Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, Gloucester

Upton St Leonards, Gloucester, GL48ED, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

stella ellis said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st April 2019

A wonderful two days , good value for money , evening meal faboulos. All the staff were Friendley and effecient.

A guest said...

37%
50%
20%
40%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Entertainment was really good Housekeeping staff were very helpful Waiting staff were good Management could have been more accommodating Mattress dirty No sugar on breakfast tray Poached eggs tasted strange, metallic taste on the whites ody collected our breakfast order form from the door... had to chase it up During the evening entertainment the price of the drinks kept changing

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th February 2019

Attractive building set in extensive grounds. Value for money. Not our first visit and will not be our last.

claire rapson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2019

Had a lovely time at the hotel. Staff were very friendly. The food was very good. Breakfast was buffet and cooked to perfection. Lovely and hot and lots to choose from. Rooms were lovely and clean. Lots to do around Gloucester.

Lesley Phillips said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th December 2018

Very enjoyable stay staff very helpful and lovely location.

Michael Bond said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th October 2018

Very nice break. Very comfortable, all clean and tidy, friendly and efficient staff. Good food. Would stay again.

david stamp said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2018

We had a great time at the Bowdan Hall , we had a loverly room and very comfy bed and was spotless. Staff also very friendly and helpful. Food was good also with a nice breakfast . All in all a really great stay , would definitely recommend and we will definitely be going back.

tracey whytock said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2018

Pleasant hotel Good location for visiting surrounding areas and places of interest Front of house staff very friendly and helpful No televisions in communal areas Room 431 was in the attic, I would advise precaution and extra care when getting in/out of bed or sitting up in bed as bed is placed under eaves and we both repeatedly struck our heads on these .........Ouch !

Michelle Abbott said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2018

Great hotel , very relaxing set in lovely grounds.Staff were great particularly those on reception. Would return .

Annie Copping said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2018

Very friendly staff especially the lady on reception from Lithuania. Nice hotel, not suitable for older people as there are no lifts. Food good.However, the drinks are very very expensive. Breakfast o.k but the food could be hotter.

john fouracre said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd February 2018

We had a relaxing stay , staff friendly and helpful , room comfortable, would definitely stay again

Linda Head said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2018

this hotel break was just what the doctor ordered. It was a lovely Hotel Staff very helpful and friendly (especially receptionist cannot remember her name but lovely girl and also Pablo the restaurant Manager was lovely) they both made us feel very welcome and nothing too much trouble. Room was lovely bed was very comfortable and cleanliness was excellent. The food in the restaurant was first class and enjoyed every mouthful only one thing I would say is that they portions are little on the small side but all in all very good . The deal we had was exceptional value for money and would highly recommend this hotel and deal to all my friends and we will be returning in the not to distant future. The grounds the Hotel is in looks beautiful and hopefully will return in the summer as the gardens look lovely. Thank you for a lovely and pleasant stay.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th October 2017

Rooms comfortable and well decorated. Helpful and friendly staff. Really enjoyed our stay.

gerard burns said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th October 2017

Very enjoyable stay,the staff were very friendly brvice and meals excellent,rooms ok

lisa rosewarne said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 29th September 2017

Very enjoyable short break. The hotel was superb. Food excellent. Staff very attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Graham Savage said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2017

Good hotel, good room, good food. Hotel staff were courteous at all times.

Susan Hancock said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 20th July 2017

Lovely stay great staff only complaint was the hard pillows. Would stay again

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th June 2017

Very nice hotel near Gloucester. In process of being refurbished but not a problem. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Room was comfortable with lovely view over the garden. Food at dinner was very good(tasting menu) and wine served with it complimented well. Buffet breakfast was good and quickly replenished. Would stay here again.

Kevin Milward said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 17th June 2017

Lovely stay only downside being charged dinner service

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st May 2017

Staff friendly and helpful. Good food and wine. Public rooms delightful and outdoor space appreciated during the good weather. Hotel would benefit from a lift.

F Danford said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2017

Fantastic Hotel ..wonderful staff.. Food , Room and Setting All Perfect !!

Stephen Grant said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd April 2017

Excellent service and superb food.

steven smith said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 7th April 2017

Lovely hotel and location, rooms and public areas very clean, although the rooms could do with a makeover, the staff on the whole were very good although some of the younger dreakfast staff require more training, the breakfast was ok but very unorganised having to wait for the selection to be put out all at one time, No gfruit, No tomatoes, No white bread for toast was told the delivery had not arrived!! The dinner menu was quite basic and limited for a 4* hotel though was well cooked and presented, the local pub( 20 mins walk) serves meals all day which is decent pub grub!.grounds are fantastic, the drinks are quite expensive from the bar, the hotel requires a Spar to make it excellent! Overall we had a really enjoyable stay.

Karen Ridley said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st April 2017

There was a problem with our booking when we arrived, think they could only find 1 room but we had booked 2. Luckily I had the confirmation email. They were very sorry we had free lunch and drinks while we waited. Receptionist was lovely and our room was great, very roomy, clean and decor was fine. Our friends room was on the top floor with a tiny window hot and cramped. As we were only there for 1 night they didn't complain, they didn't have water in their room either. The promised picnic was not available when we arrived but we received it when we checked out and it was super. Large bottle of cava because they didn't have the small bottles. We were the first to book this break. Staff were very apologetic but it was fine by us. Free gift of welcome drinks vouchers was sent to our room. All in all a lovely break in a lovely setting. Food was good and staff friendly and helpful.

Joanne Walter said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th November 2016

Lovely hotel, very friendly helpful staff, would recommend, about a four mile drive from city centre