Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Ballachulish Hotel, Ballachulish

Ballachulish, Ballachulish, PH494JY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

A guest said...

80%
80%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 26th March 2019

Great place to stay in a an area ideal for touring. I stayed here in March 2019 whilst on a solo cycle ride through the area, helpful receptionist organised safe storage of my cycle for me! Good food in the hotel restaurant which always seemed busy. Good selection of food at buffet style breakfast. I would stay here again!

G Galloway said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 26th March 2019

Average overnight break.

Alexander MacLean said...

57%
10%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th December 2018

Second time stayed at this hotel. Hotel staff and food very good. Only complaint we had this year was the same as 3 Christmas ago that the entertainment was very poor... This is probably the only reason that we wouldn't come back for a festive break.plus there was no gift from Santa which we did get at our last visit Yourself A MacLean

John Docherty said...

60%
20%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th December 2018

Friendly staff, good service and good food in restaurant. On the down side, the upgraded room was tired and dated and needs redecorated and refurbished.

ann mcconnell said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th March 2018

My disabled wife and I stayed for two nights dinner bed and breakfast at the Ballahulish Hotel on 27/03 /2018.On booking we requested a disabled room with a walk in shower,however on arrival we were informed that the rooms with walk in showers were on the first floor, up two large flights of stairs with no lift.The ladies on reception were very apologetic and said with our request someone should have contacted us to learn of our specific requirements.They contacted a sister hotel to see if they had suitable accommodation but nothing was available.The only alternative was a room on the ground floor with a bath which my wife is unable to manage.Since we were only staying two nights we decided to accept this rather than face a 2.5 hour drive home.As we had paid ten pounds per head for a feature room overlooking the loch this was immediately refunded to us.The room was very spacious with a comfortable king size bed and plenty of shelf space.To avoid the five steps down to the dining area we opted for room sevice breakfast both mornings.These steps could be avoided by going out a fire exit ,down a ramp and back up another ramp and in another fire exit.For dinner my wife opted to use the stairs which was able to manage with assistance from the extremely helpfull staff.The meals were very tasty and well presented and service was excellent considering how busy the dining room was.Dinner was made more enjoyable by the presence of Evelyn an 87 year ol ambassador for the hotel who has worked there for many years and knows all its history and ghost stories.She mingles with all the guests to make sure all their needs are met and imparts a font of information on local amenities.All the staff were very helpfull and friendly and although the hotel was not ideal for my wife and I, We would thoroughly recommend it to able bodied family and friends. .

linda johnstone said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

Fabulous hotel. Good food, great atmosphere and lovely staff. All that and the most dramatic scenery ever. Lots of lovely walks near and around the hotel. Third visit but definitely not the last.

jemima kirk said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th February 2018

Everything was fine just a wee mix up at dinner by day we haded book it.But they were very quick to resolve it

albert richardson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th February 2018

Hotel mint. Staff Mint, helpful, pleasant, attentive. Bedroom was a normal double, again very pleasant. Breakfasts were fantastic, great relaxing surroundings.Will be booking again.

Carol Sneddon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th February 2018

Excellent hotel with beautiful room. Fantastic views and lovely food. Just wish we had stayed longer as only stayed for 1 night. Would definitely recommend and will definitely return.

Elizabeth Gibson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2017

Enjoyed our visit and had a nicer room this time. It was warm at night so slept with the window open which meant we heard all the traffic going by. Outwith the control of the hotel. All staff were very helpful and friendly. We will visit again.

A guest said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 24th March 2017

Great location, nice food, good value.

robert mercer said...

44%
20%
40%
70%

Stayed 17th February 2017

We paid a bit extra for a feature room but it was anything but, the view was great but the room was filthy we did complain and the reception arranged for the house keeper to attend to our complaint, When we checked again it was not much better, later that night we were asked by one of the managers if we were enjoying our stay and when we told her what had happened she said that she had attended the remedial clean, when we said about the room being quite grotty she said that it had just been taken over and it was a work in progress and that we should have asked for the room to be in the old part of the hotel, it also said that tea and coffee were supplied which it was and there should have been a well stocked hospitality tray but there was no such tray. The good point was that the food was good. We tried to get a refund on the extra cost for a featured room but they said it was just the deal we had booked, don't know if you could do anything for us. Thanks Robert

A guest said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2017

Hotel staff were most helpful. Hotel could do with upgrading but food was fantastic. Notvsure if hotel had just been taken over but the staff didn't seem to have all the information required at hand. Would I visit again? Yes

R Beaton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th February 2017

Very pleasant and helpful staff. Good accommodation and lovely lounge. Superbly comfortable bed. Would definitely stay again.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th February 2017

Great value stay, good location and staff vey helpful.

Malcolm Mcgregor said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 28th January 2017

A lovely old fashioned hotel with great views to the front and back. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful apart from the Chef who I thought was rude as he wouldn't cater for our needs and that's the reason for the scores. I would like to thank the resteraunt manager for trying to sort the issue out with the Chef.

Georgina Stewart said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th December 2016

My husband and I had a lovely stay. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Loved the relaxing ceiling lighting in the bathroom Staff were welcoming and went out of their way to help Will definitely return

edward wilkinson said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st November 2014

Superb room with great views over Loch Linnhe. Friendly efficient staff and good value food.

Graham Young said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th November 2016

We had a nice room, staff were very friendly and looked after our dog as well as us. The food was excellent and the scenery was awesome. Great two nights.

audra baxter said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 5th November 2016

Great stay again at this quaint hotel.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2016

This is the second time we have stayed this year, the staff are very frindly, the food is very good and the rooms are very clean. The view friom the hotel is stunning, well worth the money and more, we will be returning again next year.

Brian Mead said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2016

Had a brilliant couple of days at this Hotel. Lovely views of Loch Leven from our bedroom. Room wasn't quite to modern standard with dated decor and obvious water marks where roof had been leaking but it was very comfortable although a bit noisy with loose floorboards. However, very clean and had a good nights sleep on both nights. Service was excellent both in the bar and the dining room. Food was also very good and delivered to the table quickly. Real value for money with the dinner bed and breakfast offer. Would definitely go back.

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th September 2016

Nice hotel, very warm and comfortable, room was a bit dated. Good service and staf very attentive and accomodating.Only negative was that the shower was too hot but this may have been because we could not fathom out how to control it. Otherwise a very pleasant stay.

F Leitch said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th April 2016

Had a lovely stay. Staff were helpful and pleasant. Even though there was a bus party in both nights the service was first class. Have been to this hotel several times and never been disappointed. As usual the food was excellent and well presented

S Robertson said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th April 2016

Superb food - great selection, well cooked and beautifully presented. Ballachulish is a good example of a traditional west coast of Scotland hotel. Stunning views from lochside rooms, including dining room. Hospitality is excellent - the owner takes time to check with each table in the dining room. It is clear some money has been spent modernising the hotel, but some quirky (I personally like these, but not everyone will) aspects are evident. For example, unbelievably loud and squeaky staircase, some pieces of furniture out of synch with others, room decorating that hasn't been well coordinated, etc. Personally, I'd go back in a flash and have no hesitation in recommending Ballachulish to others.