Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, Bolton

Manchester Road, Bolton, BL65RU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Allan Rothwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd January 2020

Very pleasant two night stay. Leisure centre and gym excellent, staff at both hotel and leisure very friendly and helpful. Food great and the hotel is near a bus to Bolton or a walk to Blackrod for one or two good pubs. Got a room upgrade which was great.

V Jones said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2019

Lovely hotel,staff were so nice friendly and helpful.Rooms were clean comfy But the bathroom needs a facelift. We had dinner in the bar and it was Better than we expected, breakfast was buffet and good.Would recommend this hotel and spa

Hannah Fisher said...

77%
80%
60%
90%

Stayed 18th October 2019

On the whole a very enjoyable trip! Room was great as was the deal and facilities. However, the staff are not familiar with the deal that we paid for which included £22 each towards a meal on first night. Despite advising the bar manager that we had the deal he was insistent that we had to pay for it and then it would come off the bill (which we had already paid at check in). I refused at which point he looked into the deal and acknowledged we were right! Shouldn’t have to worry about things like this during you stay. Other than that really great stay, Breakfast was perfect!

LINDA SIMPSON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th October 2019

Lovely hotel,staff were so nice friendly and helpful.Rooms were clean comfy four poster bed.Food we only had dinner on the first night but it was tasty,breakfast was buffet was good.Would recommend this hotel and will be back if ever in the area.Price was excellent for 3nights

A guest said...

54%
60%
50%
50%

Stayed 1st October 2019

Our stay this at your hotel was not a good experience. I booked 2 rooms on a 2 night with dinner package with myhotelbreak on 29/9/19. Please see below the issues we encountered: Check-in Arrived on first night on 1/10/19. I was informed that only 1 room was showing on your system for my booking and only one single room was available. This was despite numerous emails and telephone calls with your customer services to confirm booking and arrangements. I showed the receptionist (Ashley) my booking for 2 double rooms close together which he acknowledged. One should be accessible room for my elderly parents. The hotel had not been provided no such information in my booking below? The Manager was called and was initially offered a rain damaged room that he deemed fit. I stood my ground for an accessible room as requested. I was then offered one with manager authorisation. Rooms were still on different floors and opposite parts of the hotel. Not close together as requested. I accepted this grudgingly as it was now 10.00pm and we were all tired after a 3 hour drive. Both rooms were poorly maintained (missing selves, stained carpets, poor grouting) and had request towels as well! Breakfast Breakfast was a steady affair. All the usual suspects - cereals, fruit, crossiants, juices, help yourself coffee (that stopped working twice) and a selection of hot fayre but no browns or potato dish - Limited veggie options but browns are the norm in most hotels? Dinner Dinner went from OK to bad to worse. Not busy Wednesday night - 4 tables occupied. Ordered food at bar to be told that they had already run out of hummus at 8.00pm on a Wednesday night? Ordered alternative starters and mains. They had also run out of Becks Blue and there was no other alternative. The e draught machine was not working either. Pepsi in bottles is not the same! The starters came after a short wait. Nice tomato soup and garlic bread (but would have preferred the hummus). We waited for our mains and waited some more and dishes were not cleared either for 30 minutes. In the end I went to bar and told then our mains had not come. The Barmen asked which mains had not come? I said all of them and he rang kitchen and told me that they would be 'fast-tracked'. I got the feeling they had forgotten about us. The mains arrived 10 minutes latter. Burger and chips was good. My pasta was dry. It was also warm on the outside and stone cold in the middle. I think it had been microwaved badly. The server noticed that I'd left my pasta and asked if everything was alright. I explained the pasta was cold. He offered to warm it and offered a free drink. I declined and ordered dessert to make-up for the mains fiasco. The sticky pudding arrived promptly and was the best thing we had that night. Service and mains left a lot to be desired. I don't know how they would cope if it was busy. Check-out This was quick but no real apologies offered for the booking/room issues we had encountered when asked about our stay. Would not recommend to others until improvements are made.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd February 2017

some of the decor is getting a bit jaded, but still great value for money staff, friendly and helpful

A guest said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th February 2017

Needs upgrading - a bit tired. Food is excellent. Service in bar/restaurant great also.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th February 2017

Nice room, good breakfast

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th February 2017

Rooms are typical of a mecure hotel. The Nespresso machines in the premier rooms are a nice touch. Never eaten in the hotel for dinner but breakfast was fine but nothing special.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd December 2016

We enjoyed our overnight stay here while attending a Christmas do in Bolton. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We needed to be close to the lift and the receptionist went out of her way to sort this out for us, explaining that she wouldn't put us in a ground floor room as a party would make it very noisy. Bed was very comfortable. OK, the rooms are "tired", but the whole place is spotlessly clean. Breakfast lovely and no queuing! I would wholeheartedly recommend!

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th February 2017

Staff were great. Room was clean and well kept. Was nice to have traditional central heating rather than noisy air units. The food and dining atmosphere was amazing. Didn't get to use the gym but the pool was lovely. Only thing missing was more info on arrival or an info-pack in the room; to say what services they have, where they are and when they are open. Oh, and no secure Wifi options made work difficult, but free Wifi was available without restrictions. Over all, I would stay again.