Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Josephine Lowe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

As a disabled person I would recommend room 2 which is very well equipped. It was first class in every way.

Thomas Martin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2019

lovely stay the staff were very helpfull and we will certainly be going back it is real value for money

A guest said...

60%
70%
80%
30%

Stayed 11th November 2019

There's no sign to tell you where the car park is which is not so much a problem in daylight but at night is definitely a problem. In particular, the only accessible parking (2 spots) is in an area difficult to get out of. The food is often overcooked both at dinner and breakfast. The room was good and the staff were friendly but room information about the Forum bar offering light meals and snacks all day was false. During the day the lounge areas are soulless and unattended. Not somewhere I'd go back to and, in fact, we left a day early as well as eating out on the 2nd night to avoid the chef's burnt offerings.

sharne queen said...

57%
40%
60%
70%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Lovely hotel, rooms a bit dated. Breakfast was lovely but the plates are tiny.

Lorna Jarvis said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Had a lovely time staying in the Cairndale Hotel. Our meal on the Friday night was delicious and the butters quash and coconut soup was amazing. The staff were very helpful and polite and the tribute band were fantastic. Will definitely be back

john maley said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2019

Staff excellent .. food brilliant... facilities great... Decor needs upgrading big style inc carpets, curtains & furniture.

Richard Hirst said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 27th October 2019

Friendly and helpful staff, room heater didn't work so we were quite quickly moved in to another room, great breakfast.

Lynn Steven said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2019

Hotel food excellent.Entertainment on Saturday night was great. Room was great lovely big bed although could have been a bit warmer. Would definitely recommend and look forward to our next stay.

Elizabeth Mitchell said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2019

Had a great weekend at the elvis tribute weekend. The rooms were spotless but the beds were not comfortable at all . Food terrific and staff very friendly. Elvis could have been better as he kept forgetting the words to some of the songs.But saying that we had a great time and will definitely be returning.

John Bendall said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 22nd October 2019

A very pleasant hotel ideally situated with all the amenities you could need, the only negative point we found was that the room we were allocated was a bit on the compact size even though there was every thing we needed,there was also very noisy plumbing when one of the other rooms was drawing water .

Sandra Brogan said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2019

This break was good value for money. Considering what we paid we were very impressed with the quality of the food and the overall facilities. All staff were friendly and courteous. The only comments to facilitate improvements are: An added working toaster at breakfast time to minimise the need for queuing up which causes congestion. Invest in pillows which are of a better quality. (Sore necks each morning). We would have no hesitation in recommending the Cairn Hotel

sheena lamont said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2019

Had a wonderful stay at Cairndale Hotel. Staff were so helpful when we asked to change room with not so many stairs (from Room 42). Food lovely as was pool etc.

Margaret Graham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2019

We had a very relaxed few days which was the aim of our stay. ? Dinner and Service was excellent with very attentive pleasant staff. Breakfast was a little bit but of a hit or miss with toaster issues causing queues . Not the most of relaxing start to the day .

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2019

Booked this for my son & his girlfriend for his birthday they had a great time, staff really nice and friendly, food was lovely, I called them to ask if they would supply a cake for his birthday and they went out their way to do so, they said they would definitely go back and I think I would too, Thank you so much for making his birthday extra special.

thomas breen said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2019

good stay,no problems.

Lorraine Rawson said...

24%
30%
40%
0%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Food terrible only had dinner 1 night never had breakfast there was alot of Chinese in couldn't get to tables knocking food back into severing dishes with hands touching breads so we only had coffee came home a day early paid for extra and the bed was like laying on a brick it was so so hard wouldn't come again

martin smith said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Very small room at top of stairs , very noisy but spotlessly clean. Food passable at what we were paying but choice limited,at dinner. Fabulous leisure club. Overall good value for money.

lorraine Graham said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Excellent value, great facilities helpful staff, especially Joseph in the restaurant who had the best laugh and always helpful Rooms are a little tired but spotless and plenty of toiletries tea and biscuits provided each day

A guest said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Leisure facilities very good, room very warm with large bed and good shower. Food met requirements but nothing special. Service in restaurant was slow and could have been much better. Given price you get what you pay for and break was value for money.

Mrs Shelbourn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

An excellent couple of days. The hotel could not have done more to help us. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The food was excellent with a really good choice.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Had a lovely 2 night stay, staff were lovely and most helpful, food was lovely too. Only complaint was I am a smoker and although there was a terrace with seats and another area at front of the hotel for smoking none of these were under cover. It was raining when we were there so guests had to stand outside with an umbrella. Great if your a non smoker!

george mcveigh said...

54%
60%
60%
40%

Stayed 23rd August 2019

hotel food was fine on friday night,but the offering on saturday night was well below expectations.the hotel was fine as was the room and service from staff.

elena bremner said...

60%
70%
40%
70%

Stayed 8th July 2019

Not overly impressed to be honest , disorganised at meal times, wouldn’t recommend

Fiona McDowall said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2019

The Cairndale looks a little worn and dated ,however the excellent food and staff more than made up for it.The room was spotless with a comfy bed and good shower.All staff were very friendly and conscientious, doing a grand job.We absolutely loved our dinner both nights,it was the best meal I've had in a long time. We would definitely come back again.

Lorraine Todd said...

24%
40%
20%
10%

Stayed 29th May 2019

Got drinks at bar lemonade was flat.notied they had tail list they said couldn't make them didn't have ingredients . One menu for dinner and could have had choice 2.when paying exta for my steak the chips with it were either green or half cooked .and breakfast was a disaster try eggs were in look terrible when I said to the girl she said they were fine they had been busy with big big coach trip so I asked could get couple fresh eggs she said no ..it was not a good trip ...