Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Anmdrew Thompson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2020

very enjoyable

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2020

Lovely dated hotel central to city centre parking on site at check in I was pounced on for payment once I informed that I Had a booking my exact thot (jesus let me get in the door thanks) the room was huge and so was bed does need few wee patch up jobs for £99 a nte don't really expect small spot light to be lose from ceiling shower door needed cleaned and paint round door of bathroom was a bit bashed only complaint with the bed was not enough pillows for size of bed hotel restaurant was lovely and so was food but need too watch out when booking deals only have set allowance of £20 each which isn't a lot when you see the menu and wasn't made aware of this on booking that there was an allowance so when departing I was given a bill for charges relating too dinner even though what signed for at dinner didn't include these charges answer given was the system in restaurant wasn't set up to show those extra charges couldn't use the facilities so can't comment on them due to covid 19 all staff we had dealings with were lovely apart from reception staff felt were standoffish when questioned

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th August 2020

All the staff were professional and friendly. We had our temperatures taken on arrival and hand gel was there for use in all the correct areas. The room we had was lovely no14 only complaint was the door which was very stiff to open may have just been painted. The evening meal was brilliant as was the breakfast apart from the sausages which were not to our liking. Would stay here again in the future

charles comiskey said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2020

fab break.staff were fantastic....courteous and were keen to ensure you enjoyed your stay. meals were fantastic.all in all an exceptional hotel.had heard good things about it and i cant fault it at all

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd July 2020

Absolutely wonderful stay. ALL staff went out their way to make our stay enjoyable. We were allocated an upgraded spa room which was lovely. Breakfast and dinner both days was really nice. We'll certainly return in the near future.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2020

Lovely hotel. Great location. Staff pleasant. Food gorgeous. Would definitely return

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th February 2020

Cairndale is very central. Good parking at hotel . Food was good . Nice pool and sauna area In my view Cairndale Dumfries was good value for money.

vanda lewis said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th January 2020

Great price for a fab hotel. Staff were excellent and so attentive - could not fault any of them. Room lovely and clean and serviced daily. Had 4 course dinner on two nights and meal was tasty and breakfast choices fab and replenished often. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Ian Brewster said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th December 2019

Excellent New Year break.

A Lumley said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2019

Had a wonderful 3 night break, the entertainment was very good especially especially Kolin Grainger what a great entertainer and a wonderful singer. Thank You for a very good Twixmas.

Annette Stables said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd December 2019

Very enjoyable Christmas stay. Hotel staff very welcoming and worked as a great team, everything ran like clockwork, they really are a credit to the hotel. Entertainment on the first night was bad they had all the charisma of a plank of wood (don,t think they wanted to be there) that was the impression they gave. Second night was brilliant, third night (Christmas Day) Scottish Night was abysmal, early night for most and the last night was good. My only criticism of the hotel is that the heating seemed to be off in the afternoon in the rooms.

Mr Smith said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st December 2019

Great weekend had 2 night stay celebrated my birthday, ABBA and Beatles tributes both were fantastic, but special praise to just John and Paul the Beatles tribute who were really great with great variety of beatles hits and historical facts about the fab 4.will definitely return to see them and will invite friends next time

Josephine Lowe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

As a disabled person I would recommend room 2 which is very well equipped. It was first class in every way.

Thomas Martin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2019

lovely stay the staff were very helpfull and we will certainly be going back it is real value for money

A guest said...

60%
70%
80%
30%

Stayed 11th November 2019

There's no sign to tell you where the car park is which is not so much a problem in daylight but at night is definitely a problem. In particular, the only accessible parking (2 spots) is in an area difficult to get out of. The food is often overcooked both at dinner and breakfast. The room was good and the staff were friendly but room information about the Forum bar offering light meals and snacks all day was false. During the day the lounge areas are soulless and unattended. Not somewhere I'd go back to and, in fact, we left a day early as well as eating out on the 2nd night to avoid the chef's burnt offerings.

sharne queen said...

57%
40%
60%
70%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Lovely hotel, rooms a bit dated. Breakfast was lovely but the plates are tiny.

Lorna Jarvis said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Had a lovely time staying in the Cairndale Hotel. Our meal on the Friday night was delicious and the butters quash and coconut soup was amazing. The staff were very helpful and polite and the tribute band were fantastic. Will definitely be back

john maley said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2019

Staff excellent .. food brilliant... facilities great... Decor needs upgrading big style inc carpets, curtains & furniture.

Richard Hirst said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 27th October 2019

Friendly and helpful staff, room heater didn't work so we were quite quickly moved in to another room, great breakfast.

Lynn Steven said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2019

Hotel food excellent.Entertainment on Saturday night was great. Room was great lovely big bed although could have been a bit warmer. Would definitely recommend and look forward to our next stay.

Elizabeth Mitchell said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2019

Had a great weekend at the elvis tribute weekend. The rooms were spotless but the beds were not comfortable at all . Food terrific and staff very friendly. Elvis could have been better as he kept forgetting the words to some of the songs.But saying that we had a great time and will definitely be returning.

John Bendall said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 22nd October 2019

A very pleasant hotel ideally situated with all the amenities you could need, the only negative point we found was that the room we were allocated was a bit on the compact size even though there was every thing we needed,there was also very noisy plumbing when one of the other rooms was drawing water .

Sandra Brogan said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2019

This break was good value for money. Considering what we paid we were very impressed with the quality of the food and the overall facilities. All staff were friendly and courteous. The only comments to facilitate improvements are: An added working toaster at breakfast time to minimise the need for queuing up which causes congestion. Invest in pillows which are of a better quality. (Sore necks each morning). We would have no hesitation in recommending the Cairn Hotel

sheena lamont said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2019

Had a wonderful stay at Cairndale Hotel. Staff were so helpful when we asked to change room with not so many stairs (from Room 42). Food lovely as was pool etc.

Margaret Graham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2019

We had a very relaxed few days which was the aim of our stay. ? Dinner and Service was excellent with very attentive pleasant staff. Breakfast was a little bit but of a hit or miss with toaster issues causing queues . Not the most of relaxing start to the day .