Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Lion Hotel, Shrewsbury, Shrewsbury

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY11UY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

73%

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th July 2020

Lovely hotel and staff, our room was clean and comfortable , I asked for a fan as it was a really hot night and it was in our room shortly after x breakfast was lovely , staff working hard to keep everyone socially distanced x would highly recommend this hotel , the young man serving our breakfast was lovely and attentive ( I wish I had remembered his name to give him a mention ) he served breakfast to us Sunday 9th August x can’t fault anything about our stay , all staff were lovely and helpful Thankyou

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th August 2020

A good central location, upon arrival from the English Bridge direction we got caught out by the road restrictions that are now in place in the town centre and went around the houses a bit before we finally made it to the car park. Parking is reduced for guests at £5 for 24 hours, remember to validate your registration at reception! Staff were super helpful, we stayed at the end of the recent heatwave, the room we were initially allocated (107) was above a restaurant and the extractor fan was really noisy, we were given an alternative without hesitation. As others have said, this is an old building, so don’t expect modern facilities, yes decor, fixtures and fittings are dated and in my opinion it is reflected in the price. Most importantly is the fact that the hotel is spotlessly clean. There are a lot of stairs, especially so due to C19 measures that are in place, I would not recommend the property to anyone with mobility issues. Given how hot the weather was and lack of air conditioning we had a comfortable night’s sleep. We were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast provided, plenty to keep us going until lunch. If I was to return to Shrewsbury I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again

Janet Gilbride said...

10%
10%
10%
10%

Stayed 13th August 2020

Dirty hotel with no lift yet stuck on the top floor. This hotel needs up dating as a lovely location. The shower was either hot or cold

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th July 2016

It was nice to stay there

A guest said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 18th July 2016

Friendly staff,convenient location with on site parking (£5per car per night which is good when you see how much it is else where!) And its set in a very old building where they have kept a lot of the original features.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th July 2016

Honestly don't know what is with some of the negativity on here but everything about it delighted us....dinner was heavenly (especially the beef!), the style of the hotel was so old fashioned in a quirky stylish way yet also luxurious. The staff were all so nice and it was in a perfect central location. The history of the hotel is also very interesting. Yes there was a bit if noise from the bar next door in our room (301) but you can't expect absolute perfection when you've booked the cheapest room available. Bed was big and comfy though. Breakfast was also very nice. Thank you for a lovely stay, if opportunity arises we will be coming back especially since we fell in love with Shrewsbury itself.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th July 2016

I stayed here last year and to be honest I was not looking forward to my return. I was pleasantly surprised on my return. The hotel looked cleaner and the service was much faster. the room I was given was full of old world charm. I can honestly say I would return here again

A guest said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 17th July 2016

Having recently stayed at this hotel for a family party, reading reviews on site I have to say I was a little apprehensive but to be fair was pleasantly surprised. Yes the hotel is very old and tired but that almost is part of its charm in the historical town of Shrewsbury. The room/bathroom was basic, dated but clean and served the purpose for a one night stay. All the staff were helpful, the car park is a little tight. The breakfast again was traditional and service good. Overall this is old hotel that does need refurbishing but is still a comfortable place to stay for a trip to this beautiful town and for under £100 for the night B&B it was only what is to be expected.