Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dornoch Hotel, Dornoch

Grange Road, Dornoch, IV253LF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

75%

Christine brown said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Hotel staff and food was great. Hotel a bit dated but worse for us was we were in a room that was above the dining room that had a flat roof! There was seagulls nesting there it looked awful covered in seagull dirt right under our window plus they squawked all night and all day long! We had to leave our window open as it was really warm but this spoiled it!

Christine brown said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Hotel staff and food was great. Hotel a bit dated but worse for us was we were in a room that was above the dining room that had a flat roof! There was seagulls nesting there it looked awful covered in seagull dirt right under our window plus they squawked all night and all day long! We had to leave our window open as it was really warm but this spoiled it!

Jeanette Roberts said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 30th June 2021

Lovely location and hotel

A guest said...

57%
30%
80%
60%

Stayed 29th June 2021

Beautiful location, friendly staff, disappointing room and breakfast.

Bill Cowan said...

60%
30%
100%
50%

Stayed 24th June 2021

Lovely from the outside and also lounge and dining room. Bedrooms badly needing updated. Food disappointing. Staff very pleasant and attentive but need some covid training .

A guest said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 14th June 2021

The room was cramped though clean on arrival. No cleaning of room or towel change/ refreshment tray restock throughout stay (possibly because of Covid). The service in the restaurant was very good and the quality of the food good also, but the overall service score reflects the lack of room service. I would recommend the hotel for a budget stay, also on account of its good location - secluded yet town centre readily accessible on foot.

Rosemary Gibson said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 5th June 2021

Enjoyed our stay, staff were very helpful

Melanie Giannandrea Gray said...

10%
10%
10%
10%

Stayed 29th May 2021

Clean rooms. Very basic. Hotel very run down..in need of major refurbishment. Defy won't stay again

Wilma Macdonald said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 21st May 2021

Excellent service from staff

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th April 2021

Location and views are excellent. Bed was comfortable and clean Staff friendly

carol cattanach said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd October 2019

Hotel was a bit outdated can do with a bit of updating but other than that our stay was very enjoyable meals were really good lots of different options to try tried deep fried ice cream for the first time would highly recommend all staff were really nice and attentive especially Matty on reception and Adam in the restaurant would definitely stay again and the view from our room was amazing.

William Sinclair said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2019

Throughly enjoyed our break. Lovely dog friendly hotel. Staff brilliant. Food good and I'm glad I upgraded our room, lovely views.

Jeanette Rankine said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2019

We had a lovely stay and the staff are very friendly and helpful

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th September 2019

The Dornoch Hotel offers a budget stay in a great location, looking out over the golf course and beach. Our room was on the smaller side; the decor tired (as is hotel overall) but comfortable enough. Walls are thin, however, so neighbours can be heard. Hard-working staff in the dining room and welcoming reception staff. Dinner on first night was of decent standard; fair menu selection and portions generous. Breakfast is of fair standard for budget break. Overall, a decent budget base from which to tour the scenic surrounding north Highlands; a pleasant five minute walk from the centre of Dornoch which is worth spending time exploring.

Lesley Ingram Elder said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2019

Had a lovely relaxing night away. The food was amazing, both dinner and breakfast, and the staff were all lovely.

Carolyn Davidson said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th September 2019

Lovely welcoming friendly staff. Room was clean although dated but had everything you needed. Shower was very poor however, with no pressure at all but was hot. Breakfast was buffet contintental and cooked was made to order. Dinner had a good selection. We were on the special 2 course dinner which was any item on the 2 menus available apart from Steak which had a supplement. Nice view and ample parking. Would have been a fancy hotel in its day but for the price, was good value & pleasant stay.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th September 2019

Very good value for money, This was our 3rd visit and we will return again staff were excellent,

pauline hood said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2019

Good break away. hotel was good . Rooms good . Had our dog with us and we where able to eat dinner and breakfast in sun lounge with him . Most of the staff helpful

William Miller said...

77%
70%
100%
60%

Stayed 19th August 2019

Enjoyed every moment of our stay hotel and staff great super value for money

Barbara Jewell said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th August 2019

Hotel is a bit tired and weeds growing outside on the roof is not a good look. Housekeeping is a little lax as I had to remake bed on arrival and there was a lot of long hair on the floor of the bathroom also dust on the skirting boards. I work in a nursing home as a domestic and I wouldn't leave a room like that. The service from the staff was excellent and the food was first class.

Katharine Mair said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2019

Second time staying here, the hotel is very old and tired but it’s clean, the staff are really friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. We had a sea view first time we stayed and it was nice we were at the back of the hotel this time and it was a very dark room looking out onto a wall and the roof but for a 1 night stay it was ok and the bed was very comfy and shower powerful and hot. Would definitely go back but look forward to the hotel being given a makeover.

Diane Forbes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th July 2018

Absolutely fantastic! Stayed here for 2 nights and the staff could not have made me feel more welcome if they tried. I can not wait to get back here!

Fiona Wilkinson said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2019

The hotel was a very grand one in its time. In need of a refurbishment, we had a hole in our bathroom door, but it was clean and warm. Food was good and the service excellent. Definitely worth the money.

david petrie said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2019

hotel is in a great position room was very clean and we had a great view been twice this year and will certainly go back

Susan Macallister said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th July 2019

Another lovely weekend at Dornoch Hotel. Hotel would benefit from some general upgrading especially in bedrooms, staff are efficient while still being friendly and food was very nice and served hot...a bonus. All in all it offers great value for money and we would recommend it to potential visitors. We will definitely return.