Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Balavil Hotel, Newtonmore

Main Street, Newtonmore, PH201DL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

94%

Kenneth Hamilton said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th September 2020

Friendly staff and attentive .Beds clean but not very comfy,could do with a blind on bathroom window.Food excellent and well presented.

Michael Stone said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2020

Excellent hotel made to feel very welcome. Rooms were spacious and very clean and the food was excellent.

Mr Vanderdeyl said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2020

Service, meals and accommodation were excellent. One of the best hotels we've stayed in. Meals especially were brilliant. Wouldn't hesitate to book here again

Colin Spence said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th September 2020

Staff great , food very good , very relaxed , pool needs a TLC , room clean and tidy . Could have done with tea and coffee in the room as when you asked for it it luke warm .

stanley masson said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2020

due to covid 19 there were some alterations,but i cant fault the hotel,breakfast good,plenty selection for dinner,would recommend

Marilyn Houston said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th August 2020

Had a good 2 night stay at hotel very clean and food was good and in a quiet location

Marilyn Houston said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th August 2020

Had a good 2 night stay at hotel very clean and food was good and in a quiet location

Lindsay Smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th August 2020

Amazing hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food in the restaurant was amazing and we ate there every night of our stay. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much bother for them. The bonus was a swim every night.

Norma Stevenson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th August 2020

Fantastic stay, food amazing and staff very welcoming and wouldn’t hesitate to book a stay there again.

Andrew Ferguson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th August 2020

Enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay at The Balavil Hotel, room was spotless and very comfortable. Food was amazing and great service from staff. A special thank you to Shannon and Craig who made our stay more enjoyable. Both are a credit to The Balavil Hotel. We will definitely be back!

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th August 2020

We stayed here on a three night short break. Rooms are basic but comfortable; for obvious reasons some of the usual facilities were not available (tea/coffee making for example) and although rooms were not cleaned during the stay we only had to ask at reception for anything we needed, nothing was a problem. James gave us such a warm welcome which continued throughout our stay and Neave (sorry if it's the wrong spelling!) as well as all the other dining room staff looked after us so well, again nothing was a problem and the food was fabulous - the specials board made for some difficult choices at dinner! A lovely break in lovely surroundings spent with lovely people, what more could you wish for!

James wilkie said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2020

Great 3 day getaway, hotel was very nice and the staff were excellent. Food first class will book again,thanks Balavil team?

Marie McDaid said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th August 2020

We stayed for 3 nights hotel was worth the money staff were really lovely they made the hotel. The only thing that let them down was not changing towel and leaving toilet rolls in all fairness I think it’s was due more to this pandemic as anything I asked for they gave with no bother. I will certainly go again

Hotel reply...

Hi Marie Thanks for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. You are correct that the reason the bedroom services were not as normal is due to our extensive Covid 19 risk assessment and operating policy which is made available to all guests when you book. Hope to welcome you again. Many Thanks Fraser Coyle

DOUGIE SINCLAIR said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th August 2020

Two guests in a twin room for two nights, hotel staff were first class as was the extensive dinner menu, breakfast menu similar, lots of choice. Food was superb. The bedroom was clean and tidy the bathroom was modern. No downside for me, took a deal as part of a golf package, I have to say the local golf course was excellent as well. Would definitely return, in fact looking at doing that in a few weeks time. Oh and from a Covid point of view social distancing was observed, we sat at the same table for dinner through the two days, all staff were always wearing masks. Totally set at ease. Thanks Balavil.

Shaun Martin said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2020

Nice warm welcome, check-in was quick and easy. Bedroom was basic and floor was creaky, bathroom as OK, but shower was very small, however for the price i can not complain. The service from the staff was first class, nothing was too much trouble and they are a credit to the hotel. The food was also first class, I was very impressed with the quality of the food, everything was cooked well and good value for money. The Balavil Hotel is fantastic value for money and I hope to return there again soon.

Christine Bentley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2020

We had a wonderful stay at the Balavil Hotel. The staff were terrific : helpful, friendly, efficient. The food was excellent - the portions were so big that we didn’t manage to sample the desserts! We played golf at Newtonmore Golf Course as part of our deal. The lady there was also very friendly and helpful. Our trip was made even better by some beautiful weather. We will definitely be back!

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2020

A wonderful, classic Highland hotel with all the cosy comfort you could wish for. Fabulous place to unwind with a lovely, chilled vibe, great food & drink and a pool! We love this place. Special thanks to James and his team for whom nothing is too much trouble

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th December 2019

Stayed here for two nights in December while celebrating my wife's birthday. The rooms were clean, comfortable and cosy. The staff were friendly providing excellent service and the food was superb. Despite being busy with a Christmas party on the first night they still made time for us. Will return here again

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st January 2020

We stayed overnight here on a cold night in late January. The welcome was friendly and our room was clean, modern, well equipped and warm. The bar was welcoming and cosy and food was tasty, good quality and well prepared. We would recommend without hesitation

Karen Murdoch said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd February 2017

Pleasant staff. Liked the refurbishment, downstairs bar and dining area looking good. Enjoyed the pool. Would certainly return as the Balavil is a favourite.

Robert Barton said...

60%
60%
80%
40%

Stayed 17th October 2015

Bedroom small and dated, bed very clean and comfortable, water in shower only lukewarm. Breakfast not very good quality, can't comment about evening meals as we disdn't eat in the hotel.

yvonne Devine said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th February 2015

Bar staff really nice rooms lovely and food beautiful

Anne Shepherd said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2014

Had a lovely stay. Excellent value. Will definitely be back again.

A Christie said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2014

We had a lovely stat at the Balavil Hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The children absolutely loved the swimming pool.. I hope to go back again soon.

NICHOLAS PHILIP HAAR said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th March 2014

I went to the Balavil Hotel for 3 Nights with my Dad from. 26th March to the 29th March 2014 and we were happy with the Hotel it was clean and the staff were Friendly and the Food was Good and Will Go Again Good Value for the Money from Nick in Falkirk.