Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

elena bremner said...

60%
70%
40%
70%

Stayed 8th July 2019

Not overly impressed to be honest , disorganised at meal times, wouldn’t recommend

Fiona McDowall said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2019

The Cairndale looks a little worn and dated ,however the excellent food and staff more than made up for it.The room was spotless with a comfy bed and good shower.All staff were very friendly and conscientious, doing a grand job.We absolutely loved our dinner both nights,it was the best meal I've had in a long time. We would definitely come back again.

Lorraine Todd said...

24%
40%
20%
10%

Stayed 29th May 2019

Got drinks at bar lemonade was flat.notied they had tail list they said couldn't make them didn't have ingredients . One menu for dinner and could have had choice 2.when paying exta for my steak the chips with it were either green or half cooked .and breakfast was a disaster try eggs were in look terrible when I said to the girl she said they were fine they had been busy with big big coach trip so I asked could get couple fresh eggs she said no ..it was not a good trip ...

J Duffy said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2019

Stayed two nights May bank holiday weekend Great stay staff excellent from check in onwards Room good facilities good pool n gym great food sealed the deal was excellent both nights service quick and efficient Some outside noise only down side but was a citu hotel so to be expected

D Kenneway said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th May 2019

This was a lovely hotel our room was very clean and tidy(apart from a visiting spider). The restaurant food was outstanding service very good couldnt fault it. Bar staff very friendly and very polite and pleasant.

Morag Mackay said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th May 2019

Excellent break. Huge room, fabulous bathroom. Food choice limited but quality very good. Very god value for money on the Sunday Saver. Handy for town, good parking. Yes will definitely be back1

George HoodCessnock1948 said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 15th May 2019

The hotel was ideal for a short break. Room clean and bed comfortable. Food was adequate although with limited choice on deal menu. The hotel is well positioned giving walkable access to the town centre.

Bryan Irving said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th May 2019

had a lovely weekend here. rooms, staff and food were spot-on. Unfortunately the Jacuzzi had been out of action for a few days but we still enjoyed it. Would definitely return

J McKay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2019

Had a lovely stay at the Cairndale, hotel staff were great and very friendly. The food was amazing. Enjoyed the use of the sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool. Would highly recommend.

Irene Peachey said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st April 2019

We had a lovely overnight stay on our way back to Manchester from visiting our son in Dundee. Good location for half way stay over. Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and although close to the road on the ground floor was very quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. We booked a Sunday Saver deal and upgraded the room, which was excellent value. The 4 course evening meal was delicious. I don't usually have a dessert but couldn't resist the rhubarb and ginger cheesecake, which was amazing, the best I have ever eaten! The leisure club was great with pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Easy stroll into Dumfries and Robert Burn historic trail. We would definately stay here again.

Julie Munro said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st April 2019

Staf friendly and helpful. Hotel lovely clean. Food good

A guest said...

50%
50%
50%
N/A

Stayed 24th March 2019

Hotel was okay. Room was a bit dated. Reception staff weren't very welcoming, especially when we checked out. But the barman was fab, funny & very helpful. The breakfast staff were lovely too. Main gripe was the fact there were unaccompanied children (obviously under 12yrs) in the pool (not guests). Jumping & diving, even tho signs state otherwise. Shouting and screaming & bashing each other with float aids. There was also a swimming class in, who were no bother. But no one mentioned this before we entered pool or we could have postponed til later. We were also asked to leave spa pool as the chlorine level was too high, so much so everyones eyes were nipping. We only lasted 15 minutes. Went back for a swim before breakfast next morning & it was like night and day. Much more relaxed & quiet. Was okay for what we paid. But probably wouldn't go back.

Allison Blackett said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th March 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed 2 night break with tribute act on the Saturday evening. Our triple room was spacious and beds were super comfy. Food was lovely and they catered well for vegan in our party. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend and be happy to return.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th March 2019

Lovely hotel. Very nice, clean room.. Staff were very helpful. Dinner and breakfast were excellent as was the entertainment on the Saturday night. Would definitely book again.

Ian Pennington said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 15th March 2019

Cabaret weekend was great. The room we had was very small and needs a refurb.

Diane Morrow said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

We had another fabulous weekend at the cairndale, everything was excellent from check in to the amazing upgraded rooms, breakfast, dinner and very helpful staff 10 out of 10, we'll be back again next year ?

DANIEL DONOVAN said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2019

Good food and staff but rooms need upgrading.

Margaret Dick said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2019

Nice hotel friendly staff Let down with poor breakfast

A Bryce said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th February 2019

Great hotel and stafg

Hugh Sommerville said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th November 2018

great hotel and great value for money as long its a deal would not pay £139 per night swimming pool and gym area first class all and all we had a great stay

Heather Fraser said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th November 2018

Cleanliness in hotel was really good, the furniture in rooms would benefit a refurbishment. Dinning Staff were really nice and service was great. The evening dinners was really nicely presented and food was lovely. I wasn't too keen on the hot breakfast as the haggis and potato scone were very dry.

neil rodgers said...

40%
30%
80%
10%

Stayed 20th November 2018

first night ordered honey chicken starter got pork the menu said thin fries with main they don"t serve this and you only find out when meal arrives staff were good not there fault someone in management has to sort this out room 29 is not big enough for a double this is not a cheep hotel i think i overpaid for what i got [i use a lot of hotels] wont be back

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2018

Really enjoyed our stay, great hotel staff could not be more helpful. We would definately go back.

James Fotheringham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st November 2018

Had a lovely stay. Staff were very nice and professional. The room was very spacious and decorated well. No complaints at all. Meals were very nice and service excellent. We have stayed before and will not look for anywhere else as the Cairndale exactly suits our needs. A big thanks to all the staff.

Colin Fisher said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2018

Amazing few days away at the cairndale hotel, all staff were very friendly, food was amazing would even say best food we.ve had in a hotel break, room was spacious and clean , bathroom was lovely with an extra suprise with jacuzzi bath and built in TV , overall a great hotel and definitely worth a visit