Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, Southport

The Promenade, Southport, PR8 1RB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Eileen Adams said...

37%
30%
60%
20%

Stayed 11th August 2019

The hotel is very run down and in need of urgent regeneration. The inclusive dinner was not very good and was of poor quality, the breakfast, however was good.

Mark fisher said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Excellent value for money. Excellent choice of food on menu with option to upgrade. Staff friendly, nice room although looking tired and needing some tlc/ upgrade. Very good facilities. Good location. Will visit again by would do 2 nights. Car park was full but ncp parking for 5.00 for 24 hours. Travelled with another couple who also enjoyed the break. Hope to get another great value offer soon.

michael johnston said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Excellent value for money. Hotel is in the middle of refurbishment but this did affect us at all, staff were very helpful, food was amazing

Geoff Pennington said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2019

Lovely stay.. staff very friendly & helpful .. our evening meal was excellent very tasty, well done to the chef, the young lad on the bar Tuesday night was very friendly & very professional. We have booked to return in middle of August. Mr & Mrs Pennington

Joseph Bonallie said...

50%
40%
50%
60%

Stayed 20th July 2019

Great Location on the Seafront but 2 mins from centre of town. Hotel is in need of refurbishment.

kenneth charles GRAVES said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th June 2019

Excellent stay at this hotel, the food is very good and well presented will definitely be back.

Phillip Smith said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th June 2019

We decided on this hotel due to the fact it had a pool ,which we intended to use when we arrived and also after breakfast since we had a late check out. However on a arrival there was a note on reception that the pool was closed !!! If we had known this we would have postponed our trip. The Rooms are small no double glazing so we’re kept awake till turn 3am due to noise from nearby nightclub.... the room had recently been redecorated but the main furniture had seen better days although the 2 chairs were new . The food was good and the staff attentive to our needs in fact I must mention that on the next table at breakfast the gentleman was blind and the staff were wonderful with him ...he wanted for nothing.

Luan Cottam said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 22nd June 2019

Great stay , lovely hotel the evening meal and breakfast was outstanding. Only downside was the size & decoration of the room which could do with some updating.

COLIN GRIERSON said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th June 2019

Great stay if only for one night, staff really good and room and food were great, Good value for money

John Chambers said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2019

We had a brilliant time at the hotel and were well looked after. It was my wifes birthday and we celebrated at the hotel on the 25th May. The staff were brilliant, from checking us into a sea view suite, to suprizing my wife with some mini birthday cakes after our lovely three course meal. The whole experience was superb and we will definatley return in the future. Thanks you

Cheryl Caine said...

80%
70%
N/A
90%

Stayed 20th April 2019

A night away for our 30th wedding anniversary. Superb from start to finish, friendly staff, Lynette so welcoming and looked after my hubby and I in the restaurant highly recommended Red Clifton Hotel and Spa

A guest said...

57%
10%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th April 2019

1/ Initial look of hotel - clean tidy looks nice. 2/ Reception staff - very nice, helpful. 3/ Room - room 2, right next to ground floor staircase. We heard every foot step and voice from everyone that went up and down the stairs all through the night over the two nights. Wasn’t impressed at all. Room itself was old and tired, wall paper pealing from walls, stains all over carpets, we had a small out door area with door access outside, this wasn’t very pleasant, littered with cigarette ends. There was a table with 1 chair, and 1 sun lounger outside that looked like they hadn’t been cleaned in a while. I went to reception to ask for an alternative room but was met with it is busy as it’s the Easter weekend, even though there were 7 people waiting to check in, in the queue behind me and with further guests arriving later in the day. All in all, the staff were really good but the hotel room we were given was awful, it would actually put me off going back again. The pictures advertised do not show the tired old look of the room and if we had known that was the case we would have went there. Not impressed or happy

Michael Bond said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2018

Very spacious old building with character. Wide corridors upstairs with the ubiquitous squeaking floorboards. Some evidence of earlier water leaks and peeling wallpaper, ut otherwise clean and tidy. Comfortable four poster bed (although the curtains didn't draw around it) and a bath big enough for three. Unfortunately, the shower water temperature control didn't work and the shower temperature was tepid at best. We were on a dinner inclusive deal but there was minimal variation between the first night's choices and the second. Neither of us fancied the same meal twice running and the chef obliged by offering to something different for us. Food quality was generally good. Breakfast was buffet with a good choice. No marmalade, sadly, at one time considered a staple of a british breakfast. Jams and honey were available. Overall, a good value for money stay. Staff were friendly too.

D Dickinson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2018

Lovely old building in great location on the front Southport. Large room clean and tidy. Nice and warm.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th November 2018

well where do i start check in went fine, go up to the room 142 first floor at the back of the hotel its very cosy (small) there is no heating what so ever so the room was cold there is a big extractor fan above the bed which is stupid cause the draught that was coming off it was bad and sleeping under it was no good if you wanted to catch a cold .the bathroom the shower did not work properly glad there was a bath .went to make a cuppa as you do the kettle was not working ,we did go for our evening meal on the first night we had it in our deal bit of a hiccup there because your web site did not clarify how it worked we got told from staff that it is only for two courses either starter and main or main and pudding when they ask if you waner still /sparkling say no cause its £3:75 a bottle we got stung any way next morning went for breakfast which is self service but it was good i did complain about my room so the girl on the reception did move us to room 211 which is at the front of the hotel on the second floor which was way better it had heating a working shower and kettle. The staff were friendly and helpful if i was to do this deal again i would upgrade the room .

Deborah Greenwood said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2018

We had a lovely stay. Great value for money.

Martin Graydon said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2018

Another great stay at the Clifton. 4 couples stayed for two nights, rooms clean, hotel clean, food excellent. We all dined together and the service was very good, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was good , plenty to choose from and of good quality. Can't wait to stay there again. Martin

eileen Uttley said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2018

Really lovely hotel, fab staff, very helpful and welcoming. Easy for car parking, lovely evening meal, breakfast plentiful.

linda gow said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2018

i can say the usual about food staff etc BUT i wont as just about everything was great the only complaint is that the local pubs/clubs music was blaring till 4.30 am and spoilt a very enjoyable stay.

Fallon Natasha said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd September 2018

Amazing stay at a lovely hotel and such a bargain. Full use of leisure facilities, 3 course meal, buffet breakfast ans room with an amazing view. Coul not have asked for more!!

jamie collins said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2018

Fantastic Would go again Highly recommended Many thanks

Ronald Tate said...

54%
40%
100%
20%

Stayed 12th July 2018

Fantastic staff hotel is a bit tired

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th July 2018

Nice hotel great location and welcoming friendly staff. would definitely stay again.

Susan Daniels said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th June 2018

very enjoyable break with excellent service

A guest said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 15th June 2018

lovely hotel would stay again