Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Slaley Hall Hotel, Hexham

Slaley Hall, Hexham, NE470BX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

72%

sarah thomas said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 9th November 2019

To whom concerned. We have resided with yourselves several times previously and always recommended you to others. As we had always rated your hotel we decided to book for my wife’s 50th birthday with family friends. We originally made the booking for 6 people, through hotel break. We tried to extend the bookings and add on an additional person. We were unable to do it through hotel break so rang the hotel reception personally and explained the situation. The lady on the phone was very helpful and explained that they could change the double room and offer a family room and as it was for 3 adults it would consist of three single beds. On arrival we checked in at 3pm and proceeded to our three rooms. Here is were it all began. The family room had a double bed and a sofa bed made up. We went to reception and explained that the sleeping arrangements were not correct and that it was infact a double bed and unstable pull out that sunk in the middle instead of the three single. The lady on reception apologised and explained that if we vacated the room, housekeeping and maintenance would replace the put up bed with a normal single bed. We did not want fuss so agreed and moved out. It was replaced an hour and a half later. On return to our astonishment it was a single camp bed with no headboard and heavily stained (see attached picture). We rang reception and yet again an apology was given and assurance that she would solve the situation. Within the next half hour we were offered a replacement room and sleeping arrangements. We had previously booked to dine at 7pm and had a mad dash to prepare for the evening. On arrival we were greeted by a young man who checked on the system and seemed confused as to where our table booking was so he excused himself and went to see his manager who came over and found our reservation and showed us to the table. After a few minutes a young boy came over and introduced himself and took our drinks order. He returned to take out starters and mains order. After quite a while we noticed our order mostly steaks been brought over to our table. There was then some confusion as we had not had starters yet, this was then explained by the boy that he had made a mistake on the system and forgot to put our starters through first. The steaks ect were taken back and we had to wait for out starters. These were then brought and dished out to find that infact another mistake had been made and only six had been ordered instead of seven. Myself ‘the birthday girl” had a ten minute wait on mine by which this time the rest of the party had finished theirs. We were offered a complimentary drink while i eat mine on my own. We waited a while again to be cleared and mains to be brought out. The steaks were without the sauces that had been ordered. We were one blue cheese and two peppercorn missing. By this time the service boy was past his best again and was taken away upset to the station. As we began to eat it was obviously apparent that the medium steaks were bleeding and we had a 18week pregnant lady in the party who is not allowed rare meat, a blue steak was well done and two were inedible and unable to cut. We asked for the restaurant manager. He came and apologised and tried the meat. He said there was no excuse he could give and said how embarrassing this all was. He asked us to re order and gave us more drinks. They gave us deserts off the normal menu and not the tdh. The whole night was a sham from start to finish as had the day been. We left the restaurant around 10pm our planned night was ruined and to late to do anything. We had enough time to purchase one round of tails before the shutters came down on the bar. We asked to speak to the hotel manager in the morning and went to our rooms. Not all of our group were drinking but unfortunately our two drivers were otherwise we would have vacated the hotel that evening as myself and the party planner by this time were distraught and too upset. My husband spoke to the the manager the following morning, she was not helpful and stated they do not allow three adults in one room so the hotel reception should not have booked that and that we had been compensated with a few drinks and food. She offered the price of one of the 7 adults cost back of £70 and told us if we were not happy to contact yourselves. I cannot believe my whole 50th birthday and night was ruined from start to finish and also that of my 6 other guests, including one carrying my grandson been put at risk by been given undercooked food. Yours sincerely Sarah Thomas

james mann said...

50%
50%
0%
100%

Stayed 19th October 2019

Hello there, i was disappointed in my stay as i ordered a bottle of prosecco for our arrival for a suprise for my girlfriend and wen we arrived the bottle was not there and spoilt the suprise for my girlfriend. Also when we were having our meal i ordered a drink waited 10 minutes then when my girlfriends drink arrived it was the wrong drink and another 10 minutes past and my girlfriend still did not have a drink by this time I finished my drink and was sick of waiting so paid the bill and told the waiter i did not want the drink no more as waiting far to long. Very disappointing

James Carlin said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th July 2019

Was looking forward to and thoroughly enjoyed our stay At Slaley Hall. Food was good with good choices for the allowance - easy to do two courses with the allowance given, breakfast was varied and fresh. The bar was lovely and the staff in the bar were very attentive - never used the golf bar as the golf open was on so was quite busy with golfers! The pool area was ok - the changing rooms let it down but these are being renovated in the next couple of weeks, lots of loungers with towels on but ody there?! Didn't use the treatment rooms. The room was slightly disappointing - small and I felt a bit basic for the standard of the hotel - perhaps in need of an update especially the bathroom, it was however clean and comfortable. The surrounding area is lovely and it was very relaxing, minor updates would make all the difference - would go again as long as on a good deal.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd July 2019

The whole stay was an absolute pleasure and fantastic value for money. All the staff were very polite and friendly, making us feel very welcome! Lovely walks around the grounds and the spa was really nice. Would definitely go back again ??

Callum Whittle said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st July 2019

Room was incredible, more than I had expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend and return in the near future

natalie johnson said...

64%
70%
60%
60%

Stayed 20th June 2019

Room was clean and tidy. Reception staff very friendly. Slight confusion as was supposed to get twenty percent discount on golf, was 30.00 to book online via slayley hall website but if booked directly with the golf shop over phone 40.00 so unable to use discount. Found breakfast disappointing, had to ask for coffee four times, eventually got some when we had finished breakfast, at least 30 minutes later, no milk brought with it , when we asked for some they took it off a table that someone had previously been sitting at using.

Charlotte Wolstenholme said...

70%
50%
70%
90%

Stayed 8th June 2019

Beautiful Hotel, however the rooms are a bit dated! Most of the staff were kind and friendly! I was a bit disappointed that we were not given a gown and slippers as it is a Spa hotel! I did ask for one but was told the gown did not come with my room! The food was Lovely however I did notice that the menu on the website was different to the menu in the hotel! Some of the meals were not on the menu in the hotel!

Keith Dickson said...

54%
30%
80%
50%

Stayed 24th May 2019

Was disappointed in the room as it was old fashioned and tired likewise the spa. Some of the toilets in the main hotel were badly needing a re vamp, as some appliances were broken. Grounds and golf courses looked good, as did the Claret Jug restaurant/bar.

jade stephenson said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st April 2019

Staff and service brilliant only downfall was our room should have been a double room but had been given a twin room with two beds pushed together which wasn’t the most comfortable and wasn’t convenient to be asked to move once we had unpacked.

Fiona Crowe said...

90%
100%
70%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

Very disappointed as spa very busy staff spoke in offhand manner not interested in arranging spa treatments too busy but my daughter had emailed earlier in the week which they didn't, Reply to made excuses New policy pool etc available from 12 noon on arrival but on day of departure only up to 11 am! We didn't know about this Reception on arrival and staff very brusque but dinner was lovely and staff attentive I informed reception on discharge she was helpful Also rang yourselves spoke to Pam as very disappointed about spa

Samantha Hobson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2019

I booked this for one of my fiance's 50th birthday present and I wasn't too impressed. I had informed the staff via email that it was his birthday but no extra fuss was given. The rooms were nice but as a whole I have been to better hotels. The spa and treatments were lovely and the staff in the spa were amazing. I have since booked another break away and already I have been contacted with an upgrade and VIP treatment which was very unexpected.

A guest said...

84%
100%
90%
60%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Very enjoyable stay made to feel welcome lovely friendly staff and Molly our erpoo was made very welcome by all with ease lovely definitely will be back

A guest said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Slaley Hall is a lovely venue with a beautiful Spa however we had a disappointing stay. Upon entering the Spa we came to the reception desk where an abusive male was using the phone, he was swearing and ignoring instructions from staff asking him to leave. We later found out that there had been an incident with him and his partner resulting in a police presence at the hotel until after midnight. We entered the Spa to try and enjoy the rest of our evening, the Spa itself is a lovely place however the refreshment counter was closed so we could not have anything other than complimentary water. We later went to the Claret Bar for a snack to find that meals are priced way to high for the standard of the food. I could not fault the staff but felt let down due to the clientele and the fact that the refreshment area was closed in the pool area very early.

Lynne Hewitt said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2018

Had an amazing time as usual ,love this hotel. Had a lovely surprise on check in,we were upgraded to a suite,made our stay perfect. Had the bookcase afternoon tea which was delicious. Can't fault Slaley Hall and the DB&B offer through My Hotel break is fantastic value for money. We will definitely be booking again.

gavin brace said...

57%
50%
50%
70%

Stayed 1st December 2018

Ordered a double room, when we arrived it was two singles pushed together. Beds were different heights so wasnt comfortable at all. Numerous lights in the room didnt work. Room 125. Later on we went to the spa, not shown around just told where changing rooms was and thats it and given a towel. Kids jumping and screaming around the pool, so hardly relaxing. Upon checking out wasnt asked how my stay was..Needs improvement. Happy for managment to contact me to discuss this

Sonia Bell said...

54%
70%
30%
60%

Stayed 17th November 2018

Our food bell off the night before had not been registered before we checked out and they tried to charge us again the following morning

Shelley Keane said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 30th September 2018

Amazing location but was a little disappointed with the overall finish of the rooms.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd August 2018

Fantastic location. Stunning views over the immaculate golf courses. Lift not working for our 3 days there !!

Wendy Shaw said...

74%
100%
70%
50%

Stayed 29th May 2018

Great place. Lovely big room which was clean and good facilities. The only disappointing point was the size of the dinner portions. Good selection at breakfast service was very slow though.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th May 2018

A lovely stay at Slaley Hall. We were offered a complimentary room upgrade upon arrival which was much appreciated. All the staff we met were very helpful and polite. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was great.

Wendy Williams said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2018

Our stay at Staley hall was very nice although we had a couple of hitches had to wait 20 minutes for a dessert of a bowl of berries after lunch and a 15-20 minute wait queuing for a table for breakfast the next day the staff were brilliant but it felt very understaffed and very rushed however I would try this hotel again also the swimming pool area could be a bit more attractive as when you're lying on the loungers by the pool you're looking up to large pipes running along the ceiling not very attractive

Neil Robertson said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 17th February 2018

A lovely hotel set in beautiful countryside. Leisure facil were really nice too.

jane alker said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th November 2017

Lovely hotel,room very clean & modern hotel gorgeous setting we loved our stay thank you

christine baelz said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd October 2017

Had a great stay - nice welcome from friendly staff, great room & an excellent breakfast. We were last here 15 years ago & the hotel looks just as good. Our dog was with us & everyone was very happy about that.

Michelle Tweddell said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th September 2017

Very nice, would recommend