Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, Pitlochry

40 Bonnethill Rd, Pitlochry, PH165BT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

78%

A guest said...

60%
10%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2018

The staff are so welcoming (again) and very helpful. The shower in our room did not work. We were re-located to another room - with other requests also accommodated. The food is excellent and service generally good (wine is overpriced, - to compensate?!) But: the music in the Dining Room (evening) is loud, inappropriate - even unnecessary? Unfortunately, there is some problem with the (current) staff at breakfast: they seem to think that delivering the cooked breakfast, before the fruit/cereal course is finished, is normal. After two days of these insensitive deliveries, we suggested that they go away, to return with the cooked meal only when we had finished the first course. Mebbie this is how folk from the servers' home country do breakfast? If so, they need a wee bit of re-training? ALSO: [No change since Dec 2016]: The Crerar claims about 'Fair Trade' and local sourcing are unsubstantiated: shame on you Crerar (I shall be writing to Crerar Hotels separately about their empty promises.) Summary: bloomin' good value!

Stephan Fortune said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2018

Had a lovely night staff at Scotland’s hotel and leisure club at the weekend. The rooms, although a little tired decor-wise, were clean and spacious. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. There was a good atmosphere in the bar too.

Jackie Robinson said...

67%
60%
40%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2018

We stayed on the dinner bed and breakfast rate so possibly that’s why we we were given a room not within the main hotel but across the road. The room itself was actually quite nice but having to cross back and forth would be a bit of a pain in bad weather. The food was great, but on the offer you pick from a set menu and can choose from the a la carte menu with a supplement, so it would help if you were provided with the a la carte menu! We asked to order drinks which seemed to surprise the waitress who eventually gave us the wine list. Not liking wine we asked what other drinks were available, this confused the waitress even more. Finally we ordered bottles of lager but when it came it was pints! Glad to say the food itself was really nice and was served quickly. Breakfast was really busy and although there seemed to be loads of staff we waited more than 15 minutes before asking someone if we could order. Once breakfast finally arrived we had to remind staff we were still waiting for our tea and toast. By the time this was served we had actually almost finish our food. I would suggest the hotel do a self service hot breakfast and just concentrate on bringing tea, coffee and toast to the tables. All in all it’s a nice, if a bit dated hotel. The food is good and good value but the service wasn’t great as most of the staff are not experienced and speak little English.

Michelle Munro said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2018

We have just returned from a four day break and it was superb.......our room (210) was huge with stunning windows and a lovely view.....yes the floors were wonky but it all added to the charm of this hotel.....the food was excellent......and the staff are a credit to the Crerar Group....we will definitely return*****

C Haddow said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 19th September 2018

Stayed here on a 2 night break, older hotel and worn in places , our room was spacious and clean. We stayed half board so ate in hotel, breakfast had lots off options and was good, bar food and a la carte restaurant was also very enjoyable. Staff very helpful and cheerful. We used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room, which was well maintained and clean. Overall very good and would return.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th August 2018

Really enjoyable stay - the spa and pool was fantastic, the food was really tasty and plentiful, a good choice both at breakfast and dinner. Rooms were clean and bed comfy. Staff really pleasant. Very central hotel with railway station nearby. Would certainly return.

Alison Connor said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2018

I had a wonderful 2 night stay at Scotland's Hotel. The staff were really attentive and efficient. Special mention to the chef who was on duty during our stay. 10 out of 10 for quality, taste, presentation and choice. Spa facilities also great. Can't wait to go back.

george mcveigh said...

47%
10%
60%
70%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

had a very pleasant two nights at the hotel and the elvis tribute was very good.the staff were all very helpful and pleasant and the food and service were also good.

aileen walker said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2018

Had a lovely stay at this hotel.. when u first walk in it’s a bit musky smell aping and a bit old fashioned but rooms great nice comfy beds and good size rooms.. everything u need. Staff very pleasant and a great breakfast with great choice and would definitely stay again .. great value ..

Brian Fallan said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2018

Hotel is clean but very dated. Disappointed that there is no lounge with a T.V, McNabs bistro which is part of the hotel is now permanently closed which there is no notice of on website or in the hotel, one of bar staff informed us, went out to watch Scotland rugby match. Rooms are again clean but dated, bed quite firm, good tea making facilities, leisure club was good, only thing was the jacuzzi was not very warm and felt it could have been cleaner. Overall pleasant stay but don't think I would stay again.

georgina ward said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2018

I bought this for my dads 70th birthday. The staff at hotel could not have been more helpful in helping me make my dads birthday special, especially Kirsty. Thankyou. He had a wonderful time

Mrs Toshack said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th January 2018

The hotel is located in a great place, and staff are very helpful , rooms are clean and comfortable and warm, the food is lovely , the leisure facil are great. Well worth booking, will be back soon.

katherine Barrow said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2017

Very relaxing stay. Leisure facil excellent Had them to ourselves for 3 hours. Staff very welcoming. Rooms clean and tidy. Food amazing. Recommendations 1. Door locks require attention as do not open easily. Will definitely be back again.

A Ritchie said...

80%
80%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 26th September 2017

Two friends and I had a most enjoyable stay at Scotland's Hotel this week. It was clean and comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Many thanks to all of you. Nancy

David Boyle said...

57%
0%
80%
90%

Stayed 20th September 2017

Well we where booked to stay 2 nights. Left in the morning of the second stay. The room was appauling it was dirty, full of flys, the shaving socket hanging off the wall, no radiators working in the room so it was freezing, one of the radiators was dangerous it had loose wires hanging out and i had my 2 year old son running round the room, the whole room was on a slant so if you put a glass or anything on the table or bedside table it slid right off. The food was good but had to send back my sons desert as they sent it out burnt in the middle, i mean black, thankfully we tryed it before he did. We ordered a bottle of house wine which they claimed they had none left of so offered to give is pinot grigio whuch we accepted. Then charges us the extra for the more expensive bottle. The waiting staff were ok apart from one girl who realy couldnt speak 1 word of english. The staff on reception where really understanding and gave us a full refund for the second night stay bit for how bad the stay was i was expecting a refund for the first night or some sort of discount. Will definatley not be back.

Debra Starr said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 31st July 2017

Hotel was clean rooms were nice the downfall was the restaurant time to be seated time to be served and time for food to arrive all unacceptable. DBB very limited menu to choose from food was not worth waiting for. booked table for 7.30 waited 20 minutes for someone to take our order 2 soups then took over 20 minutes to arrive then waited 45 minutes for main course never asked if we wanted a drink' Main issue seemed to be the kitchen but the waiting staff were like headless chickens. did complain and received a discount but had to ask was not offered.

Alice Devine said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd July 2017

BOOKED THIS HOTEL FOR MY FRIENDS BIRTHDAY AND IT WAS A VERY NICE 2 NIGHT BREAK WITH GOOD FOOD AND STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. ON THE SECOND DAY THE POOL WAS CLOSED, WHICH WAS DISAPPOINTING

katherine Barrow said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th July 2017

No up to date test labels on electrical appliances. Bathroom tap loose. Also something stuck down the sink drain. Overall customer service was great, leisure facil were above standard and the food was exceptional. Weather fabulous.

A guest said...

57%
80%
30%
60%

Stayed 5th July 2017

Service in the dining room was very poor - on our first night for dinner we had to wait 1.5 hrs between our starter and our main course, and when the main course eventually arrived, it was not what I ordered, although they did change it. On our 2nd night we ate at another hotel despite having paid for our meal at the Scotland Hotel, simply could not go through the long wait again. At breakfast I ordered tea and got coffee, and my poached eggs were cold. The waiter asked us to wait for a table as he would have to make a table up for us, we then pointed out to him that the table 3 feet in front of us was available and not reserved, so he sat us down there! The room offered "complimentary" wi-fi, however this turned out to be zero wi-fi - ie no signal at all.

glenn nattrass said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th June 2017

Very nice hotel with lovely leisure club. Nice evening meal.

Stephanie Lumsden said...

54%
50%
20%
90%

Stayed 25th June 2017

Very disappointed and i will be writing to crerar hotels directly to make a formal complaint.

norman lillie said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 11th June 2017

The staff were really friendly and helpful, both at reception and dining room. We were pleased to be in the Bank House as the main hotel is so run down it is depressing. I have no doubt that Crearors know this but a lick of emulsion paint in the entrance and corridor to the dining room would cost so little and make a huge difference. The dining room needs the woodwork re painted - how about in cerise to match the curtains? And the broken glass pane needs replacing. The food was over cooked and and the sauces too strong for the meat. The rom had no drawers but we managed without. We won't be back till the place has been spruced up. I cannot imagine that the Crearor family and staff are happy with the way things are.

Hazel Black said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th May 2017

This hotel is in a great location. The room we were allocated was quite small but ok for one night. The hotel had a couple of good lounges to relax in. The food was very good and the staff were very helpful.

Karen Gammie said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 30th April 2017

It was a good stay staf nice and friendly.

A guest said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th April 2017

The hotel is in need of some upgrading to the bedroom's, they have done some upgrading to public areas,food and the staff were very good