Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Old Churches House Hotel, Dunblane

Cathedral Square, Dunblane, FK15 0AJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

S Mckeown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th January 2019

Churches House Hotel is a very special place and I have happy memories of staying their with my husband. This was my first visit on my own since losing my husband and I cannot thank the staff and the new owners enough for their kindness and compssion to me throughout my stay. The whole experience of staying here is superb but the staff are what makes this small hotel such a special place.

sarah holms said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th January 2019

Very pleased with our stay x lovely hotel, great staff

carole cardwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th December 2018

Beautiful small hotel. Can’t fault it. Staff friendly, lovely rooms and food is delicious. Look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Christine Wilson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2018

First class staff very friendly and helpful food great will definitely return

Linda Robertson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2018

Lovely little hotel right in the heart of Dunblane. Our room was very comfortable with a huge bed which looked out onto the cathedral. There was a complimentary bottle of white wine in an ice bucket in our room and as I don’t drink white wine I asked if it could be changed for a red and this was no problem. I was even given a choice of which bottle I would like. The food was amazing, we had dinner and breakfast. The staff were very polite and friendly. I would not hesitate to stay again in this hotel.

David Richardson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd September 2018

Great food excellent staff will be back for a third time

Margaret Graham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th April 2018

Very friendly attentive staff .Food beautifully presented and quality excellent.

Doreen Spencr said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd February 2018

This hotel is very central. Staff very helpful and well mannered. Had a lovely stay. Food was excellent. Our room was very clean only concern was that it was a bit on the small side. This would not stop us going back.

Marie Murphy said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 27th January 2018

Lovely room but the bed was too small and not very comfortable, meal in restaurant was very good.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th January 2018

Lovely hotel situated in a lovely place, second time staying at the old churches house hotel would go back again. rooms are nice, food is good and Dunblane is such a great town to visit.

A guest said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 16th December 2017

We were disappointed that there was no bath or heating in the bathroom. Also tea in the morning was cold.

John Alan Hampson said...

64%
70%
60%
60%

Stayed 10th December 2017

We arrived at 2.45 when the hotel informed us that the restaurant was not working that evening.We were offered lunch that afternoon or the next day Hotel said they had tried to contact us but couldn’t staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good freshly cooked and tasty.Slight fault no fresh fruit

Mr Young said...

60%
90%
80%
10%

Stayed 5th December 2017

Since we last stayed at this hotel the food and accommodation aspects of the business have been separated and are now run by different businesses. There was a marked deterioration in the choice and quality of the food especially the breakfast. We arrived late afternoon and requested a snack or scone etc but were told only festive lunch was available, there were not even crisps or nuts available from the bar. Because of the business split it was not possible to simply charge items to the room everything had to be paid for on an ongoing basis instead of the simpler settling the bill at the end of the stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean and comfortable but given the disappointing food and breakfast we will not be returning again.

Mrs Galbraith said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 20th November 2017

Pleasant atmosphere in newly refurbished building. Staff very helpful without being intrusive, we really enjoyed our stay.

A guest said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 27th November 2017

Review of our recent hotel break in churches dunblane enjoyed hotel room very comfortable Very central disappointed in dinner which was included in deal. Asked for steak to be medium to well done paid extra seven pounds on top, my husbands Meal was very tough to chew, mine was inedible blood running running through plate. Waiter offered to take plate back he agreed steak wasn't up to par, offered desert or liqueur coffee And take my seven pounds extra off bill, as it was an anniversary meal completely took Shine off the celebration plus we had already paid for dinner in booking. Very disappointed in meal complete let down, staff very nice and helpful would consider going Back maybe but not eat in restaurant not worth prices they charge for quality of meals. Regards Mrs. Margaret Smith.

Philomena McGrory said...

70%
N/A
N/A
70%

Stayed 25th November 2017

We arrived here on Saay. I had booked 2 rooms on a DBB rate. I was there with my 3 sisters. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that there had been an error on the part of reservations and that only been one room was reserved for us. Fortunately, I had a copy of my booking with me. The duty manager, Malcolm, was very apologetic, we asked what was to happen now? He said he would call his manager and see if he could arrange for us to stay at the Dunblane Hydro. He managed to secure us rooms at the Dunblane Hydro. He then said that under the cirstances, as they had messed up, there would be no charge to us. I asked him, more than once if he was sure there would be no charge, and was informed that that was indeed correct. We all thought this was indeed very good customer service, thanked him for sorting everything out for us and departed to the Dunblane Hydro. We carried on with the rest of our stay and although it was a bit of a hassle to taxi to-ing and fro-ing when we would have been in the location we wanted to, we thought that it was acceptable to have this inconvenience as Old Churches House Hotel had I then received a telephone call at my home on Tuesday requesting that I call the hotel, when I called them they said that there had been a mistake and that we should never have been told there would be no charge, Malcolm didn't have the authority, even though he had been on the telephone with his manager and as far as we were aware the manager had relayed this to Malcolm. I explained that we had been put out, paying for taxis (which we wouldn't have needed) and also just the general inconvenience of it all. I said I would speak with my sisters, inform them of the situation and call the hotel back. I called the hotel back on the Wednesday and spoke to a Heather. I explained that we were most unhappy that Malcolm's decision now seemed to be over-ridden, I feel the Hotel should have stood by what he told us. Heather then pointed out that actually they hadn't needed to transfer all 4 of us (only the 2 that didn't have the room). I got the impression from her that we were supposed to feel grateful that they had actually accommodated us. I was then informed that if I wasn't happy that I should contact the director, I asked if there was any point, and was informed that no there wasn't as he would stand by what heather had told me. I asked her why did she suggest that I contact him then when there was no point . I felt a bit aggrieved by Heather's attitude, I would say that she should maybe take a leaf out of Malcolm's book!!! I think that we should have been compensated in some small way for the inconvenience caused to us (a) by not getting the break we had chosen, (b) for the to-ing and fro-ing and (c) in general. I have booked through My Hotel Break on many an occasion and have never had any bother with any of my bookings.

Marilyn mccaig said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th November 2017

4 friends stayed for 2 days and we had a lovely time. Bedrooms were very cosy and clean. Dinner and breakfast was beautiful and all staff were very attentive to any requests. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Karen Gammie said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th November 2017

Stay was ok just didn't relies we were not staying in the hotel it's self.

Martin Hooper said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 1st November 2017

The room was well appointed, very comfortable and warm with lovely views over the cathedral. Dinner menu was not extensive but was interesting and the food tasty. Breakfast was generally OK, pretty standard really, but (on the second day) the bacon appeared to have been pre-cooked some time before and re-heated, maybe even several times - not really very palatable. Perhaps a minor point but this was the only disappointment during our whole visit, thus the middling food score.

A guest said...

84%
100%
70%
80%

Stayed 8th November 2017

Lovely hotel but there were a few problems with service

Jill Glendinning said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 11th November 2017

We were met with a very friendly welcome in the bar/restaurant and made our own way to our rooms. Dinner was very good although the coffee was lukewarm and we could not attract the attention of the staff. However when we went to pay for dinner this was taken off the bill. The beds were comfortable and the rooms and bathroom clean and warm. Breakfast was served at the table and was less than satisfactory. It was also lukewarm, the tattie scone was dry and hard and the poached egg hard. The toast was white only, served cold on a plate and one slice was a heel! Altogether an enjoyable experience but room for improvement.

Elizabeth Lapinskie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2017

Room was small but nicely decorated although there wasn't a wardrobe which meant our tops and trousers were folded and put in drawers!! Lovely views over to cathedral from the room and dining room . Food was amazing , all staff so helpful and nice .

Liz Mckenna said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2017

Lovely hotel. Room a bit small but adequate. Needs a mirror above dressing table. Could do with more staff at breakfast time to avoid long wait for food. Would come back

Heather Thomson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd October 2017

Very nice and quite hotel will recomend to my friends

J Malaly said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2017

Very enjoyable stay at the hotel. Staff very friendly and attentive. Food lovely. Would return to hotel.