Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Abbots Well Hotel, Chester

Whitchurch Road, Chester, CH35QL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Anne-Marie Scully said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 3rd March 2020

Nice clean hotel. Convenient location near park and ride. Decent breakfast and evening meal.

A guest said...

70%
70%
100%
40%

Stayed 20th February 2020

Excellent service the breakfast was a little poor as not the full range as previously.

A guest said...

67%
90%
50%
60%

Stayed 17th February 2020

Great value break Massive comfy bed Swimming pool/ leisure centre is a bit dated and in need of a bit of TLC Food was lovely included 3 course meal Brvice very slow

george wallace said...

40%
50%
40%
30%

Stayed 14th February 2020

Went home disappointed with following the way was treated from the dining staff and bar staff .

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2020

Evening staff member extremely helpful when a double room had been allocated instead of a twin room. She quickly checked to see if the bed could be divided and had them made up. Room very clean but pillows very uncomfortable. Breakfast delicious.

Christine Hill said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th February 2020

Lovely stay near Chester. Enjoyed using the hotel leisure facilities and had a fantastic breakfast every morning. the evening meal on the first night was a slight disappointment but it made up for it on the second night. The road traffic outside was slightly noisy.We would use this hotel again if we visited the area again

Amanda Derzypilskyj said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st February 2020

Very nice hotel. Food excellent great choice and quality. Spa well kept and good

Arnold Ellis Hughes said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th January 2020

Relaxing spa weekend break with easy travelling to city centre I Saturday evening. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent friday evening restaurant meal.

Arnold Ellis Hughes said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th January 2020

Relaxing spa weekend break with easy travelling to city centre I Saturday evening. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent friday evening restaurant meal.

A guest said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th January 2020

Will certainly return on our next visit to Chester.

Warren Searle said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th December 2019

We use abbot wells regularly.... always a pleasure

Margaret BLAKE said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th October 2019

This was a great value break The hotel rooms were a little tired but clean and comfortable Breakfast and dinner had a fair amount of choice We even had a bottle of wine with dinner Would book again

Roger Moore said...

75%
60%
N/A
90%

Stayed 18th September 2019

Rooms clean, but a little small. No wardrobe - just a projecting wall bracket. Staff - all but one (night reception) very polite and helpful - especially in the dining room. Health club needs some tlc, especially the gents changing room!

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2019

Good location and excellent value for money. Hotel and room clean and tidy albeit needs bit of updating here and there. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend for a short break Chester with its history is well worth a visit.

Larraine Hargreaves said...

74%
80%
60%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2019

Very friendly hotel and a good size room with a comfortable bed.

J Travers said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 1st April 2019

A comfortable hotel in a quiet location close to Chester. Nice leisure facilities. We had a dinner package on our first night which was good value otherwise restaurant and bar prices are expensive. Reception staff were very helpful.

Jean Hill said...

80%
100%
90%
50%

Stayed 23rd November 2018

The evening meal was disappointing. We ate elsewhere after the first evening. The beef bourguignon contained very little beef. The goat’s cheese and beetroot salad was unpleasant, a clash of incompatible ingredients. However the lemon posset was delicious. At breakfast the coffee cream turned out to be black coffee and when I reported this, it took a long time before I was believed. The pastries were cold. The ‘bread selection’ turned out to be just white or brown.

Fred White said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Just come back from a 2 night stay with evening meal 1 night and breakfast both mornings. The hotel is in a good location, next to the park and ride to get straight into the city. Food was good in the evening but the breakfast buffet was a let down. The down side to this hotel was the drinks prices. £9.50 for a glass of wine and £5 for a pint of beer was excessive so we had a 5 minute walk to the pub down the road for drinks nearly half the price.

A guest said...

74%
80%
100%
40%

Stayed 30th September 2018

All staff at all time were friendly and nothing to much trouble. Arrived for dinner which was included in the price. Lovely dining room with pleasant outlook to the gardens. Unfortunately crumbs and food left on the floor from breakfast. The evening meal was lovely I ordered curry unfortunately no popodums left so was given onion rings. The room was comfortable and clean. Some people may not like the fact that the hotel is very dated but didn't bother us. Breakfast was included in the price for us. £11 if you order the night before or £15.95 on the day. Very poor value. OK there was a Coach party in and food was slow to be replenished. It appeared there was only one member of staff trying to keep on top of things. No cutlery or cups. In fact we had to keep asking for everything. Felt extremely sorry for the gentleman working as he needed support. The food that was available was good but I have marked the score down for the lack of food available at breakfast! The evening meal was excellent.

Linda Slack said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 27th September 2017

From check in to check out everything went well. The only annoying bit was the cost of the wine in the restaurant.

ALAN RAMSAY said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th April 2017

Enjoyed our time at the hotel, food was good and staff were friendly, but we do think the rooms could do with a makeover

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th November 2016

room was spacious. The restaurant had reasonable prices kids eat free.

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th November 2016

Good location for city, leave car at hotel and get park/ride bus, couple of mins to walk. £2.00 return per person.

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th November 2016

Breakfast was amazing, great variety. Comfortable rooms. Great location, staff were accommodating and very friendly.

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 23rd November 2016

we stayed for one night in a family room which was lovely and spacious for the four of us. pool was relaxing, clean and warm. gorgeous breakfast and served till 11am and check out wasn't until 12. really nice stay. x