Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Beech Hill Hotel & Spa, Windermere

Newby Bridge Road, Windermere, LA233LR, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

Alan Bainbridge said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2021

We found the hotel very friendly and welcoming. The meals were very good. Unfortunately there was a bad smell near and in the room we had so the hotel was very accommodating and changed our room which was much better.

stephen wood said...

60%
30%
70%
80%

Stayed 6th June 2021

We recently stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. The staff in the hotel were lovely as was the evening meal. We did not use the spa facility during our stayed but were surprised to find that this was an extra 17.50 per person. Also if yo wanted a cooked breakfast this was also an addition charge of over 9 pounds per person. Not sure if this has always been the case or just recently.The breakfast supplied was fine if perhaps a bit limited for choice. The reception area of the hotel looks like it has been freshly decorated and has a nice seating area overlooking the lake. We stayed in room 47 which was a good size room and had been cleaned with the pandemic in mind. Its a pity that the cleaning did not extend to the large windows which give you a view out to the lake. Both the inside and the outside of the windows required to be cleaned. Unfortunately the rooms have not been recently decorated and appear a bit tired. There was stains on the linings of the curtains which had probably been caused by dampness perhaps with the rooms not being used during lock down . Room 47 sits under the stairs leading into the dining area and at certain times of the evening you can hear the residents and staff going up and down the stairs. It appeared to be especially bad in late evening when i think the staff were busy up and down the stairs. All in all it was a good break in a lovely area. It must be said that the hotel benefits from its location.

Alan Scott said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th April 2018

The spa appears to be the attraction as it was alway busy. The hotel itself covers a large area and the staff are 1st class. Parking area is large too but guests don't park properly; they leave big gaps therefore not everyone car park! Decor was lovely and breakfast was "buffet-style" and help yourself. Food excellent!

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th September 2017

Warm and welcoming staff, plus an excellent restaurant with great food, more than made up for a lot of stairs to climb and a false fire alarm on Thursday afternoon. Pool and spa facil were also very good.

trevor brown said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 23rd April 2017

lovely hotel with stunning views....lovely scenery but but but ripped off with the price...very very expensive...i was overcharged by some £240. people staying at same hotel paid less....left a nasty taste and bad feeling spoke to hotel and they said to contact the travel website.......

Fraser Mills said...

44%
20%
40%
70%

Stayed 20th April 2017

Very disappointed with the hotel as a whole. Issues with the cleanliness. The rooms & public areas are seriously outdated to the point of neglect. What has been 'renovated' has been done with poor workmanship and poor quality items & materials. Evidence of damp &/or poor ventilation with mould ridden curtains & flaking walls. The Spa pool area looks great, but it will start to slide due to a lack of staffing to keep towels tidy, floors mopped, general cleanliness etc. The restaurant food is upto a very good standard - however it is being served in a drab dirty worn out neglected dining room with a stiff atmosphere - completely spoiling the dining experience for all. I've no idea how the staff can keep smiling in there. Its very sad to see a hotel with the potential, the views & the food - and yet not able to combine into the top notch experience it could & should be.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th January 2017

Breakfast was lovely. Comfy bed, lovely staff and perfect views

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th January 2017

It was in a good location and the outdoor jacuzzi was lovely!

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd November 2016

Breathtaking views from all aspects of the hotel. I requested something special and they gave us the four poster room with outdoor area.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th January 2017

Great weekend at Beech Hill Hotel and Spa. Facil are great, pool, steams and outdoor jacuzzi. We also had massages which were quite good too, very expensive though. Ate in the restaurant each night and the food was great. Would definitely go again

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th January 2017

We stayed here because of the spa facil and the really good food - we weren't disappointed. The room was comfortable and clean, lovely views of the lake from the bar/dining area and hot tub, great service and a good selection at breakfast. Can't wait to stay there again.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th January 2017

We spent the weekend bed and breakfast in this lovely hotel. The hotel has lots of character and the rooms and grounds are beautifully kept. We had a lovely modern room with ensuite that had stunning lake views! The breakfast was lovely and tasty with lots of choice! The staff were lovely and friendly, we didn't use the spa facil but we could see them and everyone seemed to be enjoying them. It was about a 5 minute drive to bowness which we had a lovely day out on the lake and shopping. Can't wait to come back in the summer. Thanks for a lovely stay!