%
50%
40%
20%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Stayed here for 2 nights as a couple.... we stayed approximately 5 years ago and decided to return after getting a good deal.Really disappointing stay, breakfast every morning was a lot to be desired.Tables were uncleared, nothing available pretty unorganised.No fruit available and clearing away well before 10am .Would not return even on a good deal.

Hannah Fisher said...

44%
60%
10%
60%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Took advantage of a cheap night away. Hotel itself is fine, room fit for purpose and nice pool area. However, the service was really poor. Waiting at reception and calling into the back where you can see a member of staff blatantly ignoring customers at reception. Also, no option to eat at the restaurant due to a power cut (although existing bookings could be honoured- tried to book on the phone a few days prior but told to make until we checked in) so ended up eating elsewhere, not ideal. Breakfast was lovely, but again waiting staff were rude and unwelcoming, made to feel that you are inconveniencing then by just being there. I can imagine that this would have been a great deal if the service had been good, but as it stands I wouldn’t return.

Thomas Elliott said...

57%
80%
80%
10%

Stayed 13th August 2019

The hotel was just lovely provided you did not eat there. The hotel staff were very efficient, the pool staff were helpful and especially the night manager, whom visited our room 3 time to try and get the room DVD player working, which he eventually replaced. Thank you again. But eating in the 4* hotel was terrible, no terrible is too kind a word, devastating or catastrophic may be a better choice. Lunch in the bar area - No bar staff available. Had to go to the hotel reception to arrange for someone to serve us. Burger and chips not a difficult order. The chips were cooked on very old cooking oil and over cooked and the burger was burnt. We were not alone, two elderly ladies had arranged for tea for the afternoon at 14:00 and had to wait an hour to be served. Evening meals in the 4* restaurant - 2x fish and chips plus 2x Pie and chips, again not a difficult orders. The same as lunchtime, The chips were cooked on very old cooking oil and over cooked. Fish was watery and the pie was very small, no more than 2 inches square. Breakfast - Fried eggs appeared to have been on the serving tray for some hours and had coagulated, Bacon had dried out while it laid on the serving tray and the Sausages was the same. Coffee stewed and had to ask for some fresh coffee. Second day did not eat in bar area or restaurant. at breakfast ordered freshly cooked eggs, Sausages only slightly better than the day before. Bacon did not take any as it seemed to be worse than the day before. If this is 4* I would hate to see it when they are trying to make an impression.

Keith Butler said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th August 2019

Great value.

Pauline Spicer said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

We enjoyed our stay at the Carlton Park Hotel. The receptionist was very friendly when we arrived. We had lunch in the bar and lady who served us was also very friendly and helpful about the local area. The food and drinks were a bit pricey so we had dinner elsewhere. Room nice and bed comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Stewart Anderson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st August 2019

Pleasant, clean, comfortable room and bed, with two comfortable chairs! The only downside, really, was that it was a little 'compact'. We decided at the last minute to dine here and were hugely impressed by the service and the quality of the food. The breakfast, too, was of a good standard. I would have no hesitation about staying and eating here again!

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th July 2019

Great offer good value one night break.

Annette Whyte said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th July 2019

Really enjoyed my stay here. Staff were lovely and helpful. Room was ideal and beds very comfortable. Leisure facilities were very good and the opening hours excellent. Didn’t eat at the hotel restaurant but had a look at the menu and prices were reasonable. Would definitely stay again.

m stewart said...

95%
90%
100%
N/A

Stayed 12th July 2019

the hotel was an excellent location for our needs.The room was ideal,our treatment was great and the price we paid was the bargain of the year.

Sandie Cameron said...

70%
100%
100%
10%

Stayed 11th July 2019

The hotel and room were wonderful the staff fantastic but the breakfast wasnt very palatable .

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th June 2019

good standard on the whole,a bit tired here and there. , not hot enough. staff were helpful. Rooms were very clean. Would go again.

Joanne Noble said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 21st May 2019

worst hotel ever paid extra for suite when we arrived said it was not available but could not get refunded as manager was not there so we went to our room which was so hot when arrived and a constant banging in room after 30 min in room we decided to go down to bar leaving windows etc open sat outside having coffee as my partner went down the stairs the step broke off in 2 and he fell and twisted his ankle bar staff was there and said he would get maintaince to fix it but no are you okay or anything, went back to room 4 hours later by 11pm noise was so bad rang reception and duty manager came up said it was boilers in next room and we would have to move rooms so we had to pack up ours clothes etc and move rooms 11.30pm at night as there was nothing she could do then put us in a suite when I questioned her about this was told it wasn't available when we arrived but was now when I went to get into bed the bed was covered in marks and had a ripped up beer mat in sheets ie:hadn't been changed from previous guests I then phoned reception again was told there was nothing they could do at 12am so had to sleep in dirty bed then went down for breakfast which was a joke food either anaemic or burned went straight to reception made an official complaint said the manager would ring me on Thursday night lol still has not rang I have rang hotel 3 times now manager not there when I phone absolutely disgusting never again

Steven Richardson said...

67%
100%
50%
50%

Stayed 10th May 2019

Lovely hotel, although reception charged us extra for the breakfast when it was already included in the package. Took a phone call to sort it out Maybes reception need to look closer at bookings first.

Susan chiumento said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th March 2019

We regularly visit carlton Park for their soul & Motown events & have never been disappointed yet. The staff are always friendly & helpful. The food is always good & I have several intolerances & they’ve always catered for me without a problem. The rooms are warm, comfortable & clean, & are excellent value for money. We’ve never used the swimming pool, spa etc but it looks nice too. The soul & Motown evenings are great & again good value for money. There’s plenty to do locally,meadow hall,Magna & chatsworth house to name a few. We will dately be staying here again

linda gow said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

Yorkshire supper was lovley breakfast was fine nice relaxing bar room was fine only thing was loud music till after midnight.

Alistair Johnstone said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st March 2019

Stayed on myhotelbreak winter B&B offers, one night on ground level travelling south (21/02), and one night on third level returning north (01/03). Both rooms were reasonably sized and clean, very comfortable beds with fresh linens, ensuite bath/shower, LED Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee maker, and free inroom safe, a nice touch other hotels should emulate. Breakfast is a full buffet choice of continental and full Yorkshire- the sausages are ace! Dinner is available in the Dining Room or the Bar. Good quality, reasonably priced, and Yorkshire portions! The Sausage and Mash is also ace!- as are the Liquer Coffees. The bar is very nice with a real fire, large leather sofas, and a good choice of reasonably priced beers. Service from all the Staff was excellent and friendly. All in all a very nice hotel, ideal for an overnight off the M1/M18 halfway between Scotland and the south, or for a longer break. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Mr Mann said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 7th February 2019

Excellent stay no complaints whatsoever thoroughly enjoyed it.

Kay Woods said...

50%
50%
60%
40%

Stayed 1st September 2018

Hotel good supper tea nice but breakfast was not very nice cold scramble eggs sausages hard and no taste to mushrooms but staff pleasant

Stewart Warburton said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2018

Fine hotel with minor faults. First I loved our stay at this hotel, but as a wheelchair user there were some things other wheelchair users need to know. The handicapped room is large and has all the amenities except a walk in shower. The bath has a shower above but has a very high side and did not have a non-slip mat. A seat across may not be suitable for people with disability. I used the disabled shower in the nearby gym which was suitable but did mean a trip out. The pool is not accessible. The doorway to the breakfast room is rather narrow. Having said that the food was very good. The Steak and Ale pie is a master piece of the pie makers work. The breakfast buffet was excellent. There was a noisy event whilst we were there but the sound proofing was excellent so we could not hear it in our bedroom, which was very near to the event. There are lots of things to do in the area. I thoroughly recommend this hotel

Marsha Lally said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd April 2018

Had a lovely 2 night stay at Carlton Park. Spa and pool were great. Hotel rooms a little dated and but clean and comfortable. Nice bar & restaurant . Good value for money overall.