Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Gairloch Hotel, Gairloch

, Gairloch, IV212BL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th July 2019

We had a fabulous stay at the hotel. Because of a couple of recent poor reviews, we were a bit apprehensive, however our break exceeded our expectations. We had a front facing room which gave us a fantastic view of the beach and it was very clean and comfortable. The staff were as helpful and pleasant as any we have met before. They went out of their way to make us feel valued and welcome and really went out of their way to accommodate the needs of our dog. Having the beach so close was an added bonus. We will definitely go back.

alex phillips said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 31st May 2019

Enjoyed the remoteness of the hotel and scenery surrounding area was stunning, only drawback for me was that after paying agreed sum which was requested at arrival was given a room without a sea view despite paying extra 30 pounds for room with sea view, when we complained to reception staff they said they had no more rooms and could not see anything about paying extra for view on her system, other than that enjoyed our stay

alex phillips said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 31st May 2019

Enjoyed the remoteness of the hotel and scenery surrounding area was stunning, only drawback for me was that after paying agreed sum which was requested at arrival was given a room without a sea view despite paying extra 30 pounds for room with sea view, when we complained to reception staff they said they had no more rooms and could not see anything about paying extra for view on her system, other than that enjoyed our stay

Ann Seton said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th May 2019

Nice clean & with everything we needed.

Gillian Stewart said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 19th October 2018

We had a lovely night in The Gairloch Hotel. We received a warm welcome from reception. Our room was dated and not one of the rooms that had been renovated, it was also at the back of the hotel with a view of a car park,that being said the room was clean and warm. The hotel had a slight smell of age to it. Our meals were very nicely presented and good portions and were very tasty. Our package included dinner which was from a set menu but for an additional charge you could order from the main menu. We sat with other guests at night in the lounge and there was plenty of room for everybody.

walter walker said...

50%
50%
90%
10%

Stayed 22nd September 2018

Hotel dated..needs some tlc..food wasn't good..creaking and cracking floor board all day an night..hoovering sitting lounge afternoon when people were trying to relax...

Karen Crilly said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th April 2018

Helpful and friendly, rooms clean and fresh towels daily, enjoyed our stay, great being pet friendly too.

Carole Edwards said...

64%
50%
90%
50%

Stayed 20th April 2018

Lovely weekend in Gairloch, hotel as advertised and because it was such a good deal price wise we have nothing too much to complain about. Our room was probably the cheapest in the hotel, at the back, however shower good and bed comfy and clean room. Set menu was mediocre but again for the price can’t complain. Breakfast was good. Bottle of bubbly included in price was awful. Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful!

Graeme Butler said...

77%
60%
100%
70%

Stayed 6th April 2018

Staff are fantastic from reception, to the restaurant and bar. The room was fine, had a side sea view and plenty light although it felt a little cramped. Evening meal was ok and breakfast fine, nothing to write home about. Location is good with a beach just opposite

Ian McCubbin said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd April 2018

Great value break. Staff were friendly and very good at their jobs. Bathroom had a leaking shower screen and flooring needed replaced.

Glenn Lewis said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st March 2018

Well run friendly hotel has had recent upgrade we enjoyed our stah

Lisa Conway said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

Great location, staff very friendly and helpful. Definitely worth staying there if you are in the area or looking for a getaway

G McKinlay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2018

What a Stunning hotel this is, the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, the food was fantastic, and a shout out to Lazlo, restaurant manager, what a very hard working man, kind and respectful, my sister is in a wheelchair, and he did everything in his power, to accommodate her, brilliant human being... The only down fall, was that there was no hoer in the room, but baring in mind its an old building, its ok. I certainly would go back, if only for the scenery and the food, roll on summer, as it was pretty cold up there last week, lol

Rosemary Pannell said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2018

Fantastic value as we had a voucher. This hotel is in the process of being refurbished and had workmen in. It is in a great location overlooking the bay. Lovely old building. Originally we were given a room 216 at the back of the hotel that was clean but desperately in need of decoration. The view was a neighbouring fire escape and really wasn't up to standard, it was absolutely freezing. Staff could not have been more helpful and gave us another room no problem, it's a shame we were put in the other one at all really Room 302 was warm, clean and comfortable with a window overlooking the bay. Good en suite, shower was not very powerful but worked ok, could have done with a shelf or something to put wash bag on and hooks to hang clothes and towels. Food was very good. We had catch of the day for dinner and it was the best I've had, really enjoyed it. Breakfast was good. Service from the staff was really , very goodhelpful. Gairloch is lovely and I would stay here again.

A guest said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th October 2017

Cosy and welcoming. Excellent staff and food very tasty.

Douglas Cruden said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 19th October 2017

Had a 2 night break to celebrate my Birthday , stayed here about 10 years ago, and it's not been updated since then, by the looks of things, sorely in need of refurbishment, sits in a great position, looking out to sea, with Skye in the distance, nice walks, on the flat. One thing it does have going for it is their staff, all very accommodating, and polite, mostly foreign, food was ok, nothing special, but edible, breakfast, the same, needs investment.

William Allan said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th August 2017

Absolutely no complaints at all about our visit. Our Welsh friends were also impressed. We upgraded to superior rooms which proved well worth the extra pennies. Staff were courteous, efficient and pleasant. The bar prices were a bit higher than expected but probably acceptable given that the hotel is in such a remote area.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th September 2016

Third visit and still impressed. Some changes to service but, in my opinion, better than Coast and Country at Portpatrick, Chambermaid gave excellent service in cleaning and tidying room leaving things neatly folded and arranged. Food service good to and quality good for the price. The included drinks package was good with options to upgrade, I didn't need to being happy with drinks offered. Poor reception on BBC1 was a bit of a downer. Area has magnificent scenery with boat tripsfrom nearby harbour and walks around Flowerdale or along the coast, promentory, etc in abundance. More lovely walks within a short drive, would recommend loch Ewe estuary as well for history buffs.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2016

The location is simply stunning. It was our first visit this far North on the West coast, the scenery is breathtaking. The food is not gourmet but a good choice at every meal, the quality is fine.The staff could not be faulted, service was excellent. Our room again was what we expected, except for the wonderful ever changing views across the bay towards Skye.