Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, Southport

The Promenade, Southport, PR8 1RB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

Jayne Porter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2019

overnight stay, we arrived bit early but our room was ready. our room was lovely, very spacious, bathroom very clean, lovely thick towels. we had a lovely evening meal with wine, lots of choice. breakfast great. all staff were pleasant & friendly. we enjoyed our stay.

Geraldine Woodward said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd November 2019

The service provided by all the staff was exceptional. Thank you.

A guest said...

14%
30%
10%
0%

Stayed 22nd October 2019

Very disappointed. Hotel very run down. Didn't even bother to use spa facilities as it was very unappealing and not as shown in pictures. Room was very dusty and carpets thread bare. Bathroom looked like it had been refurbished but terrible water marks on ceiling obviously from the room above. Breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from. Dinner at night was terrible. Lack of flavours and not much choice. Second night I had to ask for our dessert at 9.15 pm as the service was very poor and extremely slow and we been forgotten about. Overall not worth the money we paid and definitely wont return.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2019

Excellent hotel right on the front at Southport. We stayed in a superior room which had all been recently refurbished. The room had a sea view, but we never say the sea ( tide was always out) but it was a lovely view. Food was good with a limited menu for our deal, but you could order anything off the main menu and a reduction was made. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great walks around the area and on the seafront. We went in October by car from Glasgow and parked the car to the rear of the hotel. The hotel charges £5/24 hours. There is a small NCP car park behind the hotel which also charges (believe it or not) £5/ 24 hrs. We set up to pay the hotel parking and I asked what would happen if I could not get a hotel park after we had gone out for the day. Answer: let the hotel reception know and the would not charge the following. Southport is a beautiful town with lots of shops. you are also handy for Liverpool and Blackpool, one hour drive away. We visited the Chester Oak Outlet centre (one hour drive) which is a must if you are a shopper, but be aware, you will probably drive via the 'My Flow' bridge which is a toll bridge without toll booths. On our arrival at the outlet, we googled the phone number to pay the toll (£2 EACH WAY) and asked for the return journey to be credited. A friend warned me about this as he did not notice the bridge was 'tolled' and was fined £60.YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

Anne Foster said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2019

Our bedroom ,room 122,was very tired, frayed curtains, hems of curtains loose, water staining, presumably from a leak, on ceiling, smallest double bed I've ever seen, and lumpy, well past its use by date, thank goodness there was a single bed in the room, hubby slept in that, I slept in the double ,on the side without lumps.!!! Stained carpet. Breakfast, excellent,good quality,and more importantly,everything piping hot,staff superb,again cannot find fault with them,special thanks to Naiomi, the reception staff and house and waiting staff who where do attentive, with nothing to much trouble.Hope they upgrade the property soon ,if they don't it will fall further into disrepair.Note to owners, get going and renovate this once beautiful hotel back to its bygone splendour.

Maree Smith said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 20th September 2019

Beautiful hotel in lovely spot however decoration a little tired in places. The corridor is still showing the flood damage which I had read about on line, but the ceiling in our bedroom was also extremely marked with a mold, not very attractive. Tried to eat in the bar at lunch time but as every table was filled with dirty dishes we had to ask waiter to clear a space. Staff friendly but as bar waiter was setting up another room for what looked like a wedding function getting a drink required patience with waiting and him walking back and too quite a bit. Nice stay but just let down by a few points namely bare minimum of staff to manage

James Rough said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2019

Fine hotel. Food, spa and staf great. No problems encountered, have already booked for another visit in October.

A guest said...

40%
60%
0%
60%

Stayed 6th September 2019

Service in restaurant was very slow apart.dlow service at bar also given dirty glasses to drink out of

Geoff Pennington said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st September 2019

Great 1 night stay. Realaxed atmosphere and great staff good value for the money ?

Elizabeth West said...

10%
0%
10%
20%

Stayed 24th August 2019

Stayed here over wkend. Parking is a nightmare and the rooms are so tired n dated n smell of damp. Coffee stains everywhere dirty bathrooms n mucky walls. The food was ok n staff not bad. The spa if you can call it that a major let down. Kids jumping screaming n diving no lifeguard n all dated n dirty in changing rooms. Loved southport but the hotel was a huge let down. Never again.

Mark fisher said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Excellent value for money. Excellent choice of food on menu with option to upgrade. Staff friendly, nice room although looking tired and needing some tlc/ upgrade. Very good facilities. Good location. Will visit again by would do 2 nights. Car park was full but ncp parking for 5.00 for 24 hours. Travelled with another couple who also enjoyed the break. Hope to get another great value offer soon.

michael johnston said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Excellent value for money. Hotel is in the middle of refurbishment but this did affect us at all, staff were very helpful, food was amazing

Geoff Pennington said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2019

Lovely stay.. staff very friendly & helpful .. our evening meal was excellent very tasty, well done to the chef, the young lad on the bar Tuesday night was very friendly & very professional. We have booked to return in middle of August. Mr & Mrs Pennington

kenneth charles GRAVES said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th June 2019

Excellent stay at this hotel, the food is very good and well presented will definitely be back.

Phillip Smith said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th June 2019

We decided on this hotel due to the fact it had a pool ,which we intended to use when we arrived and also after breakfast since we had a late check out. However on a arrival there was a note on reception that the pool was closed !!! If we had known this we would have postponed our trip. The Rooms are small no double glazing so we’re kept awake till turn 3am due to noise from nearby nightclub.... the room had recently been redecorated but the main furniture had seen better days although the 2 chairs were new . The food was good and the staff attentive to our needs in fact I must mention that on the next table at breakfast the gentleman was blind and the staff were wonderful with him ...he wanted for nothing.

Luan Cottam said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 22nd June 2019

Great stay , lovely hotel the evening meal and breakfast was outstanding. Only downside was the size & decoration of the room which could do with some updating.

COLIN GRIERSON said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th June 2019

Great stay if only for one night, staff really good and room and food were great, Good value for money

John Chambers said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2019

We had a brilliant time at the hotel and were well looked after. It was my wifes birthday and we celebrated at the hotel on the 25th May. The staff were brilliant, from checking us into a sea view suite, to suprizing my wife with some mini birthday cakes after our lovely three course meal. The whole experience was superb and we will definatley return in the future. Thanks you

Cheryl Caine said...

80%
70%
N/A
90%

Stayed 20th April 2019

A night away for our 30th wedding anniversary. Superb from start to finish, friendly staff, Lynette so welcoming and looked after my hubby and I in the restaurant highly recommended Red Clifton Hotel and Spa

Michael Bond said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2018

Very spacious old building with character. Wide corridors upstairs with the ubiquitous squeaking floorboards. Some evidence of earlier water leaks and peeling wallpaper, ut otherwise clean and tidy. Comfortable four poster bed (although the curtains didn't draw around it) and a bath big enough for three. Unfortunately, the shower water temperature control didn't work and the shower temperature was tepid at best. We were on a dinner inclusive deal but there was minimal variation between the first night's choices and the second. Neither of us fancied the same meal twice running and the chef obliged by offering to something different for us. Food quality was generally good. Breakfast was buffet with a good choice. No marmalade, sadly, at one time considered a staple of a british breakfast. Jams and honey were available. Overall, a good value for money stay. Staff were friendly too.

D Dickinson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2018

Lovely old building in great location on the front Southport. Large room clean and tidy. Nice and warm.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th November 2018

well where do i start check in went fine, go up to the room 142 first floor at the back of the hotel its very cosy (small) there is no heating what so ever so the room was cold there is a big extractor fan above the bed which is stupid cause the draught that was coming off it was bad and sleeping under it was no good if you wanted to catch a cold .the bathroom the shower did not work properly glad there was a bath .went to make a cuppa as you do the kettle was not working ,we did go for our evening meal on the first night we had it in our deal bit of a hiccup there because your web site did not clarify how it worked we got told from staff that it is only for two courses either starter and main or main and pudding when they ask if you waner still /sparkling say no cause its £3:75 a bottle we got stung any way next morning went for breakfast which is self service but it was good i did complain about my room so the girl on the reception did move us to room 211 which is at the front of the hotel on the second floor which was way better it had heating a working shower and kettle. The staff were friendly and helpful if i was to do this deal again i would upgrade the room .

Deborah Greenwood said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2018

We had a lovely stay. Great value for money.

Martin Graydon said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2018

Another great stay at the Clifton. 4 couples stayed for two nights, rooms clean, hotel clean, food excellent. We all dined together and the service was very good, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was good , plenty to choose from and of good quality. Can't wait to stay there again. Martin

eileen Uttley said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2018

Really lovely hotel, fab staff, very helpful and welcoming. Easy for car parking, lovely evening meal, breakfast plentiful.