Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dornoch Hotel, Dornoch

Grange Road, Dornoch, IV253LF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

70%

carol cattanach said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd October 2019

Hotel was a bit outdated can do with a bit of updating but other than that our stay was very enjoyable meals were really good lots of different options to try tried deep fried ice cream for the first time would highly recommend all staff were really nice and attentive especially Matty on reception and Adam in the restaurant would definitely stay again and the view from our room was amazing.

William Sinclair said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2019

Throughly enjoyed our break. Lovely dog friendly hotel. Staff brilliant. Food good and I'm glad I upgraded our room, lovely views.

Jeanette Rankine said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2019

We had a lovely stay and the staff are very friendly and helpful

Terry Sharp said...

27%
20%
20%
40%

Stayed 3rd October 2019

What a disappointment this hotel was, it has great potential to be a great attraction for tourists as it has a lovely outlook over Dornoch Golf Course and the Dornoch Firth. Our room, cobweb hanging from the ceiling, dirt and grime on the window sill, bathroom dirty skirting board behind the door, wallpaper bits missing. The house keeping was none existing, Dirty corridors with used glasses and cups left all over the place. I had to go to the reception and ask for toilet roll, the shower if you can call it that was a mere dribble, Coffee and Milk, in our room wasn`t replenished. The staff were very pleasant and I think trying to do the best of a bad job. The Management have a lot to answer for and should be ashamed of themselves taking money from customers and expect them to stay in such shocking conditions. My advice, stay away from this dump of what could be a magnificent Hotel if, money was invested in it. We will Never stay in this Bespoke Hotel again. We left Dornoch and moved on to the Craiglynne Hotel (Bespoke Hotel) at Granton on Spey and wow what a difference, very clean lovely Hotel with very good service.

A guest said...

34%
40%
60%
0%

Stayed 4th October 2019

It has been a lovely Hotel in it's time and is situated in a beautiful location. Unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay as it was in a poor state of repair and very grubby, with water damage marks on the ceilings. The breakfasts were very poor and soaking in fat, possibly deep fried, so we didn't even take the evening meal we had paid for. Staff were nice, but obviously lack both training and management leadership, as the standard of cleanliness was below average. I would not return or recommend this Hotel.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th September 2019

The Dornoch Hotel offers a budget stay in a great location, looking out over the golf course and beach. Our room was on the smaller side; the decor tired (as is hotel overall) but comfortable enough. Walls are thin, however, so neighbours can be heard. Hard-working staff in the dining room and welcoming reception staff. Dinner on first night was of decent standard; fair menu selection and portions generous. Breakfast is of fair standard for budget break. Overall, a decent budget base from which to tour the scenic surrounding north Highlands; a pleasant five minute walk from the centre of Dornoch which is worth spending time exploring.

Lesley Ingram Elder said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2019

Had a lovely relaxing night away. The food was amazing, both dinner and breakfast, and the staff were all lovely.

Carolyn Davidson said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th September 2019

Lovely welcoming friendly staff. Room was clean although dated but had everything you needed. Shower was very poor however, with no pressure at all but was hot. Breakfast was buffet contintental and cooked was made to order. Dinner had a good selection. We were on the special 2 course dinner which was any item on the 2 menus available apart from Steak which had a supplement. Nice view and ample parking. Would have been a fancy hotel in its day but for the price, was good value & pleasant stay.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th September 2019

Very good value for money, This was our 3rd visit and we will return again staff were excellent,

ann kenney said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 31st August 2019

Lovely bug hotel in fabulous location, bit dated but great value for money. The views from our window were fabulous. Would stay again.

pauline hood said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2019

Good break away. hotel was good . Rooms good . Had our dog with us and we where able to eat dinner and breakfast in sun lounge with him . Most of the staff helpful

A guest said...

27%
10%
60%
10%

Stayed 17th August 2019

This hotel is very tired and in need of a good overhaul. The rooms are basic, poor quality furniture. Our room was dusty (cobwebs on lights etc) and parts were dirty. The bathroom had mould around bath/shower area, sink was cracked and in need of of a good clean. We had a damp patch on our ceiling with a small hole and the window had mould all around the frame. However I would state that the sheets were clean & fresh. Our friends room was not any better and their curtain rail fell off when they tried to close the curtains. It could not be fixed that night so curtains had to be pinned to the wall for the night. They moved to another room next day which wasn't much better. We had dinner the first night which was poor quality e.g. My wife ordered Loaded Skins as a starter and basically it was potato peelings covered in cheese - we didn't finish our meal and this was the same for other residents that night. It is shame as the setting for this hotel is great with views from the front across the golf course and down to the sea. The staff work hard and are pleasant, however many are foreign and appear to be on minimum wage (what the staff told us).

William Miller said...

77%
70%
100%
60%

Stayed 19th August 2019

Enjoyed every moment of our stay hotel and staff great super value for money

Barbara Jewell said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th August 2019

Hotel is a bit tired and weeds growing outside on the roof is not a good look. Housekeeping is a little lax as I had to remake bed on arrival and there was a lot of long hair on the floor of the bathroom also dust on the skirting boards. I work in a nursing home as a domestic and I wouldn't leave a room like that. The service from the staff was excellent and the food was first class.

Katharine Mair said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2019

Second time staying here, the hotel is very old and tired but it’s clean, the staff are really friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. We had a sea view first time we stayed and it was nice we were at the back of the hotel this time and it was a very dark room looking out onto a wall and the roof but for a 1 night stay it was ok and the bed was very comfy and shower powerful and hot. Would definitely go back but look forward to the hotel being given a makeover.

Diane Forbes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th July 2018

Absolutely fantastic! Stayed here for 2 nights and the staff could not have made me feel more welcome if they tried. I can not wait to get back here!

Fiona Wilkinson said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2019

The hotel was a very grand one in its time. In need of a refurbishment, we had a hole in our bathroom door, but it was clean and warm. Food was good and the service excellent. Definitely worth the money.

david petrie said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2019

hotel is in a great position room was very clean and we had a great view been twice this year and will certainly go back

A guest said...

20%
20%
20%
20%

Stayed 29th July 2019

Hotel very outdated, didn’t have a fresh smell on entering, not much room to move about bedroom or bathroom, but the view out the bedroom was lovely which compensated a bit! Room service was not good didn’t replace toilet rolls one day and re-g wet towels which were placed in bath for washing! Entertainment was good. Menu choice could have been better. Staff were friendly. Wouldn’t recommend it to a friend.

Shaun Tyrer said...

60%
50%
90%
40%

Stayed 30th July 2019

Our stay was originally for 2 nights. However, due to a family bereavement we had to cut short our stay. The hotel manager was most helpful and sensitive to our meeds. She arranged for the necessary changes to our original booking and ensured that any help we needed at what was a difficult time was available without fuss or ado. This was very much appreciated and, indeed, her helpful manner was reflected across the entire hotel staff during our somewhat shorter stay, all of whom were welcoming, friendly and cheerful. The hotel itself is typical of those who cater mostly for coach trips. We had 3 coaches arrive during our stay, with mixed nationalities and, I dare say, differing needs. That said, there was little impact upon the non-coach residents and whilst the additional guests involved more work for the staff they appeared to handle the situation with good heart. The evening meal was fairly average and the breakfast nothing out of the ordinary. That said, the evening entertainment (Ronnie Ross) was excellent and had people up dancing and enjoying themselves. Overall, I would certainly book at this hotel again. Once again, thanks to all for thier kind words and assistance during our brief but pleasant stay.

Susan Macallister said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th July 2019

Another lovely weekend at Dornoch Hotel. Hotel would benefit from some general upgrading especially in bedrooms, staff are efficient while still being friendly and food was very nice and served hot...a bonus. All in all it offers great value for money and we would recommend it to potential visitors. We will definitely return.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th July 2019

This hotel is a grand old lady. The service was excellent and the food good. Room was a bit dated but comfortable.

Lynne Francis said...

44%
40%
50%
40%

Stayed 26th July 2019

While this hotel was in a spectacular position we found it very dated and our room was grubby. There was a seagull nest on the flat roof outside our bedroom window and the birds squawked from the early hours disturbing our sleep. We found most of the staff indifferent and the food was mediocre at best although the portions were enormous except for breakfast when they were minimalistic.

Kevin Pirie said...

64%
60%
60%
70%

Stayed 25th July 2019

We had 2 baby gulls on our balcony that kept us up from 3 in the morning with continually squealing. The smell from the balcony was disgusting as it was about an inch deep in water and bird poo. We informed the management who said there was nothing they could do about it as the gulls could not be removed, I asked why they sold rooms that had this problem and they just shrugged their shoulders. The bathrooms had been revamped which was lovely and let down by the mouldy bath mat and the skirtings and sinks could have been cleaned better. The hair dryer was sticky with skin, needed a good clean! Just a shame a little bit more effort would make it fine.

John Tait said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th July 2019

Hotel needs refurbishment -room quite small-staf very friendly and efficient