Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

George Hotel, Piercebridge

Piercebridge, Piercebridge, DL23SW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 27th September 2022

We had a lovely stay here. Staff were very friendly just unfortunate the chef for evening meals was poorly. Quite hard to find pub locally serving food. Lovely old village and very interesting with its Roman bridge and fort within walking distance.

Richard Saunders said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2022

Superb deal. Fabulous hotel, beautifully decorated and great breakfast.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th September 2022

Had a lovely two night stay here, lovely big, clean bedroom, comfiest bed and a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. The bar was well stocked and very social. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Will definitely have a return visit.

Ron Ingram said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2022

Beautiful hotel. Oldie world, but very comfortable with large rooms and refurbished bathrooms. Great outside space to both the front and back with the latter having views of the river and countryside. Plenty of free parking and an overspill car park. Breakfast was great as we had a good selection of fruit, cereals, juices and breads followed by a full cooked English breakfast or a variation of if you found a full English too much. Would definitely go again, but once they have a chef to provide lunch and dinner menus.

Sandra Walton said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st December 2019

New Years Eve stay. Room dated however warm and comfortable. Food enjoyable and overall enjoyable evening.

michael evans said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th May 2019

Lovely friendly clean place with amazing food and great staff will definitely visit again and recommend

Andrea Beamson said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

Got an upgrade to a cute small cottage which was perfect. Food was beautiful and the open fire made the atmosphere very homely. Would def go back. Staff could not do enough to help and making sure that everything was perfect. Views off river when out side were stunning too.

Alison Dixon said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

This place is in need of a good refurbish, Room a good size but not clean at all. Food was good and staff really helpful. Sounded like we had the upstairs people in our room, very noisy and extracter fan in bathroom was so loud it kept us awake. Could not recommend this place. Disappointed very.

A guest said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th February 2019

The hotel rooms could definitely do with an update, booked 2 rooms on different floors and ours didn't have a shower which isn't ideal . Food however was delicious and we enjoyed the break

Barry Crundwell said... Hotel has replied

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

Our 3 day break represented excellent value with a good menu and tasty food - we were grateful for the upgraded room (albeit advertised as part of the package). Hotel nice and pleasant but would benefit from a bit of tlc. Staff excellent - very friendly and accommodating with special mention to Gemma and handyman Robert. It is well located, riverside and ideally located to hit the towns, villages, moors etc of Co Durham and but a stones throw from the Dales. Barnard Castle, High Force, Richmond Castle and the riverside walk from Richmond Station to Easby Abbey all worth a visit - plus a drive up Swaledale to t out the Tan Hill Inn. Overall - Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Hotel reply...

Hi Barry, Thank you kindly for your complimentary feedback and I will pass on your compliments to Robin and Gemma, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Dell, Reservations.

syephen bond said... Hotel has replied

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2018

lovely hotel was made to feel welcome when we arrived. we arrived early and we checked in we sat in bar to have a drink and our keys too our rooms were brought over and we were told how to get too them , compliments to the chef and the kitchen our food was beautiful and well presented , breakfast next morning was also excellent and very tasty we will return here

Hotel reply...

Hi Mr. Bond, Thank you so much for your complimentary feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your return. Kind Regards, Dell.

Jeff Wynn said... Hotel has replied

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th November 2018

My wife and I enjoyed our break, not the best hotel we have ever stayed in but it was OK. Jeff.

Hotel reply...

Hi Jeff, Thank you for your feedback and score rating, and we hope that you will come and stay with us again.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2018

A lovely stay , nothing was too much trouble. Great service and very dog friendly.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your complimentary feedback, Angela, and I hope that you come back and stay with us again.

A guest said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 1st August 2018

Check in was quick and easy, room was adequate but did have some damage to blind in the bathroom which prevented raising or lowering to adjust the window. I reported this as we checked out. As part of the deal we got £50 towards our evening meal. The food i must say was beautiful, well prepared and good quality. Location was a bonus and we sat down by the river having a coffee on the afternoon we arrived and in the morning before we left. Breakfast was average to be honest but still decent quality.

James Fotheringham said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st June 2018

Had a lovely weekend, staff were all very nice. Food choices and quality very good. Would recommend to my friends. Beautiful location.

Bernadette Holleran said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 18th May 2018

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff. Booked a twin but room was a double. Very quickly changed by member of staff into twin. Couple of blips over weekend but quickly sorted. Not too impressed with a guest who placed her dog on the dining table during evening dinner. Told by waiter that it is a dog friendly hotel...!! We were moved at our request after complaining to find there was a dog free restuarant we were not told about ! Felt like we were less important than the dog...!! Shame because the hotel really is lovely, in a fantastic spot next to the river and majority of staff very professional.

Robert Taylorson said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2018

Good

linda stanley said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2018

Had a brilliant stay here. All of the staff were very accommodating and the service was spot on. Food was really good on the evening, the breakfast, bacon was a little dried up but I blame myself going at the last minute for breakfast. My husbands omelette was great! All in all I would definitely go back

Shaun Musgrove said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th January 2018

Another great stay at the George, great food, great service, the room only let down by a squeaky bed and squeaky floor above but it's an old building. The view from the bedroom window was lovely, we sat admiring the view and listening to the birds as we enjoyed our bottle of wine. We'll definitely be back.

Joanne Sullivan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th January 2018

Arrived early at the George and we were met by 2 friendly lads in reception who advised us that our 2 upgraded double rooms were ready. On entering the rooms we found them to be nicely decorated, clean with a modern shower room. 1 bedroom was larger than the other but due to the age of the building I would assume all the bedrooms are different in size and character. Our rooms were located at the front of the hotel facing onto the main road and unfortunately this meant it was quite noisy from the traffic but we do sleep with the windows open and we were not in the room much anyway. It did quieten down eventually though but when I do return I'll maybe request a riverside room. The meals were lovely. The four of us had lunch which we wouldn't have had if we realised how big the evening meals were going to be. The steak baguettes were lovely though. On the evening we had a mixed grill and these weren't for the faint hearted. They were served on a wooden chopping board. The only suggestion I would make is that guests should maybe be asked if they would prefer their meal on a plate when ordering this as some of the older generation I guess would prefer things the old fashioned way, unfortunately it put my Dad off his meal and didn't dare pour his peppercorn sauce over his steak in case it went all over (lol). You probably didn't need the chips with this either but it would have been better if they were served to share in a separate bowl. The meat was lovely and tender and plenty of it. My Mam got the chicken in mushroom sauce which was lovely and thick and tender and my husband had the sirloin with onion rings and said it was beautiful. I would definitely go back here even if it was just for a meal. The breakfast was the best I have had in a long time and I have stayed in some placed over the last year. The view over the river while eating breakfast was just an added bonus. Thanks to Dell and Ben we had a great time and can not wait to go back.

jennifer bell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th January 2018

Our stay was excellent.The food was good and the staff were extremely helpful and polite.We were given the bridal suite as it was our wedding anniversary which was so unexpected and a wonderful thought by the management.We would definitely return again.

Sheena Pearson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th December 2017

A very relaxed and enjoyable stay at this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast.

Angela Freeman said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th December 2017

Hotel a little tired however the price, warm welcome from staff and good food made overnight stay enjoyable

Delma Innes said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2017

Stayed for 1 night at the George whilst in the area. We found the hotel to be warm, friendly and relaxing. We stayed on a DBB special deal and I must say it was fantastic value. Food was excellent. Evening meal and the breakfast. The hotel had a real sense of history. 16th century coaching inn with roman artifacts adorning the place. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Special mention to Dell. I would certainly stay here again and would thoroughly recommend.

Frederick Thomas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2017

Absolutely excellent! Place and village excellent. Staff are friendly and food great. Ask for biscuits :)