Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, Southport

The Promenade, Southport, PR8 1RB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Cheryl Caine said...

80%
70%
N/A
90%

Stayed 20th April 2019

A night away for our 30th wedding anniversary. Superb from start to finish, friendly staff, Lynette so welcoming and looked after my hubby and I in the restaurant highly recommended Red Clifton Hotel and Spa

A guest said...

57%
10%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th April 2019

1/ Initial look of hotel - clean tidy looks nice. 2/ Reception staff - very nice, helpful. 3/ Room - room 2, right next to ground floor staircase. We heard every foot step and voice from everyone that went up and down the stairs all through the night over the two nights. Wasn’t impressed at all. Room itself was old and tired, wall paper pealing from walls, stains all over carpets, we had a small out door area with door access outside, this wasn’t very pleasant, littered with cigarette ends. There was a table with 1 chair, and 1 sun lounger outside that looked like they hadn’t been cleaned in a while. I went to reception to ask for an alternative room but was met with it is busy as it’s the Easter weekend, even though there were 7 people waiting to check in, in the queue behind me and with further guests arriving later in the day. All in all, the staff were really good but the hotel room we were given was awful, it would actually put me off going back again. The pictures advertised do not show the tired old look of the room and if we had known that was the case we would have went there. Not impressed or happy

Michael Bond said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2018

Very spacious old building with character. Wide corridors upstairs with the ubiquitous squeaking floorboards. Some evidence of earlier water leaks and peeling wallpaper, ut otherwise clean and tidy. Comfortable four poster bed (although the curtains didn't draw around it) and a bath big enough for three. Unfortunately, the shower water temperature control didn't work and the shower temperature was tepid at best. We were on a dinner inclusive deal but there was minimal variation between the first night's choices and the second. Neither of us fancied the same meal twice running and the chef obliged by offering to something different for us. Food quality was generally good. Breakfast was buffet with a good choice. No marmalade, sadly, at one time considered a staple of a british breakfast. Jams and honey were available. Overall, a good value for money stay. Staff were friendly too.

D Dickinson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2018

Lovely old building in great location on the front Southport. Large room clean and tidy. Nice and warm.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th November 2018

well where do i start check in went fine, go up to the room 142 first floor at the back of the hotel its very cosy (small) there is no heating what so ever so the room was cold there is a big extractor fan above the bed which is stupid cause the draught that was coming off it was bad and sleeping under it was no good if you wanted to catch a cold .the bathroom the shower did not work properly glad there was a bath .went to make a cuppa as you do the kettle was not working ,we did go for our evening meal on the first night we had it in our deal bit of a hiccup there because your web site did not clarify how it worked we got told from staff that it is only for two courses either starter and main or main and pudding when they ask if you waner still /sparkling say no cause its £3:75 a bottle we got stung any way next morning went for breakfast which is self service but it was good i did complain about my room so the girl on the reception did move us to room 211 which is at the front of the hotel on the second floor which was way better it had heating a working shower and kettle. The staff were friendly and helpful if i was to do this deal again i would upgrade the room .

Deborah Greenwood said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2018

We had a lovely stay. Great value for money.

Martin Graydon said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2018

Another great stay at the Clifton. 4 couples stayed for two nights, rooms clean, hotel clean, food excellent. We all dined together and the service was very good, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was good , plenty to choose from and of good quality. Can't wait to stay there again. Martin

eileen Uttley said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2018

Really lovely hotel, fab staff, very helpful and welcoming. Easy for car parking, lovely evening meal, breakfast plentiful.

linda gow said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2018

i can say the usual about food staff etc BUT i wont as just about everything was great the only complaint is that the local pubs/clubs music was blaring till 4.30 am and spoilt a very enjoyable stay.

Fallon Natasha said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd September 2018

Amazing stay at a lovely hotel and such a bargain. Full use of leisure facilities, 3 course meal, buffet breakfast ans room with an amazing view. Coul not have asked for more!!

jamie collins said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2018

Fantastic Would go again Highly recommended Many thanks

Ronald Tate said...

54%
40%
100%
20%

Stayed 12th July 2018

Fantastic staff hotel is a bit tired

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th July 2018

Nice hotel great location and welcoming friendly staff. would definitely stay again.

Susan Daniels said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th June 2018

very enjoyable break with excellent service

A guest said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 15th June 2018

lovely hotel would stay again

Janet Robinson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th June 2018

Great spotlessly clean room, beds very comfortable. Food served quickly and was delicious. Best for us were the staff - everybody we were in contact with were friendly, welcoming and efficient. We will be back!

Christine Yates said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st June 2018

Spent a night at The Royal Clifton and was sorry it was only one night. The was a small problem with our original room and we were moved to a more superior room without any fuss immediately. The staff were all very friendly, extremely helpful and very hard working. The evening meal was delicious as was the breakfast - eggs done to perfection! Although I didn't use the leisure facilities my daughter did and loved the pool, jacuzzi and steam room. Can't wait to come back!

Christina Sheldrake said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2018

Everything was spot on room lovely staff very friendly, location brilliant, evening meal and breakfast delious, used the spa facilities very good.Can't wait to stay at this hotel again

Mandy Matthews said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2018

Great night away, customer service great and food great, but hotel a bit tired.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2018

The facade of this hotel is beautiful and, in its heyday, it hints of a wonderful place to stay. But, as other reviewers have noted, the decor in this hotel is tired and outdated. We stayed in a room facing the promenade which was a fair size. Fittings were old but adequate for our one night stay. Bar staff were friendly but beware the bar could shut as early as 10.15 if not busy. Good choice of options for breakfast. It could be a really lovely hotel if the refurbishment programme delivers.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback

A guest said... Hotel has replied

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 5th April 2018

On arrival we couldn't get a parking space at the hotel and ended up paying for overnite parking in front of the hotel costing £7 .First impressions of the hotel were good and check in was quick and easy hassle free.Like other people have mentioned yes the hotel is rather run down in places but our room was not and we were rather surprised how nice it was..Can't say anything negative about the room we had a great night's sleep shower was great.If we visited Southport again we would stay at the Royal Clifton Hotel.

Hotel reply...

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for your comments

A guest said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th April 2018

We stayed at the royal Clifton hotel in Southport. We felt as though we were treated really special.. the new decoration in the room was really good. We look forward to going back really soon. The staff did a wonderful job of making us feel welcome.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon

A guest said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th April 2018

Everything was good Location central for everything

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your comments

A guest said... Hotel has replied

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th April 2018

The rooms were a good size and the location is excellent

Hotel reply...

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back soon