Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

sheena lamont said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2019

Had a wonderful stay at Cairndale Hotel. Staff were so helpful when we asked to change room with not so many stairs (from Room 42). Food lovely as was pool etc.

Margaret Graham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2019

We had a very relaxed few days which was the aim of our stay. ? Dinner and Service was excellent with very attentive pleasant staff. Breakfast was a little bit but of a hit or miss with toaster issues causing queues . Not the most of relaxing start to the day .

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2019

Booked this for my son & his girlfriend for his birthday they had a great time, staff really nice and friendly, food was lovely, I called them to ask if they would supply a cake for his birthday and they went out their way to do so, they said they would definitely go back and I think I would too, Thank you so much for making his birthday extra special.

thomas breen said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2019

good stay,no problems.

Lorraine Rawson said...

24%
30%
40%
0%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Food terrible only had dinner 1 night never had breakfast there was alot of Chinese in couldn't get to tables knocking food back into severing dishes with hands touching breads so we only had coffee came home a day early paid for extra and the bed was like laying on a brick it was so so hard wouldn't come again

martin smith said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Very small room at top of stairs , very noisy but spotlessly clean. Food passable at what we were paying but choice limited,at dinner. Fabulous leisure club. Overall good value for money.

lorraine Graham said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Excellent value, great facilities helpful staff, especially Joseph in the restaurant who had the best laugh and always helpful Rooms are a little tired but spotless and plenty of toiletries tea and biscuits provided each day

A guest said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 13th October 2019

Leisure facilities very good, room very warm with large bed and good shower. Food met requirements but nothing special. Service in restaurant was slow and could have been much better. Given price you get what you pay for and break was value for money.

Mrs Shelbourn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2019

An excellent couple of days. The hotel could not have done more to help us. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The food was excellent with a really good choice.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Had a lovely 2 night stay, staff were lovely and most helpful, food was lovely too. Only complaint was I am a smoker and although there was a terrace with seats and another area at front of the hotel for smoking none of these were under cover. It was raining when we were there so guests had to stand outside with an umbrella. Great if your a non smoker!

george mcveigh said...

54%
60%
60%
40%

Stayed 23rd August 2019

hotel food was fine on friday night,but the offering on saturday night was well below expectations.the hotel was fine as was the room and service from staff.

elena bremner said...

60%
70%
40%
70%

Stayed 8th July 2019

Not overly impressed to be honest , disorganised at meal times, wouldn’t recommend

Fiona McDowall said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2019

The Cairndale looks a little worn and dated ,however the excellent food and staff more than made up for it.The room was spotless with a comfy bed and good shower.All staff were very friendly and conscientious, doing a grand job.We absolutely loved our dinner both nights,it was the best meal I've had in a long time. We would definitely come back again.

Lorraine Todd said...

24%
40%
20%
10%

Stayed 29th May 2019

Got drinks at bar lemonade was flat.notied they had tail list they said couldn't make them didn't have ingredients . One menu for dinner and could have had choice 2.when paying exta for my steak the chips with it were either green or half cooked .and breakfast was a disaster try eggs were in look terrible when I said to the girl she said they were fine they had been busy with big big coach trip so I asked could get couple fresh eggs she said no ..it was not a good trip ...

J Duffy said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2019

Stayed two nights May bank holiday weekend Great stay staff excellent from check in onwards Room good facilities good pool n gym great food sealed the deal was excellent both nights service quick and efficient Some outside noise only down side but was a citu hotel so to be expected

D Kenneway said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th May 2019

This was a lovely hotel our room was very clean and tidy(apart from a visiting spider). The restaurant food was outstanding service very good couldnt fault it. Bar staff very friendly and very polite and pleasant.

Morag Mackay said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th May 2019

Excellent break. Huge room, fabulous bathroom. Food choice limited but quality very good. Very god value for money on the Sunday Saver. Handy for town, good parking. Yes will definitely be back1

George HoodCessnock1948 said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 15th May 2019

The hotel was ideal for a short break. Room clean and bed comfortable. Food was adequate although with limited choice on deal menu. The hotel is well positioned giving walkable access to the town centre.

Bryan Irving said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th May 2019

had a lovely weekend here. rooms, staff and food were spot-on. Unfortunately the Jacuzzi had been out of action for a few days but we still enjoyed it. Would definitely return

J McKay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2019

Had a lovely stay at the Cairndale, hotel staff were great and very friendly. The food was amazing. Enjoyed the use of the sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool. Would highly recommend.

Irene Peachey said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st April 2019

We had a lovely overnight stay on our way back to Manchester from visiting our son in Dundee. Good location for half way stay over. Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and although close to the road on the ground floor was very quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. We booked a Sunday Saver deal and upgraded the room, which was excellent value. The 4 course evening meal was delicious. I don't usually have a dessert but couldn't resist the rhubarb and ginger cheesecake, which was amazing, the best I have ever eaten! The leisure club was great with pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Easy stroll into Dumfries and Robert Burn historic trail. We would definately stay here again.

Julie Munro said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st April 2019

Staf friendly and helpful. Hotel lovely clean. Food good

A guest said...

50%
50%
50%
N/A

Stayed 24th March 2019

Hotel was okay. Room was a bit dated. Reception staff weren't very welcoming, especially when we checked out. But the barman was fab, funny & very helpful. The breakfast staff were lovely too. Main gripe was the fact there were unaccompanied children (obviously under 12yrs) in the pool (not guests). Jumping & diving, even tho signs state otherwise. Shouting and screaming & bashing each other with float aids. There was also a swimming class in, who were no bother. But no one mentioned this before we entered pool or we could have postponed til later. We were also asked to leave spa pool as the chlorine level was too high, so much so everyones eyes were nipping. We only lasted 15 minutes. Went back for a swim before breakfast next morning & it was like night and day. Much more relaxed & quiet. Was okay for what we paid. But probably wouldn't go back.

Allison Blackett said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th March 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed 2 night break with tribute act on the Saturday evening. Our triple room was spacious and beds were super comfy. Food was lovely and they catered well for vegan in our party. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend and be happy to return.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th March 2019

Lovely hotel. Very nice, clean room.. Staff were very helpful. Dinner and breakfast were excellent as was the entertainment on the Saturday night. Would definitely book again.