Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dornoch Hotel, Dornoch

Grange Road, Dornoch, IV253LF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

John Tait said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th July 2019

Hotel needs refurbishment -room quite small-staf very friendly and efficient

peter A robertson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st June 2019

Had a lovely weekend, nice hotel, very clean and excellent food. Staff very pleasant and helpful, especially restaurant staff, very attentive but also utrusive. Pleasant music provided both nights, but very little dancing, except for odd couple in the corner who did step type movements/dances to everything. Very off-putting!

Danise Veitch said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th June 2019

Check in was good- friendly attentive and informative staff. The room was fairly spacious with no outlook. The toilet when flushed made s funny noise- something to do with the water refilling in the cistern. Unable to view BBC 1 + 2 on the TV the picture kept breaking up. Dinner was good with 2 courses included in our deal. There was a bit of noise outside our bedroom - sounded like a bus with its engine running and eventually moved off, this was about 8.30am. Checkout fine again friendly staff in attendance. We did have a drink in the bar and the barman closed up about 12pm Changed days from when the bar stayed open as long as there were guests wanting served.

David Thompson said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th May 2019

Great location with very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms and food good for the price paid

David Thompson said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th May 2019

Great location with very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms and food good for the price paid

thomas burns said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 26th May 2019

staff were very friendly,hotel was nice though a little dated,

Paula Thomson said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th May 2019

I stayed at the hotel on Saturday 18 May along with my mother and sister-in-law. The DBB deal through My Hotel Break was excellent. The hotel is in a fabulous location, close to the golf course, town centre and beach. Every member of staff we met were polite and professional providing an excellent level of customer service. We enjoyed the dinner and breakfast and were delighted to have entertainment in the bar following our dinner. We had a lovely gentleman playing guitar and by the end of the evening were singing along and dancing with fellow guests from Germany and USA. The hotel has a wonderful foyer with a lovely Victorian staircase. We had rooms on the third floor and the rooms were in need of an up-date, however the rooms and bathrooms were spotless and equipped with tea/coffee facilities and TV, Wi-Fi code was made readily available at no additional cost. We would certainly return.

David Thomson said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 15th May 2019

Had a lovely break. Hotel is in need of refurbishment but I believe this is ongoing. Food was okay but could be better presented. All staff very friendly and helpful. We will return to this hotel in the future.

Ann Seton said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 13th May 2019

Clean and comfortable.

Eric Iwa said...

50%
60%
20%
70%

Stayed 6th May 2019

Very run down hotel in a good location. Water stained ceilings, paper loose. Paint flacking on windows etc. etc. Staff very hard working and helpful.

M Torr said...

67%
60%
80%
60%

Stayed 4th May 2019

Staff very nice friendly and helpful good views from our room which was clean the hotel would benefit from some general refurbishment but was perfectly adequate for a short stay, situation very convenient for the town centre which is only a few minutes walk away

david petrie said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th May 2019

just spent 3 nights @ dornoch hotel our third visit to this beatifully situated hotel as usual the room was spotless food was good and the staff were excellent will be back

Marie Gair said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th May 2019

Hotel was basic but all u needed .Staff could not do enough very pleasant and helpful.Rooms were clean, towels changed etc,food was excellent and would thoroughly recommend this for a cheap 2 night break with beautiful gardens and scenery roundabout.Cannot really fault place for value for money .

Derek Jewiss said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Enjoyed our stay staff friendly hotel was clean meals very good would stay again Breakfast was not very hot.

Alexander Ingram said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2019

Fantastic break all went great

Isobel Mcblain said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 26th April 2019

Staff lovely, food fab, location fantastic...we had a double room which was slightly cramped but it didn’t deter from our holiday. Hotel is in need of a makeover but was very clean & we got a fantastic deal through MyHotelBreak......would we go again? Definitely yes xx

wallace forbes said...

64%
80%
90%
20%

Stayed 26th April 2019

Nice hotel in a lovely location with very helpful and friendly staff but unfortunately the food in the restaurant was terrible to the point that we did not eat in the restaurant on our second night, if this establishment wishes to continue as a hotel they require to massively improve the standard of there food urgently

Susan Thompson said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th April 2019

A very pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and very polite. The food was excellent, although we found the portions rather large. The hotel was well situated, with a great outlook over the Dornoch Firth and the amazing beach. The rooms were very clean, and the public areas were attractive and well decorated. We would definitely consider a second visit

A guest said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th April 2019

Had a very nice stay over Easter Weekend enhanced by the lovely sunny weather. Hotel was very clean and rooms a decent size but the beds were very uncomfortable. Asked for extra pillows which were promptly delivered to room. We only had one evening meal in hotel which was very nice and the breakfasts were served lovely and hot, breakfast cereals, fruits, bread and juices all on self serve. Staff pleasant and friendly especially the young gentleman from gary on reception. I would have given the room 8 also if it hadn't been for the beds but all in all a nice break. Would go again.

S Porter said...

54%
70%
70%
20%

Stayed 13th April 2019

Great view from room, pity the food was not that great. Cheep and cheerful

Lawson B Kyle said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd April 2019

Lovely hotel in a fantastic location. Very friendly staff. Hotel needs a little tlc.

A guest said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st August 2018

Lovely setting and staff. Faded grandeur, but who could compete against all the money being spent next door at the Royal golf course complex. Good value for money.

A guest said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st August 2018

We had a great weekend at the Dornoch hotel. It is an old-fashioned hotel with a big staircase and lobby. The staff are so friendly and efficient. I can't fault them. The room was clean and functional. We were on the top floor with a good view of the golf course and beach. The room itself was slightly small. Dornoch is a lovely town. Do visit the Abbey and Mountain coffee shop. We loved the beaches at Dornoch and Embo ( 3 miles away)

A guest said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st August 2018

Lovely position and sea view. Food was great as was the service. The staff are really welcoming and courteous but the bedrooms although very clean are in dire need of a refurbish, peeling paintwork etc.

Alexander White said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th August 2018

super stay, staff very helpful will certainly be back again soon